Panasonic PZ80/PZ85 Owners Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 423 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12661 of 12675 Old 12-19-2012, 06:53 PM
Member
 
Noodles3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomwil View Post

Just be aware that the unplug-plugin routine will eventually cause more damage, as mentioned in this post.

Yeah that's why I'm trying to get the TV tested and get the part needed from a reputable source as quickly as possible. I just wish Panasonic would be able to help with the parts.
Noodles3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12662 of 12675 Old 12-27-2012, 08:49 PM
Member
 
Noodles3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well got the new P-Board installed and everything is working fine. Now let's hope this P-Board lasts at least 4 years like the original one did. The hardest part of the install was removing 40 some screws to get the back off. smile.gif
Noodles3 is offline  
post #12663 of 12675 Old 12-28-2012, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StuJac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noodles3 View Post

Well got the new P-Board installed and everything is working fine. Now let's hope this P-Board lasts at least 4 years like the original one did. The hardest part of the install was removing 40 some screws to get the back off. smile.gif

Noodles-where did you score the P board? How much? I'll take one.

Pan 46PZ85U, Marantz SR5003, TiVo Premier, TiVoHd + 1tb, A2 (fs), PS3, Pan DMR E-95 (fs), JVC DVD-A, Polk & Infinity, Harmony One
StuJac is offline  
post #12664 of 12675 Old 12-28-2012, 06:32 AM
Member
 
Noodles3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuJac View Post

Noodles-where did you score the P board? How much? I'll take one.

I got it directly from Panasonic. It was roughly $160 after shipping. I called directly to the Viera concierge support line and they put me in touch with the parts department. They have A-Boards too that they priced at $380
Noodles3 is offline  
post #12665 of 12675 Old 08-15-2013, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
irateb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

I have a TH-50PZ85U that i bought 12/08, and it had been working perfectly until about a month ago. I recently got a job that involved travel, and it happened to malfunction a day after my first trip. I've finally gotten around to trying to diagnose it, and it appears all three HDMI ports are not working. All other inputs work fine, the picture looks as good as it can sans an HDMI feed, and sound is fine. Any idea on what my issue could be? My quick research is saying A-board, but I figured I'd ask and see if that was correct...

Thanks!
irateb is offline  
post #12666 of 12675 Old 09-20-2013, 06:47 AM
Member
 
FlynP5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a vertical yellow bar on my plasma tv. The images can be seen through it but I checked all of the settings and I can not get it to go away. I was just saying last week that I love the picture on this plasma, hopefully it is not anything to expensive to get fixed.
FlynP5 is offline  
post #12667 of 12675 Old 10-18-2013, 08:33 AM
Newbie
 
wasp23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 42-pz80 which has developed an annoying fault just out of warranty.
A vertical black bar has appeared down the left hand edge of the screen about one inch wide. It doesn't flicker or flash it is just solid black.
Does anyone have any clue as to what this could be or how I could fix it ?
Thanks.
wasp23 is offline  
post #12668 of 12675 Old 10-18-2013, 11:01 AM
Member
 
FlynP5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm sorry to hear about your problem, I have a 5" yellow bar on the right hand side, appears after an hour being on. At this point I don't think its worth getting fixed, I'm waiting for the Panasonic Viera TC-50PS64 to go on sale at Costco.
FlynP5 is offline  
post #12669 of 12675 Old 12-18-2013, 07:20 AM
Member
 
FlynP5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was playing around with the Catalyst Control Center settings last night and trying to figure out the "Dynamic Range", some people say use 0-255 full, others 16-235 limited if your TV can accept it. I had the Lagom LCD monitor test page up in my browser while changing the settings and could not see any difference between the different formats.

I looked through the Panasonic manual but could not find an answer, can the TV do 0-255 Full RGB, or is it limited to 16-235.

I ended up leaving it on RGB 4:4:4 Pixel Format PC Standard (Full RGB) which some say is best for an HTPC.

• Connection HDMI Pass Through Onkyo
• Windows 7 HTPC with Radeon HD6870 to Onkyo_TX-SR607 to TH50PZ85U

1. YcbCr 4:4:4 Pixel Format
2. YCbCr 4:2:2 Pixel Format
3. RGB 4:4:4 Pixel Format Studio (Limited RGB)
4. RGB 4:4:4 Pixel Format PC Standard (Full RGB)
FlynP5 is offline  
post #12670 of 12675 Old 04-18-2014, 03:13 PM
Member
 
ctg115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OTA Audio problems.

I'm having a problem with over the air broadcast tv audio. I get about 40 channels OTA , on only 2 of the channels the main audio track does not play through the receiver. Every other channel is fine. When I play the audio through the tv's speakers, the main audio track works fine for the two problem channels. To get audio to play through the receiver on those two channels I need to select the SAP on the tv, set it to audio track 2, and then the audio plays fine. I posted the problem in the OTA thread for my area and no one else has this issue. I swapped out the toslink cable and that made no difference. I played around with the audio settings in both the tv menu and the receiver menu but I cannot get it to work. Has this happened to anyone else? Any ideas?

Antenna: CM 3916
TV: Panasonic 42PZ80u
Receiver: Denon 1610

Cross-posting in the tv and receiver thread.
ctg115 is offline  
post #12671 of 12675 Old 07-20-2014, 07:02 PM
Member
 
04ctd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
are we supposed to log in here with time of death?

manufacture date nov 2008 on back sticker.

first "panasonic blinking red light of death" about a week ago
would unplug it, work for 12 hours, unplug it, 10 hours, till finally...nothing but the blink of death, the 10 blink one...


delivery to Best Buy recycling desk, 20 July 2014.

RIP (Really Inactive Plasma)
04ctd is offline  
post #12672 of 12675 Old 07-20-2014, 07:04 PM
Member
 
Noodles3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04ctd View Post
are we supposed to log in here with time of death?

manufacture date nov 2008 on back sticker.

first "panasonic blinking red light of death" about a week ago
would unplug it, work for 12 hours, unplug it, 10 hours, till finally...nothing but the blink of death, the 10 blink one...


delivery to Best Buy recycling desk, 20 July 2014.

RIP (Really Inactive Plasma)
Couldn't replace the A or P boards?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Noodles3 is offline  
post #12673 of 12675 Old 07-27-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
Reliantkcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got for free 2 pz80u's one 50" other a 42"

Both had 10 blinks

Just snap off 2 bad smd caps and boom both work mint.(what do you think those$100 ebay repair services do?)

50" has 5,000 hours
42" has about 10,000

They look great with Hdmi but component on the xbox 360 is decent with 720p but less sharp in 1080I. My old 360 doesn't have Hdmi. Is there a firmware update to give it better component performance or 1080p component support?
Reliantkcar is offline  
post #12674 of 12675 Old 07-27-2014, 08:18 AM
Member
 
Noodles3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reliantkcar View Post
Just got for free 2 pz80u's one 50" other a 42"

Both had 10 blinks

Just snap off 2 bad smd caps and boom both work mint.(what do you think those$100 ebay repair services do?)

50" has 5,000 hours
42" has about 10,000

They look great with Hdmi but component on the xbox 360 is decent with 720p but less sharp in 1080I. My old 360 doesn't have Hdmi. Is there a firmware update to give it better component performance or 1080p component support?
Nice

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Noodles3 is offline  
post #12675 of 12675 Old 08-05-2014, 02:49 PM
Member
 
nickyboy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you check the hours on a 50PZ85U ?
Almost 6 years still love the PQ on this set, hope it never dies.
nickyboy4 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off