The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 436 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13051 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 06:20 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Juan its ok just let them watch Congrats
ROMAN O is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13052 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 06:48 PM
Newbie
 
v8peters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What, besides the screen, should I inspect on a 151 display model with about 6 months of viewing? I think at 26% off of MSRP it would be a good deal. Would it? If not the 151 then I'm going to get a new 6020 for $1250 less. Any help would be appreciated.
v8peters is offline  
post #13053 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 07:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
simplemath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
???you actually considered an LCD, yet bought a plasma. Now this is what I like to hear. Congrats on the set, and for being able to fight through the mobs of people running the other direction towards the lcd side of the store.

It is not unlike the matrix....you took the right pill. hehe
simplemath is offline  
post #13054 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 07:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
corpfan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't believe what you went through and how you had to "eat" your initial purchase. Truly a sad and disappointing story and string of events.

I am honestly shocked and surprised that NO ONE stepped in and helped (namingly the store, Pioneer, etc...).

Just completely bad business...

Oh well - at least now, you will DEFINITELY ENJOY WATCHING YOUR NEW TV!

GL

Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post

Those of you who know my story will appreciate my relief after accepting delivery for my "replacement" 151 today from Best Buy Magnolia. The delivery crew unboxed my set (right inside my living room in contrast to taking it up three flights of stairs unprotected) and put everything together.

I spent a good 30 minutes inspecting the set, which annoyed them both, but after what I've been through, I could care less. I ran a flashlight all over the screen, double-checked the bezel to make sure it was on nice and tight and that there was no light seeping out of the corners. Pulled up some break-in slides and checked for dead/stuck pixels and popped in a few Blu-Rays for good measure. Everything seems to be within working order.

They recycled my damaged 151, despite me encouraging them to throw it off of my balcony, deliberately injuring the Ultimate Electronics salesman who sold it to me that lives in my complex. They wouldn't go for it. Yeah, I have a twisted sense of humor. I was forced to pay off the damaged 151 since Ultimate, Pioneer, BBB and GE Bank all refused to help me. I'm still extremely bitter about the incident, but what's done is done. I just want to enjoy my movies.

Now comes the break-in process. But I'm extremely eager to unlock those ISF modes with ControlCal All in good time.

corpfan1 is offline  
post #13055 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow lots of new Kuro Elites delivered today.....cool!

Congrats and Welcome to the Kuro Elite owners club to all the new owners .

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #13056 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8peters View Post

What, besides the screen, should I inspect on a 151 display model with about 6 months of viewing? I think at 26% off of MSRP it would be a good deal. Would it? If not the 151 then I'm going to get a new 6020 for $1250 less. Any help would be appreciated.

I don't think that's such a good deal on a display model. You can get a new one for close to that.
progprog is offline  
post #13057 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well David Evans ; president and owner of 21st Century Calibrations just left my house about 20 minutes ago. He arrived just before 2pm so it was more than 6 hours he spent calibrating my pro-151fd. I will write up a report in the next few days. But for now I can give you all a quick preview>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> WOW!!!
Have a good night guys, I got to get back to Iron Man.
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #13058 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mvp2005fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by James W. Johnson View Post

Well David Evans ; president and owner of 21st Century Calibrations just left my house about 20 minutes ago. He arrived just before 2pm so it was more than 6 hours he spent calibrating my pro-151fd. I will write up a report in the next few days. But for now I can give you all a quick preview>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> WOW!!!
Have a good night guys, I got to get back to Iron Man.

Congratulations! Quick question: does it usually take 6 hours to calibrate a 151? I mean no disrespect in my question--I just wanted to know how much time I need to set aside when I schedule an appointment with a calibrator. Thanks!
mvp2005fan is offline  
post #13059 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 09:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvp2005fan View Post

Congratulations! Quick question: does it usually take 6 hours to calibrate a 151? I mean no disrespect in my question--I just wanted to know how much time I need to set aside when I schedule an appointment with a calibrator. Thanks!

The BB guys can do it in under two hours.
htwaits is offline  
post #13060 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 09:26 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post

Those of you who know my story will appreciate my relief after accepting delivery for my "replacement" 151 today from Best Buy Magnolia. The delivery crew unboxed my set (right inside my living room in contrast to taking it up three flights of stairs unprotected) and put everything together.

I spent a good 30 minutes inspecting the set, which annoyed them both, but after what I've been through, I could care less. I ran a flashlight all over the screen, double-checked the bezel to make sure it was on nice and tight and that there was no light seeping out of the corners. Pulled up some break-in slides and checked for dead/stuck pixels and popped in a few Blu-Rays for good measure. Everything seems to be within working order.

They recycled my damaged 151, despite me encouraging them to throw it off of my balcony, deliberately injuring the Ultimate Electronics salesman who sold it to me that lives in my complex. They wouldn't go for it. Yeah, I have a twisted sense of humor. I was forced to pay off the damaged 151 since Ultimate, Pioneer, BBB and GE Bank all refused to help me. I'm still extremely bitter about the incident, but what's done is done. I just want to enjoy my movies.

Now comes the break-in process. But I'm extremely eager to unlock those ISF modes with ControlCal All in good time.

Now that is something I wouldn't be able to do...I managed to find the resources for one of these 111s but a second one? It makes me sick to read stories like yours.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #13061 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 09:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
a_ok2me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post

Do these TVs have a Shop Mode? I could have sworn I received a prompt when I turned on my old set for the first time. I didn't receive any prompt this time.

Interesting you mentioned it because I could have sworn someone else asked about it. No "Shop" or "Store" mode that I know of.
a_ok2me is offline  
post #13062 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanaticalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by a_ok2me View Post

Interesting you mentioned it because I could have sworn someone else asked about it. No "Shop" or "Store" mode that I know of.

Same here, and mine was ordered (both of them).
Fanaticalism is offline  
post #13063 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 09:58 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Yes, there's a "shop" mode option when you first turn on the set...

unless I'm hallucinating? Could've sworn I saw such an option when turning the set on for the first time on Wednesday. Manufacture date of November 2008. I haven't checked the firmware version.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #13064 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 10:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Juan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: So Cal, US
Posts: 2,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This TV rocks, black actually looks black and has no stuck pixels or anything, here is a quick pic after setup, sorry but my camera skills are not that good at all.


LL

Juan

My HT
Juan is offline  
post #13065 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mvp2005fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When I switched on the power to my 151 for the first time, I am pretty sure there was no shop mode for me (June 2008 manufacture) because I was specifically looking for it. The only thing that came up was the channel scan screen.
mvp2005fan is offline  
post #13066 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xortam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan View Post

This TV rocks, black actually looks black and has no stuck pixels or anything, here is a quick pic after setup, sorry but my camera skills are not that good at all.


Careful there Juan, you want to avoid much viewing of channels with station bugs like that for the first 250 hours. I wouldn't allow them at all for at least the first 20 hours at the minimum. You can be more reckless with content after the set is broken in but yours is brand new. You also want to try and age the phosphors somewhat evenly at the beginning.

"Plasma TV ... so called because in order to afford one, you're going to have to sell your blood." -- Ed Helms, The Daily Show.
xortam is offline  
post #13067 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 10:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Juan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: So Cal, US
Posts: 2,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xortam View Post

Careful there Juan, you want to avoid much viewing of channels with station bugs like that for the first 250 hours. I wouldn't allow them at all for at least the first 20 hours at the minimum. You can be more reckless with content after the set is broken in but yours is brand new.


Thanks, that is just the channel it started when I turned it on with the SAT.

Juan

My HT
Juan is offline  
post #13068 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
a_ok2me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xortam View Post

Careful there Juan, you want to avoid much viewing of channels with station bugs like that for the first 250 hours. I wouldn't allow them at all for at least the first 20 hours at the minimum. You can be more reckless with content after the set is broken in but yours is brand new.

Though I don't disagree, I've placed something stationary next to the edge of a logo and noticed the logo orbit (orbiter ON) about 1.5" from the fixed point. Neat.
a_ok2me is offline  
post #13069 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 10:23 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan View Post

This TV rocks, black actually looks black and has no stuck pixels or anything, here is a quick pic after setup, sorry but my camera skills are not that good at all.

count your blessings.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #13070 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 10:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Juan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: So Cal, US
Posts: 2,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

count your blessings.

Going to church must be helping, this is the second Pioneer plasma I have purchased and both have been flawless.

Juan

My HT
Juan is offline  
post #13071 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvp2005fan View Post

Congratulations! Quick question: does it usually take 6 hours to calibrate a 151? I mean no disrespect in my question--I just wanted to know how much time I need to set aside when I schedule an appointment with a calibrator. Thanks!


I asked alot of questions and he spent some time telling me stuff about the calibration.

Also he did more than just calibrate my ISF Day and Night. He calibrated Pure mode too , the settings I had in Pure were WAY out of whack.

He also calibrated my blu-ray player, a Panasonic BD-30. Heck , he even checked my HD cable box settings to be sure all the settings in it were correct for best results.

Oh, one more , on my request , he checked to make sure my Onkyo receiver was just passing the video.

I was told before he came that 3-5 hours is normally what it takes.


And no he did not charge me any extra for the extras.

Thanks David !!
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #13072 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 11:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan View Post

This TV rocks, black actually looks black and has no stuck pixels or anything, here is a quick pic after setup, sorry but my camera skills are not that good at all.


Juan, congrats on your new 151. Looks like a Japanese Zero. I've watched that show many times. HD Theater is a great station to break in your new Kuro. The station logo only stays on for a bout 10-15 seconds.

Growing Older But Not Up
Waboman is offline  
post #13073 of 30480 Old 02-27-2009, 11:04 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan View Post

Going to church must be helping, this is the second Pioneer plasma I have purchased and both have been flawless.

Thats good luck
ROMAN O is offline  
post #13074 of 30480 Old 02-28-2009, 02:53 AM
Member
 
The_Tripzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Congrats to the new KURO Elite owners. Looking at pix submitted I can't wait much longer for my 111FD to arrive. I am going insane. 26 days from the time I paid for the unit to delivery is a long time to wait, but I am hoping good things will come to those who wait, and the wait is worth it. Come on March 12.

The_Tripzter

Pioneer® PRO 111FD KURO Elite n00Bie
The_Tripzter is offline  
post #13075 of 30480 Old 02-28-2009, 04:30 AM
Member
 
pharmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: nyc
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will pick up a 111fd today and need to know how to break in the unit. also, where can i get calibration settings for the unit?

thanks
pharmd is offline  
post #13076 of 30480 Old 02-28-2009, 04:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan View Post

Thanks, that is just the channel it started when I turned it on with the SAT.

As long as the program has commercials, you should be fine (well, they won't have station signatures). And mix in some other content without station signatures as well. Mostly full screen. Any 4:3 material should have gray sidebars, too.
prepress is offline  
post #13077 of 30480 Old 02-28-2009, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto area, Canada
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I have a 151, not quite broken in yet, but close. I run the break-in images from a thumbdrive when I think of it, usually several hours a day. But I have been watching DVD/BD since day 1, images stretched to fill the screen if necessary. I am just at the point where I stopped stretching 4:3 images and watch with gray bars instead. I guess that's OK eh?, TV must have slightly over 100 hours on it by now. No bad pixels so far.

What exactly do the "Power Saving" modes do? I presume they save power LOL, but how do they affect the image? I watch in the dark but have a bias light on, don't really notice a diff between Mode 1 and Mode 2. The thing about Mode 2 is I can hear a high-pitched noise (~10-12kHz I'd guess) from the switching power supply. The buzz I get in Mode 1 covers it up, and the buzz bothers me less than the high-pitched sound LOL. This is with sound off, otherwise I can't hear either.

Curious if there's anything "interesting" I can do from the Integrator Menu. If so, how? Thanks.
cfraser is offline  
post #13078 of 30480 Old 02-28-2009, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsula
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After reading all of the responses to my earlier post with photos of the snowfall up here in the Keweenaw, it might surprise some of you that UMR (Jeff Meier) will be coming up here to calibrate my 151!

I noticed on his AccuCal website that his June 2009 tour will include a visit to Milwaukee, and since I'm only about 300 miles north of there (!) I thought I would fill out the contact form on his site, just to see if I would get any reply at all.

To my surprise, he actually agreed to make the trip! (A slight extra charge is involved due to my extreme remote location, of course). He will possibly be combining it with a vacation trip, and I assured him that our snow would be 98% gone by then. (Depends if it's early or late June, I guess)

I've had my 151 since last July, and I'm extremely pleased with it. I never expected a calibrator of Jeff's caliber (pun intended) to make the trip up here to work on my display, so I'm excited about his upcoming visit.

I'm hoping he can take a look at my audio setup as well (Denon 3808, Def Tech speakers, and SVS PB-13 Ultra sub).

I've read all of the reviews posted on AVS of Jeff's Kuro calibrations, and virtually everyone seems amazed by the improvements their sets are displaying.

If anyone out there in the Wisconsin area is interested in getting any calibration work done, and thought you might have been out of Jeff's travel radius, you might want to check out www.accucalhd.com to find out about his availability this June.

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
My Setup
Mike25690 is offline  
post #13079 of 30480 Old 02-28-2009, 06:44 AM
Member
 
geoellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvp2005fan View Post

When I switched on the power to my 151 for the first time, I am pretty sure there was no shop mode for me (June 2008 manufacture) because I was specifically looking for it. The only thing that came up was the channel scan screen.


The very first screen that came up on mine when powered up for the first time was a selector between RETAIL and HOME. After selecting HOME, the next screen was channel scan.
geoellis is offline  
post #13080 of 30480 Old 02-28-2009, 06:44 AM
Member
 
pixar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eastern seaboard
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got mine delivered @ 8 am today. Unfortunately still unboxed since I need another pair of hands to take it out. Waiting on my bro-in-law to show up and help me with my nu toy lol! Sez Jan 09 at the back of the set [not the box], does that mean it was manufactured last month? Crappy pic courtesy of BlackBerry Bold.


LL
pixar is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off