Master thread for Panasonic plasma not turning on - Page 75 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2226 Old 02-26-2015, 03:35 PM
Member
 
linkgx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, I'm frustrated. Apparently I need a new SC board in my Panasonic 50ST30. It's going to cost a total of $320 to get fixed...not as bad as I thought but still not cheap. Since it seems to be a common problem, is there a chance of getting it replaced for free? I already paid the $99 diags fee (that goes toward the repair).
linkgx1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2226 Old 02-26-2015, 04:09 PM
Member
 
TW2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by linkgx1 View Post
Guys, I'm frustrated. Apparently I need a new SC board in my Panasonic 50ST30. It's going to cost a total of $320 to get fixed...not as bad as I thought but still not cheap. Since it seems to be a common problem, is there a chance of getting it replaced for free? I already paid the $99 diags fee (that goes toward the repair).
Pity you did not seek advice first on this. You'd have to approach panasonic but from what i've read from previous experience in the US it's not worth the hassle. I've read of someone having to pay for diag, panasonic pay the repair labour but you pay for the part and after all that the reapair cost was still about what you say.

If you are confident in taking the back off the Tv, remove the Sc board yourself, send it to moduslinkpts for repair and install yourself

http://www.moduslinkptstvboards.com/txnsc1phuu/

there are repair kits $30 and I have done the same board for a S30 and all I had to replace was 4 transistors for about $6 but sometimes it can be more than this that needs replacing so modus is the safest option and you'll get out of it for a bit over $100. unless you have some soldering experience and the tools that's what I'd do. there may be some people offering repairs on ebay also a bit cheaper but modus seem to get good reports on the other forum I'm on

if you'd posted this first I probably could have diag the fault as SC for free and it is the most common fault with that generation of pansonic plasmas.

The Tv is probably more than 3 years old so I would not expect must free assistance from panasonic.

did they test the buffer boards for shorts and confirmed hey were ok as part of the diag?
TW2005 is offline  
post #2223 of 2226 Old 02-26-2015, 09:33 PM
Member
 
linkgx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TW2005 View Post
Pity you did not seek advice first on this. You'd have to approach panasonic but from what i've read from previous experience in the US it's not worth the hassle. I've read of someone having to pay for diag, panasonic pay the repair labour but you pay for the part and after all that the reapair cost was still about what you say.

If you are confident in taking the back off the Tv, remove the Sc board yourself, send it to moduslinkpts for repair and install yourself

http://www.moduslinkptstvboards.com/txnsc1phuu/

there are repair kits $30 and I have done the same board for a S30 and all I had to replace was 4 transistors for about $6 but sometimes it can be more than this that needs replacing so modus is the safest option and you'll get out of it for a bit over $100. unless you have some soldering experience and the tools that's what I'd do. there may be some people offering repairs on ebay also a bit cheaper but modus seem to get good reports on the other forum I'm on

if you'd posted this first I probably could have diag the fault as SC for free and it is the most common fault with that generation of pansonic plasmas.

The Tv is probably more than 3 years old so I would not expect must free assistance from panasonic.

did they test the buffer boards for shorts and confirmed hey were ok as part of the diag?
Thank you. It's fine. If I had known Panny's had this issue, I probably would have skipped it. However, this made me apperciate my TV that much more. Almost no TV (I was considering buying a new one) compares. So $320 vs a $1200+ one is good for me. I just look at it on the bright side. I only paid $700 for the TV and got a free blu ray player with it. So in total $1000 is still below the market value. I was going to buy a New 3DSXL with that money anyways so it's not too much sweat here.
linkgx1 is offline  
post #2224 of 2226 Old Yesterday, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
TC-P42X3 No Power, No Flashing Lights....

Hi.

First time posting here, and need some help with my P42X3.

It would not turn on a week or so ago. It makes clicking noises, but no flashing red LED on the front panel. No lights on the panel at all. The clicking noise is coming from what I think are two relays on the power board. The sound when power is plugged in is one click, followed by a short pause and then 3 fast clicks.

The only light is a small red light on the A board where the back panel indicates "digital audio out". At the first click, the red light comes on. Following the three rapid clicks, it goes off. Then cycles that way, on and off, with the clicking pattern.

Based on reading about bad power boards on these models, I ordered a replacement power board. The symptoms are the same after installing the new power board. I have not tested either of the power boards.

Any help on locating the problem and solution would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
unclecurt is online now  
post #2225 of 2226 Old Today, 12:31 AM
Member
 
TW2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclecurt View Post
Hi.

First time posting here, and need some help with my P42X3.

It would not turn on a week or so ago. It makes clicking noises, but no flashing red LED on the front panel. No lights on the panel at all. The clicking noise is coming from what I think are two relays on the power board. The sound when power is plugged in is one click, followed by a short pause and then 3 fast clicks.

The only light is a small red light on the A board where the back panel indicates "digital audio out". At the first click, the red light comes on. Following the three rapid clicks, it goes off. Then cycles that way, on and off, with the clicking pattern.

Based on reading about bad power boards on these models, I ordered a replacement power board. The symptoms are the same after installing the new power board. I have not tested either of the power boards.

Any help on locating the problem and solution would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
sounds like SN or SS board or both have shorted out. you would have to check for short cct at SN2 and SS11 , disconnect the power cables to those first then check resistance
TW2005 is offline  
post #2226 of 2226 Old Today, 07:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TW2005 View Post
sounds like SN or SS board or both have shorted out. you would have to check for short cct at SN2 and SS11 , disconnect the power cables to those first then check resistance
Thanks.

Would it be possible to advise how to do this check with a multi-meter. I work on wooden boats. TV's..... not so much.

Thanks.
unclecurt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off