The Official Pioneer 9G non-Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 415 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12421 of 15008 Old 10-11-2009, 06:25 PM
Newbie
 
dirtybay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for a 500. There are a couple ebay vendors that have lowest price on them. Are there any vendors to avoid?
dirtybay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12422 of 15008 Old 10-11-2009, 07:01 PM
Member
 
lakebum431's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Norris, TN
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Blackburn View Post

No, it's really NOT bad. Many policies have a 5% dedictible (higher may even be available. Many people don't realize what their home owner's coverage really is. Even if you pay extra for "replacement cost" coverage, if you have a 5% deductible policy, you aren't covered for ANYTHING before your loss exceeds the deductable amount. If you have a $200,000 home (does not include cost of land) your dedictible could very well be $10,000 - even with a replacement cost policy. And many policies don't cover jewelry or collections or other "special" items that have to have special riders that cost extra - and paying for $20,000 of jewelry coverage is also likely to have some deductable amount). So if you have water damage from, say a toilet tank cracking and leaking while you are on vacation, unless the damage costs more than $10,000 to repair, you could end up with no payment at all from insurance. You may also have to pay extra for coverage for hail damage or other acts of God.

Wow, hate to disagree with you, but I have a $1k deductible on replacement cost coverage and my premium is very very reasonable. I can't imagine the type of policy you are describing being cheap enough to make that a smart move, ever...
lakebum431 is offline  
post #12423 of 15008 Old 10-12-2009, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtybay View Post

...Are there any vendors to avoid?

It has been stated many times in this thread that Pioneer is not very friendly regarding warranty claims for panels that were purchased outside of an "authorized dealer". You may want to keep that in mind vs just looking for price.
Jim Hef is offline  
post #12424 of 15008 Old 10-12-2009, 10:59 AM
Member
 
ttdrums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the kind words guys. Yes, I have homeowner's insurance with a $250 deductible (AAA, look into it). It is "replacement cost" coverage, so I should be ok. To answer another poster's question, the house was securely locked, but no security system. The criminals simply broke the side light window by our front door and reached in and unlocked it. 2 o'clock in the afternoon. The irony is that I had just replaced all of our door locks with commercial grade deadbolts, etc. I never noticed how poorly designed the front door/window combination was. I had the dual-pane window replaced with laminated glass and we now have a monitored security system. I hope to get enough to cover the cost of a new 5020 from the insurance and then I will pick up a 500m with the stand and speakers. The biggest bummer of the whole thing is not the TV, though, the bastards took the external hard drive to our computer (along with the computer), which had all of our pictures from the last three years--including the pictures of my two year old son. That is probably the biggest lesson learned here--make sure to stay on top of backing up your data to media that you can hide away or on-line file storage in case some criminal wants your stuff. It is a hard earned lesson. I hope you all don't have to experience that. I am sorry for those of you who already have.
ttdrums is offline  
post #12425 of 15008 Old 10-12-2009, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, those are the "keepsakes" that you miss the most because they are not replaceable. Lesson learned about backing up, but it was rough to go through all that to begin with.
Jim Hef is offline  
post #12426 of 15008 Old 10-12-2009, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
Sweet Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just look at it as a great excuse to get a new plasma!!!!!!!
Sweet Chicken is offline  
post #12427 of 15008 Old 10-12-2009, 12:52 PM
Member
 
uniqueuserid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any factual info about Energy Save Mode 2 in PDP-6020FD? What kind of algorithm is used?
I don’t think it would be as simple as in this example: if Contrast is at 30 in Energy Save Off mode – brightness would be the same if Contrast is at 40 (or some other number) in Mode 2.
Any thoughts?

This is what Operating Instructions have to say:
The Energy Save option decreases picture brightness and lowers power consumption. The recommended setting,
Energy Save Mode 1, extends the life of your panel while keeping power usage at a minimum.
Off No effect
Mode 1 consumes less power than Off
Mode 2 consumes less power than Mode 1
uniqueuserid is offline  
post #12428 of 15008 Old 10-12-2009, 02:58 PM
Member
 
ttdrums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem with that theory, Sweet Chicken, is that my 5020 was still new.
ttdrums is offline  
post #12429 of 15008 Old 10-12-2009, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniqueuserid View Post

Does anyone have any factual info about Energy Save Mode 2 in PDP-6020FD? What kind of algorithm is used?
I don't think it would be as simple as in this example: if Contrast is at 30 in Energy Save Off mode - brightness would be the same if Contrast is at 40 (or some other number) in Mode 2.
Any thoughts?

This is what Operating Instructions have to say:
The Energy Save option decreases picture brightness and lowers power consumption. The recommended setting,
Energy Save Mode 1, extends the life of your panel while keeping power usage at a minimum.
Off No effect
Mode 1 consumes less power than Off
Mode 2 consumes less power than Mode 1

I can't tell a bit of differance from power save off to power save 2. The pic looks the same to me on my 5020FD.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #12430 of 15008 Old 10-12-2009, 06:39 PM
Member
 
gianquittia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I am looking to buy a Kuro 111fd or 151fd. Does anyone have an idea of any vendors still selling them, preferably authorized dealers. If not it looks like I'll have to get the V10 54 inch or the Samsung UN55B8500, although I don't like the fact that on the Samsung, that the picture quality lessens at angles. Any vendor information would be super helpful. Thanks!
gianquittia is offline  
post #12431 of 15008 Old 10-13-2009, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
JonW747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gianquittia View Post

Hi I am looking to buy a Kuro 111fd or 151fd. Does anyone have an idea of any vendors still selling them, preferably authorized dealers. If not it looks like I'll have to get the V10 54 inch or the Samsung UN55B8500, although I don't like the fact that on the Samsung, that the picture quality lessens at angles. Any vendor information would be super helpful. Thanks!

Have you checked your local authorized dealers?

For instance, until Best Buy starts putting them on clearance, they should have plenty of stock.
JonW747 is offline  
post #12432 of 15008 Old 10-13-2009, 10:50 AM
Member
 
gianquittia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Best Buy is not a Magnolia store. I live in Huntington, WV, so not too many local dealers to choose from, sadly.
gianquittia is offline  
post #12433 of 15008 Old 10-13-2009, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check 6th Avenue Electronics, or forum sponsor Cleveland Plasma.
Jim Hef is offline  
post #12434 of 15008 Old 10-13-2009, 12:42 PM
Member
 
t3ch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gianquittia View Post

My Best Buy is not a Magnolia store. I live in Huntington, WV, so not too many local dealers to choose from, sadly.

Give eastcoasttvs.com a shot. Free white glove delivery and you don't pay until it's delivered/accepted.
t3ch is offline  
post #12435 of 15008 Old 10-13-2009, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
rf134a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure where to put this, but has anyone noticed that Pioneer has released the GPL portion of their firmware?

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/do...Downloads.html
Quote:


PDP-4271HD, PDP-5071HD, PDP-6071HD, PDP-4270HD, PDP-5070HD, PDP-6070HD, PDP-4280HD, PDP-5080HD, PDP-5010FD, PDP-6010FD, PRO-940HD, PRO-1140HD, PRO-1540HD, PRO-950HD, PRO-1150HD, PRO-110FD, PRO-150FD, PDP-5020FD, PDP-6020FD, PRO-111FD, PRO-151FD

Anyone want to attempt to update the horrible HMG? You'd be my hero and my PS3 will no longer be needed.
rf134a is offline  
post #12436 of 15008 Old 10-13-2009, 05:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3ch View Post

Give eastcoasttvs.com a shot. Free white glove delivery and you don't pay until it's delivered/accepted.


And no valid Pioneer warranty either, they are not a authorized dealer.
Johnla is offline  
post #12437 of 15008 Old 10-14-2009, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Patrick.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cowansville, Quebec
Posts: 2,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rf134a View Post

I'm not sure where to put this, but has anyone noticed that Pioneer has released the GPL portion of their firmware?

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/do...Downloads.html


Anyone want to attempt to update the horrible HMG? You'd be my hero and my PS3 will no longer be needed.

That's interesting, guess we should be expecting a hacked firmware Of course there are only a few people with the skills to do this, perhaps if a petition of sorts was made with people willing to pay for this it would take off. Just don't expect anyone to tackle this one for free, there's a lot of work involved.

Be a fan of displays, not companies or technologies!
Patrick. is offline  
post #12438 of 15008 Old 10-14-2009, 06:20 AM
Member
 
psurob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rf134a View Post

I'm not sure where to put this, but has anyone noticed that Pioneer has released the GPL portion of their firmware?

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/do...Downloads.html


Anyone want to attempt to update the horrible HMG? You'd be my hero and my PS3 will no longer be needed.

For us noobs...what does this mean exactly?
psurob12 is offline  
post #12439 of 15008 Old 10-14-2009, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Patrick.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cowansville, Quebec
Posts: 2,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It means Pioneer has opened up their firmware so it's possible or even probable that someone will pick up the work started by D-Nice and open up more possibilities like bug fixes, pro tools and ISF modes.

Be a fan of displays, not companies or technologies!
Patrick. is offline  
post #12440 of 15008 Old 10-14-2009, 06:25 AM
Member
 
psurob12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

It's very easy. For the first couple hundred hours watch HD channels that fill your screen without black bars or high contrast fixed images. The Discovery Channel is a very good choice. Football and baseball games are not good choices because of the fixed portions of the screen for game statistics.

After that, mix the kind of source material that you watch so that all parts of your screen get similar amounts of use.

If you don't use exaggerated contrast settings, your display should be good for years of enjoyment.

This is what I did, though I did watch a some sports, not much though. Just made sure to watch everything in HD...hopefully all is well. Now I just need to put in D-nice's settings, as I am still using the default settings out of the box and I got it back in May. I should probably get on that, huh?
psurob12 is offline  
post #12441 of 15008 Old 10-14-2009, 08:37 AM
Member
 
bouhhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to buy a 6020 stand (the one included with the tv) for my 141 as I need more clearance on top of my ht unit.

Please pm me if you have a tabletop stand in decent shape that you would be willing to sell.

Thanks.

that man is my exact double. that dog has a puffy tail!
bouhhan is offline  
post #12442 of 15008 Old 10-14-2009, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by rf134a View Post

I'm not sure where to put this, but has anyone noticed that Pioneer has released the GPL portion of their firmware?

They have had that posted for a long time

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #12443 of 15008 Old 10-14-2009, 11:02 AM
Member
 
opensesame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick. View Post

That's interesting, guess we should be expecting a hacked firmware Of course there are only a few people with the skills to do this, perhaps if a petition of sorts was made with people willing to pay for this it would take off. Just don't expect anyone to tackle this one for free, there's a lot of work involved.

I think a poll would be a great idea! Give people a choice as to how much they would be willing to spend for a patch that provides pro adjust controls identical to the Elites. Plus, if it becomes available, spreading the news to other internet sites discussing Pioneer TVs, would get even more people to buy a firmware patch.

Mark
opensesame is offline  
post #12444 of 15008 Old 10-15-2009, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Patrick.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cowansville, Quebec
Posts: 2,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it's up started a poll of sorts, don't really have the time for a petition! For all the 5020/6020 owners that still care about this issue show your support!

Be a fan of displays, not companies or technologies!
Patrick. is offline  
post #12445 of 15008 Old 10-16-2009, 01:22 PM
Member
 
progrhythmical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I was trying to search and find this info before asking, but the search engine isn't working. The PS3 has the option of playing movies back at 24 fps. The 600M has the 24/48/72 fps modes as well. Should I have the PS3 set to 24 or the Display? If they are both on 24fps is that too much processing? I'm assuming that I would get a better picture if I only use on one or the other. Which one should I use? Also if I want to use the 72fps or 48fps on the display should I disable the 24 fps on the PS3? Thanks
progrhythmical is offline  
post #12446 of 15008 Old 10-17-2009, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dahlsim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,994
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick. View Post

Well it's up started a poll of sorts, don't really have the time for a petition! For all the 5020/6020 owners that still care about this issue show your support!

Poll where? My guess is most XX20 owners are off enjoying by now.

The last little "discovery" for this Kuro model allowing full grayscale calibration of 2 video modes mostly satisfied me but I'd still certainly $upport an "Elite" patch.

Family DVD Collection
Insider thread last question? R.I.P.
Nothing will ever be attempted if all possible objections must first be overcome.
Samuel Johnson 1709-1784, British Author
Dahlsim is offline  
post #12447 of 15008 Old 10-17-2009, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
sheedoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahlsim View Post

Poll where? My guess is most XX20 owners are off enjoying by now.

The last little "discovery" for this Kuro model allowing full grayscale calibration of 2 video modes mostly satisfied me but I'd still certainly $upport an "Elite" patch.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=17362044
sheedoe is offline  
post #12448 of 15008 Old 10-17-2009, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's get some more votes into that poll in case Pioneer is actually watching this Forum. Only ten votes so far!
Jim Hef is offline  
post #12449 of 15008 Old 10-17-2009, 12:25 PM
Member
 
opensesame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Hef View Post

Let's get some more votes into that poll in case Pioneer is actually watching this Forum. Only ten votes so far!

I think so far most people are willing to pay up to $200 for an upgrade. Plus, the tv calibrators on Turbe's list will be putting in lots of overtime if we get a firmware upgrade. On a personal note, I will probably be getting a Christmas bonus from work in early December that would easily pay for this.

Keep those votes coming!!!!
opensesame is offline  
post #12450 of 15008 Old 10-18-2009, 01:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by progrhythmical View Post

Hello, I was trying to search and find this info before asking, but the search engine isn't working. The PS3 has the option of playing movies back at 24 fps. The 600M has the 24/48/72 fps modes as well. Should I have the PS3 set to 24 or the Display? If they are both on 24fps is that too much processing? I'm assuming that I would get a better picture if I only use on one or the other. Which one should I use? Also if I want to use the 72fps or 48fps on the display should I disable the 24 fps on the PS3? Thanks

???? Where do you get this? I was under the impression that the 600M had a 60Hz and 72Hz mode and that was it.

No current video displays I've seen have a 24Hz mode and 48Hz seems to cause visible flicker (because of the way current displays make images) so it's worthless.

You have a Pure Cinema control in the 600M that controls how the TV responds to incoming signals. There is a TON of controversy about what display frequency you get for various inputs.

Turn on 24p in the PS3 menu and you control what the 600M does with the Pure Cinema menu. Assume that "Off" will get you 60Hz (so the TV will add 3:2 pulldown to any 24p source). Advance will get you 72Hz from a 24p input. Don't bother with "Smooth" mode, it's broken and the bad motion artifacts it creates from time to time are more disturbing that the slightly smoother motion you MAY get from it at other times.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX Certified Professional Video Calibration
ISF -- HAA -- www.dBtheatrical.com
Widescreen Review -- Home Theater & Sound
Doug Blackburn is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off