The Official Pioneer 9G non-Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 393 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11761 of 15008 Old 06-12-2009, 03:58 PM
Member
 
ShockwaveTXB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I had the 60in KURO professionally calibrated this week and WOW. Before I was using either the Optimal or Movie preset, and thought that the Optimal was always a bit too dark while the Movie setting had too much of a yellow hint to it, particularly noticable in the menus and anywhere there was white text.

After calibration the whites are white, without being overdone like LCD seems to be and the overall colors are very realistic. I notice most that outdoor scenes seem to look completely realistic lighting wise. Daylight looks like I'm looking through a window to the outside or something like that.

The guy said the TV was pretty good out of the box, but it did need some adjustments to the RGB settings or whatever. Even without being able to adjust color temp since it's not an Elite, the post-calibration readings are very good.

For whatever reason, he calibrated the display in Performance mode, adjusting the output in the factory menu using his software. I had thought he was going to use the Movie setting, but there was a reason he didn't. Something to do with the available settings in Performance mode that he was able to adjust in the factory menu that he couldn't in Movie. This might have been related to the software he was using, who knows.

Either way it looks great to me, and well worth the investment. I couldn't be happier with this display and am glad I chose a Plasma over a LCD. I really notice the depth of plasma now and the backlit image of a LCD just looks too flat to me now.
ShockwaveTXB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11762 of 15008 Old 06-12-2009, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 369
I have DNice scheduled to calibrate my 5020 tomorrow - look forward to posting the results.
smurraybhm is offline  
post #11763 of 15008 Old 06-12-2009, 07:45 PM
Member
 
marine987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if I can do this using the factory remote like I have seen instructions for the 8G models...?

Or is it not possible...?
marine987 is offline  
post #11764 of 15008 Old 06-12-2009, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine987 View Post

Can anyone tell me if I can do this using the factory remote like I have seen instructions for the 8G models...?

Or is it not possible...?

I replied in your Thread Here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1155046

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is online now  
post #11765 of 15008 Old 06-12-2009, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I replied in your Thread Here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1155046

Turbe i think he's considering buying a store demo 5020 for $900 and wanted to check the hours.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #11766 of 15008 Old 06-12-2009, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine987 View Post

Can anyone tell me if I can do this using the factory remote like I have seen instructions for the 8G models...?

Or is it not possible...?

you cannot use the regular owners remote to access the service menu on the 9g model like you could the 8G and older generation pioneer panels.

you would need the Pioneer factory service/tech remote.

another option would be to download the ControCal software by Turbe onto a laptop, take it to the store and connect it to the 5020 using a usb/serial adapter and cable or a regular straight through DB9 serial cable. doubtful the store would let you do that as supposedly pioneer will void the warranty if you enter the service menu.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #11767 of 15008 Old 06-13-2009, 06:27 AM
Member
 
chargedmr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the images in the Thumbdrive files the very same as the ones on the DVD. Last time (5020) I used the Thumbdrive and this time (600M) I am using the DVD?

The images seem different based on memory. And my wife said the same thing.
chargedmr2 is offline  
post #11768 of 15008 Old 06-13-2009, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Clint S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chargedmr2 View Post

Are the images in the Thumbdrive files the very same as the ones on the DVD. Last time (5020) I used the Thumbdrive and this time (600M) I am using the DVD?

The images seem different based on memory. And my wife said the same thing.

They're completely different, and I've yet to see anyone say why. The DVD has A LOT more colors and shades.

God Bless,
-Clint
Clint S. is offline  
post #11769 of 15008 Old 06-13-2009, 06:56 AM
Member
 
chargedmr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clint S. View Post

They're completely different, and I've yet to see anyone say why. The DVD has A LOT more colors and shades.

Ok Thanks. As long as there isn't a problem I'm ok, but I am curious as to why there is a difference. I was finally able to dig up some posts on the issue and all I could find was that the images are different, but as you mentioned, there is nothing about why.
chargedmr2 is offline  
post #11770 of 15008 Old 06-13-2009, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When viewed on my computer monitor, the thumbdrive images are very distinct, but then when I attach the drive to the panel, there's very little difference shown. The DVD images don't appear to be different via the computer, but there are very distinct differences of how they appear on the panel. I'd stick with the DVD break-in, and just put the added wear and tear on your player...it gets replaced every few years anyway!
Jim Hef is offline  
post #11771 of 15008 Old 06-14-2009, 03:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Clint S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chargedmr2 View Post

Ok Thanks. As long as there isn't a problem I'm ok, but I am curious as to why there is a difference. I was finally able to dig up some posts on the issue and all I could find was that the images are different, but as you mentioned, there is nothing about why.

Yeah, I and others have asked DNice and Evangelo. You could try asking again in this thread. All I've seen is "They are a subset of the EXACT images found on the break in dvd/svcd", but that doesn't say why. It can't be because of size because the DVD images are still only 430mb even after unpacking.

God Bless,
-Clint
Clint S. is offline  
post #11772 of 15008 Old 06-14-2009, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Yesterday DNice paid me a visit to calibrate my 5020. It was nice to put a face with the name of someone who has provided so much information to those of us who read the Pioneer threads. As others have posted after having their displays professionally calibrated - I can sum up the experience in one word - incredible. Prior to calibration I thought my picture look good, post calibration I find myself wanting to spend the day in front of it watching various content - from good to amazing. The slight red push that I had prior to calibration is gone - despite prior adjustments I couldn't get rid of it completely. I find the improved detail - especially in the darker scenes surprising since I thought they were really good pre-calibration - even with my sharpness level dialed down to -15. It was interesting to spend time with DNice watching the impact that raising the sharpness level actually had on the picture and the test images. More is definitely not better. Colors pop more and are finally balanced as validated in the RGB Color Balance graph in the calibration report. Another huge improvement are the whites along with the "brightness" of the display. I find the improved "brightness" of the display even more interesting since my brightness and contrast settings are slightly lower than they were prior to calibration.

DNice was very professional, arrived early and took more time than I had anticipated working on my display. He also answered any questions I had and took the time to enlighten me in regards to some of the topics discussed on this thread during the past year . I have also included my pre and post calibration reports, they were waiting for me in my mailbox at 7 am today.

If you are on the fence in regards to purchasing Control Cal or getting your display calibrated by a trained professional who uses Control Cal get off it. It is the best money I have spent since buying my display. The one advantage the professional has is the equipment to measure the light test patterns, etc. I am also surprised at the variance in my final RGB settings vs. the settings DNice posted at the beginning of this thread for the 5020 calibrated with Control Cal - as said before, each display is different.

All of the features within the service menu are very interesting. I hope individuals will continue to work with the non-elite displays to discover new features or adjustments. Thanks to DNice for a job well done. One final note, after spending time with my recently acquired Oppo 83 DNice remarked a number times how impressed he was with the player - I believe someone will be trying to order one today.

 

Pioneer PDP-5020FD Pre Calibration Forum Report (Movie).pdf 205.6728515625k . file

 

Pioneer PDP-5020FD Post Calibration Forum Report (Movie).pdf 197.47265625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Pioneer PDP-5020FD Post Calibration Forum Report (Movie).pdf (197.5 KB, 4 views)
File Type: pdf Pioneer PDP-5020FD Pre Calibration Forum Report (Movie).pdf (205.7 KB, 0 views)
smurraybhm is offline  
post #11773 of 15008 Old 06-14-2009, 04:56 PM
Member
 
mag12203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had Chris Eberle of Precision Video calibrate my Pioneer 5020FD and these are the results. Can anybody help me to understand how accurate it is and what it means. Thanks in advance.

 

Pioneer5020postcolor.pdf 96.0947265625k . file

 

Pioneer5020postcolorIS.pdf 92.4248046875k . file

 

Pioneer5020postgray.pdf 74.373046875k . file

 

Pioneer5020precolor.pdf 97.8994140625k . file

 

Pioneer5020pregray.pdf 79.63671875k . file
mag12203 is offline  
post #11774 of 15008 Old 06-14-2009, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mag12203 View Post

Can anybody help me to understand how accurate it is and what it means.

Your display was not so good. The lines should be together, the bars should be short, the dots should be in the boxes. Now it's much better. Does it look different?

The 5020 post-calibration report posted just before yours is probably as good as you can get.
bodosom is offline  
post #11775 of 15008 Old 06-14-2009, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Thank you for the kind words.
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post

Yesterday DNice paid me a visit to calibrate my 5020. It was nice to put a face with the name of someone who has provided so much information to those of us who read the Pioneer threads. As others have posted after having their displays professionally calibrated - I can sum up the experience in one word - incredible. Prior to calibration I thought my picture look good, post calibration I find myself wanting to spend the day in front of it watching various content - from good to amazing. The slight red push that I had prior to calibration is gone - despite prior adjustments I couldn't get rid of it completely. I find the improved detail - especially in the darker scenes surprising since I thought they were really good pre-calibration - even with my sharpness level dialed down to -15. It was interesting to spend time with DNice watching the impact that raising the sharpness level actually had on the picture and the test images. More is definitely not better. Colors pop more and are finally balanced as validated in the RGB Color Balance graph in the calibration report. Another huge improvement are the whites along with the "brightness" of the display. I find the improved "brightness" of the display even more interesting since my brightness and contrast settings are slightly lower than they were prior to calibration.

DNice was very professional, arrived early and took more time than I had anticipated working on my display. He also answered any questions I had and took the time to enlighten me in regards to some of the topics discussed on this thread during the past year . I have also included my pre and post calibration reports, they were waiting for me in my mailbox at 7 am today.

If you are on the fence in regards to purchasing Control Cal or getting your display calibrated by a trained professional who uses Control Cal get off it. It is the best money I have spent since buying my display. The one advantage the professional has is the equipment to measure the light test patterns, etc. I am also surprised at the variance in my final RGB settings vs. the settings DNice posted at the beginning of this thread for the 5020 calibrated with Control Cal - as said before, each display is different.

All of the features within the service menu are very interesting. I hope individuals will continue to work with the non-elite displays to discover new features or adjustments. Thanks to DNice for a job well done. One final note, after spending time with my recently acquired Oppo 83 DNice remarked a number times how impressed he was with the player - I believe someone will be trying to order one today.

D-Nice is offline  
post #11776 of 15008 Old 06-14-2009, 11:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,724
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post

Yesterday DNice paid me a visit to calibrate my 5020.

Thanks for your calibration report. I've added it to the flat panel (Post#2) list that's linked at the bottom of my post.

Enjoy.
htwaits is offline  
post #11777 of 15008 Old 06-14-2009, 11:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,724
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by mag12203 View Post

I had Chris Eberle of Precision Video calibrate my Pioneer 5020FD and these are the results. Can anybody help me to understand how accurate it is and what it means. Thanks in advance.

If you write about your impressions of your display's PQ before and after calibration, I would like to add your comments to the list of owner's reports that's linked at the bottom of my post.
htwaits is offline  
post #11778 of 15008 Old 06-15-2009, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Thank you for the kind words.

Just being honest and calling it as I see it (no pun intended)
smurraybhm is offline  
post #11779 of 15008 Old 06-15-2009, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Richdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys my attention has been drawn to a Pioneer PDP-LX5090H with 6 years (bring-in, not at-home) warranty for £2500... and it's do-able by paying half up front and then spreding the rest of the cost over 24 or 36 months with only £125 or £200 interest added on for each length respectively.

This is seriously do-able for me and I CAN afford it, but the question is... should I do it? It's 2x the price of the Panasonic and i'm worried i'm going to be struggling to justify it to myself for a while to come...

*rocks slowly back and forth*

ops:
Richdog is offline  
post #11780 of 15008 Old 06-15-2009, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richdog View Post

...It's 2x the price of the Panasonic and i'm worried i'm going to be struggling to justify it to myself for a while to come....

I'm not familiar with the European designations, but our 5020s were only a few hundred dollars more than the Panasonic 800u, so the difference was easily justified. At double the cost, I would suggest that the G series Panasonic is a good panel, and once within your home, you won't be judging it side by side with any other panel, so why stress yourself with your decision?
Jim Hef is offline  
post #11781 of 15008 Old 06-15-2009, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
bsavitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Could an Elite be any better than this? Based on your comments and the calibration report it would seem not. At least not significantly. Am I wrong about that?
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post

Yesterday DNice paid me a visit to calibrate my 5020. It was nice to put a face with the name of someone who has provided so much information to those of us who read the Pioneer threads. As others have posted after having their displays professionally calibrated - I can sum up the experience in one word - incredible. Prior to calibration I thought my picture look good, post calibration I find myself wanting to spend the day in front of it watching various content - from good to amazing. The slight red push that I had prior to calibration is gone - despite prior adjustments I couldn't get rid of it completely. I find the improved detail - especially in the darker scenes surprising since I thought they were really good pre-calibration - even with my sharpness level dialed down to -15. It was interesting to spend time with DNice watching the impact that raising the sharpness level actually had on the picture and the test images. More is definitely not better. Colors pop more and are finally balanced as validated in the RGB Color Balance graph in the calibration report. Another huge improvement are the whites along with the "brightness" of the display. I find the improved "brightness" of the display even more interesting since my brightness and contrast settings are slightly lower than they were prior to calibration.

DNice was very professional, arrived early and took more time than I had anticipated working on my display. He also answered any questions I had and took the time to enlighten me in regards to some of the topics discussed on this thread during the past year . I have also included my pre and post calibration reports, they were waiting for me in my mailbox at 7 am today.

If you are on the fence in regards to purchasing Control Cal or getting your display calibrated by a trained professional who uses Control Cal get off it. It is the best money I have spent since buying my display. The one advantage the professional has is the equipment to measure the light test patterns, etc. I am also surprised at the variance in my final RGB settings vs. the settings DNice posted at the beginning of this thread for the 5020 calibrated with Control Cal - as said before, each display is different.

All of the features within the service menu are very interesting. I hope individuals will continue to work with the non-elite displays to discover new features or adjustments. Thanks to DNice for a job well done. One final note, after spending time with my recently acquired Oppo 83 DNice remarked a number times how impressed he was with the player - I believe someone will be trying to order one today.

bsavitz is offline  
post #11782 of 15008 Old 06-15-2009, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
therealshad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi,
i'm frensh, and i would to know what is the US reference of my frensh kuro ?

I have a krp600A.

Thanks for your help.
therealshad is offline  
post #11783 of 15008 Old 06-15-2009, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by therealshad View Post

hi,
i'm frensh, and i would to know what is the US reference of my frensh kuro ?

I have a krp600A. Thanks for your help.

here's a thread that tries to compare the 9G kuros. i dont think there is an exact U.S. model to match the 600A.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1126267

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #11784 of 15008 Old 06-15-2009, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsavitz View Post

Could an Elite be any better than this? Based on your comments and the calibration report it would seem not. At least not significantly. Am I wrong about that?

I believe from the beginning DNice and others have maintained that it is very difficult to tell the difference between a calibrated non-elite and an elite. However, if you could afford an elite how could you pass up pure mode and the service menu extras? Honestly, if I could do it over right now I would buy a KRP-600 - 10 more inches of picture to enjoy, most of the benefits of an Elite and the prices are insane. Just had a flashback to the days of Crazy Eddie.
smurraybhm is offline  
post #11785 of 15008 Old 06-16-2009, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
kinderjajce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!
I'm a proud owner of a new Pioneer plasma flat screen LX5090H and i've been trying to set it up in my home for two days now. I have succeeded in most things but am still unable to figure out why can't i watch an HD program that's been decoded through DTV when my satellite antenna is connected.

i've connected the antenna where one side is connected to the TV and the other side of the cable goes into a socket in the wall. i presume we have an amplifier. and through that i get four DTV programmes and one HD programme. it's a promo but it doesn't matter.

and i've connected my satellite cord also in the socket in the wall and the other side into the TV. and when i search for programmes it finds some and saves them.

but when i turn it over to normal DTV (that also shows HDTV) i don't see that HD channel anymore until i unplug my satellite cord. and then it's all back to normal - i see HD channel but my sat antenna isn't connected and I can't watch satellite programmes which i can when that cord is connected.

help, plz?
kinderjajce is offline  
post #11786 of 15008 Old 06-16-2009, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bogney Baux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderjajce View Post

Hi!
I'm a proud owner of a new Pioneer plasma flat screen LX5090H and i've been trying to set it up in my home for two days now. I have succeeded in most things but am still unable to figure out why can't i watch an HD program that's been decoded through DTV when my satellite antenna is connected.

i've connected the antenna where one side is connected to the TV and the other side of the cable goes into a socket in the wall. i presume we have an amplifier. and through that i get four DTV programmes and one HD programme. it's a promo but it doesn't matter.

and i've connected my satellite cord also in the socket in the wall and the other side into the TV. and when i search for programmes it finds some and saves them.

but when i turn it over to normal DTV (that also shows HDTV) i don't see that HD channel anymore until i unplug my satellite cord. and then it's all back to normal - i see HD channel but my sat antenna isn't connected and I can't watch satellite programmes which i can when that cord is connected.

help, plz?

I am a little confused.
DTV stands for Direct TV or digital television (ota)?
You have an over the air antenna connected to both the TV and satellite receiver?
The satellite receiver is connected to the TV with HDMI, component video, or RF?
Bogney Baux is offline  
post #11787 of 15008 Old 06-16-2009, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
aross99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a separate thread where we have been trying to help with this:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1155847

They have a European Kuro with a dedicated satellite input and when he connects the satellite cable, he loses a HD channel on the internal TV tuner. When he disconnects the satellite cable, the HD channel comes back. THis is the only HD channel he gets.

It is almost like the internal TV tuner can't support HD when the satellite is connected? I'm beginning to think that the TV tuner in these european models treats the dedicated satellite input very differently from our separate HDMI/component inputs.

Sounds very odd, but I don't know anything about that model...
aross99 is offline  
post #11788 of 15008 Old 06-16-2009, 01:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Angel BBPCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Warminster PA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the KRP-600M is a much better value for those with their own sound system. We carry both that and the PRO-151FD in stock and I always recommend the KRP600M for over $2000 less !!!

Angel BBPCS

Best Buy P.C.S. Customer Service
Angel BBPCS is offline  
post #11789 of 15008 Old 06-16-2009, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
kinderjajce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aross99 View Post

There is a separate thread where we have been trying to help with this:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1155847

They have a European Kuro with a dedicated satellite input and when he connects the satellite cable, he loses a HD channel on the internal TV tuner. When he disconnects the satellite cable, the HD channel comes back. THis is the only HD channel he gets.

It is almost like the internal TV tuner can't support HD when the satellite is connected? I'm beginning to think that the TV tuner in these european models treats the dedicated satellite input very differently from our separate HDMI/component inputs.

Sounds very odd, but I don't know anything about that model...

It's true that it's the only HD channel i get but only over digital TV. If I watch satellite feed i see HD channels too.
kinderjajce is offline  
post #11790 of 15008 Old 06-16-2009, 05:39 PM
Member
 
mkaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Ottawa, ON Canada
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know if the calibration settings will survive an extended power failure?

mark
mkaye is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off