Master thread for Panasonic plasma not turning on - Page 74 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2194 Old 01-03-2015, 04:36 PM
Member
 
TW2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by grandehdtv View Post
Not sure what happened but it's working now! Guess the ghost in the machine needed some time to adjust to the new parts. Only problem is 2 small horizontal lines going across upper third of screen. I'm assuming it's a couple of the ribbons that aren't seated correctly?
Yes, turn the TV off and where the lines are they will line up with the corresponding offending ribbon. They need to be in straight and all the way. You can compare to another ribbon with no issues to see if in correctly. Don't try this with TV on or you wil blow the boards up!

Since it mysteriously started working, I'd go over all connections and mounting screws for the SC/SD/SU.

A misaligned SC20 ribbon can give issues but if it all looks tight and straight, I guess leave it alone.

Pity you don't have the gear to test, the Buffers maybe ok and that SC board I'd keep. they can be repaired ad at some point spares run out. I know with my 2010 the Sc is expensive and hard to find, but I repair mine now, done about 6 of them and just did a 2011 50S30 which 4 parts replaced.

3 screws to mount the Sd/Su boards, I see 2 for gnd but from habit it's always been 4 but looks like they saved a few cents going to 2.
TW2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2194 Old 01-05-2015, 12:28 PM
Member
 
grandehdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TW2005 View Post
Yes, turn the TV off and where the lines are they will line up with the corresponding offending ribbon. They need to be in straight and all the way. You can compare to another ribbon with no issues to see if in correctly. Don't try this with TV on or you wil blow the boards up!

Since it mysteriously started working, I'd go over all connections and mounting screws for the SC/SD/SU.

A misaligned SC20 ribbon can give issues but if it all looks tight and straight, I guess leave it alone.

Pity you don't have the gear to test, the Buffers maybe ok and that SC board I'd keep. they can be repaired ad at some point spares run out. I know with my 2010 the Sc is expensive and hard to find, but I repair mine now, done about 6 of them and just did a 2011 50S30 which 4 parts replaced.

3 screws to mount the Sd/Su boards, I see 2 for gnd but from habit it's always been 4 but looks like they saved a few cents going to 2.
Tweaked the ribbon and all is good now. Thanks TW2005! Just a word of advice for people doing this themselves. Put on some gloves when removing or putting back on the rear cover. The sheet metal it's made of is pretty sharp at the edges....I learned the hard way.
grandehdtv is offline  
post #2193 of 2194 Old Today, 12:44 PM
Member
 
tym2relax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been a long time since I last posted, but have been happy with my 55VT30. Until now. A few nights ago I turned on the TV and noticed the top third of the picture had some type of color distortion that went away after turning it off/on. BTW, there has never been any buzzing or other odd noises coming from the TV. Last night I noticed it again, so I turned off. When I turned it back on the pictured appeared briefly, then 'pop'. A distinct sound followed by the TV shutting off completely. It would not turn on and no lights. I unplugged and attempted to power up, but nothing. No lights, no blinking, nothing. Bought in 9/2011 Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks
tym2relax is online now  
post #2194 of 2194 Old Today, 03:57 PM
Member
 
tym2relax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATE - I discovered I needed to leave it unplugged for 10 minutes before attempting to view a code. Did it and now see the 7-blinks. Now wonder if parts are available....
tym2relax is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off