The Official Pioneer 9G non-Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 394 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2009, 07:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,867
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkaye View Post

does anyone know if the calibration settings will survive an extended power failure?

mark

Yes.
htwaits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2009, 09:16 PM
Member
 
i29gman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too had a calibration done by D-Nice this past weekend. He calibrated my 6020 and I could not be more pleased. D-Nice is professional, patient and a perfectionist. My calibration was done in movie mode and the picture now is simply superb. Honestly, prior to calibration, my 6020 picture was very good but I felt it lacked something. Maybe in movie mode it was just a little "dull" and a little "yellow"; nothing objectionable, it just didn't blow me away. Post-calibration, whites are vastly improved, and color and detail are exceptional, very much like looking through a window. I've attached my calibration reports for anyone interested. I might add, I too have the OPPO 83 and it makes quite a combo with the 6020. If anyone here is sitting on the fence regarding professional calibration, my two cents worth is that it is absolutely worth it, and D-Nice comes highly recommended!Attachment 145541

Attachment 145542

 

Pioneer PDP-6020FD Pre Calibration Forum Report (Movie).pdf 210.091796875k . file

 

Pioneer PDP-6020FD Post Calibration Forum Report (Movie).pdf 197.7646484375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Pioneer PDP-6020FD Post Calibration Forum Report (Movie).pdf (197.8 KB, 10 views)
File Type: pdf Pioneer PDP-6020FD Pre Calibration Forum Report (Movie).pdf (210.1 KB, 9 views)
i29gman is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Thank you for the kind words.
Quote:
Originally Posted by i29gman View Post

I too had a calibration done by D-Nice this past weekend. He calibrated my 6020 and I could not be more pleased. D-Nice is professional, patient and a perfectionist. My calibration was done in movie mode and the picture now is simply superb. Honestly, prior to calibration, my 6020 picture was very good but I felt it lacked something. Maybe in movie mode it was just a little "dull" and a little "yellow"; nothing objectionable, it just didn't blow me away. Post-calibration, whites are vastly improved, and color and detail are exceptional, very much like looking through a window. I've attached my calibration reports for anyone interested. I might add, I too have the OPPO 83 and it makes quite a combo with the 6020. If anyone here is sitting on the fence regarding professional calibration, my two cents worth is that it is absolutely worth it, and D-Nice comes highly recommended!Attachment 145541

Attachment 145542

D-Nice is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 12:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,867
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by i29gman View Post

I too had a calibration done by D-Nice this past weekend. He calibrated my 6020 and I could not be more pleased.

Thanks for the calibration report. I've included it in the flat panel (Post#2) list that's linked at the bottom of my post.
htwaits is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice: How does the Contrast reported in your software correlate to what we have read before? 6.5 million before, and 7.5million after?
Jim Hef is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Hef View Post

D-Nice: How does the Contrast reported in your software correlate to what we have read before? 6.5 million before, and 7.5million after?

What?
D-Nice is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At the bottom of the report, there is a section labeled Contrast. It shows the ANSI as 0, but above that is a very large number. That's what I was wondering about.
Jim Hef is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 05:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Hef View Post

At the bottom of the report, there is a section labeled Contrast. It shows the ANSI as 0, but above that is a very large number. That's what I was wondering about.

I don't do ANSI measurements when I'm calibrating a customer's display. The On/Off isn't accurate because none of my meters can accurately measure the MLL of the Kuros anymore. (they are below 0.001fL).
D-Nice is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 07:04 PM
Member
 
mag12203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

If you write about your impressions of your display's PQ before and after calibration, I would like to add your comments to the list of owner's reports that's linked at the bottom of my post.

The one difference after calibration is that when I set the television to "dot-by-dot" I see that the program I am watching does not fill the whole screen. Some channels accept dot-by-dot and fill the screen and some prgrams don't. The colors do not appear exaggerated as they did before and black level is not to dark or too white.
mag12203 is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

...The On/Off isn't accurate because none of my meters can accurately measure the MLL of the Kuros anymore....

Thanks for that explanation!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mag12203 View Post

...Some channels accept dot-by-dot and fill the screen and some programs don't....

This could be the difference between a channel at 1080i and one at 720p.
Jim Hef is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 2,009
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 558
I agree with Jim, this is always apparent when watching a feed that is 720p vs. 1080i - via DirectTV or a direct OTA HD feed from a network that transmits their digital signal at 720p vs. 1080i (example Fox vs. NBC). If this annoys you (as it does me) then you can switch to AUTO or just switch back to Dot when watching a source that is 1080i or 1080p. Scary thing for me is after I bought my Kuro I couldn't watch SD material anymore and now I'm starting to stay away from 720p material due to the line - I like the look of dot-to-dot too much.

Panasonic 60VT60 (cal by DNice)
Denon 5200 w/ Outlaw 2200 Amps (3)
Ascend Acoustics Sierra 2s F/R & Horizon w/ RAAL Center; Sierra 1s Surrounds; DefTech PM1000 Fronts, Ascend HTM-200s Top Middle and PSB S5 Rear Surrounds; Dual SVS subs
Oppo 103; Onkyo HD-DVD; Apple TV & Roku Stick
Atmos arrived on 9/30/2014
smurraybhm is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,395
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post

I agree with Jim, this is always apparent when watching a feed that is 720p vs. 1080i - via DirectTV

While I have an un-Elite rather than a non-Elite I don't see this on Direct unless it's SD (480i). I use native mode and only see "underscan" artifacts during SD commercials.

My old TV had an overscan toggle that zoomed away 2% of the image that was perfect for this problem.

Assuming we're talking about the same problem.
bodosom is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 08:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
tcramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

While I have an un-Elite rather than a non-Elite I don't see this on Direct unless it's SD (480i). I use native mode and only see "underscan" artifacts during SD commercials.

My old TV had an overscan toggle that zoomed away 2% of the image that was perfect for this problem.

Assuming we're talking about the same problem.

Size 1 on the pz85u's? That was a nice setting to eliminate those underscan artifacts.

tcramer is online now  
Old 06-18-2009, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,395
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcramer View Post

Size 1 on the pz85u's? That was a nice setting to eliminate those underscan artifacts.

Yeah, and a lot cheaper than a Lumagen (assuming you already have a PZ85).
bodosom is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
dgasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats the next best Non-pioneer plasma? 60" preferred. Looks like most of those are gone.
dgasper is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 2,009
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgasper View Post

Whats the next best Non-pioneer plasma? 60" preferred. Looks like most of those are gone.

You should be able to get a KPM-600 from a forum sponsor still - I believe Roman had an ad this morning for KPMs on home page of the forum. There may be others too, many advantages to the KPM and the only disadvantage (no speaker) can be fixed very easily by acquiring unwanted Elite speakers or buying a sound bar, etc.

Panasonic 60VT60 (cal by DNice)
Denon 5200 w/ Outlaw 2200 Amps (3)
Ascend Acoustics Sierra 2s F/R & Horizon w/ RAAL Center; Sierra 1s Surrounds; DefTech PM1000 Fronts, Ascend HTM-200s Top Middle and PSB S5 Rear Surrounds; Dual SVS subs
Oppo 103; Onkyo HD-DVD; Apple TV & Roku Stick
Atmos arrived on 9/30/2014
smurraybhm is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Picked up a 6020FD today. My local Best Buy had two in stock that were on clearance! WAYYY below MSRP. Guess they are really desperate...or just wanted to get rid of them fast. Picked it up for $2799!
andyboy is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 11:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgasper View Post

Whats the next best Non-pioneer plasma? 60" preferred. Looks like most of those are gone.

Not all are gone, check the forum classifieds.
elite-home is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 11:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post

You should be able to get a KPM-600 from a forum sponsor still - I believe Roman had an ad this morning for KPMs on home page of the forum. There may be others too, many advantages to the KPM and the only disadvantage (no speaker) can be fixed very easily by acquiring unwanted Elite speakers or buying a sound bar, etc.

yes, there are others. ready to ship and looking for a nice home.
elite-home is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
usmcdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice and others: Hello, I appreciate the information on the Kuros you have provided. I have a quick question:

I have replicated the color and av settings you recommended. When I run the slide show I see little to no variation in the reds, greens, or blues. Also, the initial white slide is displayed as gray.

Is this normal?


FYI new Kuro 151 FD
using the USB slides.

Thanks
usmcdot is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 12:00 PM
Newbie
 
usmcdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry need 2 more posts to pm.
usmcdot is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 12:00 PM
Newbie
 
usmcdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This should do it.
usmcdot is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 01:13 PM
Member
 
mag12203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Hef View Post

Thanks for that explanation!

This could be the difference between a channel at 1080i and one at 720p.

Thanks but when can I do about it?
mag12203 is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:31 PM
 
estoniankid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: los gatos, CA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just picked up a panny bd 60 blu ray to pair with my 5020

rented to br movies, both in 2.41 full cinema format. this produces black bars
across the top and bottom of the screen. this worries me about burn in over a 2 hour movie.

tried all the screen size and format settings on the 5020 and could not get it to adjust the image on the screen to full 16:9 (1.84 i believe), even when i set
the pio to auto on screen format, which had always adjusted the picture to full screen before.

need some help here. if i used zoom i could get a full screen picture, but it distorts everything so much it really isn't watchable.

is burn in an issue with black bars for a 2-3 hour movie? i ran the thumbnail for 150+ hours right after purchase.

is there some setting i am missing on the pio or panny that will allow me to
adjust the br 2.41 image to full screen to elimiate the black bars?

don't want to ruin this beautiful setup with ir. funny, rented dark night and
it displayed without black bars.
estoniankid is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 03:34 PM
Member
 
GEE 04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by estoniankid View Post

just picked up a panny bd 60 blu ray to pair with my 5020

rented to br movies, both in 2.41 full cinema format. this produces black bars
across the top and bottom of the screen. this worries me about burn in over a 2 hour movie.

tried all the screen size and format settings on the 5020 and could not get it to adjust the image on the screen to full 16:9 (1.84 i believe), even when i set
the pio to auto on screen format, which had always adjusted the picture to full screen before.

need some help here. if i used zoom i could get a full screen picture, but it distorts everything so much it really isn't watchable.

is burn in an issue with black bars for a 2-3 hour movie? i ran the thumbnail for 150+ hours right after purchase.

is there some setting i am missing on the pio or panny that will allow me to
adjust the br 2.41 image to full screen to elimiate the black bars?

don't want to ruin this beautiful setup with ir. funny, rented dark night and
it displayed without black bars.

I've watched multiple movies with the top an bottom black bars. Haven't noticed one hint in burn in. Zoom degrades the pq.

PSN GEE04
GEE 04 is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 03:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,867
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by estoniankid View Post

just picked up a panny bd 60 blu ray to pair with my 5020

rented to br movies, both in 2.41 full cinema format. this produces black bars
across the top and bottom of the screen. this worries me about burn in over a 2 hour movie.

Unless you watch nothing but 2.35:1 and wider movies on your display, there is nothing to worry about.
htwaits is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 03:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,867
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by estoniankid View Post

funny, rented dark night and
it displayed without black bars.

Part of "Dark Night" is 1.77:1 and part of it is wider. It's a mixed aspect ratio film on Blu-ray.
htwaits is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 04:03 PM
Member
 
superstring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by estoniankid View Post

just picked up a panny bd 60 blu ray to pair with my 5020

rented to br movies, both in 2.41 full cinema format. this produces black bars
across the top and bottom of the screen. this worries me about burn in over a 2 hour movie.

tried all the screen size and format settings on the 5020 and could not get it to adjust the image on the screen to full 16:9 (1.84 i believe), even when i set
the pio to auto on screen format, which had always adjusted the picture to full screen before.

need some help here. if i used zoom i could get a full screen picture, but it distorts everything so much it really isn't watchable.

is burn in an issue with black bars for a 2-3 hour movie? i ran the thumbnail for 150+ hours right after purchase.

is there some setting i am missing on the pio or panny that will allow me to
adjust the br 2.41 image to full screen to elimiate the black bars?

don't want to ruin this beautiful setup with ir. funny, rented dark night and
it displayed without black bars.

Hi estoniankid, I asked the same question awhile back and D-Nice put my mind at rest. Now I just relax and watch 2:35 movies the way they were intended, black bars and all. Like htwaits said, just don't watch that kind of programming exclusively!!

Here's my original query, D-Nice's reply follows.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post16402539
superstring is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 05:14 PM
 
estoniankid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: los gatos, CA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you so much everyone for your responses.

i was so worried last night watching gran torino in 2.41 that i actually
stopped the movie and turned off the tv for 40-45 minutes to be sure i
wasn't causing burn in.

now with the new br player, i have it connected via hdmi on input 5 which
still has the factory settings. i have my e* 622 dvr connected via hdmi to input 6 with d-nice's recommended settings (slightly modified for my eyes).

do i use the same d-nice settings for the br movies on the panny bd60 or are
there some other settings recommended for br?

thanks again everyone, i can now watch movies without stress!
estoniankid is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
nmcnair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry guys,

I have not kept up with stuff.. has anyone released the instructions to calibrate the 1080p24 cinema modes?
nmcnair is offline  
 

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 5020fd by PriceGrabber.com
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off