The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 742 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22231 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
LOL! We have a cat, too, but she's kind of a b***h and nobody likes her. She'd probably be on her own if the big one hits! Great photo.
progprog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22232 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

LOL! We have a cat, too, but she's kind of a b***h and nobody likes her. She'd probably be on her own if the big one hits! Great photo.

Thanks !
TheFactor is offline  
post #22233 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by James W. Johnson View Post

Anyone looking for a center channel speaker that almost fits exactly under your PRO-151FD, I found one, the X-Voce from AV321 ,


Wow!

How does that center sound? I have there UFW-10 sub and it's awesome.

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #22234 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Fosse View Post

Where we live we have faults all over the place

I have my 151 bolted to a large Salamander Synergy triple door component rack with the center speaker mounted in the center compartment below the Kuro.

Well while we were on the subject I decided to throw in the BD 2012 but maybe that wasnt such a good idea
TheFactor is offline  
post #22235 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFactor View Post

Well while we were on the subject I decided to throw in the BD 2012 but maybe that wasnt such a good idea

Hehe.... Hey, I've read that disc (BD version) seems to have a lot of problems. Is it playing all right for you? What player do you use?
progprog is offline  
post #22236 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

Hehe.... Hey, I've read that disc (BD version) seems to have a lot of problems. Is it playing all right for you? What player do you use?

Im halfway threw now and just taking a intermission pizza break, great flick so far and love the special effects . Im running it threw my Sony bdp 550 with all the current firmware updates and its playing great with no glitches thus far .
TheFactor is offline  
post #22237 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by esp2684 View Post

James, doesn't that make your tv shake a bit due to the vibrations within the center channel? Or is it imperceptible?

That's a nice setup, by the way. I know very little about speakers, but the general styling of fronts look like Martin Logans...

No shaking and thanks
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #22238 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

Hey James.....you do remember we're in earthquake country, right?


That's a 151 with the stand, sitting directly on the speaker.


Oh yes, I know.....and ours could be a monster......I hope it don't come in my lifetime.

The reason I posted is because the 151FD stand is almost exactly the same width and depth as the center channel is. It is very stable. If an earthquake knocks it over, then I or we, have many more bigger things to worry about, such as our homes. I keep meaning to call State Farm and finding out if earthquakes are covered in my home insurance policy.
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #22239 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFactor View Post

oops guess my coffee hasnt kicked in yet That does look very good !


It is cool how it fits so well , its within a 1/4 inch all the way around.
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #22240 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by James W. Johnson View Post

Oh yes, I know.....and ours could be a monster......I hope it don't come in my lifetime.

The reason I posted is because the 151FD stand is almost exactly the same width and depth as the center channel is. It is very stable. If an earthquake knocks it over, then I or we, have many more bigger things to worry about, such as our homes. I keep meaning to call State Farm and finding out if earthquakes are covered in my home insurance policy.

You don't have earthquake coverage, James, unless you buy it as an add-on. On my insurance, the earthquake rider costs a lot more than the policy itself.
progprog is offline  
post #22241 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 08:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by James W. Johnson View Post

I keep meaning to call State Farm and finding out if earthquakes are covered in my home insurance policy.


Ummm.....You may want to make that call a priority, and consider getting a add-on for it if you don't, before a possible earthquake hits.
Johnla is offline  
post #22242 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

You don't have earthquake coverage, James, unless you buy it as an add-on. On my insurance, the earthquake rider costs a lot more than the policy itself.

My home insurance is like $475 a year, so the addition of earthquake coverage will triple or quadruple it or more? So I take it you have earthquake coverage?
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #22243 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
[quote=progprog;18263621]
Ok just finished 2012 and it played threw with know issues with my SONY BDP550 and again great flick love the special effects .
TheFactor is offline  
post #22244 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Progprog, you remember that small earthquake we had in , what was it the late 90's or early 2000s , I forget. Anyhow that is the only one I have ever experienced. I was in my living room , I lived in Bellingham at the time. Anyhow I was dusting in my living room and a floor lamp I had started rocking back and forth and I was like, hmmm I did not touch that lamp.....then I felt the earthquake happening.
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #22245 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 09:38 PM
Member
 
esp2684's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by James W. Johnson View Post

Progprog, you remember that small earthquake we had in , what was it the late 90's or early 2000s , I forget. Anyhow that is the only one I have ever experienced. I was in my living room , I lived in Bellingham at the time. Anyhow I was dusting in my living room and a floor lamp I had started rocking back and forth and I was like, hmmm I did not touch that lamp.....then I felt the earthquake happening.

Sounds like you have some ghosts in the house that made the lamp sway...the earthquake was obviously in your mind

On a serious note, I'm glad I don't have to experience those natural disasters in the midwest. Earthquake country: now that's livin' on the edge!
esp2684 is offline  
post #22246 of 30628 Old 03-06-2010, 11:05 PM
Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have the Pioneer PRO-111FD TV.

I want to connect my PC to my TV.

Can I use a DVI to HDMI cable? The instruction manual suggests using the RGB input on the TV.

My video card has a DVI out.

Is this the right cable?

http://www.amazon.com/6FT-Dvi-To-HDm.../dp/B001IWOBXG

And do I need another cable to transmit audio?

The instruction manual suggests a 3.5mm to stereo input on the TV.

But instead of using their suggested PC audio input, can I use the RCA inputs on the TV?

So, can I use a 3.5mm to RCA input, to transmit audio?

Is this the right cable?

http://www.amazon.com/Arista-18-3190.../ref=de_a_smtd

Thanks.
nuraman00 is offline  
post #22247 of 30628 Old 03-07-2010, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post

Hi,

I have the Pioneer PRO-111FD TV.

I want to connect my PC to my TV.

Can I use a DVI to HDMI cable? The instruction manual suggests using the RGB input on the TV.

My video card has a DVI out.

Is this the right cable?

http://www.amazon.com/6FT-Dvi-To-HDm.../dp/B001IWOBXG

And do I need another cable to transmit audio?

The instruction manual suggests a 3.5mm to stereo input on the TV.

But instead of using their suggested PC audio input, can I use the RCA inputs on the TV?

So, can I use a 3.5mm to RCA input, to transmit audio?

Is this the right cable?

http://www.amazon.com/Arista-18-3190.../ref=de_a_smtd

Thanks.

For video, you might try a DVI-to-VGA adapter. Just make sure you know which type of DVI output you have on your computer. Then just run a VGA cable to the display. Again, make sure the VGA cable can handle the resolution you want to output from your computer.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #22248 of 30628 Old 03-07-2010, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ddgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In A Government Yard In SacTown
Posts: 1,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by James W. Johnson View Post

My home insurance is like $475 a year, so the addition of earthquake coverage will triple or quadruple it or more? So I take it you have earthquake coverage?

$475 ??? We're getting ripped off here in Sacramento, it's not even as bad as the Bay Area or SoCal as far as earthquakes go, but the minimum we're paying is like $900 - $1,000 a year without tremor coverage!!
ddgtr is offline  
post #22249 of 30628 Old 03-07-2010, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by esp2684 View Post


On a serious note, I'm glad I don't have to experience those natural disasters in the midwest. Earthquake country: now that's livin' on the edge!

And you guys can keep your tornados, winter cold and snow. Funny thing is I live pretty far north too, right on the Canadian border, just 35 miles from the 2010 Winter Olympic Games. Anyhow, this winter has just been one long spring. :-) You probably heard about all the snow that had to ship to MT. Cypress before and during the Olympics due to this spring like winter. :-)
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #22250 of 30628 Old 03-07-2010, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddgtr View Post

$475 ??? We're getting ripped off here in Sacramento, it's not even as bad as the Bay Area or SoCal as far as earthquakes go, but the minimum we're paying is like $900 - $1,000 a year without tremor coverage!!

That's about what I pay with it. (Of course, a lot depends on what you're insuring and kind of area you're in.) Do you get any of those "little" tremors in Sacramento....enough to where you might worry about your Kuro tipping over if it weren't secured?
progprog is offline  
post #22251 of 30628 Old 03-07-2010, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TheFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 4,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Thats pretty close to what im paying a year to but you cant put a price on peace of mind
TheFactor is offline  
post #22252 of 30628 Old 03-07-2010, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post


1) Can I use a DVI to HDMI cable? The instruction manual suggests using the RGB input on the TV.
My video card has a DVI out.

2) But instead of using their suggested PC audio input, can I use the RCA inputs on the TV?
So, can I use a 3.5mm to RCA input, to transmit audio?

1) Yes
2) Yes

These are standard conversions using generic adapter cables from places like monoprice or Amazon (or even BestBuy/Radio Shack). The only thing you might have to worry about is getting a DVI-I cable if your card has a DVI-D connector. Wikipedia has illustrations.

HDMI setup depends on your end goal. If you want to use the display as a computer monitor (displaying text is important) then you should use PC input type. If you want to watch video then Video is probably a better choice.

Why the manual suggests analog (RGB via the VGA port) over digital (DVI/HDMI) in the modern era is a mystery.
bodosom is offline  
post #22253 of 30628 Old 03-07-2010, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ddgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In A Government Yard In SacTown
Posts: 1,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

That's about what I pay with it. (Of course, a lot depends on what you're insuring and kind of area you're in.) Do you get any of those "little" tremors in Sacramento....enough to where you might worry about your Kuro tipping over if it weren't secured?


Absolutely not. In fact, when SF had their last big one we barely felt it here. We're lucky in that regard.
ddgtr is offline  
post #22254 of 30628 Old 03-07-2010, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bob Fosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area (Marin County)
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFactor View Post

LOL I hear ya my concern to would be more about my little buddy my Siamese cat that thinks hes a dog and he's very much a HT enthusiasts ; ) Here he is saying good bye to my Panny 65V10 just before they picked it up and dreaming of his new Pio Kuro

Hopefully I'm not derailing this thread too much but I love the picture of your cat. We had a Siamese Cat named Alley-Oop.

When I first saw this picture I thought that I was on the wrong thread since I read the word Panasonic on the box.

Anyway does your cat like his new Kuro better than the Panny?
Bob Fosse is offline  
post #22255 of 30628 Old 03-08-2010, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Edited, I don't want my dog's picture on the same page of that thing VV below.
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #22256 of 30628 Old 03-08-2010, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nascar Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by James W. Johnson View Post

Hey guys , my dog Lucy babysits cats free of charge.........

So does mine...


LL
Nascar Dog is offline  
post #22257 of 30628 Old 03-08-2010, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar Dog View Post

So does mine...


Damn..LOL
Ranger is offline  
post #22258 of 30628 Old 03-08-2010, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

That's about what I pay with it. (Of course, a lot depends on what you're insuring and kind of area you're in.) Do you get any of those "little" tremors in Sacramento....enough to where you might worry about your Kuro tipping over if it weren't secured?

Well , as of about 1 min ago I am covered for earthquakes.....it added on something like $186 per year to my policy.

I am glad this topic came up because I doubt I would have ever thought about it, as I figured earthquakes were already covered in a standard home insurance policy.

thanks guys.
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #22259 of 30628 Old 03-08-2010, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddgtr View Post

$475 ??? We're getting ripped off here in Sacramento, it's not even as bad as the Bay Area or SoCal as far as earthquakes go, but the minimum we're paying is like $900 - $1,000 a year without tremor coverage!!

Actually it was only $428 now its ~$615 with the addition of earthquake coverage.

Your in $$California$$ ca-ching! $$$ , my home was less than $200K , its worth somewhere around $235K now.
With a good economy it would fetch an easy $260K+.

$235K in California probably cannot even get you into a modular home on a tiny 120sf lot.

And actually it won't buy anything down in Seattle where progprog is either, im way up north of Seattle in a small town.
James W. Johnson is offline  
post #22260 of 30628 Old 03-08-2010, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
James W. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birch Bay/Whatcom county, WA
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My biggest fear is one of the ~50' trees in close proximity to my house falling down onto the house.
5 ~50' cedars in my back yard, only one is visible in this pic......

The ~50' Redwood in front........
James W. Johnson is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off