The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 1036 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #31051 of 31079 Old 07-23-2015, 11:52 PM
Member
 
OttoKürschner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 7
How much is a brand new in box 141FD worth in 2015?

$10,000?

 
PDPs Panasonic 50PF30, 42PF30, 50PH9, 50PHD8 | CRTs Sony Trinitron 21", Philips 36PW9607
OttoKürschner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31052 of 31079 Old 07-24-2015, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by OttoKürschner View Post
How much is a brand new in box 141FD worth in 2015?

$10,000?
That's a good question. I thought about putting on eBay and testing the waters then again I'll probably kept it.The only other TV I would want Is probably THE 600A because it's got that cool media box

Last edited by rcapprotti; 07-24-2015 at 08:20 AM.
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31053 of 31079 Old 07-24-2015, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
That's a good question. I thought about putting on eBay and testing the waters then again I'll probably kept it.The only other TV I would want Is probably THE 600A because it's got that cool media box
A brand new, in box 141fd sold for $3400 on eBay a couple of months ago. The guy who bought it is filthy rich.
makaveddie81 is online now  
post #31054 of 31079 Old 07-24-2015, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
A brand new, in box 141fd sold for $3400 on eBay a couple of months ago. The guy who bought it is filthy rich.
If I decided to put it up for sale and if i got around $3500 and of course that's a big if. You're really not going get a top-of-the-line 65 to 75 inch for that money. So if you went the projector route I would still need to spend 2000 or more for screen and I would still need to do a couple of things to my room so you can use a projector there. So you're now at the 5500 to $6000 range and I don't know if I want to spend that kind of money. So I'm leaning more towards keeping it. So Eddie you had both 141 and 151 which is the better unit
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31055 of 31079 Old 07-24-2015, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
If I decided to put it up for sale and if i got around $3500 and of course that's a big if. You're really not going get a top-of-the-line 65 to 75 inch for that money. So if you went the projector route I would still need to spend 2000 or more for screen and I would still need to do a couple of things to my room so you can use a projector there. So you're now at the 5500 to $6000 range and I don't know if I want to spend that kind of money. So I'm leaning more towards keeping it. So Eddie you had both 141 and 151 which is the better unit
I know this may not be a popular opinion, but I prefer the 151fd over the 141fd. I don't notice any picture quality differences between the two, though the calibration adjustments are more granular on the 141fd. My reasons are not picture quality related, but feature related. To me, the 151fd is the better overall set if you value flexibility due to its extra features and side speakers. You can put it in any room without the need to install a sound system.

Sure, the thinner profile and collectors box are a nice bonus with the 141fd, but they are not enough to overcome the advantages of the 151fd, IMO. Does that mean that I would pass up on a 141fd in hopes of finding a 151fd later? Nope.

Picture quality wise they are equal. Both tweaked the same and the black levels were unreadable by my i1D3.

To me, the best Kuros are the 500M and 600M because they offer the best of both worlds - the thin profile of the Elite Signatures (101fd, 141fd), with some of the features, such as speakers, of the Elites (111fd, 151fd). Keep in mind I also owned a 101fd and currently own a 500M.

I do miss the Elite badge on my bezel though.
makaveddie81 is online now  
post #31056 of 31079 Old 07-24-2015, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
I know this may not be a popular opinion, but I prefer the 151fd over the 141fd. I don't notice any picture quality differences between the two, though the calibration adjustments are more granular on the 141fd. My reasons are not picture quality related, but feature related. To me, the 151fd is the better overall set if you value flexibility due to its extra features and side speakers. You can put it in any room without the need to install a sound system.

Sure, the thinner profile and collectors box are a nice bonus with the 141fd, but they are not enough to overcome the advantages of the 151fd, IMO. Does that mean that I would pass up on a 141fd in hopes of finding a 151fd later? Nope.

Picture quality wise they are equal. Both tweaked the same and the black levels were unreadable by my i1D3.

To me, the best Kuros are the 500M and 600M because they offer the best of both worlds - the thin profile of the Elite Signatures (101fd, 141fd), with some of the features, such as speakers, of the Elites (111fd, 151fd). Keep in mind I also owned a 101fd and currently own a 500M.

I do miss the Elite badge on my bezel though.
Yes I believe the 141 was more of the home theater room addition. As long as the picture qualities are equal to me that's all that matters because my small man cave is set up with surroundsound so it works perfect for my situation. My 150 elite is used more as an everyday TV we have a 110 elite for the bedroom Picture quality on those are really good to. Plus I figured I had problems with the 6020 model and the 151 so I figured if they let me get a 141 and it's not costing me anything extra I might as well give it a try
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31057 of 31079 Old 07-24-2015, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
A brand new, in box 141fd sold for $3400 on eBay a couple of months ago. The guy who bought it is filthy rich.

What did it retail for when new and when was that ?


I know these TV's had great blacks for the time but they still are older technology and you have bigger/newer models like the Samsung 8500. Surprised they're getting that kind of premium but then again any 100% new plasma is unique if you can find it I guess.
PhilipsPhanatic is online now  
post #31058 of 31079 Old 07-24-2015, 10:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
Yes I believe the 141 was more of the home theater room addition. As long as the picture qualities are equal to me that's all that matters because my small man cave is set up with surroundsound so it works perfect for my situation. My 150 elite is used more as an everyday TV we have a 110 elite for the bedroom Picture quality on those are really good to. Plus I figured I had problems with the 6020 model and the 151 so I figured if they let me get a 141 and it's not costing me anything extra I might as well give it a try
141fd has more of a premium, is more rare and has a higher resale value than a 151fd, so nothing wrong with your decision. Hell, if I had to pick any brand new 60 inch model, I'd also go with a 141fd just because of how rare it is.
rcapprotti likes this.
makaveddie81 is online now  
post #31059 of 31079 Old 07-25-2015, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
141fd has more of a premium, is more rare and has a higher resale value than a 151fd, so nothing wrong with your decision. Hell, if I had to pick any brand new 60 inch model, I'd also go with a 141fd just because of how rare it is.
I'm hoping that the build date on this set Will be 2008 or early 2009 because one of the TVs I had problems with was built in the last month pioneer was producing TVs
Edllguy likes this.
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31060 of 31079 Old 07-25-2015, 07:21 AM
Member
 
SnellTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post

What did it retail for when new and when was that ?


I know these TV's had great blacks for the time

Huge under statement right here... the black levels for the time (2008) were out of this world, still to this date; 7 years later its black levels a way above anything that's not OLED.
rcapprotti likes this.
SnellTHX is offline  
post #31061 of 31079 Old 07-25-2015, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Hello everyone,

My Pro-111FD was manufactured/built in January 2009. Still going strong with many hours on it. Also was calibrated by D-Nice in 2011.

It it safe to assume that my panel was made before they started amalgamating the plants before final production shutdown and the reports that QC took a hit?

Thanks
Edllguy is offline  
post #31062 of 31079 Old 07-25-2015, 12:12 PM
Member
 
ajsimeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should've posted my question in here. Have the opportunity to buy a pioneer elite 111fd for $650. Good price?
ajsimeon is offline  
post #31063 of 31079 Old 07-25-2015, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajsimeon View Post
Should've posted my question in here. Have the opportunity to buy a pioneer elite 111fd for $650. Good price?
Not bad. Does it come with the stand and speakers? Where are you located?
makaveddie81 is online now  
post #31064 of 31079 Old 07-30-2015, 12:03 PM
Member
 
enf1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
8 blinking lights . .its a chip on the IO Board . .

so many of those Voltage Regulators have failed that i think its a design flaw. See the video on Youtube on how to replace it. The chip gives off much heat and soldering it to the board is no heat sink at all. BTW Pioneer is sold out of the replacement board.
Careful , the copper on that board is very fragile.
enf1945 is offline  
post #31065 of 31079 Old 07-30-2015, 01:04 PM
ALP
Member
 
ALP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by enf1945 View Post
so many of those Voltage Regulators have failed that i think its a design flaw. See the video on Youtube on how to replace it. The chip gives off much heat and soldering it to the board is no heat sink at all. BTW Pioneer is sold out of the replacement board.
Careful , the copper on that board is very fragile.
I am not having any problems with my set right now, but I figure it is good to understand these things. Do you have a link to the Youtube video on the replacement? As someone who developed thermal technology for large computers I would advice people against hanging a high performance plasma screen such as the Kuro's on the wall. You really want as much air space behind the unit as is practical in your viewing area.

Tony Plachy
ALP is online now  
post #31066 of 31079 Old 07-30-2015, 03:09 PM
Newbie
 
Erik The Pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Woodland, CA, outside Sacramento
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Still looking for a tabletop stand for my Pro-150FD. Anyone got one? Thanks!

Erik
Erik The Pope is offline  
post #31067 of 31079 Unread 07-30-2015, 10:33 PM
Member
 
enf1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the part is small.

enf1945 is offline  
post #31068 of 31079 Unread 07-31-2015, 01:55 AM
ALP
Member
 
ALP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks so much for the video. Who ever made that video is very good at repairs and has the right tools. When I was an undergrad lab assistant I was holding a part to be soldered in place for a grad student while he was repairing an instrument. He slipped with the soldering iron and put it right into my forefinger. Big ouch!

Tony Plachy
ALP is online now  
post #31069 of 31079 Unread 08-01-2015, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
stewarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Coming in a little late to this discussion. I bought my KURO (PDP 6020FD/KUCXC build date of June 2008) new back in the summer of 2008. It is still going strong and is so impressive to watch. It's our everyday TV and I dread the day I will have to replace it. I'd like to know the opinions on this display (is there any information I should be aware of with this model?). If I'm used to this display, what options are out there for something similar (or do I hope it lasts until OLED prices come down)?
stewarco is offline  
post #31070 of 31079 Unread 08-01-2015, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
elphillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Goodyear AZ.
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 144
I had my 141FD for six years before moving on last year. In changing sets I realized I had never activated the internet on the 141. Did I miss any SW/FW updates during that time? The only update I find on Pioneer support looks like it has to do with the 151's tuner.

UN75HU8550 (TSO1) with a 3500 OCB
elphillips is offline  
post #31071 of 31079 Unread 08-01-2015, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
RYANtheTIGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, I need your help. I got the 8 blinking blue lights last night. My 111FD is still in wonderful shape. The speakers are there. The only thing missing are the brackets which I lost last year. The bottom line - great TV but I'm forced to make a decision.


1. Do I try to get someone to repair it (I've looked around and it may be costly)?


2. Do I sell it? And if I sell it, how much do you think I'll get for it? Better yet, where do I sell it?



I'm in a bind. Your help would be greatly appreciated!
RYANtheTIGER is offline  
post #31072 of 31079 Unread 08-01-2015, 08:17 PM
ALP
Member
 
ALP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by elphillips View Post
I had my 141FD for six years before moving on last year. In changing sets I realized I had never activated the internet on the 141. Did I miss any SW/FW updates during that time? The only update I find on Pioneer support looks like it has to do with the 151's tuner.
Where do I find out about this 151 tuner update?

Tony Plachy
ALP is online now  
post #31073 of 31079 Unread Yesterday, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALP View Post
Where do I find out about this 151 tuner update?
You can call pioneer parts department or go to their website to the parts department and you can order a update. It'll come on a USB stick I did this couple times

Last edited by rcapprotti; Yesterday at 10:25 AM.
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31074 of 31079 Unread Yesterday, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
elphillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Goodyear AZ.
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALP View Post
Where do I find out about this 151 tuner update?
Looked again and couldn't find it. Didn't pay much attention before because it did not pertain to my TV.

UN75HU8550 (TSO1) with a 3500 OCB
elphillips is offline  
post #31075 of 31079 Unread Today, 11:42 AM
ALP
Member
 
ALP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
You can call pioneer parts department or go to their website to the parts department and you can order a update. It'll come on a USB stick I did this couple times
I went to the Pioneer website for the 151 (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...asma/PRO-151FD) and then clicked on the "Firmware & Software" button and then clicked on the link for the "Firmware Update Instructions" (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/ep...re_Rev1.9_.pdf). I printed it and followed the instructions exactly as the were written. I then downloaded the update, unzipped it and put the Update Folder and a clean USB flash drive. I theen followed the instruction exactly for loading the update into my 151 and when I do that all that happens is the TV switches to the USB drive and the Update folder is shown, however I get NO flashing lights (as the instructions say I should) and as near as I can tell nothing is being updated. Has anyone else done this update? HELP! (I called Pioneer, their auto answering system says they are at lunch, try back later!)

Tony Plachy

Last edited by ALP; Today at 11:48 AM.
ALP is online now  
post #31076 of 31079 Unread Today, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALP View Post
I went to the Pioneer website for the 151 (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...asma/PRO-151FD) and then clicked on the "Firmware & Software" button and then clicked on the link for the "Firmware Update Instructions" (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/ep...re_Rev1.9_.pdf). I printed it and followed the instructions exactly as the were written. I then downloaded the update, unzipped it and put the Update Folder and a clean USB flash drive. I theen followed the instruction exactly for loading the update into my 151 and when I do that all that happens is the TV switches to the USB drive and the Update folder is shown, however I get NO flashing lights (as the instructions say I should) and as near as I can tell nothing is being updated. Has anyone else done this update? HELP! (I called Pioneer, their auto answering system says they are at lunch, try back later!)
You need to get your hands on an old USB drive, preferably one with low capacity. I've used a 1gb microsd card via a USB adapter on my 151fd and 5020 successfully.
makaveddie81 is online now  
post #31077 of 31079 Unread Today, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALP View Post
I went to the Pioneer website for the 151 (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...asma/PRO-151FD) and then clicked on the "Firmware & Software" button and then clicked on the link for the "Firmware Update Instructions" (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/ep...re_Rev1.9_.pdf). I printed it and followed the instructions exactly as the were written. I then downloaded the update, unzipped it and put the Update Folder and a clean USB flash drive. I theen followed the instruction exactly for loading the update into my 151 and when I do that all that happens is the TV switches to the USB drive and the Update folder is shown, however I get NO flashing lights (as the instructions say I should) and as near as I can tell nothing is being updated. Has anyone else done this update? HELP! (I called Pioneer, their auto answering system says they are at lunch, try back later!)
I've tried the download and it didn't work for me either. That's why suggested calling Pioneers Parts Department and they will send you a USB stick free with your download and instructions. Takes about for five days to get to you by mail
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31078 of 31079 Unread Today, 01:16 PM
Member
 
EricQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any idea what could be wrong with my pioneer 6020. It has the 8 blinking lights problem where the set can not power up. It will try to power up but then shut down. I have already replaced the I/O board with the original one as I had done the E-Lite mode on it. It will work sporadically, if I wait 15 minutes or so it will work fine but if I try to switch inputs it shuts down and will not show a picture. Either input will work as long as I wait 15 min or more. I'm thinking it might be the main board but would like to hear if anyone else has fixed this problem with other components.

"Guns at dawn, swords at dusk."
EricQ is online now  
post #31079 of 31079 Unread Today, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 36
lnarbi is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off