The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 1066 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 228Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31951 of 31964 Old 09-28-2017, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by giderac View Post
Hey guys someone in my area is selling two kurso the 151fd and the 6020fd for 800, and 550 respectively, do you guys think this is a good price for a 10 year old tv?
Let me give you an answer that is not filled with how plasma markets have dried up and you should just buy an OLED. Both will have the same blacks levels. The 151FD can be calibrated properly by using a program called ControlCal to access the ISF modes(there are other programs that work too). You'll be able to adjust white point high and low, primary and secondary colors etc. The 6020 you can't unless you put a 151 board in it. This process is complicated and if you are not able to calibrate yourself then the 6020 would be fine. If your a home calibrator then the 151 is a must. The next factor is knowing how many hours are on it. These Pioneers can literally go for ever. The TV being 9 years old, under 20k would be good. Next issue would be red tint. Turn the lights off and put up a black screen. Do the blacks have a red tint to them? If everything looks good I would put a price on the 151 at $550 and the 6020 at $450. The seller may not want to part with it for that and if you want a Kuro you may have to pay more. They don't come up that often.

Now for personal experience:
I bought a KRP-600M for $550. It had 19400 hrs on it and the blacks while not really red where glowing a bit. I've lowered voltages, calibrated with Controlcal and unlocked ISF modes. My KRP-600m is probably my favorite TV and I have a 65VT60 and LG65B6 OLED. Of cource the OLED is my best display and I enjoy it a lot but for just kicking on same basic HD satellite or a blu-ray I am so glad I have a classic Kuro.
Edllguy and makaveddie81 like this.
Test Ickles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31952 of 31964 Old 10-18-2017, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
fritzjurg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm trying to have my Kuro Elite repaired. The technician has been told by Pioneer he needs a GGF1589 Service Remote Control. They're impossible to find. Does anyone have one they can share? Will return it when he's done

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Pioneer Kuro Elite 141FD 60" | Peachtree Nova Amp | Pro-Ject Turntable | OPPO UDP-203 | B&W CM1 | APC H15 Power Conditioning | AudioQuest Carbon 3M HDMI cables | Universal Remote 980-MX | Amazon Echo | Sanus BLF228-B1 Wall Mount
fritzjurg is offline  
post #31953 of 31964 Old 10-18-2017, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by fritzjurg View Post
I'm trying to have my Kuro Elite repaired. The technician has been told by Pioneer he needs a GGF1589 Service Remote Control. They're impossible to find. Does anyone have one they can share? Will return it when he's done
What exactly is wrong with the TV?

He probably needs it to access the service menu. Keep in mind, there are software alternatives to the service remote to access the service menu. Hit me up on PM if interested.

JVC DLA-RS4810
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-151FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
 
post #31954 of 31964 Old 10-18-2017, 07:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
What exactly is wrong with the TV?

He probably needs it to access the service menu. Keep in mind, there are software alternatives to the service remote to access the service menu. Hit me up on PM if interested.
Bingo. No need for the service remote. The disconcerting part is that the repairman doesn't seem to know that....
makaveddie81 likes this.
progprog is online now  
post #31955 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: ORLANDO, FL
Posts: 6,268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by fritzjurg View Post
I'm trying to have my Kuro Elite repaired.
The technician has been told by Pioneer he needs a GGF1589 Service Remote Control. They're impossible to find. Does anyone have one they can share? Will return it when he's done


There's also the GGF1633 Service Remote


Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
He probably needs it to access the service menu.
Keep in mind, there are software alternatives to the service remote to access the service menu. Hit me up on PM if interested.

Ditto !!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by fritzjurg View Post
They're impossible to find.

Someone from Greece is selling a GGF1589

https://www.ebay.com/itm/GGF1589-Ser...AAAOSwuLFZwnT9

$147.37...


.
fritzjurg likes this.
BruZZi is offline  
post #31956 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruZZi View Post
There's also the GGF1633 Service Remote

Someone from Greece is selling a GGF1589

https://www.ebay.com/itm/GGF1589-Ser...AAAOSwuLFZwnT9

$147.37...

.
Not to pat myself on the back, but $20 for my software, which works on ALL 8th and 9/9.5th generation Kuros is a better bang for your buck lol
[Irishman] likes this.

JVC DLA-RS4810
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-151FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #31957 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 01:52 PM
Newbie
 
fritzjurg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruZZi View Post
There's also the GGF1633 Service Remote





Ditto !!!





Someone from Greece is selling a GGF1589

https://www.ebay.com/itm/GGF1589-Ser...AAAOSwuLFZwnT9

$147.37...


.
Saw that and notified my TV technician. Not sure what he is waiting for...he should have bought it already

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Pioneer Kuro Elite 141FD 60" | Peachtree Nova Amp | Pro-Ject Turntable | OPPO UDP-203 | B&W CM1 | APC H15 Power Conditioning | AudioQuest Carbon 3M HDMI cables | Universal Remote 980-MX | Amazon Echo | Sanus BLF228-B1 Wall Mount
fritzjurg is offline  
post #31958 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 122
As noted you can enter the Elite service menu with a command via IP or serial. I also posted the Proto (doh! Pronto) string for the SM command in the KRP thread (a long time ago).

Last edited by bodosom; 10-19-2017 at 04:05 PM.
bodosom is offline  
post #31959 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
As noted you can enter the Elite service menu with a command via IP or serial. I also posted the Proto string for the SM command in the KRP thread (a long time ago).
Accessible via IP, Serial and IR. I have the option programmed into the "testing" page in my universal remote. I don't remember where I got the IR code(s) for the service menu, but most likely, from remotecentral. I'd definitely hunt around there before spending any money on a service remote.
progprog is online now  
post #31960 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post
I don't remember where I got the IR code(s) for the service menu, but most likely, from remotecentral.
As far as I know any instance of the SM command came from me. As noted I posted the *Pronto* string (and the Pioneer string) in the KRP thread years ago because I couldn't find it. I suppose because years ago anyone installing Elite/KRP panels would have the remote as a matter of course (or have a service manual) and wouldn't be looking for the string.
bodosom is offline  
post #31961 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 05:38 PM
Member
 
mpatnode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Overheated?

Looks like my brother overheated the 141FD I gave him. Think running the break-in thumbdrive will fix it?


mpatnode is offline  
post #31962 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: ORLANDO, FL
Posts: 6,268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
As noted you can enter the Elite service menu with a command via IP or serial. I also posted the Proto (doh! Pronto) string for the SM command in the KRP thread (a long time ago).



This one???


Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
At some point in time Logitech would load these. Perhaps they still do. In any case Pronto Codes are "universal".

In the Pioneer style:

Code:
Category Maintenance Function FACTORYCommand AA5FHEX CODE (one long line)0000 0068 0000 0022 0168 00b4 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0043 0016 0043 0016 0043 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 0016 0016 0043 0016 03dd


If you kill your panel don't blame me.

Last edited by BruZZi; 10-19-2017 at 06:14 PM.
BruZZi is offline  
post #31963 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
As noted I posted the *Pronto* string (and the Pioneer string) in the KRP thread years ago
DOH! I posted it here in 2012 and put a link (now broken) in the FAQ.

SM CCF hex.
bodosom is offline  
post #31964 of 31964 Old 10-19-2017, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruZZi View Post
This one???
Yes but formatted differently.
bodosom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off