Philips 120Hz 2ms 7403/7603 Series Discussion - Page 166 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 4962 Old 02-10-2011, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
egoideal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 47PFL7403D/27 does not seem to be handshaking with the DELL STUDIO 1535 laptop running Win 7 via HDMI-HDMI. I've updated the TV's firmware as well as updated all my laptop drivers to no avail. All my other components that are connected via HDMI (cable box, BD HT) are working so I'm thinking that there must be a problem with the laptop. What is strange is that when I connect this laptop to my other TV (Sharp Aquos LC-42D85U) I don't have any problems. Any suggestions on how to get this working would be appreciated!!! Thanks in advance!!!
egoideal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 4962 Old 02-13-2011, 06:22 AM
Newbie
 
egoideal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by egoideal View Post

My 47PFL7403D/27 does not seem to be handshaking with the DELL STUDIO 1535 laptop running Win 7 via HDMI-HDMI. I've updated the TV's firmware as well as updated all my laptop drivers to no avail. All my other components that are connected via HDMI (cable box, BD HT) are working so I'm thinking that there must be a problem with the laptop. What is strange is that when I connect this laptop to my other TV (Sharp Aquos LC-42D85U) I don't have any problems. Any suggestions on how to get this working would be appreciated!!! Thanks in advance!!!

Bump...
egoideal is offline  
post #4953 of 4962 Old 02-27-2011, 06:11 PM
Newbie
 
ccerna1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please send me the link for the previous firmware version. It seems phillips does not keep older versions. I upgraded to version 1.15 and my unit stills turns itself off at random times. I email Phillips but is been almost 2 weeks and no replies... Thank You
ccerna1 is offline  
post #4954 of 4962 Old 08-30-2011, 03:49 PM
Newbie
 
parallaxtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone comes here looking for updated firmware, I have 4 official ones available on my website (1.07, 1.13, 1.11, and 1.15 [latest]). One is listed as 42PFL7403D/27 while the other three are 47PFL7403D/27. I was told that all the firmwares should work in all the models regardless of first two digits. I never tested that however.

http://markribau.org/blog/downloads/...703-firmwares/
parallaxtz is offline  
post #4955 of 4962 Old 08-31-2011, 06:39 AM
Newbie
 
egoideal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great... Thanks!
egoideal is offline  
post #4956 of 4962 Old 10-26-2011, 08:54 PM
Member
 
lcdvspls's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 3 year old 47 inch has now developed a problem. While on, the TV now goes to black while the audio remains. Only way to get the picture back is to shut it off and then on again. Any ideas what it could be?

Update: And now it looks like it is over. It went to black again and i turned it off and then back on. When it came back, there was this "tsss" sound from it and the picture was flickering. Also the back started to smell like it was burning. I unplugged it.
lcdvspls is offline  
post #4957 of 4962 Old 10-27-2011, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nintari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
anyway you could display something static on it? Preferably something white with black text. If you can take a flashlight and shine it on screen in that area and see if you can see the white area and the black text. If you can see that it may be the backlight, or the power supply circuit for the backlight that is failing.
nintari is offline  
post #4958 of 4962 Old 10-27-2011, 06:06 PM
Member
 
lcdvspls's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nintari View Post

anyway you could display something static on it? Preferably something white with black text. If you can take a flashlight and shine it on screen in that area and see if you can see the white area and the black text. If you can see that it may be the backlight, or the power supply circuit for the backlight that is failing.

Looks like its totally dead now. It comes on but within 5 minutes it goes to like 10% brightness and then complete black. Shutting it off and then on brings it back but it starts to make that "tsss" noise and i actually smell something from the back of it like its burning. Off to Costco to get another one i guess. Not sure if its worth trying to repair it when new 47 LCDs can be had for $600. I guess i will pay for a 5 year warranty this time.
lcdvspls is offline  
post #4959 of 4962 Old 10-27-2011, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nintari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Shame you didn't live near me I'd love to open it up and see what happened.
nintari is offline  
post #4960 of 4962 Old 10-30-2011, 01:25 PM
Member
 
lcdvspls's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like i am not alone with this problem. What a shame. I know all manufacturers have their own issues but it will be hard to get another Philips after what happened to me.

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/home_...s/philips.html
lcdvspls is offline  
post #4961 of 4962 Old 05-07-2013, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
markp2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had this TV (47PFL7403D/27) for about 5 years now with no problems and last week it 'popped' and went dark - no sound or video. I picked up a power supply unit at Shop Jimmy (cheap) and it took more time to get all the little screws off then it did to actually replace the board, very easy. Just posting in case others start seeing this with this model..
markp2 is offline  
post #4962 of 4962 Old 05-29-2013, 11:02 PM
Member
 
jtokach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 47PFL7403D/27 that makes no reference to Easylink or HDMI-CEC in the setup menu. Is there any way to turn it off? Service Menu perhaps?

jtokach is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off