The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 1057 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 178Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31681 of 31693 Old 07-06-2016, 11:32 AM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,573
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 1782
Quote:
Originally Posted by video_analysis View Post
Don't want to give you false hope (so I won't blow smoke up your...), but buzzing typically emanates from a failing power supply, perhaps a bulging capacitor?
Replacing the power supply card should be a reasonable do it yourself job if you can use a screw driver and have a lot of patients/patience.
Superman23 likes this.

Last edited by htwaits; 07-06-2016 at 12:37 PM.
htwaits is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31682 of 31693 Old 07-06-2016, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1248 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
I have neither patients nor the patience (actually, it's more down to the lack of nerve and steady hands due to chronic tendinitis/tendinosis).
video_analysis is online now  
post #31683 of 31693 Old 07-06-2016, 12:36 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,573
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 1782
Quote:
Originally Posted by video_analysis View Post
I have neither patients nor the patience (actually, it's more down to the lack of nerve and steady hands due to chronic tendinitis/tendinosis).


How about a power screw driver?
video_analysis and Vader1 like this.
htwaits is online now  
post #31684 of 31693 Old 07-11-2016, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 4,051
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Is there any way to turn on the fans in the service menu? Or is fan use only available on the european models?

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #31685 of 31693 Old 07-11-2016, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
ll Viper ll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I have this exact same question for a regular old 5020 (American model)...the one I picked up cheap in CL and had fixed runs pretty hot...like 10-15 degrees hotter than my other 5020
ll Viper ll is offline  
post #31686 of 31693 Old 07-11-2016, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,526
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
Is there any way to turn on the fans in the service menu? Or is fan use only available on the european models?
According my 500M manual the fans automatically turn on (and off), there is no fan option in the menu.
8mile13 is offline  
post #31687 of 31693 Old 07-11-2016, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 4,051
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll Viper ll View Post
I have this exact same question for a regular old 5020 (American model)...the one I picked up cheap in CL and had fixed runs pretty hot...like 10-15 degrees hotter than my other 5020
My 151 runs at average temperature. It's summer now so it can get a bit warmer, but nothing unusual or to worry about.

Heat is not the reason why i want to turn them on. I want to because i've never seen them run, and to have the option.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8mile13 View Post
According my 500M manual the fans automatically turn on (and off), there is no fan option in the menu.
For those models you can use your remote and another way from what i read.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #31688 of 31693 Old 07-11-2016, 05:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
My 151 runs at average temperature. It's summer now so it can get a bit warmer, but nothing unusual or to worry about.

Heat is not the reason why i want to turn them on. I want to because i've never seen them run, and to have the option.

For those models you can use your remote and another way from what i read.
I don't know about the 151 but 141 and you can turn the fans on to run all the time

Last edited by rcapprotti; 07-11-2016 at 05:41 PM.
rcapprotti is offline  
post #31689 of 31693 Old 07-11-2016, 07:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
ll Viper ll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Do you know the command for the service menu? I've tried ones I've found in various pioneer service menu manuals and none have worked...
ll Viper ll is offline  
post #31690 of 31693 Old 07-11-2016, 08:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll Viper ll View Post
Do you know the command for the service menu? I've tried ones I've found in various pioneer service menu manuals and none have worked...
the 141 menu is quite a bit different then the 151 you can turn the fans on with the remote that came with the TV
rcapprotti is offline  
post #31691 of 31693 Old 07-12-2016, 06:38 PM
Member
 
xlc210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's the integrator menu. It will reset your pure mode settings once you enter so be sure to write them down.
xlc210 is offline  
post #31692 of 31693 Old 07-12-2016, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
ll Viper ll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Is this accessible on the non-monitor 9g kuros?

I've gotten to a screen in the service menu which resembled something someone referenced as the integrator screen but couldn't seem to change anything
ll Viper ll is offline  
post #31693 of 31693 Old Today, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
keithhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Daly City, California
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have one of the last of the great kuros 151fd 60" which has worked flawlessly since I purchased it on 3/30/2009 and had it professionally calibrated 4 months later.
I've always used the analog stereo outs on the back of the tv to go to my headphone amplifer with a volume control.
I would like to find out of there is someway to control the output as in gain, (volume control) The owners manual is so
extensive and daunting to look at, I thought I would try the real knowledge base for all things Pioneer Kuro Elite,
I must say I purchased an LG 55" OLED set for my bedroom and it is very nice, but falls short of the Kuro for the sense
of 3d like picture it delivers. The black level and contrast (after an ISF guy) was done.
Anybody have an answer for me??? it would be terrific to get one,
thanks in advance,
Keith

when you always do what you've alway done, you always get what you always got.
keithhr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off