Master thread for Panasonic plasma not turning on - Page 84 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2491 of 2507 Old 11-25-2016, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richard Berg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 16
New P board ($50 on eBay) fixed it! Thanks to everyone who's posted troubleshooting tips on this forum!
Richard Berg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2492 of 2507 Old 12-01-2016, 09:24 AM
Newbie
 
SubEffect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

I've read through a large chunk of posts in this thread but I don't think the symptoms I have match the majority of issues.. let's see if anyone has an idea of where I should go.

Model: TC-42GT25, purchased in 2010

Symptoms:
- No display nor sound from any input source. The panel seems to receive power as there is a dull black/gray hue to the screen (noticeably different from when the panel is off completely)
- Red LED is solid
- No changes after panel is left on for a long time (stays on, no LED changes, etc)
- Remote commands not displayed (I believe they are being received, meaning if I can get the panel to come on completely, i've noticed the input changed based on what i was pressing on the remote)
- Issue is intermittent - if I play with the remote enough, I can get a normal display and use the panel indefinitely, unless I turn it off
- Green LEDs on the side boards (SC boards?) are solid
- No noticeable damage to any circuit boards (burn marks, etc..)

Given that this is intermittent, I don't want to replace any hardware in hopes it will resolve the issue. I am not opposed to doing that in general, but I also don't mind taking it to a service center. I do have a cheap multimeter, but I am no electronics guru and don't really know how to use it properly. It was a gift.

Anyhow - I'm really looking to see if this is something I can resolve on my own or if it should be addressed by a certified technician. My gut says this needs some in-depth troubleshooting, but perhaps someone else has had this issue and can let me know what they had to do.

Thanks!
SubEffect is offline  
post #2493 of 2507 Old 12-05-2016, 04:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Tc-p46c2

Hello,

I have an Panasonic TC-P46C2 (May 2010) and it’s doesn’t turn on anymore.

I can hear click when trying to turn it on but screen still black and red light start to blinking after click every 2-3 seconds non-stop…

Please help!
Moscow is offline  
 
post #2494 of 2507 Old 12-16-2016, 05:07 PM
Member
 
tvnovus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Help Needed

TC-P55GT30

Watching, then out of the blue, screen goes black, small pop, ozone, smoke.
Took back off and found arced burn on P board. Replaced the board, but still nothing. No power, no LED.

Any ideas. I'm wondering should I try the "sub" board next? PTS Electronics offers a complete board option, not sure if it will fix.
Great TV, hate to lose it.

Any ideas?
Thanks!
tvnovus is offline  
post #2495 of 2507 Old 12-17-2016, 05:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvnovus View Post
Help Needed

TC-P55GT30

Watching, then out of the blue, screen goes black, small pop, ozone, smoke.
Took back off and found arced burn on P board. Replaced the board, but still nothing. No power, no LED.

Any ideas. I'm wondering should I try the "sub" board next? PTS Electronics offers a complete board option, not sure if it will fix.
Great TV, hate to lose it.

Any ideas?
Thanks!
Instead of just throwing boards at it, start a thread over at this place.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31
Test Ickles is online now  
post #2496 of 2507 Old 12-18-2016, 04:41 PM
Member
 
tvnovus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
Instead of just throwing boards at it, start a thread over at this place.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31
Thanks for the link, I'll check it out.

I agree, I don't want to buy all the boards without knowing what's wrong.

Thanks again for the point.
tvnovus is offline  
post #2497 of 2507 Old 12-21-2016, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I've been trying to get my Panasonic TH50PX60U working again, its got the classic 10 blink as you would expect. I actually already made a thread over at badcaps but figured I would post here too, more advice the better.

I'd post pictures or a link to my badcaps thread but I don't have enough posts. If you feel adventurous I've got a thread titled "Panasonic TH50PX60U 10 blinks does not power on" under the same username in the "Troubleshooying TVs and Video Sources" section.

Anyways, basically my tv went dead few years ago, started off by just shutting off randomly. When I plug it in I hear two quick clicks, a very slight pause and then another click. The red led repeatedly blinks 10 times, no fans come on. I tried the freeze test on MC301 and MC201 and it didn't help.

Anything obvious stand out to you guys? Any advice on what to test with a multimeter or what boards to try unplugging would be very helpful.

Thanks
GabrielM is offline  
post #2498 of 2507 Old 01-02-2017, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubEffect View Post
Hello,

I've read through a large chunk of posts in this thread but I don't think the symptoms I have match the majority of issues.. let's see if anyone has an idea of where I should go.

Model: TC-42GT25, purchased in 2010

Symptoms:
- No display nor sound from any input source. The panel seems to receive power as there is a dull black/gray hue to the screen (noticeably different from when the panel is off completely)
- Red LED is solid
- No changes after panel is left on for a long time (stays on, no LED changes, etc)
- Remote commands not displayed (I believe they are being received, meaning if I can get the panel to come on completely, i've noticed the input changed based on what i was pressing on the remote)
- Issue is intermittent - if I play with the remote enough, I can get a normal display and use the panel indefinitely, unless I turn it off
- Green LEDs on the side boards (SC boards?) are solid
- No noticeable damage to any circuit boards (burn marks, etc..)

Given that this is intermittent, I don't want to replace any hardware in hopes it will resolve the issue. I am not opposed to doing that in general, but I also don't mind taking it to a service center. I do have a cheap multimeter, but I am no electronics guru and don't really know how to use it properly. It was a gift.

Anyhow - I'm really looking to see if this is something I can resolve on my own or if it should be addressed by a certified technician. My gut says this needs some in-depth troubleshooting, but perhaps someone else has had this issue and can let me know what they had to do.

Thanks!
I'm having very similar issues as subeffect here.

I've been looking through precious threads and can't seem to find anyone with the same issue(except 1 other guy that commented the the blinking light thread and no one responded). When I power the TV on, the red light comes on and stays lit(no blinking) and the backlight also comes on. But that's it. Nothing can be seen or heard, no menu, no input selected, nada, just the backlight. When I open the back of the TV up, I have 1 green LED on the SS board, 1 green LED on the SC board, and the 'digital audio out' on the A board has a red light in it, but no other lights. Fans come on, I hear the relays clicking. When I disconnect the A5, A6, and A7 connectors on the A board, I get a solid white screen. I'm assuming this is either the A board or the main power board, but unsure which route to try first. I picked the TV up from a woman whose house I painted and she just wanted it gone. Any help in direction would be appreciated.

Also, it looks like what appears to be a bulb on the sub power board is present but not lit up like the leds and is defintely larger.. is this supposed to light up? I can attach pictures if anyone needs to see them.
JDMorrison314 is offline  
post #2499 of 2507 Old 01-02-2017, 11:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDMorrison314 View Post
I'm having very similar issues as subeffect here.

I've been looking through precious threads and can't seem to find anyone with the same issue(except 1 other guy that commented the the blinking light thread and no one responded). When I power the TV on, the red light comes on and stays lit(no blinking) and the backlight also comes on. But that's it. Nothing can be seen or heard, no menu, no input selected, nada, just the backlight. When I open the back of the TV up, I have 1 green LED on the SS board, 1 green LED on the SC board, and the 'digital audio out' on the A board has a red light in it, but no other lights. Fans come on, I hear the relays clicking. When I disconnect the A5, A6, and A7 connectors on the A board, I get a solid white screen. I'm assuming this is either the A board or the main power board, but unsure which route to try first. I picked the TV up from a woman whose house I painted and she just wanted it gone. Any help in direction would be appreciated.

Also, it looks like what appears to be a bulb on the sub power board is present but not lit up like the leds and is defintely larger.. is this supposed to light up? I can attach pictures if anyone needs to see them.
oh, and my model is TH-46PZ85U
JDMorrison314 is offline  
post #2500 of 2507 Old 01-11-2017, 12:27 PM
Member
 
azideam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Leandro, CA, US
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to Panasonic plasmas

Picked up a used P55VT30 last month off of CL. Other than a minor scratch on the mask, it's clean and working OK; it's been in service since 2011. I've read through much of this great thread, and am asking if it should be considered mandatory preventative to replace all the existing board screws with the old-style, so as to avoid arching issues. I see that shopjimmy sells packs of 18; how many screws will I need to buy to refit all of the boards?
Thank you for any advice.

Last edited by azideam; 01-11-2017 at 02:17 PM. Reason: secondary question added
azideam is offline  
post #2501 of 2507 Old 01-11-2017, 06:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by azideam View Post
Picked up a used P55VT30 last month off of CL. Other than a minor scratch on the mask, it's clean and working OK; it's been in service since 2011. I've read through much of this great thread, and am asking if it should be considered mandatory preventative to replace all the existing board screws with the old-style, so as to avoid arching issues. I see that shopjimmy sells packs of 18; how many screws will I need to buy to refit all of the boards?
Thank you for any advice.
I would just take the back off and see if they've come loose. If so apply some of the blue locktight.
Test Ickles is online now  
post #2502 of 2507 Old 01-20-2017, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ST50 Plasma

My lovely 5 year old plasma is starting to fail.

There is a youtube link but I can't link it video = GUc-91Vcdbk

It will keep looping, if I disconnect the main power for say 10-15 mins, then I can power the TV on fine.
Can last for around 10-15 minutes, and will keep restarting itself but will remain on fine.

My guess it's the power supply TNPA5567 (mine is version AF) but keen to find out would majority of the power boards be 90-240V? (as these TVs are sold worldwide). Given I'm in New Zealand trying to source a replacement TNPA5567 AF power supply board might be a bit troublesome.

No specific error blinking leds or red lights at all. Just the green power on led will flick very fast so unable to do the proper count for the error code.

Anyone else dealt with this issue and was it simply a replacement power board?

Regards,
johna8 is offline  
post #2503 of 2507 Old 02-15-2017, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
SubEffect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Small Update..

Quote:
Originally Posted by SubEffect View Post
Hello,

I've read through a large chunk of posts in this thread but I don't think the symptoms I have match the majority of issues.. let's see if anyone has an idea of where I should go.

Model: TC-42GT25, purchased in 2010

Symptoms:
- No display nor sound from any input source. The panel seems to receive power as there is a dull black/gray hue to the screen (noticeably different from when the panel is off completely)
- Red LED is solid
- No changes after panel is left on for a long time (stays on, no LED changes, etc)
- Remote commands not displayed (I believe they are being received, meaning if I can get the panel to come on completely, i've noticed the input changed based on what i was pressing on the remote)
- Issue is intermittent - if I play with the remote enough, I can get a normal display and use the panel indefinitely, unless I turn it off
- Green LEDs on the side boards (SC boards?) are solid
- No noticeable damage to any circuit boards (burn marks, etc..)

Given that this is intermittent, I don't want to replace any hardware in hopes it will resolve the issue. I am not opposed to doing that in general, but I also don't mind taking it to a service center. I do have a cheap multimeter, but I am no electronics guru and don't really know how to use it properly. It was a gift.

Anyhow - I'm really looking to see if this is something I can resolve on my own or if it should be addressed by a certified technician. My gut says this needs some in-depth troubleshooting, but perhaps someone else has had this issue and can let me know what they had to do.

Thanks!
I finally got my set into a repair shop since it degraded to the point that I could no longer toggle it off/on to get an source to pop through. The guy basically came to the conclusion that the board with the inputs was bad (I believe this is the "Main" board).

I now have a dilemma - I'm not ready to replace this set yet (waiting on the 2016 OLEDs to go on sale ~ $1,500 for a 55" and I'm there). The cost of the board + labor will be between $300-350. I do eventually want a third TV for the basement (this set was to go there when I picked up an OLED). I believe I have found the same part on Ebay for $99 and i've thought about replacing it myself. I'm no electronics wiz, but I've built my own PCs and worked on laptops (admittedly, it's good that I don't do it for a living, I'm no surgeon).

Anyhow - aside from the obvious issues with not putting things back where they belong - any scary reasons why I shouldn't attempt this myself? It may be obvious.. the TV is dead as it is. Worst case I guess I throw away $100 or so. I'm basically concerned I'll be chasing the wrong part or something else is wrong..

Any advice there? I looked for "cheap" LCDs, but I really don't think that is a good use of money either. Right now I'm down a TV in the main room, which stinks..

Thanks
SubEffect is offline  
post #2504 of 2507 Old 02-18-2017, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
SubEffect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ten Blinks: Question about power source

I don't know that folks read this thread much anymore, which is understandable. I've had a new development in my quest to fix my failing 42" 2010 model. The guy at the repair shop I took it to for an estimate offered to sell me a refurb'd 2008 50" model (TH-P50Z80U I believe). I decided to take him up on the deal and he gave me a 6 month warranty on the set. I got it home, turned it on and it was beautiful - very nice condition, nice picture, and the size increase was amazing. Played a few games for about an hour and turned it off. I turned it on this morning and - 10 blinks of death. It worked fine in the store, worked fine 2 days ago and it sat since Thursday night until this morning.

I returned it today and asked for my money back. Of course, when it was hooked up in the store, it came up without issues.

So, here's my question:

- Knowing the 10 blink code is specific a voltage/power issue - is it possible that the power source could be the issue and not the TV itself?

My understanding of this code is that it is a diagnostic failure of a voltage check. I made no changes to the outlet used (which is also used for various other electronics and I've never had an issue with any of them). I'm not willing to bring the set back home and fiddle with anything - In my mind it's defective or was poorly repaired. Moving a 2008 50" model around is no fun and I'm not a person that likes a hassle.. I'm mainly curious if the issue is "me" and not the two TVs i've had issues with. Once I get my 42" back I'm going to try hooking it up to some newer outlets in my house in case that is a possible issue.

thanks for any comments..
SubEffect is offline  
post #2505 of 2507 Old 02-18-2017, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubEffect View Post
I don't know that folks read this thread much anymore, which is understandable. I've had a new development in my quest to fix my failing 42" 2010 model. The guy at the repair shop I took it to for an estimate offered to sell me a refurb'd 2008 50" model (TH-P50Z80U I believe). I decided to take him up on the deal and he gave me a 6 month warranty on the set. I got it home, turned it on and it was beautiful - very nice condition, nice picture, and the size increase was amazing. Played a few games for about an hour and turned it off. I turned it on this morning and - 10 blinks of death. It worked fine in the store, worked fine 2 days ago and it sat since Thursday night until this morning.

I returned it today and asked for my money back. Of course, when it was hooked up in the store, it came up without issues.

So, here's my question:

- Knowing the 10 blink code is specific a voltage/power issue - is it possible that the power source could be the issue and not the TV itself?

My understanding of this code is that it is a diagnostic failure of a voltage check. I made no changes to the outlet used (which is also used for various other electronics and I've never had an issue with any of them). I'm not willing to bring the set back home and fiddle with anything - In my mind it's defective or was poorly repaired. Moving a 2008 50" model around is no fun and I'm not a person that likes a hassle.. I'm mainly curious if the issue is "me" and not the two TVs i've had issues with. Once I get my 42" back I'm going to try hooking it up to some newer outlets in my house in case that is a possible issue.

thanks for any comments..
I repaired a 50PZ85u with 10 blinks. Just replaced the P-board. The plasma he sold you is a 2008. Get your money back and look for something used at least 2011 or later. Also I don't think even $100 is worth fixing your 42 now that you've had a 50 but I bet putting a working A-board in the GT25 will fix it.
Test Ickles is online now  
post #2506 of 2507 Old Yesterday, 10:16 PM
Member
 
MajorSkeptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an update for those with the 10-blink problem where removing the VERY TINY capacitor on either MC201 or MC301 fixes the problem: I'm at the 2 years and 4 months point now with NO capacitor and the set is still running fine. I DID buy the replacement capacitor, but never installed it because I just didn't think I could solder it in place without bridging the two connections. It is REALLY tiny!

So far, just removed the ONE capacitor (on MC201, I think it was). Haven't touched MC301, but I'm expecting to have to do that at some point...
MajorSkeptic is offline  
post #2507 of 2507 Old Today, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorSkeptic View Post
Just an update for those with the 10-blink problem where removing the VERY TINY capacitor on either MC201 or MC301 fixes the problem: I'm at the 2 years and 4 months point now with NO capacitor and the set is still running fine. I DID buy the replacement capacitor, but never installed it because I just didn't think I could solder it in place without bridging the two connections. It is REALLY tiny!

So far, just removed the ONE capacitor (on MC201, I think it was). Haven't touched MC301, but I'm expecting to have to do that at some point...
Wow that's crazy! Just pull one Cap and it's been working great all that time.
Test Ickles is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off