The Official Pioneer 9G non-Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
Daveflave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian ballard View Post

page 31 of the 151 manual...
its still a feature

Thanks Adrian, I missed it on the first pass. They only call it the Control Out with little mention of the SR+ function or what the control cords are for. In the 150 manual, all of page 76 talks about the funtions of SR+. From the responses, it doesn't sound like anyone is using it either.
Daveflave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brent Madden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question regarding the first 150 hrs. and the break-in DVD people are using. Would there be any negatives to just watching strictly 1:78 programming for that time period? For example, I have the first 3 seasons of Lost as well as the first 3 seasons of Battlestar Galactica on DVD that I haven't watched yet. I was planning on catching up on them this summer and those season sets would go a long way towards breaking in the first 150 hours of a new set. Could I just watch those instead of running the break-in DVD or is that disc a "must use" for breaking in the Kuro? Just wondering.
Brent Madden is offline  
post #543 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,805
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 25
brent its not a mandartory its recommended because this ages the phosphors evenly, with that being said it has no negetive in doing anything else but its your choice of what to do and its only the first several hundred hours that the tv is prone to IR and BI just think about it you rather be safe then sorry right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Madden View Post

Question regarding the first 150 hrs. and the break-in DVD people are using. Would there be any negatives to just watching strictly 1:78 programming for that time period? For example, I have the first 3 seasons of Lost as well as the first 3 seasons of Battlestar Galactica on DVD that I haven't watched yet. I was planning on catching up on them this summer and those season sets would go a long way towards breaking in the first 150 hours of a new set. Could I just watch those instead of running the break-in DVD or is that disc a "must use" for breaking in the Kuro? Just wondering.


Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u

XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is offline  
post #544 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 08:36 PM
Newbie
 
bartleby79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm expecting my 6020FD to arrive next week.

my current TV stand is making me nervous. it's made out of fake wood and was purchased from ikea.

can anyone recommend a TV stand that is suitable for the 60-inch Kuro? Thanks.

email: andyxyz@umich.edu
bartleby79 is offline  
post #545 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I think "fake" wood would still be more safe than a glass stand simply because a fake wood stand doesn't have the chance of shattering, like a glass stand would.

As long as it is rated for the TV's weight, i think it should be just fine. There are extreme cases, but I think 99% of the people have no major problems.

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #546 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
bartleby79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does one figure out how much a stand is rated for? mine is a piece of crap. i got it for free out of pity. take a look at the pics yourself -- can this hold up a 60" TV???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherhole View Post

I think "fake" wood would still be more safe than a glass stand simply because a fake wood stand doesn't have the chance of shattering, like a glass stand would.

As long as it is rated for the TV's weight, i think it should be just fine. There are extreme cases, but I think 99% of the people have no major problems.


LL
LL
bartleby79 is offline  
post #547 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,805
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 25
for god sake upgrade your stand your willing to spend alot on a high end tv but not on a stand? no question upgrade

Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u

XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is offline  
post #548 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
DevilDog151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartleby79 View Post

How does one figure out how much a stand is rated for? mine is a piece of crap. i got it for free out of pity. take a look at the pics yourself -- can this hold up a 60" TV???

I wouldn't put a 6020 on that stand. It just doesn't look very sturdy. Check the AV furniture threads and also check out this http://www.furniturexo.com/The-Bedfo...html?cPath=209
I'm getting a 5020 and I wouldn't want anything smaller. It's definitely worth getting a better stand for all the money your going to be spending on your new PDP.

SEMPER FI
DevilDog151 is offline  
post #549 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 09:08 PM
Member
 
sbwtwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartleby79 View Post

How does one figure out how much a stand is rated for? mine is a piece of crap. i got it for free out of pity. take a look at the pics yourself -- can this hold up a 60" TV???

How much do you weigh? Why don't you try standing on it to see what happens? Jump up and down a few times. Is it still in one piece? Are you still in one piece? If yes, it will probably hold you over until such time as you can buy something more substantial. You may need to bolt the sucker down somehow to keep it from tipping over.

--Scooter
sbwtwo is offline  
post #550 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
ks-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was reading the earlier comments about inspecting the TV. I agree that if you can't inspect it writing "subject to inspection" is a smart move, however I can't imagine that if you don't then you are liable.

If somebody forgets to write that comment and then opens the box and finds a broken tv (with no noticeable damage on the box), wouldn't the customer still have the right to get a completely functional tv?
ks-man is offline  
post #551 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhinomd11 View Post

I just bought a 110fd this week. I'm not sure when this 8th gen was built. How do I find this? But my main question is concerning the buzz noise. It is pretty noticable even 10 ft away when the room is silent. Should I take it back and wait a month or so for the 9th Generation 111FD? Or will it still have the noise. The picture is out of this world. I paid 4K at magnolia. Thanks-sorry in advance for posting on different threads-

there should be a month/year build date stickered on the back.

take it back if it is buzzing noticeably.

much easier to deal with the return to bb/mag during the 30 day return then trying to deal with Pioneer on the buzzing. wait on the Pro111 and hopefully you will get a display that has no/low buzzing and with a decent deal you should get it at the same price since the msrp has dropped to $5000. there are already owner reports of buzzing on the 9g 6020 but hopefully you will get a Pro111 with no/low buzzing.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #552 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ks-man View Post

I was reading the earlier comments about inspecting the TV. I agree that if you can't inspect it writing "subject to inspection" is a smart move, however I can't imagine that if you don't then you are liable.

If somebody forgets to write that comment and then opens the box and finds a broken tv (with no noticeable damage on the box), wouldn't the customer still have the right to get a completely functional tv?

i can't imagine paying $4-6500 and not inspecting it. if the driver refuses to let you do that I would call his boss or refuse it. first thing make them feel at ease and ask them to wait just a few minutes and hint at their getting a tip. only takes 10 minutes tops to open and plug in if your ready. yes, there could be other problems and yes a good reputable dealer will take care of you. But it's much easier to know right then and there.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #553 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 7,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by gus738 View Post

for god sake upgrade your stand your willing to spend alot on a high end tv but not on a stand? no question upgrade

LOL.

__________________________________________

When life gives you limes, make margaritas
Waboman is offline  
post #554 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,805
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 25
gosh i hope i didnt sound rude or disrespectful? but funny? how

Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u

XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is offline  
post #555 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 7,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by gus738 View Post

gosh i hope i didnt sound rude or disrespectful? but funny? how

No, you weren't rude or disrespectful. After seeing the stand in mention, your comment pretty much nailed it on the head.

__________________________________________

When life gives you limes, make margaritas
Waboman is offline  
post #556 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gus738 View Post

......no question no doulbt that the pro-111 is a vast major upgrade.......

gus i agree he should return his Pro110 with noticeable buzzing and wait on the Pro111, he should get the same deal and hopefully a display that has no/low buzzing.

But the Pro111FD will not be a vast major upgrade over the Pro110FD.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #557 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartleby79 View Post

I'm expecting my 6020FD to arrive next week.
my current TV stand is making me nervous. it's made out of fake wood and was purchased from ikea. can anyone recommend a TV stand that is suitable for the 60-inch Kuro? Thanks. email: andyxyz@umich.edu

there are alot of choices out there for stands. here is one example at cc. it's $4-500.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Techc...oductDetail.do

here's a big 65" black gloss with glass stand at bb and on sale sometimes for $249. Yes it has a glass top but thats easy to replace with a wood/stone top if you want too. A freind bought this stand for $265 with tax and then went to a local granite company got a peice of scarp black granite for $135, $400 total and it looks like it cost well over $1000.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1165609791326

lots of choices congrats on the new 6020 coming. enjoy your Kuro.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #558 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Tayja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssturbo1 View Post

i can't imagine paying $4-6500 and not inspecting it. if the driver refuses to let you do that I would call his boss or refuse it. first thing make them feel at ease and ask them to wait just a few minutes and hint at their getting a tip. only takes 10 minutes tops to open and plug in if your ready. yes, there could be other problems and yes a good reputable dealer will take care of you. But it's much easier to know right then and there.

I have a question about this. I plan on getting a 151. They don't come with stands right? How can I inspect it if it has no stand. I plan on wall mounting it, however I don't imagine the delivery guy will help me mount it on the wall.
Hmmmm
Tayja is offline  
post #559 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tayja View Post

Thanks Nambit

No problem. We're here to help each other.
Nambit is offline  
post #560 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:40 PM
Member
 
hfriedman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tayja View Post

I have a question about this. I plan on getting a 151. They don't come with stands right? How can I inspect it if it has no stand. I plan on wall mounting it, however I don't imagine the delivery guy will help me mount it on the wall.
Hmmmm

The 151 does come with a stand.
hfriedman is offline  
post #561 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:41 PM
Member
 
coursey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rocklin, California
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
coursey is offline  
post #562 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tayja View Post

I have a question about this. I plan on getting a 151. They don't come with stands right? How can I inspect it if it has no stand. I plan on wall mounting it, however I don't imagine the delivery guy will help me mount it on the wall. Hmmmm

as hfriedman points out the Pro151 will come with a stand, the Sig series will not. You should be able to open the box to inspect the glass and plug it in even if you dont install the stand. guessing Pioneer will still have the stand assembled to the 50" models and have to install them on the 60" models this year same as last. even so it's easy, the two straps hold the box on and once they are cut the big box lifts off easily and there are a few foam blocks and accessories boxes on top, easy to remove and then the panels there covered by the white protective sheet. remove the white foam and inpsect the glass with a flashlight. also get the power cord out and plug it in and see that it powers on. all good give the driver a tip and enjoy.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #563 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherhole View Post

I think "fake" wood would still be more safe than a glass stand simply because a fake wood stand doesn't have the chance of shattering, like a glass stand would.

As long as it is rated for the TV's weight, i think it should be just fine. There are extreme cases, but I think 99% of the people have no major problems.

Fake wood can be pretty dangerous, depending on the design. The holes that
one often uses for screws or pegs often wear and weaken and the wood can
topple. This is especially a problem if you move the table around (for times
when you need to get behind it and such).

About glass: I still think glass is relatively safe, regardless of the very rare
cases that have been shown here. I've had a Pro-150FD on a heavy duty
glass table and I even dragged the TV across the glass enough times to
get behind it and adjust. If it's tempered, nice and thick (3/4 inches) and
well designed so that the weight is evenly distributed (unlike the example),
there should be no issue. Of course, this is all to each their own, but I definitely
would prefer a nice solid glass table over a crappy fake wood one (filled with
chipped wood), especially the one in the pic the guy showed.
Nambit is offline  
post #564 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:47 PM
Newbie
 
bartleby79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, i am well aware that I need a stand. i just don't know what to buy.

also, as you can see from my pics, i set my TV up diagonally on the stand (as opposed to just setting up the stand in a diagonal fashion)...i'm guessing that it would not be a good idea to have a part of the 6020's base hanging over the side of the stand, so i guess i need a stand that is pretty wide. i don't really care about looks too much, i guess something black is best so it doesn't reflect off light from the TV screen.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gus738 View Post

for god sake upgrade your stand your willing to spend alot on a high end tv but not on a stand? no question upgrade

bartleby79 is offline  
post #565 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:48 PM
Newbie
 
bartleby79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coursey View Post

Here is another stand option.
http://www.rcwilley.com/GetProductDe...1MC62TVCONSOLE

bartleby79 is offline  
post #566 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 10:54 PM
Newbie
 
bartleby79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no offense taken

Quote:
Originally Posted by gus738 View Post

gosh i hope i didnt sound rude or disrespectful? but funny? how

bartleby79 is offline  
post #567 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,805
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 25
lol i dont know why i still feel wrong

if you dont care for looks you could be a wood stand or you can buy a stand with mount so you have a stand for stuff and mount for the tv.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartleby79 View Post

yes, i am well aware that I need a stand. i just don't know what to buy.

also, as you can see from my pics, i set my TV up diagonally on the stand (as opposed to just setting up the stand in a diagonal fashion)...i'm guessing that it would not be a good idea to have a part of the 6020's base hanging over the side of the stand, so i guess i need a stand that is pretty wide. i don't really care about looks too much, i guess something black is best so it doesn't reflect off light from the TV screen.


Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u

XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is offline  
post #568 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 11:16 PM
Member
 
dashculpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rancho Mirage
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out the stand that I have on order and waiting to mount the 6020 that I got from Robert at Value Electronics The jazzy from jsp industries.
dashculpepper is offline  
post #569 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
billybob0405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Kimberling City, MO
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartleby79 View Post

yes, i am well aware that I need a stand. i just don't know what to buy.

For a ton of suggestions, go to this thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=416358

There are no answers, only choices.
billybob0405 is offline  
post #570 of 15008 Old 06-08-2008, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 7,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssturbo1 View Post

as hfriedman points out the Pro151 will come with a stand, the Sig series will not. You should be able to open the box to inspect the glass and plug it in even if you dont install the stand. guessing Pioneer will still have the stand assembled to the 50" models and have to install them on the 60" models this year same as last. even so it's easy, the two straps hold the box on and once they are cut the big box lifts off easily and there are a few foam blocks and accessories boxes on top, easy to remove and then the panels there covered by the white protective sheet. remove the white foam and inpsect the glass with a flashlight. also get the power cord out and plug it in and see that it powers on. all good give the driver a tip and enjoy.

That's a very well written explanation. I just sold my 150FD and am awaiting delivery of the 151FD (hopefully soon) and was curious as to this too. With my 150FD I bought it from Ultimate and they completely unpackaged and set it up for me. Also with the recent outbreak of broken/damaged panels I'm a bit nervous.

__________________________________________

When life gives you limes, make margaritas
Waboman is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 5020fd by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off