The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 234 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

pepin's Avatar pepin
06:27 AM Liked: 10
post #6991 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 32
Joined: Feb 2006
Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

Thank you for your report.

Can you attach the calibration reports to your Post?

How about you follow these instructions and attach a screen cap of the Info that is Displayed?


cydog3's Avatar cydog3
06:41 AM Liked: 10
post #6992 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 453
Joined: Nov 2007
Question:

DIRECTV now supports 1080P yet when I select it. I get a message saying my TV does not support the resolution

Anyone else see this?

Thanks
wildroamer's Avatar wildroamer
09:07 AM Liked: 10
post #6993 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 206
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifi59 View Post

Not to start an argument. I respect your results, BUT, I tested a ps3 in my home to a panny bd30. The BD30 looked slightly less noisy and slightly deeper,richer colors on my isf(umr) calibrated Sony 70" Qualia. I kept the Panny,sold the PS3. Now,with my umr calibrated Kuro 151,I see the Pioneer 05 as superior to the Panny BD30. Even richer colors and a overall cleaner more natural,pleasing picture. I would play a section of a movie in one player, then on the other etc,etc. I just came across a review at http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/dvd-p...benchmark.html on the new Yamaha 2900 Blu-ray. It uses much the same electronics and drive as the Panasonic BD30. They compared it to the PS3. Here is some of what they found.

. "I felt that the Yamaha had a deeper, richer presentation and one that was cleaner than the Playstation 3: When I switched to the Playstation, I could easily discern a little more noise in the image. Obviously the BD-S2900's noise reduction, video processing, and core video performance were all contributing to an exquisite Blu-ray image"

Then again,many in the Pioneer 51/05 threads have issues such as freezing and lip-sync errors even with the latest avail firmware. I haven't had any of their issues with any disc, including new releases, with my 05 player.

Which mode are you using on the player, Pio-pdp, professional....?
RCJ's Avatar RCJ
09:20 AM Liked: 10
post #6994 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 121
Joined: Dec 2003
The last couple of days on my 151 I noticed a white streaking line on top of the picture (see attached photo). It seems to appear on commercials and happened on ESPN HD during commercial and lasted several seconds when the football game reappeared.

Has anyone seen this on their sets?
LL
Fanaticalism's Avatar Fanaticalism
09:36 AM Liked: 17
post #6995 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 4,394
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCJ View Post

The last couple of days on my 151 I noticed a white streaking line on top of the picture (see attached photo). It seems to appear on commercials and happened on ESPN HD during commercial and lasted several seconds when the football game reappeared.

Has anyone seen this on their sets?

It's an overscan issue. That is why you don't see it on all the channels.
PackFan's Avatar PackFan
09:54 AM Liked: 10
post #6996 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 452
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by cydog3 View Post

Question:

DIRECTV now supports 1080P yet when I select it. I get a message saying my TV does not support the resolution

Anyone else see this?

Thanks

I am seeing exactly the same problem. It probably has to do with DirecTV's POS implementation...
mt14942's Avatar mt14942
09:56 AM Liked: 11
post #6997 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 1,169
Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cydog3 View Post

Question:

DIRECTV now supports 1080P yet when I select it. I get a message saying my TV does not support the resolution

Anyone else see this?

Thanks

Cydog, I also noticed that Direct TV sent a firmware update to my hd receiver yesterday for three new features one of which was the 1080P capability. However I beleive that was for the future and not currently active. Atleast I remember reading this when I clicked on the guide and a message came up explaining what the firmware update was for. Concerning the 1080P capability I beleive it mentioned that you know have this capability for the future. I am wondering if that is going to be for there standard programing or is it only going to be for pay for view programs? Can anybody else out there shed some light on this?
Thanks,
Mike
PackFan's Avatar PackFan
09:58 AM Liked: 10
post #6998 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 452
Joined: Mar 2004
The 1080p will work now as soon as they have OnDemand available. It is only for OnDemand.
highheater's Avatar highheater
10:06 AM Liked: 10
post #6999 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 594
Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCJ View Post

The last couple of days on my 151 I noticed a white streaking line on top of the picture (see attached photo). It seems to appear on commercials and happened on ESPN HD during commercial and lasted several seconds when the football game reappeared.

Has anyone seen this on their sets?

I haven't seen this too much on sat HD channels (except stretched A&E HD via Direct TV) but frequently have seen it on local OTA channels. I've heard it described as a transmission error associated with close-captioned information. It shows up on the Pio because of the nearly 0% overscan / underscan. I think you can do a vertical picture position adjust for any signal recieved thru any of the inputs (video 1 ,2, etc) but not for an OTA signal to minimize the problem.
I WANT MORE's Avatar I WANT MORE
11:05 AM Liked: 69
post #7000 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 1,871
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by PackFan View Post

I am seeing exactly the same problem. It probably has to do with DirecTV's POS implementation...

That "POS" implementation worked fine on my 150 and 151.
hifi59's Avatar hifi59
11:26 AM Liked: 15
post #7001 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 679
Joined: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildroamer View Post

Which mode are you using on the player, Pio-pdp, professional....?

Professional.All other modes add sharpness that is clearly seen on certain test patterns.
turbe's Avatar turbe
12:06 PM Liked: 88
post #7002 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 4,435
Joined: Feb 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepin View Post

Done!

Thank you pepin...

I need to let him know he can center his text..

Josh's HT's Avatar Josh's HT
12:13 PM Liked: 14
post #7003 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 166
Joined: Nov 2006
Ok, I am not trying to hijack the thread, it's just the one I've been reading a lot in lately, but I do have a question for everyone here.

I seem to be the only person I know (outside this forum) that loves home theater; I don't have any friends or family who have the same passion we all share. I know very little about HT, but compared to the people I am around, I seem to be more of the guru on HT .

I've checked the forum and it appears there are threads of local meetings, but it still doesn't seem like these meetings are near where I live (Spokane, WA). I would love to get some friends who I could go to their house for once and enjoy a theater like experience and be able to talk to someone in person who knows as much or more on HT as I do.

So, does anyone here know if there is a thread on this forum where members can post roughly where about they live and if there are small group meetings? Obviously most of us have extremely high values in HT equipment and we may not want to give out personal information on our whereabouts, but I can't be alone in saying that I wish I had some friends that lived near me that I could call and talk to or go help them with their hookups or vice versa. Not even my wife has a passion for home theater and to her all this stuff is just "speakers" and "tv's" and "a waste of money".

Anyone in this same lonely boat as I am in?

Josh
progprog's Avatar progprog
12:44 PM Liked: 11
post #7004 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 9,342
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh's HT View Post

Ok, I am not trying to hijack the thread, it's just the one I've been reading a lot in lately, but I do have a question for everyone here.

I seem to be the only person I know (outside this forum) that loves home theater; I don't have any friends or family who have the same passion we all share. I know very little about HT, but compared to the people I am around, I seem to be more of the guru on HT .

I've checked the forum and it appears there are threads of local meetings, but it still doesn't seem like these meetings are near where I live (Spokane, WA). I would love to get some friends who I could go to their house for once and enjoy a theater like experience and be able to talk to someone in person who knows as much or more on HT as I do.

So, does anyone here know if there is a thread on this forum where members can post roughly where about they live and if there are small group meetings? Obviously most of us have extremely high values in HT equipment and we may not want to give out personal information on our whereabouts, but I can't be alone in saying that I wish I had some friends that lived near me that I could call and talk to or go help them with their hookups or vice versa. Not even my wife has a passion for home theater and to her all this stuff is just "speakers" and "tv's" and "a waste of money".

Anyone in this same lonely boat as I am in?

Josh

Hey Josh...it's a lonely world for the CE-obsessed. I'd try posting your interest here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=61
InterMurph's Avatar InterMurph
12:59 PM Liked: 10
post #7005 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 49
Joined: May 2003
We had a party over the weekend with a bunch of little kids. The TV survived, but the remote control didn't. It's probably stashed somewhere, but it still hasn't turned up.

Can anybody tell me the model number? It's not listed in the documents.

Thanks.
Lespes's Avatar Lespes
01:46 PM Liked: 10
post #7006 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 64
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by InterMurph View Post

We had a party over the weekend with a bunch of little kids. The TV survived, but the remote control didn't. It's probably stashed somewhere, but it still hasn't turned up.

Can anybody tell me the model number? It's not listed in the documents.

Thanks.

The part number is axd1560. It can be ordered directly from Pioneer for $47.61 plus shipping. You might want to also consider upgrading to a universal remote. The Logitech Harmony One works well for me, but is of course much more expensive.

http://parts.pioneerelectronics.com/...uctNum=AXD1560
progprog's Avatar progprog
01:52 PM Liked: 11
post #7007 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 9,342
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lespes View Post

The part number is axd1560. It can be ordered directly from Pioneer for $47.61 plus shipping. You might want to also consider upgrading to a universal remote. The Logitech Harmony One works well for me, but is of course much more expensive.

http://parts.pioneerelectronics.com/...uctNum=AXD1560

+1 Skip the Pioneer and get a good universal/programmable remote. They work a lot better anyway.
Beowulf57's Avatar Beowulf57
03:13 PM Liked: 10
post #7008 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 294
Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by highheater View Post

I haven't seen this too much on sat HD channels (except stretched A&E HD via Direct TV) but frequently have seen it on local OTA channels. I've heard it described as a transmission error associated with close-captioned information. It shows up on the Pio because of the nearly 0% overscan / underscan. I think you can do a vertical picture position adjust for any signal recieved thru any of the inputs (video 1 ,2, etc) but not for an OTA signal to minimize the problem.

Or switch the aspect ratio from "dot by dot" to Full.
mt14942's Avatar mt14942
03:16 PM Liked: 11
post #7009 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 1,169
Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post

That "POS" implementation worked fine on my 150 and 151.

Sorry to appear ignorant, but what does "POS" stand for?
Thanks,
Mike
sbwtwo's Avatar sbwtwo
03:56 PM Liked: 10
post #7010 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 195
Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post

Sorry to appear ignorant, but what does "POS" stand for?
Thanks,
Mike

I thought it stood for piece of sh!t, but then again...
JazzGuyy's Avatar JazzGuyy
03:58 PM Liked: 94
post #7011 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 2,735
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post

Sorry to appear ignorant, but what does "POS" stand for?
Thanks,
Mike

It usually means "piece of s**t"
baddgsx's Avatar baddgsx
03:59 PM Liked: 10
post #7012 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 1,220
Joined: Dec 2005
Is there a way to check the life of the kuro TV ? for example , bulb life on a DLP set. I forgot how many hours im at in the breakin period.
PackFan's Avatar PackFan
03:59 PM Liked: 10
post #7013 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 452
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbwtwo View Post

I thought it stood for piece of sh!t, but then again...

It does...

According to some people who are having trouble getting their 1080p/24 capable sets working with the DirecTV update - pressing the info button while it is trying the resolution seems to help... Not the most obvious thing in the world...

I'm going to try that this evening.
Frank J Manrique's Avatar Frank J Manrique
04:06 PM Liked: 11
post #7014 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 5,133
Joined: Nov 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by cydog3 View Post

Question:

DIRECTV now supports 1080P yet when I select it. I get a message saying my TV does not support the resolution

Anyone else see this?

If it is anything like Dish Network's "Turbo-Charged" service...1080p is only available with their VOD service, at a tune of $6 per movie. Yeah, right. DTV's might be the same thing...

-THTS
turbe's Avatar turbe
04:13 PM Liked: 88
post #7015 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 4,435
Joined: Feb 2001
Posted here since many people do not visit the settings Thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

I've just begun using this great software and as D-Nice has said in the past, once you go ISFccc mode, you'll never go back to Pure mode.

Pure almost looks drab by comparison and it reminds me of what plasma fans have so often heard from some on this forum...plasmas have dirty whites. Although I don't agree, anyone that feels that way should take a look at ControlCal and what the ISFccc mode has to offer. If you want brighter whites than this, you better grab your sunglasses.

At the same settings as Pure mode, the ISFccc mode is significantly 'punchier', yet I can see no crushing of whites or blacks when using it...at least visually.

But I think you really need to be careful using this mode if you don't have sufficient hours on your panel. The fact that the panel is driven harder makes the issue of break-in that much more important.

As I said, I just began using ControlCal and am only just beginning to explore it's features. A big thanks to Turbe for some lame issues I had at the beginning. It's amazing how much you learn if you actually READ the instructions!

BTW, I am using a USB>Serial adapter.


progprog's Avatar progprog
05:51 PM Liked: 11
post #7016 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 9,342
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post

Is there a way to check the life of the kuro TV ? for example , bulb life on a DLP set. I forgot how many hours im at in the breakin period.

They don't have an "expected life," so to speak, but if you just mean hours used, that info is only available in the service menu. That menu can only be accessed via a factory remote code that is not, as yet, readily available. ControlCAL, which you've probably seen mentioned a lot around here, can also access the service menu.
Frank J Manrique's Avatar Frank J Manrique
06:17 PM Liked: 11
post #7017 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 5,133
Joined: Nov 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh's HT View Post

I seem to be the only person I know (outside this forum) that loves home theater; I don't have any friends or family who have the same passion we all share. I know very little about HT, but compared to the people I am around, I seem to be more of the guru on HT .

I've checked the forum and it appears there are threads of local meetings, but it still doesn't seem like these meetings are near where I live (Spokane, WA). I would love to get some friends who I could go to their house for once and enjoy a theater like experience and be able to talk to someone in person who knows as much or more on HT as I do.

So, does anyone here know if there is a thread on this forum where members can post roughly where about they live and if there are small group meetings? Obviously most of us have extremely high values in HT equipment and we may not want to give out personal information on our whereabouts, but I can't be alone in saying that I wish I had some friends that lived near me that I could call and talk to or go help them with their hookups or vice versa. Not even my wife has a passion for home theater and to her all this stuff is just "speakers" and "tv's" and "a waste of money".

Anyone in this same lonely boat as I am in? Josh

Welcome to the club, Josh. Although I do have friends who share the same passion for HT (and a few with a real passion for film projection), the experience is largely one of being and enjoying the hobby alone. For me that's OK as am single with no one to give account of my actions (except to God; but that's another matter).

The dire economical downturn is also playing a huge role in our hobby as many HT aficionados (at least those who I know) are directing their attention to life's essentials rather than entertaiment (particularly those who have lost their jobs and can't find new ones), home or otherwise.
Now that I am retired have to think very carefully what to spend on before I make a move to buy anything, and have I known the fiasco the banking and money managing institutions brought down on our collective heads I doubt very much that I would have purchased the Elite 151FD KURO...

-THTS
Frank J Manrique's Avatar Frank J Manrique
06:21 PM Liked: 11
post #7018 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 5,133
Joined: Nov 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by InterMurph View Post

We had a party over the weekend with a bunch of little kids. The TV survived, but the remote control didn't.

What, you left that KURO alone with kids?!...

-THTS
baddgsx's Avatar baddgsx
06:34 PM Liked: 10
post #7019 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 1,220
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

They don't have an "expected life," so to speak, but if you just mean hours used, that info is only available in the service menu. That menu can only be accessed via a factory remote code that is not, as yet, readily available. ControlCAL, which you've probably seen mentioned a lot around here, can also access the service menu.

Thanx Progprog , Is it me or does this plasma get better looking as it gets more broken in. I watched some planet earth tonight and for some reason the images have more depth than 2 weeks ago. Colors seem more vibrant aswell.
coltsfreak18's Avatar coltsfreak18
07:12 PM Liked: 10
post #7020 of 30733
10-22-2008 | Posts: 1,423
Joined: Oct 2007
Yes, as the break-in period happens over time, the pixels settle down and DO look better, reduce blotching, reduce blacks levels (in a good way... Not reduce the look of them. It makes them go from 2 to 1 [hypothetical numbers]), and settle the grayscale.
Tags: Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3