Master thread for Panasonic plasma not turning on - Page 74 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2198 Old 01-03-2015, 04:36 PM
Member
 
TW2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by grandehdtv View Post
Not sure what happened but it's working now! Guess the ghost in the machine needed some time to adjust to the new parts. Only problem is 2 small horizontal lines going across upper third of screen. I'm assuming it's a couple of the ribbons that aren't seated correctly?
Yes, turn the TV off and where the lines are they will line up with the corresponding offending ribbon. They need to be in straight and all the way. You can compare to another ribbon with no issues to see if in correctly. Don't try this with TV on or you wil blow the boards up!

Since it mysteriously started working, I'd go over all connections and mounting screws for the SC/SD/SU.

A misaligned SC20 ribbon can give issues but if it all looks tight and straight, I guess leave it alone.

Pity you don't have the gear to test, the Buffers maybe ok and that SC board I'd keep. they can be repaired ad at some point spares run out. I know with my 2010 the Sc is expensive and hard to find, but I repair mine now, done about 6 of them and just did a 2011 50S30 which 4 parts replaced.

3 screws to mount the Sd/Su boards, I see 2 for gnd but from habit it's always been 4 but looks like they saved a few cents going to 2.
TW2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2198 Old 01-05-2015, 12:28 PM
Member
 
grandehdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TW2005 View Post
Yes, turn the TV off and where the lines are they will line up with the corresponding offending ribbon. They need to be in straight and all the way. You can compare to another ribbon with no issues to see if in correctly. Don't try this with TV on or you wil blow the boards up!

Since it mysteriously started working, I'd go over all connections and mounting screws for the SC/SD/SU.

A misaligned SC20 ribbon can give issues but if it all looks tight and straight, I guess leave it alone.

Pity you don't have the gear to test, the Buffers maybe ok and that SC board I'd keep. they can be repaired ad at some point spares run out. I know with my 2010 the Sc is expensive and hard to find, but I repair mine now, done about 6 of them and just did a 2011 50S30 which 4 parts replaced.

3 screws to mount the Sd/Su boards, I see 2 for gnd but from habit it's always been 4 but looks like they saved a few cents going to 2.
Tweaked the ribbon and all is good now. Thanks TW2005! Just a word of advice for people doing this themselves. Put on some gloves when removing or putting back on the rear cover. The sheet metal it's made of is pretty sharp at the edges....I learned the hard way.
grandehdtv is offline  
post #2193 of 2198 Old 01-20-2015, 12:44 PM
Member
 
tym2relax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been a long time since I last posted, but have been happy with my 55VT30. Until now. A few nights ago I turned on the TV and noticed the top third of the picture had some type of color distortion that went away after turning it off/on. BTW, there has never been any buzzing or other odd noises coming from the TV. Last night I noticed it again, so I turned off. When I turned it back on the pictured appeared briefly, then 'pop'. A distinct sound followed by the TV shutting off completely. It would not turn on and no lights. I unplugged and attempted to power up, but nothing. No lights, no blinking, nothing. Bought in 9/2011 Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks
tym2relax is offline  
post #2194 of 2198 Old 01-20-2015, 03:57 PM
Member
 
tym2relax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATE - I discovered I needed to leave it unplugged for 10 minutes before attempting to view a code. Did it and now see the 7-blinks. Now wonder if parts are available....
tym2relax is offline  
post #2195 of 2198 Old 01-27-2015, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
nchakra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a 55VT25 and found plenty of parts available on eBay. Unlikely to find from the manufacturer.
nchakra is offline  
post #2196 of 2198 Old 01-28-2015, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
uwmad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First, I want to thank all the contributors to this thread. About 6 weeks ago my 2011 Panny TC-P55vt30 contracted the 7 blinking lights of death. Through reading this thread I pulled the 3 boards and sent them into moduslink for repair. I received the boards today but unfortunately they did not include new screws. Does anyone know where i can get a new screw set with the appropriate lock washers? Google and ebay came up empty for my model. thanks.
uwmad is offline  
post #2197 of 2198 Old 01-28-2015, 07:51 PM
Member
 
merccrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by uwmad View Post
First, I want to thank all the contributors to this thread. About 6 weeks ago my 2011 Panny TC-P55vt30 contracted the 7 blinking lights of death. Through reading this thread I pulled the 3 boards and sent them into moduslink for repair. I received the boards today but unfortunately they did not include new screws. Does anyone know where i can get a new screw set with the appropriate lock washers? Google and ebay came up empty for my model. thanks.
This? http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-XYN3...ew+kits+55vt30
merccrazy is offline  
post #2198 of 2198 Unread Today, 03:28 PM
Member
 
topperdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minne'snow'ta
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question

I have a TC-P42ST30. We had not used it for several days (over a week or maybe two). Earlier today, I tried turning it on and found it was not turning on. I came across this thread and went through first few pages but havent read all of it. There are no blinking lights, nor did we hear any pop sounds or high-pitched sound typical of capacitors going bad etc.Tried unlpugging it from the wall outlet and let it sit for almost half an hour as suggested in one of the posts but I still do not see any red blinking lights.


Not sure if it matters but I did have the A-board replaced in this TV under warranty to fix the "flickering brightness" issue from these sets. Since then it has been working without issues until now when it just stopped turning on. Would appreciate any input for what I could try and any further diagnosis I could do to help isolate the problem.


FWIW, I am pretty technically savy and did fix my 22" computer monitor (purchased back in 2007 or so) when it would not turn on few years back (2009 to be exact) due to the "badcaps" issue and fixed the power supply by replacing the OEM bulging capacitors with (ironically) Panasonic ones and it has been working without any issues since then.


Thanks for any input.
-Topper
topperdude is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off