The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 310 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2008, 05:34 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

During break-in, it doesn't matter, so long as the image fills the screen.

I agree and there is another response in the other thread you asked the question
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...059491&page=64
ROMAN O is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-26-2008, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chadmak09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

That seems very odd, Chad. You have a BD player connected directly via HDMI, right? And this has happened with both the stock speaker wires and your replacement wires? If you can replicate it in a particular part of some movie, I'd try disconnecting the speakers completely and see if it still happens. Then you'd know it's not the wiring, but something in the internal circuitry.

I am going to give that a shot!
thanks.

Its been a really rough day ever since that happened this morning.

Been crying a little . Very worried about my baby.
chadmak09 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 10:38 PM
Member
 
colgra01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched Dark KNight blu ray tonight. WOW. WOW. WOW!

do you guys recommend the video pattern right now or the break in dvd? (havent done the video pattern yet and am still obviously in break in mode- thanks guys!
colgra01 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmak09 View Post

Something strange is happening with my 151 every once in a while.

While watching a movie that has a loud burst of sound, the TV will display an error message and power itself completly off.


This has only happened about 7-8 times since I have had the TV, It rarely ever happens, and the Tv always powers back on, but it has me a little concerned.

the first time it happened, I went and bought some High quality Speaker cable and replaced the speaker cables going to the TV speakers.
So there is no short in the speaker cable.

It seems to only happen when there are extremly loud bursts in the movie.
I had it happen a couple of times while watching the blu-ray "Hulk". which has some VERY loud moments in the movie.

Today I was watching the Blu-ray "War" on my PS3, and it did this.

It happened in the movie when jason stratum was at the shooting range and the loud gunshots started.



Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmak09 View Post

I am going to give that a shot!
thanks.

Its been a really rough day ever since that happened this morning.

Been crying a little . Very worried about my baby.



You said it usually only happens during very loud parts of the movie, and even then it was only about 8 time or so that it has happened. So try playing the movie at a lower volume levels and see if it still happens. If it don't, then maybe you are just trying to play the movie louder than the TV itself can play it with no problem, and that the TV's audio amplifier section is going into some type of clipping or overload on very loud sounds. And that this warning about the possible shorted speaker wires, is maybe the only kind of message that they programmed into it to tell you there is something wrong in a case like trying to overdrive the volume output of the TV.

And if it turns out that is what it is, then you just are going to need to ramp down your volume levels a bit during action films with very sudden loud sounds. Or better yet, buy a surround system for when you want to rock the house with things like the loud explosions during a action film.
Johnla is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
leftkidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so has anyone noticed some dark spots or something like that all over the screen that can only be seen when a bright image is on most or all of the screen - I can see it with some bright white test patterns and sometimes in video games when I see a bright point and then move the camera across it

its like there is dust or something behind the screen

I want the retro skin back please
leftkidney is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 02:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftkidney View Post

so has anyone noticed some dark spots or something like that all over the screen that can only be seen when a bright image is on most or all of the screen - I can see it with some bright white test patterns and sometimes in video games when I see a bright point and then move the camera across it

its like there is dust or something behind the screen

If it's static spots that are always there (more visible of course with bright content), I'd say it sounds like dead pixels. But that can't be the case since you say they're "all over the screen;" I'm not sure what that could be. Could you describe it in more detail or perhaps provide a photo?
progprog is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 04:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
leftkidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well its not a dead pixel or anything like that - I have looked close at them, they are fine looking

what I see is like sorta a wavy look or something like that, sorta like there are these slightly darker than the rest of the set patches all through the set

have you ever seen a car window that for some reason it looked like it had some spots inside of the glass that you cant remove
http://www.vision-systems.com/displa...hield-defects-
this is what I am talking about for car windows - I sorta see that in my TV

but this is caused by 2 pieces of glass being put together - from what I understnad the Poineers are among the only ones that only use 1 piece of glass



it only when I stop watching the picture and I start watching the glass - sorta how if you look out a window you can focus your eyes at the glass or the stuff outside of the window - if I focus my eyes at the glass I see this, if not then almost never see it

I must point out that my last TV was a 32" CRT SONY Trinitron and I kept it for many years even after buying some LCD's and DLP's and 1 Panasonic plasma and returning them because of the black levels were crap compared to my CRT - not I must say for the first time I am happy with the blacks on the display, I looked at it side by side with my CRT and the CRT was noticeably darker (as it actually could do 0.000FL and nothing else really can) but it was so small I didnt care anymore - and this problem isnt that big but still, I got to complain about something

I want the retro skin back please
leftkidney is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
corpfan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chad - save the Kuro!

Steps to save your baby.

1. Wake up early.

2. Go out and shovel the snow. Clear a path so you can leave your home.

3. Go to the audio-video store.

4. Buy a surround sound system with a good CENTER, SUB and RECEIVER.

5. Disconnect Kuro speakers.

6. Connect new sound device.

7. Make a drink.

8. Insert blu-ray.

9. Crank up volume.

10. Enter bliss.


It's about time you supported the baby with a nice new toy...babies get tired of old toys and constantly need the best attention.

Good luck.



Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmak09 View Post

Hey guys,

Something strange is happening with my 151 every once in a while.

While watching a movie that has a loud burst of sound, the TV will display an error message and power itself completly off.

The error message I get is this:

"Internal Protection Circuits Turning Power Off... Possible Short in the Speaker Cable"

This has only happened about 7-8 times since I have had the TV, It rarely ever happens, and the Tv always powers back on, but it has me a little concerned.

the first time it happened, I went and bought some High quality Speaker cable and replaced the speaker cables going to the TV speakers.
So there is no short in the speaker cable.

It seems to only happen when there are extremly loud bursts in the movie.
I had it happen a couple of times while watching the blu-ray "Hulk". which has some VERY loud moments in the movie.

Today I was watching the Blu-ray "War" on my PS3, and it did this.

It happened in the movie when jason stratum was at the shooting range and the loud gunshots started.
The TV powered off and I decided to grab my camera, rewind the movie, and see if it happens again .
It Did.

So I have a couple snapshots of this happening.

here they are:







Have any of you guys seen this?

Just wondering.

I guess I will give Pioneer a call and see what they have to say about it.

corpfan1 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 06:29 AM
umr
AVS Club Gold
 
umr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
umr is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by umr View Post

I will be getting my 151FD next week!

This man may know a thing or two on how good this panel is.
tigerfan33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by corpfan1 View Post

Chad - save the Kuro!

Steps to save your baby.

1. Wake up early.

2. Go out and shovel the snow. Clear a path so you can leave your home.

3. Go to the audio-video store.

4. Buy a surround sound system with a good CENTER, SUB and RECEIVER.

5. Disconnect Kuro speakers.

6. Connect new sound device.

7. Make a drink.

8. Insert blu-ray.

9. Crank up volume.

10. Enter bliss.


It's about time you supported the baby with a nice new toy...babies get tired of old toys and constantly need the best attention.

Good luck.


You may need to edit #2 with get in your boat. (We have had a lot of rain and the temperture is 70)
tigerfan33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:35 AM
umr
AVS Club Gold
 
umr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post

This man may know a thing or two on how good this panel is.

It is definitely a great second display for my casual viewing.
umr is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
info_dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal south shore, QC
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckZ View Post

I'm sure this was answered previously, but no matter the settings I use to disable side mask detection, et al. I still have gray pillar bars on the sides of 4:3 DVD material.

How do I make it black? Thanks.

Hi, what is your equipment list? Your "about me" does not list pio gear. For my 141FD, I don't think there is any way to get the screen-generated side bars black, they are either "dark gray" (which seems prettty light to me) or "synchronized" with the content, which can make them even lighter (see manual). This would have been a huge negative point for me, maybe even a no-go, since I have a lot of 4:3 content and really dislike the grey bars. Fortunately, Pio's 05FD can be set to send a signal with black bars generated. It's not the default setting, but is easy to change (Menu->Initial Setup->Video out->4:3 video out->Normal).

Dan.
info_dan is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:10 AM
Member
 
colgra01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry for the repost, was just wondering if anyone knew anything about the video pattern vs the break in DVD during the break-in period- thanks fellas:

"Watched Dark KNight blu ray tonight. WOW. WOW. WOW!

do you guys recommend the video pattern right now or the break in dvd? (havent done the video pattern yet and am still obviously in break in mode- thanks guys!"
colgra01 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:27 AM
Member
 
colgra01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
one more question- does anyone here use the light sensor that sticks to the bottom of the tv??
colgra01 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the video pattern is there because it can remove most IR.

Thought id imagine that the break in images can do the same thing.


#2 I use my light sensor and color sensor.

Settings are brightness and brightness/color....ive tried em both.
James W. Johnson is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hd_newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Metro DC
Posts: 2,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by colgra01 View Post

one more question- does anyone here use the light sensor that sticks to the bottom of the tv??

I read many people say it is not very useful. My understanding is that it will work only under the "Optimum" mode. Someone correct me if I am saying something wrong.
hd_newbie is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually the sensor that sticks to the panel is a color sensor. Their is a light
sensor too and it is in the front panel near the remote sensor .


You can turn these off or on and/or use them in Optimum mode.
James W. Johnson is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 10:11 AM
Member
 
colgra01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by James W. Johnson View Post

I think the video pattern is there because it can remove most IR.

Thought id imagine that the break in images can do the same thing.


#2 I use my light sensor and color sensor.

Settings are brightness and brightness/color....ive tried em both.

Thank you, James for anwering my questions, I appreciate it! I am loving this set so much. Although I must admit, if I had a bigger room, the 151 would be out of this world. the 111 (50'') is perfect for my viewing distance
colgra01 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post

this man may know a thing or two on how good this panel is.

+1
mt14942 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by umr View Post

It is definitely a great second display for my casual viewing.

Do I detect a hint of sarcasm?
mt14942 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:22 AM
Member
 
colgra01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, possibly a dumb question that has been answered a million times somehwere before, but here I go anyways

Why when I watch HBOHD movies on my Elite, they are 1080i and look amazing and fill my screen, but my BluRay movies are 1080p and have the black bars on the top and bottom???
colgra01 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
akadennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everyone, can someone provide some links with dark room and bright room picture settings for the PRO-111FD. I am currently using Optimum with the sensors doing all the work. Thanks 2 all who respond
akadennis is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
PackFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by colgra01 View Post

Guys, possibly a dumb question that has been answered a million times somehwere before, but here I go anyways

Why when I watch HBOHD movies on my Elite, they are 1080i and look amazing and fill my screen, but my BluRay movies are 1080p and have the black bars on the top and bottom???

It's all about the aspect ratio in which the movies are being presented... If the movie is being shown in the original aspect ratio and that is 'wider' than your display, there will be black bars at the top and the bottom of the screen.

To most people who are home theater enthusiasts, it is much preferred to watch material in their original aspect ratio.
PackFan is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:52 AM
Member
 
colgra01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PackFan View Post

It's all about the aspect ratio in which the movies are being presented... If the movie is being shown in the original aspect ratio and that is 'wider' than your display, there will be black bars at the top and the bottom of the screen.

To most people who are home theater enthusiasts, it is much preferred to watch material in their original aspect ratio.

thank you. is it safe to say HBO cant broadcast their HD movies in their original aspect ratio?
colgra01 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
PackFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They can - but they frequently don't...
PackFan is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 12:11 PM
Member
 
colgra01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PackFan View Post

They can - but they frequently don't...


why do you think they don't?
colgra01 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 12:12 PM
Member
 
colgra01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when watching HDTV do you guys keep your screen size set to auto?
colgra01 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elkski View Post


My BD player also seems to freeze up when I pause the movie. just locks up on the universal icon?? both times I had to start the movie at the beginning.??


Elkski:

Join us in the official BDP-51/05 thread in the Blu-Ray forum.

Also:
1) what firmware are you on - you should download and update to 1.21
from the Pio site
2) did you try and hit the enter key on the remote to clear the universal screensaver? that should work...

Enjoy.

All:

Do we have a consensus on the range of post-break-in contrast/brightness number for the PDP-111FD? I watched Dark Knight last night and was GENERALLY impressed but not CRT-quality impressed with my black levels (darkened room only lights in the distance off to the side behind a 14 foot wide wall, down the hallway, 20 feet away, in another room of the house).

I have about 160 hours on the set with PURE mode, Dot by Dot and source via HDMI from Pioneer BDP-05 (set for "professional" HDMI Control and Highspeed on, Auto colorspace) through SC-07 HDMI to the PRO-111FD (not yet calibrated).

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eldithomaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by colgra01 View Post

when watching HDTV do you guys keep your screen size set to auto?

I do EXCEPT for BD sources.

Isn't it time someone promoted quality as value?
eldithomaso is offline  
 

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off