The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 1038 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #31111 of 31135 Old 08-20-2015, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsskid View Post
Enjoy.
Thank you sir
rcapprotti is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31112 of 31135 Old 08-21-2015, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 98
After spending a little bit of time with my 141 my first impressions it's the best TV I've ever owned. The black are a little bit deeper you can really see that watching the TDKR.I know a lot of people who don't care for plasma one of the complaints are that whites on a plasma are a little off-white I think that's BS after watching planet Earth and looking at the clip of the snow capped mountains in the Himalayas they look pretty damn white to me. Overall the picture looks really clean and smooth can't wait to get it professionally calibrated

Last edited by rcapprotti; 08-22-2015 at 04:35 AM. Reason: xvvx
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31113 of 31135 Old 08-25-2015, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Never understood the complaints about whites on a plasma. It's just as white and bright as the LCD i have. Like it's a real nice crisp white. Their displays must be defective or something.

Hmmm. You think the blacks are deeper and there's still not that many hours of use compared to your 151? You probably have a 9.5G then.
rcapprotti likes this.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #31114 of 31135 Old 08-25-2015, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
RYANtheTIGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone have the issue where the Home Menu and Tools buttons on the remote do not respond? I can change HDMi sources, volume, etc. but get nothing when I press the Home Menu or Tools buttons.
RYANtheTIGER is online now  
post #31115 of 31135 Old 08-25-2015, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
Never understood the complaints about whites on a plasma. It's just as white and bright as the LCD i have. Like it's a real nice crisp white. Their displays must be defective or something.

Hmmm. You think the blacks are deeper and there's still not that many hours of use compared to your 151? You probably have a 9.5G then.
When you're watching a movie in widescreen on the 141 the black bars look a little darker Then they did on my 151.I don't think it's a 9.5G I just think a 151 was a little screwed up. Like I said the picture just looks a little smoother a little cleaner I think my old 151 had a little bit of DSE

Last edited by rcapprotti; 08-25-2015 at 06:21 PM.
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31116 of 31135 Old 08-25-2015, 09:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
When you're watching a movie in widescreen on the 141 the black bars look a little darker Then they did on my 151.I don't think it's a 9.5G I just think a 151 was a little screwed up. Like I said the picture just looks a little smoother a little cleaner I think my old 151 had a little bit of DSE
If your 151 has been calibrated, make sure the power save mode is off. I had mine calibrated and I was surprised the blacks didn't look as dark as my 50" Kuro non-Elite. Well, I forgot I turned on the power save mode after calibration. Turned it back off, problem solved, blacks are incredibly black, image quality is beyond belief.
KuroKrazy is offline  
post #31117 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 04:35 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by KuroKrazy View Post
If your 151 has been calibrated, make sure the power save mode is off. I had mine calibrated and I was surprised the blacks didn't look as dark as my 50" Kuro non-Elite. Well, I forgot I turned on the power save mode after calibration. Turned it back off, problem solved, blacks are incredibly black, image quality is beyond belief.
the 151 is gone pioneer swapped it out for 141 a couple weeks ago.I'm going to wait a little bit before i get it calibrated
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31118 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by KuroKrazy View Post
If your 151 has been calibrated, make sure the power save mode is off. I had mine calibrated and I was surprised the blacks didn't look as dark as my 50" Kuro non-Elite. Well, I forgot I turned on the power save mode after calibration. Turned it back off, problem solved, blacks are incredibly black, image quality is beyond belief.
Power save doesn't affect black level. I've always been using mode 2.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #31119 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
Power save doesn't affect black level. I've always been using mode 2.
sparano when the power save is off doesn't that make the picture a little brighter?
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31120 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nascar Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
sparano when the power save is off doesn't that make the picture a little brighter?
Yes, and the buzz a little louder.
Power Save 2 kills the buzz and provides a nice picture for my set.
Nascar Dog is offline  
post #31121 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 07:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar Dog View Post
Yes, and the buzz a little louder.
Power Save 2 kills the buzz and provides a nice picture for my set.
No buzz on my 151FD in any mode, but after switching from Mode 2 to OFF, picture is brighter, more perceived contrast, better perception of blacks.

rcapprotti - 'pioneer swapped to 141 a couple of weeks ago'? Kuros aren't being produced since 2010... Pioneer got out of the TV biz.
KuroKrazy is offline  
post #31122 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by KuroKrazy View Post
No buzz on my 151FD in any mode, but after switching from Mode 2 to OFF, picture is brighter, more perceived contrast, better perception of blacks.

rcapprotti - 'pioneer swapped to 141 a couple of weeks ago'? Kuros aren't being produced since 2010... Pioneer got out of the TV biz.
Yes I know that but mine was a warranty Exchange.they still have TV for that purpose
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31123 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Does anyone know if the 2009 build non Elites went through the same refined manufacturing process that made 2009 build Elites perform like the 9.5 gen models?
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #31124 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
sparano when the power save is off doesn't that make the picture a little brighter?
Yes it does but as some should know by now i don't care about brightness. Too much doesn't make the picture look real. Besides, after removing the stupid, obviously broken should not be intended for all picture modes, color sensor, i think i have enough brightness.

It lowers the buzz is why i use it though.
rcapprotti likes this.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #31125 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by KuroKrazy View Post
No buzz on my 151FD in any mode, but after switching from Mode 2 to OFF, picture is brighter, more perceived contrast, better perception of blacks.
You made it sound like turning off the ES mode actually made the blacks better. Of course the perceived blacks will be better with a brighter image. But what good is that in a predominantly low contrast scene?

Quote:
rcapprotti - 'pioneer swapped to 141 a couple of weeks ago'? Kuros aren't being produced since 2010... Pioneer got out of the TV biz.
They have some for warranty purposes.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #31126 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
Does anyone know if the 2009 build non Elites went through the same refined manufacturing process that made 2009 build Elites perform like the 9.5 gen models?
I don't see why they wouldn't. Didn't all models get made in that factory late 2008 early 2009? The elites were only mentioned but it would make sense for the non elites too i would think?

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #31127 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
I don't see why they wouldn't. Didn't all models get made in that factory late 2008 early 2009? The elites were only mentioned but it would make sense for the non elites too i would think?
Yes they did, but the non Elites use a different panel than the Elites so not sure if they used the same refined process to manufacture the non Elite panels.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #31128 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
Yes it does but as some should know by now i don't care about brightness. Too much doesn't make the picture look real. Besides, after removing the stupid, obviously broken should not be intended for all picture modes, color sensor, i think i have enough brightness.

It lowers the buzz is why i use it though.
Yeah I think mine is set at mode 2 from the factory Picture looks fine to me. And I'm like you I can't stand the buzzing sound
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31129 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
Yes they did, but the non Elites use a different panel than the Elites so not sure if they used the same refined process to manufacture the non Elite panels.
I may be mistaken but Didn't D-nice say at shootout a couple years ago that the 6020 151 and 141 had the same glass/panel. I could be wrong but I believe that's what he told the audience
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31130 of 31135 Old 08-26-2015, 04:40 PM
Member
 
JohnnyRose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking at buying a 151FD

Greetings. Its been a while since I posted here. Back 12 years ago when I purchased my system I lived on this site. I am looking at replacing my Elite 1130. The TV works just fine but I want something a bit larger and better.

I found a used 151FD with very low hours on it and thought I would check in to see if anybody has any advice on what I should look for in a used plasma. I plan on bringing a test BluRay with me and Ive been reading through the posts here and from what I have read there are quality differences based on when the units were manufactured. I would appreciate any quick run down anyone is willing to provide to help me make the correct decision. Any ideas on a reasonable offer would be appreciated too.

Is the 151FD one of the units that you need special software and cables to check hours?

Thanks.

John

______________________________
Seeking perfect solutions.
JohnnyRose is online now  
post #31131 of 31135 Old Yesterday, 04:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyRose View Post
Greetings. Its been a while since I posted here. Back 12 years ago when I purchased my system I lived on this site. I am looking at replacing my Elite 1130. The TV works just fine but I want something a bit larger and better.

I found a used 151FD with very low hours on it and thought I would check in to see if anybody has any advice on what I should look for in a used plasma. I plan on bringing a test BluRay with me and Ive been reading through the posts here and from what I have read there are quality differences based on when the units were manufactured. I would appreciate any quick run down anyone is willing to provide to help me make the correct decision. Any ideas on a reasonable offer would be appreciated too.

Is the 151FD one of the units that you need special software and cables to check hours?

Thanks.

John
I've purchased my 151FD also with low hours a couple of months ago. I took my test blu ray disc and looked for dead/red pixels. I found none, so I purchased the set. Many people here mention buzz noise, but my set is completely quiet at any energy mode. After using the set for 2 weeks in pure mode, I decided to have it professionally calibrated, paid around $350 for the service and I highly recommend it. ISF Night, Day and Auto were unlocked and the calibration settings were copied to all inputs. Yes, there is a serial cable needed, as well as specific software to check the service menus. And special "seeing" equipment to calibrate the panel, as well as pattern generators. It is better to have a seasoned professional do this job. Mine took around 3 hours to be done. The picture is beyond belief and I still think this is the best TV money can buy even today, 5 years after Pioneer stopped making them. Good luck!
KuroKrazy is offline  
post #31132 of 31135 Old Yesterday, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Cloggerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone suggest a good calibrator for East Tennessee? I could swing the $350 that KuroKrazy paid, but I don't know that I would do much more than that.
Cloggerdude is offline  
post #31133 of 31135 Old Yesterday, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloggerdude View Post
Can anyone suggest a good calibrator for East Tennessee? I could swing the $350 that KuroKrazy paid, but I don't know that I would do much more than that.
D-nice his email is info@av-fi.com the last time i inquired about a price I believe it was around $400. he is One of the best when I get my 141 calibrated I'd like to have him do it
rcapprotti is online now  
post #31134 of 31135 Old Yesterday, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
D-nice his email is info@av-fi.com the last time i inquired about a price I believe it was around $400. he is One of the best when I get my 141 calibrated I'd like to have him do it

Another vote for D-Nice.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #31135 of 31135 Unread Today, 07:33 AM
Member
 
JohnnyRose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks!

Without the cable and software I will have to rely on the honesty of the seller regarding the hours on the TV.

I am going to look at it next week. Will let you know how it turns out.

Thanks again.

______________________________
Seeking perfect solutions.
JohnnyRose is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off