Official Olevia 242T Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2009, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
clintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, so I'm having an issue with my 242t

I am only getting stereo sound output, through both optical and digital RCA out

I upgraded the firmware to 22A and still no difference. (BY the way, I got the USB to serial drivers needed from here: http://code.google.com/p/adconverter...r.exe&can=2&q= )

Anyone else still having this issue? Any resolution?

I had a terrible time trying to watch LOST, since everyones voice on there is muffled anyhow.. TIA
clintz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2009, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
tigepilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
sammykismail,

Please check your pm box.

Thanks.
tigepilot is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 02:25 PM
Member
 
jjangell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 242-S11 and am running FW version MDB1_AQ_242T_L_20

Can anyone tell me what the latest firmware version is and what the changes are or a place to find out what has changed with FW upgrades?

Many thanks.
jjangell is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 09:24 PM
Member
 
papamojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where can I get the plain old USB a to USB b cable driver for my 237-t?
papamojo is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 06:31 PM
Member
 
STVA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone still have Olevia's install program for the firmware?

I downloaded the latest firmware from their site, but have no way to install it. The RAR file only containers the firmware binary.
STVA1 is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 03:52 PM
Member
 
STVA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help?
STVA1 is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
clintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did the file i linked to at the top of the page not help?
clintz is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 06:02 PM
Member
 
STVA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clintz View Post

did the file i linked to at the top of the page not help?

Thank you for the reply. That link is for the USB to serial drivers, which I have installed. I still need a file that contains the actual firmware update program.
STVA1 is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
clintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I remember now, It's been a while but the file that you need is named MTK_DownLoad1.zip

I can't find it ANYWHERE though, and I've lost my hard drive since then...

Sorry, good luck with that one..
clintz is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 07:02 PM
Member
 
STVA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clintz View Post

Yeah, I remember now, It's been a while but the file that you need is named MTK_DownLoad1.zip

I can't find it ANYWHERE though, and I've lost my hard drive since then...

Sorry, good luck with that one..

Thanks. I found a blog that tells you another model name that you can put into Olevia's website for a firmware ZIP that DOES container the installer. Problem is, Olevia's website does not work today. I hope this is not permanent, since they went out of business. It worked yesterday!
STVA1 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 06:15 PM
Member
 
STVA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the firmware install file? Thanks.
STVA1 is offline  
Old 07-27-2009, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
yukon04's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Fla
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by STVA1 View Post

Thanks. I found a blog that tells you another model name that you can put into Olevia's website for a firmware ZIP that DOES container the installer. Problem is, Olevia's website does not work today. I hope this is not permanent, since they went out of business. It worked yesterday!

Unfortunately I believe Olevia is history. The website appears to be shutdown. The "Unsupported Host" message keeps cropping up.
yukon04 is offline  
Old 07-27-2009, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
yukon04's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Fla
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to an article in the Arizona Central newspaper dated 24 May 2009, Syntax-Brillian, Olevia's parent company, sold all Olevia remaining assets, name and licensing rights to Emerson radio Corp of New Jersey.
Interesting since in 2001, Emerson sold its TV licensing rights to Funai Corp of China. Funai also manufactures LCD TV's under the Phillips name. Good luch getting parts & service.

http://www.azcentral.com/business/ar...llian0524.html
yukon04 is offline  
Old 07-27-2009, 06:49 PM
Member
 
STVA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bad timing on my part. I was literally a day too late to find a second firmware file that has the installer.

By some crazy change does anyone out there have a firmware .zip? It can be for any Olevia TV, I just need the installer.
STVA1 is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
yukon04's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Fla
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by STVA1 View Post

Bad timing on my part. I was literally a day too late to find a second firmware file that has the installer.

By some crazy change does anyone out there have a firmware .zip? It can be for any Olevia TV, I just need the installer.

Check the Olevia website. Discovered it up and running today. Same format as before, includes f/w, manuals, Q&A.
yukon04 is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
clintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Old thread, but I have some firmware for the 542 tv here, hope it helps

http://forums.newagekllrz.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=17

the firware version is 542_B11_061218A
clintz is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:25 AM
Newbie
 
sevillada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clintz View Post

Old thread, but I have some firmware for the 542 tv here, hope it helps

http://forums.newagekllrz.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=17

the firware version is 542_B11_061218A

Thanks. Can you let us know what changes/fixes are in the firmware version.

Thanks
sevillada is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 08:57 AM
Newbie
 
cbcalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone happen to have a stand (tv base) for their 242T laying around I might be able to purchase. I have had mine wall mounted since I purchased it but threw the stand out. Now I would like to move it onto a table.

I can pay with paypal etc.



Thanks
Chris
cbcalhoun is offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
scmi0002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've owned this set since 10/08. I think the performance is acceptable for a 3-4 yr old 1080p set. I paid $800, it was on sale at Target.

Some PS3 games get jagged lines with quick camera panning or rapid movements. I assume that this is due to the refresh rate of this older set. I have tried a number of different picture configurations to correct this, but to no avail.

One problem that I do have is that from time to time, maybe twice per month, I will turn the set on and the lamp/picture will not turn on. The sound, however, does. By powering the set off then powering it on once again, the problem is corrected. I was wondering if anyone had this issue. I am reluctant to install the firmware that I found today (there was a previous post about it on this forum).
scmi0002 is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
elliott.bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbcalhoun View Post

Anyone happen to have a stand (tv base) for their 242T laying around I might be able to purchase. I have had mine wall mounted since I purchased it but threw the stand out. Now I would like to move it onto a table.

I can pay with paypal etc.



Thanks
Chris

cbcalhoun
I don't have a stand for you, but I've been trying to take off my own for some time. I took off the bottom metal plate, but that's as far as I've gotten. Can you provide any tips on taking this off?
elliott.bennett is offline  
Old 02-13-2010, 03:17 PM
Member
 
aalbinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone have the 21b or 22a firmware .bin file (or in a .zip or .rar) still sitting around that they could share with me?
aalbinger is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
Riverside56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
to take the stand off an Olevia 242T FHD, atake ou the sixteen screws in two groups of eight on the back of the set. THe stand will drop clear.
Riverside56 is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 09:50 PM
Newbie
 
fredkono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I need firmware for a 242fhd-t11 p/n fm1-04200cegs42. I bought this tv from a guy who tried to upgrade the firmware and used the wrong one a year ago. Now the website is down for the right firmware. If someone could help me I would really appreciate it so much. Thanks in advance. Fred
fredkono is offline  
Old 08-26-2010, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
fredkono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
email fredk (at) mchsi.com. Will sell copies for $10
fredkono is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
yukon04's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Fla
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Emerson Radio Corp has initiated manufacture of Olevia LCD 1080P tv's The new website is,

http://www.olevia.com/
yukon04 is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 07:46 PM
Newbie
 
badcar213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello
I have an olevia 242fhd t11 and im in need of the firmware any verison would be fine. Ill be willing to pay for it or even fix some elses board for free for the firmware. I can be reached anytime 505-506-4377 thanks
badcar213 is offline  
Old 06-19-2013, 08:22 AM
Member
 
cornemuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just sayin', I still have my 242, and it still works just fine. The only prob I have is the remote (about half the buttons) have given out.
I got a sony 'do-all replace-all' remote which is ok (not 'OK'). I use with it an Argosy hv359 vid player which is excellent for me.
Never (never deemed it necessary) did any firmware upgrades as I never had any issues with either.
I have several 'older' Argosy/Lasonic machines which also are fine.

No replies here for a few years, hah!

-c-
cornemuse is offline  
Old 12-26-2013, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Jerry Curl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hate to dig up this old thread, but of anyone could pass along the latest FW and any related software for the update, it would be much appreciated.
Jerry Curl is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does any body know how to change the screen code on OLEVIA 242FHD-T11


my TV used the PHILIPS screen,


I have 2 Main Boars with CMO screen code.


I need This ; ( MDC1_AQ_242T_L_17B )


I have This ( MDC1_AQ_242T_C_17B )


Thanks in advance
tvrepairexperts is offline  
Old 02-28-2015, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Firmware for 242T

We should trade. I've got MDC1_AQ_242T_L_17B but not the earlier one. When I flashed the newest, now the display has a weird aliasing thing going on, that wasn't present (as far as I remember) in the earlier "C" version. I was trying to get universal remote to work, but didn't seem to help. Only messed up the picture an very little bit.

Make sure you have an XP machine to do the flashing, because anything else will wipe the flash without successfully uploading the new firmware, effectively soft bricking your set. I tried everything I could think of to make a Win7 machine work, but had to make an XP machine of an old laptop to get it done successfully.

I can't vouch for any of the stuff in this file, as I just pulled it off the internet myself a couple weeks ago. I did get it to work, and my TV works with this firmware in it. That's all the disclaimer I can think of. Use at own risk.

I would like to try the earlier firmware to see if it fixes my aliasing issue, so if you could throw it on dropbox (or whatever) that would be appreciated.

I can't post links, since I just joined the forum, so we'll have to figure out another way to get you a link...
RepairAllTheThings is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off