The difference between PC input (VGA) and video input (HDMI) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-11-2008, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
danman2424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure how many of you will understand what I am speaking about here, but I'll give it a shot anyway.

I used to have an Olevia LT32HVE LCD. When I would hook up an HD source to it , such as an Xbox 360, the differences between component and VGA would be profound. Eventually I found an HDMI model of the 360 and found that the differences were equally striking in sharpness when hooked up through the DVI port.

When hooked up through either the VGA or DVI port, it gave very sharp "PC" look to the picture. Through component I found it to look kind grainy, aliased, and not as appealing. I thought this might just be the set or the quality of the cables, but recently I have tried out HDMI on some other LCDs at the store and to my surprise, it looks very similar to the component.

I also have a Pioneer plasma which allows me to choose through DVI from the menu for the output to be PC (for the sharper computer-like picture I mentioned earlier) or video, which is technically supposed to be the correct setting for DVDs and video ouput, but gives the duller component/ HDMI picture I'm seeing on all these other sets.

Now I am looking for another LCD and I desperately want to get the PC-like look to the set while being connected through HDMI, however all the ones I try at the store are giving the look I got through component on the old Olevia/ setting to "video" on my Pioneer 507cmx.

For the record, I have not tried through VGA at the store to see if that did give the PC-like sharpness on some of these newer sets. However, I would really like to get this level of sharpness when connected through HDMI/DVI as I did on the Olevia.

Does anyone know what I am talking about? Is there an internal setting that can be switched to make the picture look like that sharp PC look which made it look almost identical to looking at a PC monitor? I'm fairly sure it's a setting within the TV as my Pioneer has showed I can switch between the two when I am connected through DVI/HDMI. I could not find a similar setting on the TVs at the store though.
danman2424 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-11-2008, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
rprice99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung LNT 5271 and there is a menu setting enabling "PC Mode" for the HDMI input. Enabling this mode makes for PC monitor type clarity.

I believe all the xx71 Samsung sets have this feature...I think that was your question.
rprice99 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-11-2008, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
danman2424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprice99 View Post

I have a Samsung LNT 5271 and there is a menu setting enabling "PC Mode" for the HDMI input. Enabling this mode makes for PC monitor type clarity.

I believe all the xx71 Samsung sets have this feature...I think that was your question.

Thank you so much. These were exactly the models I was interested in too. I can't wait to check it out.

For clarification, can you let me know where this setting is in the menu? Is it under picture settings?

Do you use this setting? Do you know about the PC-like clarity I was speaking of?
danman2424 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-11-2008, 12:29 PM
Member
 
JeffD33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a samsung 4671F and have found that DVI-HDMI works much better than D-SUB (vga cable). I also do not use the PC mode on the TV. The most important think is getting a 1:1 pixel mapping. Meaning the PC is sending the native resolution of the TV. This above all else will give you the sharpness you are talking about.

For 720p TV's, generally D-SUB is the way to go since the LCD's native resolution is normally 1366x768. HDMI does not support this resolution so you cannot get perfect 1:1 pixel mapping over an HDMI cable. Using D-SUB the TV will accept this. With a native 1080p (1920x1080) television use HDMI, as it supports this resolution.
JeffD33 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-11-2008, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
danman2424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffD33 View Post

I have a samsung 4671F and have found that DVI-HDMI works much better than D-SUB (vga cable). I also do not use the PC mode on the TV. The most important think is getting a 1:1 pixel mapping. Meaning the PC is sending the native resolution of the TV. This above all else will give you the sharpness you are talking about.

For 720p TV's, generally D-SUB is the way to go since the LCD's native resolution is normally 1366x768. HDMI does not support this resolution so you cannot get perfect 1:1 pixel mapping over an HDMI cable. Using D-SUB the TV will accept this. With a native 1080p (1920x1080) television use HDMI, as it supports this resolution.

I'm not sure if your'e quite understanding what I'm talking about.

I actually did try out a 71 series at the store yesterday with an Xbox 360. Even set to 1080p on a native 1080p set, I wasn't getting that PC sharpness I was looking for. i did get that PC sharpness through HDMI on my other 1366x768 sets though when set to PC mode (Or in the Olevias case, this was the default when using VGA or DVI).

It didn't really have anything to do with me preferring VGA over HDMI/DVI or anything like that. Especially since I know HDMI/DVI is capable of doing the PC look I'm speaking of. I just couldnt get it going on any of the newer sets. it looked more similar to component than PC if that makes any sense.

I will try it out now that I know about this PC mode through HDMI. I am anxious to see if it works as it sounded like the other guy understood what I was speaking of.
danman2424 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-11-2008, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
itons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffD33 View Post

I have a samsung 4671F and have found that DVI-HDMI works much better than D-SUB (vga cable). I also do not use the PC mode on the TV. The most important think is getting a 1:1 pixel mapping. Meaning the PC is sending the native resolution of the TV. This above all else will give you the sharpness you are talking about.

For 720p TV's, generally D-SUB is the way to go since the LCD's native resolution is normally 1366x768. HDMI does not support this resolution so you cannot get perfect 1:1 pixel mapping over an HDMI cable. Using D-SUB the TV will accept this. With a native 1080p (1920x1080) television use HDMI, as it supports this resolution.

My pc is using DSUB on my 5271 and my desktop automatically changed its resolution to 1920x1080 and is very clear.
itons is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-13-2008, 07:22 AM
Member
 
Flip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

My Pioneer plasma PDP 427-XA (don't know the name of the US model, but it is generation 7, generation 8 PDP 428 is out now in europe) 1024*768 pixels panel.

PC with Radeon X700 grapics card--DVI-HDMI cable-->PLASMA

I use www.omegadrivers.net drivers. Much more stable than the ATI crap.

Is there a way to change so that the pc outputs video signals 720p/1080i resolution instead of "pc signal" 720p/1080i ?

If someone knows where to find it in the settings?

The HDMI supports 720p/1080i and 1080p 24 from some Blue Ray players

I would like to solve the overscan problem (the windows desktop is eather to big or to small, black borders and the icons are hard to read. Does anyone know if Nvidia has this feature?
Flip is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-24-2008, 03:05 AM
Member
 
TSullivanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah id die to know too. Terrible overscaning on my pdp-427xd via hdmi from htpc. The image just wont fit.
TSullivanM is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off