Master thread for Panasonic plasma not turning on - Page 85 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 2539 Old 04-04-2017, 06:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Berg View Post
Thin ribbon cables: open the friction tab (part of the board), ribbon will slide out freely w/o force

Thick copper wires crimped into plastic connectors: squeeze the tabs on each side (part of the connector), give it a good tug while rocking side to side
Quote:
Originally Posted by TW2005 View Post
just pull out but probably wedged in well. try rocking slightly or a small flat screwdriver may helpp lever it up slightly to get it started, just try a little either end. If pulling the cables, take it easy with the finer ones. Then if it's the same board and modules that fail as the PZ80, try the desoldering tip I just made but take photos of the board so you know how it all goes in case you have a desoldering accident
Thank you both. Combined use of fingernails in the sides, grabbing from the top and bottom, and cinching the wires from the sides - and rocking gently until one of those worked - worked on all four or five of these things.


TW2005 - is that your wife?
WiringHarness is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 2539 Old 04-04-2017, 07:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiringHarness View Post
Thank you both. Combined use of fingernails in the sides, grabbing from the top and bottom, and cinching the wires from the sides - and rocking gently until one of those worked - worked on all four or five of these things.


TW2005 - is that your wife?
All's Well / Not Well -


So - in removing the 6 screws that hold the P-Board on (I took the support off with the board) one of the screws fell behind the panel with many of the inputs and outputs. I'm not so worried about the screw itself, but do I need to worry about causing a short or some other electrical issue back there?


Ugh.
WiringHarness is offline  
post #2523 of 2539 Old 04-05-2017, 09:46 AM
Member
 
ace54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My Panasonic ST60 shuts off after a few minutes after power on and I get the 6 blink code I unplug re-plug Everything works fine then after about a minute it happens again powers off 6 blink code This was happening once in awhile but now its happening more often

Also I don't hear the Tick! noise when powering the TV ON/OFF like I hear on my other plasma just powers ON/OFF silently like LED/LCD TV's

Last edited by ace54; 04-05-2017 at 06:49 PM.
ace54 is offline  
 
post #2524 of 2539 Old 04-07-2017, 06:48 PM
Member
 
ace54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 14
http://www.brainchamber.com/2016/03/...v-blink-codes/

Panasonic TV Blink Codes for All Panasonic Models
Panasonic Plasma TVs have a built in circuit for fault diagnostics. If a fault occurs on one of the internal circuits, the firmware in the TV will detect it and output an error in the form of a blinking LED lite. The exact error is represented by the number of blinks in each series of blinks. By using this fault error code, you can diagnose the problem with the TV without even opening it. First, be sure you are counting the blinks correctly – it is very important to correctly diagnosing the problem. To do that, turn the TV OFF, and then back on and count the number of times the LED blinks. Repeat the process to confirm, and then look up the error code on the table below. This will very quickly diagnose the problem and tell you what board needs to be replaced or repaired.

1blink STV 5v sense DG Board
2blinks 15v SOS D Board
3blinks 3.3v SOS D Board
4blinks Power SOS P Board
5blinks 5v SOS D Board
6blinks Driver SOS 1 SU / SD / SC Boards (SC energy recovery circuit)
7blinks Driver SOS 2 SU / SD / SS Boards (SC floating voltage area)
8blinks Driver SOS 3 SS Board (SS energy recovery circuit)
9blinks Panel Config. SOS
10blinks Sub 5v SOS / Main 3v SOS DG Board DTV 9v SOS / Tuner Power SOS
11blinks Fan SOS PB Board
12blinks Sound SOS H Board
13blinks Communication error DG Board with IC8001 (Pesks Lite 2)
ace54 is offline  
post #2525 of 2539 Old 04-09-2017, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace54 View Post
http://www.brainchamber.com/2016/03/...v-blink-codes/

Panasonic TV Blink Codes for All Panasonic Models
Panasonic Plasma TVs have a built in circuit for fault diagnostics. If a fault occurs on one of the internal circuits, the firmware in the TV will detect it and output an error in the form of a blinking LED lite. The exact error is represented by the number of blinks in each series of blinks. By using this fault error code, you can diagnose the problem with the TV without even opening it. First, be sure you are counting the blinks correctly – it is very important to correctly diagnosing the problem. To do that, turn the TV OFF, and then back on and count the number of times the LED blinks. Repeat the process to confirm, and then look up the error code on the table below. This will very quickly diagnose the problem and tell you what board needs to be replaced or repaired.

1blink STV 5v sense DG Board
2blinks 15v SOS D Board
3blinks 3.3v SOS D Board
4blinks Power SOS P Board
5blinks 5v SOS D Board
6blinks Driver SOS 1 SU / SD / SC Boards (SC energy recovery circuit)
7blinks Driver SOS 2 SU / SD / SS Boards (SC floating voltage area)
8blinks Driver SOS 3 SS Board (SS energy recovery circuit)
9blinks Panel Config. SOS
10blinks Sub 5v SOS / Main 3v SOS DG Board DTV 9v SOS / Tuner Power SOS
11blinks Fan SOS PB Board
12blinks Sound SOS H Board
13blinks Communication error DG Board with IC8001 (Pesks Lite 2)
I've fixed two Panny's with bad SC boards. In both cases I sent all three boards to Oleg. SU,SD and SC boards. He's an ebay repair man. Reason to send all three is because SU and SD buffers need to be tested. If one of those are bad too they can take out your repaired SC board. Not sure if Oleg works on ST60's but if not him there are other's that may fix that board. Other option would be to test the buffers yourself and if ok look for a used working SC board. Good luck.
ace54 likes this.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #2526 of 2539 Old 04-09-2017, 10:53 AM
Member
 
ace54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
I've fixed two Panny's with bad SC boards. In both cases I sent all three boards to Oleg. SU,SD and SC boards. He's an ebay repair man. Reason to send all three is because SU and SD buffers need to be tested. If one of those are bad too they can take out your repaired SC board. Not sure if Oleg works on ST60's but if not him there are other's that may fix that board. Other option would be to test the buffers yourself and if ok look for a used working SC board. Good luck.

it's been working for the past three days since I left it unplugged overnight that's another problem it stops working at random times not often so even I send the boards to be checked chances are they will all pass tests I have to wait for it to completely fail

Most likely a capacitor somewhere getting weak any other part would either work or not
ace54 is offline  
post #2527 of 2539 Old 04-29-2017, 04:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,

I tried searching the thread, but there were minimal answers. There was a thunderstorm over night, and now my p60u50 won't turn on at all. The cable box was damaged as well. Everything on the surge protector works, but the cable box and tv is dead. It probably went through the coaxial cable, then through to the hdmi to my tv. The standby light is solid red, and does not blink. If the standby light is on, that means the power supply is good right? I think others in this thread have replaced the A board with success. The power button is unresponsive and doesn't do anything. Remote does not work either. I could try doing that since I like the picture on the plasma so much. Is there any thing else I can do?

Thanks.
james11416 is offline  
post #2528 of 2539 Old 06-08-2017, 09:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by james11416 View Post
Hi all,

I tried searching the thread, but there were minimal answers. There was a thunderstorm over night, and now my p60u50 won't turn on at all. The cable box was damaged as well. Everything on the surge protector works, but the cable box and tv is dead. It probably went through the coaxial cable, then through to the hdmi to my tv. The standby light is solid red, and does not blink. If the standby light is on, that means the power supply is good right? I think others in this thread have replaced the A board with success. The power button is unresponsive and doesn't do anything. Remote does not work either. I could try doing that since I like the picture on the plasma so much. Is there any thing else I can do?

Thanks.


Even though I didn't have a storm involved, I have the SAME issue... NO BLINKS and set powers off after 10 seconds, here is my original post that I ended up mistakenly posting somewhere else and got barked at by the moderator. I hope someone on this thread can help us.



I have a TC-P55ST30. Has served me well for almost 6 years. Two months ago, it shut off by itself after about 2 minutes turn on time. It would not power on again unless the power cord was unhooked and then re-inserted. Even with this, it would only stay powered on for 20 seconds and then turn off. The power light remains on STEADY, no blinking, after shut off. I called PTS electronics in Indiana, the only reputable place for repairing plasma TV's that I have researched. Their techs said that the culprit was most probably the "A" board. I called in some help to dismount it, and then I took it apart and mailed in the board. After testing it, they found no problem, and are going to return it to me for their testing fee. Now they are stating that it could be my SC (SUS) board, possibly even my power board in the upper middle. Before doing anything drastic and mailing both the other boards in, they suggested that I try to post here to see if anyone could help either from experience or from a stepwise elimination approach. I don't want to junk this set just yet. I have the set already leaning against the wall. If I should wait for the A board to be returned, to do some basic diagnostics please inform. Thanks again.


JB
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170523_161458.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	168.1 KB
ID:	2180105  
jagalag is offline  
post #2529 of 2539 Old 06-09-2017, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by jagalag View Post
Even though I didn't have a storm involved, I have the SAME issue... NO BLINKS and set powers off after 10 seconds, here is my original post that I ended up mistakenly posting somewhere else and got barked at by the moderator. I hope someone on this thread can help us.



I have a TC-P55ST30. Has served me well for almost 6 years. Two months ago, it shut off by itself after about 2 minutes turn on time. It would not power on again unless the power cord was unhooked and then re-inserted. Even with this, it would only stay powered on for 20 seconds and then turn off. The power light remains on STEADY, no blinking, after shut off. I called PTS electronics in Indiana, the only reputable place for repairing plasma TV's that I have researched. Their techs said that the culprit was most probably the "A" board. I called in some help to dismount it, and then I took it apart and mailed in the board. After testing it, they found no problem, and are going to return it to me for their testing fee. Now they are stating that it could be my SC (SUS) board, possibly even my power board in the upper middle. Before doing anything drastic and mailing both the other boards in, they suggested that I try to post here to see if anyone could help either from experience or from a stepwise elimination approach. I don't want to junk this set just yet. I have the set already leaning against the wall. If I should wait for the A board to be returned, to do some basic diagnostics please inform. Thanks again.


JB
Message this guy. If your good with a meter he can have you run a couple test to see if it's the SC board. SC boards are usually a seven blink code so I have my doubts on SC board. OLEG fixed two SC boards for me on a 65VT25 and a 50GT30.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/TNPA5351-TNP...AAAOSwv0tU6U1V
Test Ickles is offline  
post #2530 of 2539 Old 06-09-2017, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Actually it could be SC. See post #3 then see slide 41. SC or SS most common for a no blink code.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=30502
Test Ickles is offline  
post #2531 of 2539 Old 08-08-2017, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
antennahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 176
7 blinking lights of death (ZT60)

(I also posted this in the ZT60 thread)

So, I'm about 30 minutes into a movie last night on Blu ray when bam........ TV screen goes black and I get the flashing 7 lights of death. I can't turn it on or off using normal methods, so I unplug the power cord and let it sit for about 30 minutes. I then unplugged the two HDMI inputs, plugged the power cord back in, and the TV came on with no image (inputs unplugged). I turned it off, plugged the two HDMIs back in, turned it back on, and there was my movie right where I paused the Blu ray. I finished watching the movie (about 2 hours), and then turned the set off.

Is this a random incident, or the beginning of the end ...........

John
antennahead is offline  
post #2532 of 2539 Old 08-29-2017, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
No picture on TC-P50S30

Hi all,

I have a Panasonic TC-P50S30.

The TV will turn on, and stay on, but will not activate the screen at all.

The LED stays on solid, and does not blink. The troubleshooting guide tells me that indicates it is locked. I'm not sure how specific I can get regarding the cause of the issue, because it's locked, and thus, no "blink code".

I suspect the SC, or "Y-board" is at fault. I also see some browning / discoloration on this board, appearing to indicate an overheat in some areas. However, looking on eBay for replacement / repairs of these boards, I have noticed they tend to be discolored. So I am wondering if they all look this way, and this is a red herring..

I'll add some pictures of the board, although they are not very good shots. Suggestions / opinions are welcome.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_8613.JPG (134.3 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8615.JPG (129.3 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8616.JPG (130.1 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8617.JPG (130.8 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8618.JPG (82.3 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8619.JPG (82.4 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8620.JPG (105.0 KB, 8 views)
heysoos is offline  
post #2533 of 2539 Old 08-29-2017, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by heysoos View Post
Hi all,

I have a Panasonic TC-P50S30.

The TV will turn on, and stay on, but will not activate the screen at all.

The LED stays on solid, and does not blink. The troubleshooting guide tells me that indicates it is locked. I'm not sure how specific I can get regarding the cause of the issue, because it's locked, and thus, no "blink code".

I suspect the SC, or "Y-board" is at fault. I also see some browning / discoloration on this board, appearing to indicate an overheat in some areas. However, looking on eBay for replacement / repairs of these boards, I have noticed they tend to be discolored. So I am wondering if they all look this way, and this is a red herring..

I'll add some pictures of the board, although they are not very good shots. Suggestions / opinions are welcome.
Most common for a solid red is SC or SS. 2nd P board, 3rd A, Rarely panel. The brown on the board is normal. I'm getting this from an ST30 manual. Should be same for S30.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #2534 of 2539 Old 08-30-2017, 08:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
Most common for a solid red is SC or SS. 2nd P board, 3rd A, Rarely panel. The brown on the board is normal. I'm getting this from an ST30 manual. Should be same for S30.
Thank you for the response. Do you think it's worthwhile to purchase one of the diode / mosfet kits available, and replace the components? It's a $20 kit, vs. replacement board, being around $100. I'll be happy to test anything with my meter, if that will help diagnose it. I was leaning toward replacement, due to the way the board looks, but if you say it's normal, I may just get the kit. Did you look at the pictures? Some of the areas look pretty bad to me, but I'm an amateur..
heysoos is offline  
post #2535 of 2539 Old 08-30-2017, 04:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by heysoos View Post
Thank you for the response. Do you think it's worthwhile to purchase one of the diode / mosfet kits available, and replace the components? It's a $20 kit, vs. replacement board, being around $100. I'll be happy to test anything with my meter, if that will help diagnose it. I was leaning toward replacement, due to the way the board looks, but if you say it's normal, I may just get the kit. Did you look at the pictures? Some of the areas look pretty bad to me, but I'm an amateur..
Here's a good thread with a similar problem and TV from the same year.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=25925
Test Ickles is offline  
post #2536 of 2539 Old 08-30-2017, 05:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
Here's a good thread with a similar problem and TV from the same year.
Thanks again. Lots of good info in the thread. Much appreciated.
heysoos is offline  
post #2537 of 2539 Old 09-02-2017, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by heysoos View Post
Thanks again. Lots of good info in the thread. Much appreciated.
Check for a short on SC2. Put your meter on beep and touch each pin on SC2 with one of the probes. If it beeps the board is shorted and needs repaired. I just got my SC board back from repair. Before repair SC2 was shorted, after it was not and TV is back up and running. Also check for a short on Q661. A short here will indicate problems with the buffer boards. In my case Q661 was not shorted so I just had the SC repaired.
Test Ickles is offline  
post #2538 of 2539 Old 09-03-2017, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Pacfanweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
65VT60 cut off last night. No lights at all.
Unplugged this morning for awhile. Plugged back in....nothing. No lights, no clicks. She's dead, Jim.
Power supply, maybe?
Pacfanweb is offline  
post #2539 of 2539 Old 09-04-2017, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pacfanweb View Post
65VT60 cut off last night. No lights at all.
Unplugged this morning for awhile. Plugged back in....nothing. No lights, no clicks. She's dead, Jim.
Power supply, maybe?
I don't have a manual for that TV but either P or A board. P board on Ebay is cheap. Might be worth the roll of the dice. Hate to recommend the throw boards at it approach though.
Test Ickles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off