The Official Pioneer 9G non-Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckZ View Post

D55 = 5500K

Thanks ChuckZ. So 5500K (Kelvin) was the color temperature standard for old B&W movies. So viewing them on today's equipment at 6500K would probably make these movies look too blue?

Do you know when B&W movies switched from 5500K to 6500K?

For example, should I watch the "Last Picture Show" (1971) with a setting of 5500K or 6500K?

To make this post on-topic, I'm afraid that the new Pioneer panels don't allow for a separate color temp if you want to quickly adjust for old and new B&W movies.

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ercc View Post

The darker filter does help with daytime black levels though.

During the daytime because of the extra light in the room, I find myself bumping up the brightness a few notches to make it easier to see low level shadow detail.

At night I can turn the brightness back down because it does not have to compete with any other light in the room.

So when you say that the "darker filter does help with daytime black levels" do you mean that the filter helps to brighten dark areas during the day with more light in the room?

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
post #303 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
surap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I thought the filter was there to reduce reflection from dayligth and indoor lamps.

With the comming G10, is it really necessary to have any filter on the glass at all? My thought is that a super clear glass rather would enhance the quality of blacks on the G10...!
surap is offline  
post #304 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
ercc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I meant that the filter makes the glass appear darker when hit with ambient light compared to a lighter filter. High amounts of ambient light usually raises plasma black levels significantly because of this. A viewer will actually notice the darker glass during black scenes during the day. As you stated it is smart to bump up the brightness during the day to avoid losing too much detail. The filter keeps the blacks decent when you do this.

The filter seems to work well in conjuction with anti-glare coating as well to absorb more ambient light compared to other plasmas, which is likely another reason for its inclusion.
ercc is offline  
post #305 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 04:42 PM
Member
 
sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a 6020 in the house! And it's stuck in it's box until I can find someone to install it. Anyone know a decent installer in Charlotte, NC?
sharpe is offline  
post #306 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChuckZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glashub View Post

In regards to Comcast, I have the DVI box. Took it in for an HDMI and they told me I had to upgrade my cable package to get it.

Upgrade how? They only way you'd have it in the first place is if you have HD service. What more do they want you to upgrade to? I already have HBO and Starz as well.
ChuckZ is offline  
post #307 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChuckZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thebarnman View Post

Thanks ChuckZ. So 5500K (Kelvin) was the color temperature standard for old B&W movies. So viewing them on today's equipment at 6500K would probably make these movies look too blue?

Do you know when B&W movies switched from 5500K to 6500K?

For example, should I watch the "Last Picture Show" (1971) with a setting of 5500K or 6500K?

To make this post on-topic, I'm afraid that the new Pioneer panels don't allow for a separate color temp if you want to quickly adjust for old and new B&W movies.

To be honest, I wouldn't be worried about D55 versus D65 for B&W movies. Unless you have separate equipment for both settings, just leave it in D65 and be happy.

I don't know when they switched over to the D65 standard. One thing you should consider, is that when they do B&W remasters, they might do color correction, etc. at D65 now.
ChuckZ is offline  
post #308 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpe View Post

There's a 6020 in the house! And it's stuck in it's box until I can find someone to install it. Anyone know a decent installer in Charlotte, NC?

me and my dad are going to mount my 60 inch. we have never done it before, but it cant be that hard.
gregdpw is offline  
post #309 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 05:31 PM
Member
 
mtp78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to upgrade to a dvr box to get a hdmi with comcast, standard hd boxes don't have hdmi, Just componet and dvi
mtp78 is offline  
post #310 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChuckZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtp78 View Post

You have to upgrade to a dvr box to get a hdmi with comcast, standard hd boxes don't have hdmi, Just componet and dvi

That's what I thought.

I don't want their junky DVR service.
ChuckZ is offline  
post #311 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 06:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,732
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 804 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Unfortunately, in looking at the pdf docs on the Elite vs non-Elite, the non-Elite makes no mention of color temperature adjustments whereas the Elite pdf does. It really is kind of surprising.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #312 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 06:34 PM
Member
 
sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

me and my dad are going to mount my 60 inch. we have never done it before, but it cant be that hard.

Let's just say there is more than 1 woman participating in this thread.
sharpe is offline  
post #313 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 06:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
ikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Corona Del Mar, CA
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i specifically asked dnice about it a while back and he specifically said that the non-elites have color temp settings - he must have received incorrect info from his contacts at pio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Unfortunately, in looking at the pdf docs on the Elite vs non-Elite, the non-Elite makes no mention of color temperature adjustments whereas the Elite pdf does. It really is kind of surprising.

ikeb is offline  
post #314 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Maximus330I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you guys and gals tell me which wall mount you went with? I am concerned going with a low profile mount as I saw pics of the rear panel. I wonder if all the cables will clear the panel and wall if a low profile wall mount is used?
Maximus330I is offline  
post #315 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
dobeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know when the 5020's will start shipping?
dobeman is offline  
post #316 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 07:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,772
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobeman View Post

Does anyone know when the 5020's will start shipping?

They already have.
htwaits is offline  
post #317 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 07:30 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My understanding is that 5020FDs will begin shipping tomorrow or by Friday, in very limited supply.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #318 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Coggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximus330I View Post

Can you guys and gals tell me which wall mount you went with? I am concerned going with a low profile mount as I saw pics of the rear panel. I wonder if all the cables will clear the panel and wall if a low profile wall mount is used?

It sounds like there is a 1.5" recess on the back of the panel where the cable inputs are, so even a mount that sits another 1.5" out from the wall should be fine for fitting the cables. The problem is that Pio recommends that their displays have 4" of clearance on all sides. I think a mount like the Peerless ST670 that sticks our 3" from the wall might be a safer bet. It's also rated for 250lb, and is a 3-stud model (instead of 2 like most mounts) so it should definitely hold the weight for a very long time.

-Coggs
Coggs is offline  
post #319 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 08:25 PM
Member
 
hummer28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Maximus,

I went with the following Sanus mount for my 6010. It is incredibly well built , and has a couple of different mounting options.

http://www.sanus.com/us/en/products/...delCode/VMPL3/

"Why reasonable people go stark raving mad whenever anything involving a negro comes up, is something I don't pretend to understand." Harper Lee
hummer28 is offline  
post #320 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 08:50 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

They already have.

I have not seen it. Should be soon though.
ROMAN O is offline  
post #321 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 09:05 PM
Newbie
 
sixtysixpony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The trucking company delivered my 6020 this afternoon (took off day of work). I went out to help the driver bring my set in and when he raised the truck door I saw the box laying flat on a pallet in the middle of the truck I knew that couldn't be good, but crossed my heart and we brought it into the house. I immediately pulled the top box off and tore away the protective covering from the glass panel. There I saw what was once a beautiful 60 inch plasma panel with several large cracks running halfway across the display Needless to say I was and still am disappointed. I really think some of these trucking companies could care less if your stuff arrives in one piece or not. These guys sure didn't. I called Chris at Cleavland Plasma and told him what had happened. He said they would send another one out right away. (thanks Chris). I just hope they still have some to send now and I don't have to wait for another allocation. Also hope the next one arrives undamaged.
sixtysixpony is offline  
post #322 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 09:13 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It happens Very rarely. Chris will take care of you.
ROMAN O is offline  
post #323 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DFul4d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixtysixpony View Post

The trucking company delivered my 6020 this afternoon (took off day of work). I went out to help the driver bring my set in and when he raised the truck door I saw the box laying flat on a pallet in the middle of the truck I knew that couldn't be good, but crossed my heart and we brought it into the house. I immediately pulled the top box off and tore away the protective covering from the glass panel. There I saw what was once a beautiful 60 inch plasma panel with several large cracks running halfway across the display Needless to say I was and still am disappointed. I really think some of these trucking companies could care less if your stuff arrives in one piece or not. These guys sure didn't. I called Chris at Cleavland Plasma and told him what had happened. He said they would send another one out right away. (thanks Chris). I just hope they still have some to send now and I don't have to wait for another allocation. Also hope the next one arrives undamaged.

That is awful! You should have shattered what was left of the panel over the truck drivers head haha j/k Poor Kuro. RIP We barely knew thee
DFul4d is offline  
post #324 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Tayja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixtysixpony View Post

The trucking company delivered my 6020 this afternoon (took off day of work). I went out to help the driver bring my set in and when he raised the truck door I saw the box laying flat on a pallet in the middle of the truck I knew that couldn't be good, but crossed my heart and we brought it into the house. I immediately pulled the top box off and tore away the protective covering from the glass panel. There I saw what was once a beautiful 60 inch plasma panel with several large cracks running halfway across the display Needless to say I was and still am disappointed. I really think some of these trucking companies could care less if your stuff arrives in one piece or not. These guys sure didn't. I called Chris at Cleavland Plasma and told him what had happened. He said they would send another one out right away. (thanks Chris). I just hope they still have some to send now and I don't have to wait for another allocation. Also hope the next one arrives undamaged.


RIP dead Kuro...u will be missed
Tayja is offline  
post #325 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Maximus330I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hummer28 View Post

Maximus,

I went with the following Sanus mount for my 6010. It is incredibly well built , and has a couple of different mounting options.

http://www.sanus.com/us/en/products/...delCode/VMPL3/

The Sanus looks nice. Does anyone know for sure if it will fit the 6020?
Maximus330I is offline  
post #326 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 10:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dovetails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

My understanding is that 5020FDs will begin shipping tomorrow or by Friday, in very limited supply.

-Robert


Robert,

A question if I may .... at this point it seems like we're hearing more about (the concerns with lack of color temp adjustment) ...... than we are hearing about what the actual picture on the new 20s looks like. With your experience with last years Kuro, IS there a reason to even be concerned about this issue or has Pio nailed the hard set temps on this years models? I understand this would be a little predicated on ones personal preferences, but for myself ... I currently have an older gen Panny and i've always set it to 'Normal' for my taste, not really likeing 'warm' or 'cool' for any viewing. So, for me, i quess i'm thinking that if Pio has hard set the color temp to a setting that is somewhere in the middle .... that should be a go for me
Dovetails is offline  
post #327 of 15008 Old 06-04-2008, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brent Madden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dovetails View Post

Robert,

A question if I may .... at this point it seems like we're hearing more about (the concerns with lack of color temp adjustment) ...... than we are hearing about what the actual picture on the new 20s looks like. With your experience with last years Kuro, IS there a reason to even be concerned about this issue or has Pio nailed the hard set temps on this years models? I understand this would be a little predicated on ones personal preferences, but for myself ... I currently have an older gen Panny and i've always set it to 'Normal' for my taste, not really likeing 'warm' or 'cool' for any viewing. So, for me, i quess i'm thinking that if Pio has hard set the color temp to a setting that is somewhere in the middle .... that should be a go for me


I think we're sharing a brain. I'm just waiting for D-Nice's findings to get an actual idea of how the 6020 measures up to last year's panels(both Elite and non-Elite).
Brent Madden is offline  
post #328 of 15008 Old 06-05-2008, 02:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixtysixpony View Post

The trucking company delivered my 6020 this afternoon (took off day of work). I went out to help the driver bring my set in and when he raised the truck door I saw the box laying flat on a pallet in the middle of the truck I knew that couldn't be good, but crossed my heart and we brought it into the house. I immediately pulled the top box off and tore away the protective covering from the glass panel. There I saw what was once a beautiful 60 inch plasma panel with several large cracks running halfway across the display Needless to say I was and still am disappointed. I really think some of these trucking companies could care less if your stuff arrives in one piece or not. These guys sure didn't. I called Chris at Cleavland Plasma and told him what had happened. He said they would send another one out right away. (thanks Chris). I just hope they still have some to send now and I don't have to wait for another allocation. Also hope the next one arrives undamaged.

i think that is why i am waiting for amazon to start carrying these. their delivery service is spot on. and they give you a 30 day price match garentee.
gregdpw is offline  
post #329 of 15008 Old 06-05-2008, 02:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dovetails View Post

Robert,

A question if I may .... at this point it seems like we're hearing more about (the concerns with lack of color temp adjustment) ...... than we are hearing about what the actual picture on the new 20s looks like. With your experience with last years Kuro, IS there a reason to even be concerned about this issue or has Pio nailed the hard set temps on this years models? I understand this would be a little predicated on ones personal preferences, but for myself ... I currently have an older gen Panny and i've always set it to 'Normal' for my taste, not really likeing 'warm' or 'cool' for any viewing. So, for me, i quess i'm thinking that if Pio has hard set the color temp to a setting that is somewhere in the middle .... that should be a go for me


Perhaps it's a per-mode option for colour temp (like the other settings). I
like to get whiter whites once in a while (eg: hockey games) so I up the
colour temp from time to time. I'm kinda disappointed that this isn't quite
an option, but at the same time, I usually only use high colour temp in standard
mode anyhow. Standard seems to be the brightest, so perhaps Pioneer
decided to keep high colour temp in that mode. It might not be much of an
issue at all depending on how Pioneer sets the modes.
Nambit is offline  
post #330 of 15008 Old 06-05-2008, 03:33 AM
Senior Member
 
ferro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I received my LX6090 2 days ago. Out of the box I disabled all picture enhancement options (ACL, DRE, etc.), set other picture options to neutral, and tested it with a blu-ray disc (I Am Legend) in a completely darkened room. The contrast and absolute black level are certainly at a new level compared to the 8g Kuro's, which I have seen in similar conditions.

When the set displays just a black image, you can still see some luminance if you allow your eyes to adjust. However, when there is any picture on screen my eyes experience the black areas as completely black. The contrast is simply amazing in a darkened room. Daytime TV is a different story though, but that is not unexpected and not really an issue to me.

Overall image quality is stunning when watching blu-ray. It is as perfect as we have come to expect from 8g Kuro, with the better contrast and black levels for an even greater experience.

There is some plasma buzzing, but it quickly dissolves into the sound of the movie, and into your subconscious.

Also amazing is the SD PAL image quality. From a 6 ft viewing distance is is still watchable. I had not expected that on a 60" display.
ferro is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 5020fd by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off