HDMI cables on Plasmas - what are people using?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jarac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
who's using which cables and does it make a difference???

Also, has anybody paid more than $100 for a cable????

Currently I use a Better Cable Silver Serpent and do have handshake issues occasionally (but only on XBOX 360) not on DVD...

cheers
jarac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
mswlogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think most folks here use Monoprice.com. There is no evidence more expensive cables perform any better.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mswlogo is offline  
post #3 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
burnsalkire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarac View Post

who's using which cables and does it make a difference???

Also, has anybody paid more than $100 for a cable????

Currently I use a Better Cable Silver Serpent and do have handshake issues occasionally (but only on XBOX 360) not on DVD...

cheers

Monoprice cables. I paid about $5.00 for the 6' HDMI cables.

The people who are fooled by Monster pay $100.00
burnsalkire is offline  
post #4 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jarac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, I am getting an OPPO 983 that comes with an HDMI cable - has anyone had experience with those?

Also, Blue Jean Cables seem to be popular on the forum.
jarac is offline  
post #5 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Elite Pro-FHD1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Monoprice.com

I've purchased 2 HDMI cables (both 6ft) for about $12 total.


I'm using it on a very expensive Pioneer Elite Plasma, just because there really is no difference.

Lakers
Dodgers
Broncos (I know)

XboxLive Gamertag: SUPREME22
Elite Pro-FHD1 is offline  
post #6 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 02:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 1233
Take it from CNET:

http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-11276_7...3.html?tag=arw

Quote:


Do you really need to spend that much money on a single HDMI cable?

Absolutely not--those cables are a rip-off. You should never pay more than $10 for a standard six-foot HDMI cable. And despite what salesmen and manufacturers might tell you, there's no meaningful difference between the $10 cable and the $50 cable. Unless you see something obvious, such as dropouts or a flashing screen, the digital information transmitted by both cables is exactly the same--no cable can make the picture any better or any worse. We've used cables from many different companies in the past--such as Belkin, Accell, Monoprice, Monster, and SimplayHD--and have not run into any consistent issues with any brand of cable. With working cables and solid connections, we've seen no dropouts and "sparklies"--just consistent, dependable, high-quality audio and video. It's that simple.

The editors at CNET are so confident that cheap HDMI cables offer identical performance, we've been using inexpensive Monoprice HDMI cables in the CNET Home Theater Lab for more than a year with no issues. That's saying a lot, especially when you consider that our video experts are constantly swapping in new products and changing configurations, which means our cables take much more abuse than they would in a normal home theater. We're also accustomed to making long cable runs, and many of our cables from Monoprice are 15 feet long. We also use even longer 20-foot cables from a generic maker with no appreciable loss in video quality. If cheap HDMI cables are good enough for the eagle-eyed video professionals at CNET, we're betting they're good enough for your home theater.


batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #7 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
docrings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL -- Soundside
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No difference... it's digital: it either works or it don't....

Monoprice, baby! Read their FAQ/Wiki on cables on their website... VERY informative.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

docrings is offline  
post #8 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 03:40 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Impact Acoustics make great cables as well.
ROMAN O is offline  
post #9 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
assJack1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
+1 for Blue Jeans
assJack1 is offline  
post #10 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDPeeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Redmond, Wa
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you're not using Monster's M series cables you're not watching HD.........might as well go back to using RF cables from your VCR. Don't you know advanced nitrogen (N2) gas-injected dielectric ensures maximum signal strength, even over longer runs? If you're not spending at least $100 per foot for on your HDMI cable you're just buying coat hangers.............oh wait:http://www.engadgethd.com/2008/03/03...ter-cable-and/

Patience has its rewards.
HDPeeT is offline  
post #11 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cybertec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Staten Island,N.Y
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarac View Post

Also, I am getting an OPPO 983 that comes with an HDMI cable - has anyone had experience with those?

Also, Blue Jean Cables seem to be popular on the forum.

I use Blue Jeans Cables for my HDTV setup.

KURO -PRO-110FD,

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

KURO PRO-151FD,

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cybertec is online now  
post #12 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 04:55 PM
 
Cronin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, not to go against the grain, but I use a Monster 600 or something like that. I wanted to order from Monoprice but late in Dec./Jan. they were out of stock for serveral types and lengths more than 6 weeks. I needed an HDMI cable weeks before Monoprice could get me one for use with the delivery of my 5080. I just chose the one with the offer for some free Blu-ray discs in the package. I think I bought an 8' cable for $85. I was going to return it and swap for the Monoprice but they just never got the stock in time for my return period with BB. Oh well...

P.S. I am 0-2 with forum vendors. Struck out with Monoprice and struck out with Texas Tapeworks for a Mack extended warranty.
Cronin is offline  
post #13 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
mave198's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another vote here for Blue Jeans Cable HDMI cables.

Used HDMI cables from Monoprice, and though both were the same in performance, to me the Blue Jeans Cable seemed better made and offered a slightly firmer connection.


Either way, you'll be satisfied with either one, and not get robbed by Monster Cable.
mave198 is offline  
post #14 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 11:02 PM
Member
 
eXcelon969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
even in a pinch, walmart has 6ft hdmi cables from philips for 30$.

i got a few for my parents when i was down last christmas since we didnt have time to wait for deliveries.
eXcelon969 is offline  
post #15 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joemama127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cheap doesn't have to mean low quality....Monoprice for all my cable needs.

"The quickest way to get over your fear of plasma is to actually own *one"- joemama127

*or 3 :)
joemama127 is offline  
post #16 of 439 Old 04-11-2008, 11:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I like the word "inexpensive" rather than cheap. Cheap can mean a step down in quality, whereas inexpensive justifies the low cost of a product, while maximizing good performance.

Chris
creemail is offline  
post #17 of 439 Old 04-12-2008, 07:41 AM
Member
 
McLoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Il.
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
20' or 25' cable (don't remember which) from Monoprice. (24 guage I think) Works great and have not had an issue with it yet.

Michael


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Wizards First Rule:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
McLoki is offline  
post #18 of 439 Old 04-12-2008, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daniel'son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gulf Coast U.S.A
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by McLoki View Post

20' or 25' cable (don't remember which) from Monoprice. (24 guage I think) Works great and have not had an issue with it yet.

Michael

.. do the mono cables stll send stereo audio.
daniel'son is online now  
post #19 of 439 Old 04-12-2008, 08:15 AM
Member
 
McLoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Il.
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep - sends video and audio to the TV. (Pre/Pro I have does not support HDMi so I have to use optical for that.)

When I run a DVD with my 5.1 engaged, I have to mute the TV. (my harmony does it for me automatically.)

Michael


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Wizards First Rule:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
McLoki is offline  
post #20 of 439 Old 04-12-2008, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daniel'son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gulf Coast U.S.A
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by McLoki View Post

Yep - sends video and audio to the TV. (Pre/Pro I have does not support HDMi so I have to use optical for that.)

When I run a DVD with my 5.1 engaged, I have to mute the TV. (my harmony does it for me automatically.)

Michael

that's good .. was wondering if i needed to buy separate cables for each; though their prices are cheap, i can save alittle.
daniel'son is online now  
post #21 of 439 Old 04-12-2008, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chaz01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDPeeT View Post

If you're not using Monster's M series cables you're not watching HD.........might as well go back to using RF cables from your VCR. Don't you know advanced nitrogen (N2) gas-injected dielectric ensures maximum signal strength, even over longer runs? If you're not spending at least $100 per foot for on your HDMI cable you're just buying coat hangers.............oh wait:http://www.engadgethd.com/2008/03/03...ter-cable-and/

Loved the coat hanger article. forwarded appropriately (to a friend who was recently looking at buying monster hdmi).
chaz01 is offline  
post #22 of 439 Old 04-12-2008, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drgkja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i bought a 35' 22AWG for 30bucks form internet (i think it was mycables.com) works great. if you search, you will find many sources. as other post above have said, pick the tight gage for your length.
drgkja is offline  
post #23 of 439 Old 04-13-2008, 06:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Dawn Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Jupiter, FL USA
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
How about 75 foot HDMI cables? Anyone have a source that they like at a reasonable price?

Authorized Dealer Sales: Triad Speakers, NHT, Marantz, Denon, JVC, Stewart Filmscreen, Screen innovations, Panamorph and Control4.
Dawn Gordon is offline  
post #24 of 439 Old 04-13-2008, 07:02 AM
Member
 
McLoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Il.
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Monoprice goes up to 100' cables at very reasonable prices. I have not heard of anyone using over about 35' though so cannot comment on quality at that distance.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Wizards First Rule:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
McLoki is offline  
post #25 of 439 Old 04-13-2008, 07:47 AM
Member
 
sycE46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using monoprice. Also.. all my friends use cables from monoprice.
sycE46 is offline  
post #26 of 439 Old 04-13-2008, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mswlogo View Post

I think most folks here use Monoprice.com. There is no evidence more expensive cables perform any better.

Yep all of my hdmi cables are from monoprice and they work just fine, I also recently bought an all in one DVI to HDMI cable from monoprice (to output PC to my Pio 5080) and it works perfect.
Mathesar is offline  
post #27 of 439 Old 04-13-2008, 10:47 AM
Member
 
BrndNtrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Inexpensive CL2 1.3a cables in my opinion. Monoprice is fine.
BrndNtrl is offline  
post #28 of 439 Old 04-13-2008, 12:36 PM
Member
 
tlieberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using monoprice cable - works excellently. Price could not be beat. Also, I'm using a Phillips 6' cable I bought at Fleet Farm for less than $20 (the identical cable found at Walmart for under $30 - which still beats the screwjob at the big box stores.) And yes, I bought it because I just had to have it TODAY! rather than waiting for shipment.
tlieberg is offline  
post #29 of 439 Old 04-13-2008, 12:41 PM
Member
 
makaveli7x7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
speaking of which im going to have to buy me some cables soon as well

whats the better choice, do i want the 24awg with the netjacket? or the 28awg with the ferret cores? or something else?
makaveli7x7 is offline  
post #30 of 439 Old 04-13-2008, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
jaymerkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Peters, Mo.
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using a $10 HDMI from Newegg.com, from my Yamaha 1800 to my Plasma and a Best Buy Rocket Fish HDMI cable that a friend of mine who works there got me for cost which was $6(they sell them for $40, what a markup)from my ps3 to the Yamaha 1800. No problems or noise at 1080p and multichannel PCM.
jaymerkramer is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off