The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 228 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6811 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Spooky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

Yes, any fixed-pixel display has to convert any incoming signal to its native resolution. Think of it like one of those big ballpark scoreboards- it's a grid of lights and everything it displays has to be formatted to its particular number of vertical and horizontal bulbs. In your TV, it's pixels. Either the signal is upconverted before it gets to the TV, or the TV does it, but either way, your 111 has to display everything at 1080p.

No, it does it automatically.

I have found that the only way to answer this is to literally try all the permutations. That means taking the time to compare the same video signal, say from your cable box, being upconverted in the box, in your Denon (if you run it through there), and then in the Kuro, and deciding which one yields the best picture. The PS3 and XBOX are generally best set to just output their top resolution, which I believe is 1080p for both.

Perfect. Thanks for the reply and info!!!

Thanks,

Spooky
Spooky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6812 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Spooky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I saw this posted: Someone sold their 8G before a new 9G Monitor arrived (or is it due to the stock market?):


Isn't that JohnnyBrulez's setup?

Thanks,

Spooky
Spooky is offline  
post #6813 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 03:34 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky View Post

Isn't that JohnnyBrulez's setup?

Thats cold
ROMAN O is offline  
post #6814 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobertR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Ken Ross,

Your settings on the 8G were amazing! Here's hoping you share your 9G's settings.
RobertR1 is online now  
post #6815 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 1,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertr1 View Post

ken ross,

your settings on the 8g were amazing! Here's hoping you share your 9g's settings.

+1

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #6816 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Spooky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

Thats cold

I keed...I keed...

Thanks,

Spooky
Spooky is offline  
post #6817 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petmic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Earlier today I took ownership of a PRO-151 and I haven't stopped
grinning yet.

I upgraded from a PDP-6010 so to speak, my original panel and
replacement panel was found to be defective(banding). After 3 months
of frustration, Pioneer upgraded me to a 151.

Let me just say that the 151 is a thing of beauty, and "Pure" mode
is something to behold. After break-in, I intend on activating the
ISFccc modes with ControlCal.

Display: Pioneer PRO-151 60" Elite
Blu-ray player: OPPO BDP-93, Sony BDP-S1000ES
Processor: Onkyo PR-SC885
Amplifier: Emotiva IPS-1 150Wx7
Game Console: Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS4
Speakers: Mythos ST(Fronts), Mythos Ten(Center), Mythos One(Rears)
petmic10 is offline  
post #6818 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 04:39 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by petmic10 View Post

Earlier today I took ownership of a PRO-151 and I haven't stopped
grinning yet.

I upgraded from a PDP-6010 so to speak, my original panel and
replacement panel was found to be defective(banding). After 3 months
of frustration, Pioneer upgraded me to a 151.

Let me just say that the 151 is a thing of beauty, and "Pure" mode
is something to behold. After break-in, I intend on activating the
ISFccc modes with ControlCal.

Thats a great success story!! Congrats! Any plans for calibration?
ROMAN O is offline  
post #6819 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petmic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

Thats a great success story!! Congrats! Any plans for calibration?

Thanks.

Yes, I plan on doing a full calibration myself,. with my I1pro and calman
software.

I honestly thought the difference between the 6010 and 151 was
going to be minor at best, but was I wrong.

Display: Pioneer PRO-151 60" Elite
Blu-ray player: OPPO BDP-93, Sony BDP-S1000ES
Processor: Onkyo PR-SC885
Amplifier: Emotiva IPS-1 150Wx7
Game Console: Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS4
Speakers: Mythos ST(Fronts), Mythos Ten(Center), Mythos One(Rears)
petmic10 is offline  
post #6820 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
johnnybrulez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

Thats cold

Thats FUNNY! Sheesh plasma people are harsh... hehe

I don't know what I am doing! AHHHHHHH!!!!
johnnybrulez is offline  
post #6821 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 05:56 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnybrulez View Post

Thats FUNNY!

Well that too lol
ROMAN O is offline  
post #6822 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by petmic10 View Post

Earlier today I took ownership of a PRO-151 and I haven't stopped
grinning yet.

I upgraded from a PDP-6010 so to speak, my original panel and
replacement panel was found to be defective(banding). After 3 months
of frustration, Pioneer upgraded me to a 151.

Let me just say that the 151 is a thing of beauty, and "Pure" mode
is something to behold. After break-in, I intend on activating the
ISFccc modes with ControlCal.

I'm sure you get MSG-HD. Take a look at that channel now as a Rangers game is on now and share with us what you see.

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #6823 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by totalownership View Post

I'm sure you get MSG-HD.

What's MSG-HD? (Isn't that the stuff they put in Chinese food.....)
progprog is offline  
post #6824 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coltsfreak18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Petmic, you better post pictures as good as your 6010 pictures congrats.

What is dead can never die. Long live my 151!
coltsfreak18 is offline  
post #6825 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 06:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,656
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertR1 View Post

Ken Ross,

Your settings on the 8G were amazing! Here's hoping you share your 9G's settings.

Thanks Robert. I'd be happy to share them once I've got sufficient hours logged in.

But I'll say this thus far, I've never seen a display so accurate out of the box.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6826 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanaticalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

What's MSG-HD? (Isn't that the stuff they put in Chinese food.....)

Madison Square Garden High Definition
Fanaticalism is offline  
post #6827 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanaticalism View Post

Madison Square Garden High Definition

Thanks!

Quote:


Recognize not recognise Loose=not tight.

Specialize not specialise Lose= not win.

C'mon, we learn these words in the 2nd grade!


Oh dear, if we start down that path, we'll never get back on track! Things like spelling, punctuation....sentences, paragraphs...just don't seem to be very high priorities around here.
progprog is offline  
post #6828 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petmic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by totalownership View Post

I'm sure you get MSG-HD. Take a look at that channel now as a Rangers game is on now and share with us what you see.

Looks like the best hockey I have ever seen.

Unfortunately, the Rangers don't look too good tonight.

Display: Pioneer PRO-151 60" Elite
Blu-ray player: OPPO BDP-93, Sony BDP-S1000ES
Processor: Onkyo PR-SC885
Amplifier: Emotiva IPS-1 150Wx7
Game Console: Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS4
Speakers: Mythos ST(Fronts), Mythos Ten(Center), Mythos One(Rears)
petmic10 is offline  
post #6829 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
luvnhateSony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliab View Post


The tenth and and final break-in report, which will be published tomorrow, will represent 213 hours of usage. We will then tabulate all ten for comparison.

Eliab

Eliab buddy, how about that 10th and final break-in report, the suspense is killing us
luvnhateSony is offline  
post #6830 of 30728 Old 10-15-2008, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petmic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by coltsfreak18 View Post

Petmic, you better post pictures as good as your 6010 pictures congrats.

Thanks, will do, once I get done with break in and do a full calibration.

I watched Nightmare on Elm Street(Blu-ray) before and I must say
I was very impressed with the video and audio quality of that film.

Display: Pioneer PRO-151 60" Elite
Blu-ray player: OPPO BDP-93, Sony BDP-S1000ES
Processor: Onkyo PR-SC885
Amplifier: Emotiva IPS-1 150Wx7
Game Console: Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS4
Speakers: Mythos ST(Fronts), Mythos Ten(Center), Mythos One(Rears)
petmic10 is offline  
post #6831 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 02:29 AM
Senior Member
 
mlaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@gregdpw,
@Brsandon F,

Unfortunatly, the 2 of you are susecptable to phosphor lag. Not much you can do about it except turn down the contrast some.
mlaun is offline  
post #6832 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 03:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by petmic10 View Post

Looks like the best hockey I have ever seen.

Unfortunately, the Rangers don't look too good tonight.

I think MSG has some of the best looking HD going. Their colors have a nice amount of "pop" to them and the HD is pretty damn good. Just wish I could get it through the tv's tuner and not have to use the box. COMCAST YOU STINK (Well thats of course if it's comcast's doing). Don't know why but it seems like I'm getting less and less channels through the tuner. Might have to check the connection.

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #6833 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 04:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
well i tryed turning off the orbiter to help with the juddery movement. and i think it helped. watched that show my own worst enemy last night. and with smooth on, it looked good.
gregdpw is offline  
post #6834 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 68
As many of you may know, when a cable box is connected to a stereo or A/V system, ground hum can come in through the coax feed. I'm having that now with the HDMI connection from my cable box to the 111. Is there a way to eliminate this? I've heard one shouldn't filter the incoming feed before it reaches the box (though I'm not sure why). I don't have this problem with the coax output on the box because I have a filter between the box and the TV; but I'm not going to watch HD channels on a coax feed, of course. Plus, I don't want to have to disconnect the HDMI cable every time I want to play a CD or video.

Any Ideas?
prepress is offline  
post #6835 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
highheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

Thanks!

Oh dear, if we start down that path, we'll never get back on track! Things like spelling, punctuation....sentences, paragraphs...just don't seem to be very high priorities around here.

Depends where you went to second grade. And is it greyscale or grayscale?

http://www.tc-forum.org/topicus/ru23resu.htm


Recognise/Recognize. The European vote was split almost evenly. There was also a clear difference between the Americans and Canadians, who preferred recognize, and the Australians and New Zealanders, who preferred recognise. These variations show there are more differences than one would expect.

Grey/Gray. The European and Australia/New Zealand respondents clearly preferred grey (79% and 77% respectively). Predictably, most American respondents preferred gray, but at 57% this was not the great majority I had expected; surprisingly, 29% of the Americans selected grey and 14% were undecided. The Canadian respondents, affected by their cultural heritage with Great Britain but influenced by their close geographical proximity to the US, were middle road: 50% chose grey and 35% chose gray.
highheater is offline  
post #6836 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 09:17 AM
Member
 
MWoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SoFla
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help. I have had my 151 since July and have started to notice a lighter bar down the left side of the screen. The thickness is equal to what a black/color bar would be in 4:3 mode. I use the orbiter, screen resize mode to eliminate the bars on the side, etc. That area of the screen also seems to be more potent to image retension. It will hold a static image until the pixels cool down while the rest of the screen does not hold an image at all. If I had some sort of burn in from black/color bars on the sides, then It would be present on both sides of the screen but it is only on the left side. I have run the white bar wipe several times and even ran the break in DVD for another 8 hours to see if that would elimiate the problem, but its still there. It is not noticable during normal viewing except when there is a very dark/black scene or if I turn off the source. This is really bothering me, and I was just wondering if this is an issue with anyone else. I bought an extended warranty from Tweeter, should I call them or is this something that will go away? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
MWoody is offline  
post #6837 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
16x9enhanced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know how to get the gray "side masks" to turn off when watching 4:3 material on an Oppo 983?
I have no desire to watch movies with gray bars on the side.
I'm not worried about burn-in whatsoever anymore.
I have chosen the menu choice "off" under "auto size", and side bar detection is off.
yet I still am getting the gray bars,
I am watching the PAL dvd 'The African Queen"
I guess it is possible that the Oppo is the culprit, but I can't locate my Oppo manual right now.
I can't believe I can't watch a 4:3 movie without these gray bars.
I know I watched a dvd on the Kuro and it did not have the gray bars.
Anybody have this combination?
16x9enhanced is offline  
post #6838 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by prepress View Post

As many of you may know, when a cable box is connected to a stereo or A/V system, ground hum can come in through the coax feed. I'm having that now with the HDMI connection from my cable box to the 111. Is there a way to eliminate this? I've heard one shouldn't filter the incoming feed before it reaches the box (though I'm not sure why). I don't have this problem with the coax output on the box because I have a filter between the box and the TV; but I'm not going to watch HD channels on a coax feed, of course. Plus, I don't want to have to disconnect the HDMI cable every time I want to play a CD or video.

Any Ideas?

A couple suggestions: First, I'd try moving that filter (that is currently between the STB and the TV) to the incoming line. There isn't anything wrong with putting a high-quality filter on the main line. Second, make sure there is a grounding block on the incoming line. (This is important just for safety anyway.) Because cable companies are so sloppy in their installations, the grounding lines always seem to look messy and many people remove them, unaware that it's an important safety precaution. Here's what it typically looks like, and you need to make sure a ground line goes from that screw out to your grounding rods.
progprog is offline  
post #6839 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MWoody View Post

Please help. I have had my 151 since July and have started to notice a lighter bar down the left side of the screen. The thickness is equal to what a black/color bar would be in 4:3 mode. I use the orbiter, screen resize mode to eliminate the bars on the side, etc. That area of the screen also seems to be more potent to image retension. It will hold a static image until the pixels cool down while the rest of the screen does not hold an image at all. If I had some sort of burn in from black/color bars on the sides, then It would be present on both sides of the screen but it is only on the left side. I have run the white bar wipe several times and even ran the break in DVD for another 8 hours to see if that would elimiate the problem, but its still there. It is not noticable during normal viewing except when there is a very dark/black scene or if I turn off the source. This is really bothering me, and I was just wondering if this is an issue with anyone else. I bought an extended warranty from Tweeter, should I call them or is this something that will go away? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I would definitely call for service. That doesn't sound normal to me.....
progprog is offline  
post #6840 of 30728 Old 10-16-2008, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 16x9enhanced View Post

Does anybody know how to get the gray "side masks" to turn off when watching 4:3 material on an Oppo 983?
I have no desire to watch movies with gray bars on the side.
I'm not worried about burn-in whatsoever anymore.
I have chosen the menu choice "off" under "auto size", and side bar detection is off.
yet I still am getting the gray bars,
I am watching the PAL dvd 'The African Queen"
I guess it is possible that the Oppo is the culprit, but I can't locate my Oppo manual right now.
I can't believe I can't watch a 4:3 movie without these gray bars.
I know I watched a dvd on the Kuro and it did not have the gray bars.
Anybody have this combination?

Do you mean you want to expand the image and eliminate the bars, or do you want to change their color? You can definitely do the first through aspect ratio selections in the TV and source. To change the color, I believe, requires access to the service menu, where the color of the bars is set.

The settings would be:
Auto Size: OFF
Side Mask: N/A
Screen Size: FULL

P.S. There are some older movies that are actually mastered with the bars in the image. Often, one of the AR modes can compensate for this (Zoom, Wide, etc.) but not always.
progprog is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off