The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 1022 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #30631 of 30650 Old 08-30-2014, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,417
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Is the power supply still available for $50? There was a site that had them. I forgot which one though.

home theater addict
saprano is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30632 of 30650 Old 08-30-2014, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
Is the power supply still available for $50? There was a site that had them. I forgot which one though.
Shopjimmy?
Nickff is offline  
post #30633 of 30650 Old 08-30-2014, 09:33 PM
Member
 
Powers16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I finally just broke down and decided to have my Kuro 5020FD with 111FD board professionally calibrated. I was still pretty unsatisfied after going the DIY route with the i1Display Pro meter with HCFR software so i contacted DNice thankfully, I lived close enough that he could do the calibration. He came this Thursday and calibrated the ISF Night, ISF Day, and Game modes and I am extremely satisfied with the result. The tv looks absolutely amazing. It definitely looks a million times better than my little rinky-dink job calibration job . DNice was such a nice guy to and was willing to answer every single question that I asked him (which was quite a bit). Definitely gonna contact him next time I need a calibration done.

Last edited by Powers16; 09-01-2014 at 12:27 AM.
Powers16 is offline  
post #30634 of 30650 Old 08-31-2014, 02:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
[Irishman]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powers16 View Post
Well I finally just broke down and decided to have my Kuro 5020FD with 111FD board professionally calibrated. I was still pretty unsatisfied after going the DIY route with the i1Display Pro meter with HCFR software so i contacted DNice thankfully, I lived close enough that he could do the calibration. He came this Thursday and I am extremely satisfied with the result, the tv looks absolutely amazing. It definitely looks a million times better than my little rinky-dink job calibration job . DNice was such a nice guy to and was willing to answer every single question that I asked him (which was quite a bit). Definitely gonna contact him next time I need a calibration done.
Good to know that even an "older" set like our Pioneers can dramatically benefit from a calibration!

Just cements it for me! I live 2 hrs from. DNice, too.
[Irishman] is online now  
post #30635 of 30650 Old 08-31-2014, 11:01 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,823
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powers16 View Post
Well I finally just broke down and decided to have my Kuro 5020FD with 111FD board professionally calibrated. I was still pretty unsatisfied after going the DIY route with the i1Display Pro meter with HCFR software so i contacted DNice thankfully, I lived close enough that he could do the calibration.
Thanks for posting your calibration comments. I've added links (one for each display) to your post in the flat panel (post number two) lists that are linked in the signature area at the bottom of my post.

If you have further comments to make about your video calibration, it would be great if you could use the edit command to add them to your original post. Enjoy.
htwaits is offline  
post #30636 of 30650 Old 08-31-2014, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,025
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by [Irishman] View Post
D-Nice posted some offsets for various tweaks to 9G and 9.5G kuro models in this thread I think, back in late '08, or early '09.

They may not be for your device, but you might find some benefit (I did).
I started out with copying various settings, first ones where D-Nice's settings , and do some setting reading. From there i made the TV look similar to my pro calibrated LCd (while keeping in mind that it is a Plasma). Now they are at least 90% identical, so no big surprises once it is pro calibrated..
8mile13 is offline  
post #30637 of 30650 Old 08-31-2014, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,417
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Shopjimmy?
Yeah that's the place but it looks like they're out of them.

home theater addict

Last edited by saprano; 08-31-2014 at 05:05 PM.
saprano is online now  
post #30638 of 30650 Old 08-31-2014, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,417
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powers16 View Post
Well I finally just broke down and decided to have my Kuro 5020FD with 111FD board professionally calibrated. I was still pretty unsatisfied after going the DIY route with the i1Display Pro meter with HCFR software so i contacted DNice thankfully, I lived close enough that he could do the calibration. He came this Thursday and I am extremely satisfied with the result, the tv looks absolutely amazing. It definitely looks a million times better than my little rinky-dink job calibration job . DNice was such a nice guy to and was willing to answer every single question that I asked him (which was quite a bit). Definitely gonna contact him next time I need a calibration done.
Did he lower your black level too?

home theater addict
saprano is online now  
post #30639 of 30650 Old 09-01-2014, 12:21 AM
Member
 
Powers16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by [Irishman] View Post
Good to know that even an "older" set like our Pioneers can dramatically benefit from a calibration!

Just cements it for me! I live 2 hrs from. DNice, too.

If you have the extra money and live that close to him, you absolutely should contact him for a calibration. I know for me, since I was constantly messing around with the settings trying to get the picture exactly how I wanted, its really nice to just be able to sit back and enjoy your Kuro knowing that it's looking the best that it possibly can.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
Did he lower your black level too?

Even though my black levels DO seem slightly better, I'm honestly not sure. I tried to leave him alone during the calibration so I didn't actually get to see what adjustments were made. But, I had asked him before doing the calibration if I should set the RSTP back from 12 to its original value of 33. He said to leave it at 12 but really discourages messing with those service menu settings. Because of him saying that, I'm betting it didn't mess with the black levels.

Last edited by Powers16; 09-01-2014 at 12:29 AM.
Powers16 is offline  
post #30640 of 30650 Old 09-05-2014, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Does anyone have a spare pair of KRP-S02 or SMW-2026 speakers that they are looking to sell?
John

ISF Calibrator
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Samsung PN64F8500
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is online now  
post #30641 of 30650 Old 09-05-2014, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jmmesch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Desert SW
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
What are the SMW-2026 speakers worth? I have an boxed set.

My favorite toy
jmmesch is offline  
post #30642 of 30650 Old 09-05-2014, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmesch View Post
What are the SMW-2026 speakers worth? I have an boxed set.
Not sure. It like asking what is a Kuro worth.

The 6020 soundbar speaker can be purchased for $100. Not sure if that can be adapted to the 600M.

ISF Calibrator
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Samsung PN64F8500
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is online now  
post #30643 of 30650 Old 09-05-2014, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Efalegalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm looking for speakers for my Pioneer PDP-5020FD - it would be ideal if someone has speakers for the PRO-111FD they would consider selling. I like the side mounted look and have read they are compatible with the 5020FD. If have them to sell - please PM me.
Efalegalo is online now  
post #30644 of 30650 Old 09-05-2014, 11:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
Does anyone have a spare pair of KRP-S02 or SMW-2026 speakers that they are looking to sell?
John
Pm sent.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #30645 of 30650 Old 09-07-2014, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Well going to pick up a 150fd this morning I tried a couple new Vizio for our second TV didn't care for at all. So I'll stick with something I know to have a great picture

Last edited by rcapprotti; 09-07-2014 at 08:33 PM.
rcapprotti is online now  
post #30646 of 30650 Old 09-07-2014, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
NYC Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a quick for my fellow Kuro owners. Has anyone ever used a compressed gas duster can like we use on computers to try to remove some of the dust that has accumulated inside their sets? Can you cause any damage to the set if you use one?
NYC Guy is offline  
post #30647 of 30650 Old 09-24-2014, 06:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Remote's TV / RCV Source Power

I have to say that the engineers did one truly stupid thing. It's brilliant that in TV / RCV mode the playback buttons on the remote control my HDMI attached Pio BDP. They recognized that it's a smooth operation controlling three devices in that mode, especially since neither the receiver or the TV else use the playback buttons.

So why would they leave the source power button on the TV / RCV mode useless and un-programmable??? Is it just mine that isn't operational or programmable? If so I'll buy a new remote.

I don't want to have to pull out the BDP's remote, it's not controllable from the app (it's a 23FD), and I don't want to waste the whole DVD / DVR mode on the remote for the player since I'm using it for the Apple TV. I have the DVD mode's source power button programmed for the BDP since the Apple TV doesn't need it, but it's just dumb that I have to switch to that mode for just power when the source power is un-utilized in the TV / RCV mode.
Ilbisonte is offline  
post #30648 of 30650 Old 09-24-2014, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilbisonte View Post
I have to say that the engineers did one truly stupid thing. It's brilliant that in TV / RCV mode the playback buttons on the remote control my HDMI attached Pio BDP. They recognized that it's a smooth operation controlling three devices in that mode, especially since neither the receiver or the TV else use the playback buttons.

So why would they leave the source power button on the TV / RCV mode useless and un-programmable??? Is it just mine that isn't operational or programmable? If so I'll buy a new remote.

I don't want to have to pull out the BDP's remote, it's not controllable from the app (it's a 23FD), and I don't want to waste the whole DVD / DVR mode on the remote for the player since I'm using it for the Apple TV. I have the DVD mode's source power button programmed for the BDP since the Apple TV doesn't need it, but it's just dumb that I have to switch to that mode for just power when the source power is un-utilized in the TV / RCV mode.
A Harmony 620 (or 670) could change your life. eBay still has some usually.
Nickff is offline  
post #30649 of 30650 Old 09-25-2014, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,417
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Anybody have a 151FD box they can give away? Mine got damaged from water and moisture from being in my basement.

I need one for transportation eventually.

home theater addict

Last edited by saprano; 09-25-2014 at 01:38 PM.
saprano is online now  
post #30650 of 30650 Old 09-26-2014, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 59
That sucks
rcapprotti is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off