The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 819 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24541 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
gorman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rumba View Post


I've had both in my home for a month to figure out which one I wanted. I ended up choosing the Oppo. I found it to give a more film like image, better upscaling of DVD's, and significantly better sound. That being said, if you already have a PS3 keep it and enjoy it - it's a terrific player with a highly detailed picture (more so than the Oppo, IMO).

I suppose you are referring to analog out, otherwise if talking about HDMI audio, I can't understand how one could be significantly better than the other.

Seriously. AVS is a place where you go to learn to be unhappy. - Bear5k
gorman42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24542 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
NY613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorman42 View Post

And the mandatory question: will they arrive in Kuro territory?

Do u think they will? What would it take for them to get to that territory?

Pioneer Plasma 151fd
Oppo BDP-93
NY613 is offline  
post #24543 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jonesy11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

For PQ and load speed, etc. (let's assume we're including the whole "usability" grab bag there), I think most would be hard-pressed to argue that anything else currently outperforms the Oppo players and the PS3.

I have a Pioneer Elite BDP 23FD BD player that was worked great, got it for half price when I bought the 500M, couldn't resist that deal. And it looks great with my Elite receiver, all the components match. It doesn't quite match the oppo for loading speed and such, but then again I got it for less than half the price of the oppo, and it's performance has been excellent.

KRP-500M
Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH
Jonesy11 is offline  
post #24544 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 01:51 PM
Member
 
Lekstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, I'm ecstatic, I bought the new 101FD! Thanks for all the shipping info help. After extensive research and talking with different shipping companies, I am having a company strap it to a pallet custom fit for the size of the box; they have apparently dealt with many plasmas before and really warned me against having it shipped only in the box.

I will have it calibrated - now the question is - should I use the images or just watch tv for the first 150 hours? Having committed to a kuro elite, I also face the arduous task now of reading through most of this thread as I want to become more familiar with it! My son is flipping out that we're getting the tv!
Lekstar is offline  
post #24545 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 01:58 PM
Member
 
Lekstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Of course now I just happened upon the thread with displays that came cracked, many of which were still on a pallet, well, at least it will be insured, I'm hoping nothing happens!
Lekstar is offline  
post #24546 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
NY613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lekstar View Post

Guys, I'm ecstatic, I bought the new 101FD! Thanks for all the shipping info help. After extensive research and talking with different shipping companies, I am having a company strap it to a pallet custom fit for the size of the box; they have apparently dealt with many plasmas before and really warned me against having it shipped only in the box.

I will have it calibrated - now the question is - should I use the images or just watch tv for the first 150 hours? Having committed to a kuro elite, I also face the arduous task now of reading through most of this thread as I want to become more familiar with it! My son is flipping out that we're getting the tv!


"what did they mean by this they have apparently dealt with many plasmas before and really warned me against having it shipped only in the box"?

Pioneer Plasma 151fd
Oppo BDP-93
NY613 is offline  
post #24547 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 03:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
gorman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NY613 View Post


Do u think they will? What would it take for them to get to that territory?

Honestly, from what D-Nice has been writing in the speculations thread (which I hadn't read before), I start to doubt it. What will it take?

Hmmmm... Better blacks, blacks with no change in levels over time, a full CMS (that Kuros lacked, btw), better processing for SD sources (although I'm not up to speed on the last Panny generation).

Seriously. AVS is a place where you go to learn to be unhappy. - Bear5k
gorman42 is offline  
post #24548 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lekstar View Post

Guys, I'm ecstatic, I bought the new 101FD! Thanks for all the shipping info help. After extensive research and talking with different shipping companies, I am having a company strap it to a pallet custom fit for the size of the box; they have apparently dealt with many plasmas before and really warned me against having it shipped only in the box.

I will have it calibrated - now the question is - should I use the images or just watch tv for the first 150 hours? Having committed to a kuro elite, I also face the arduous task now of reading through most of this thread as I want to become more familiar with it! My son is flipping out that we're getting the tv!

If you've read through most of the thread, you've probably noticed that the break-in procedure is to prepare the panel for D-Nice's settings, as per his specifications. Since there aren't any D-Nice settings for the 101FD, and because you are getting it calibrated, that procedure doesn't apply. Your calibrator will most likely want you to use it for some minimum number of hours before he works on it, though...usually around 100hrs, but check to be sure....and that can be whatever content you want to watch. Just follow the common sense guidelines to mix up aspect ratios and avoid prolonged periods displaying the same high-contrast static graphics.

You and the family are going to love this thing.
progprog is offline  
post #24549 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 04:27 PM
Member
 
Lekstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NY613 View Post

"what did they mean by this they have apparently dealt with many plasmas before and really warned me against having it shipped only in the box"?

The person just said that if it is not on a pallet, and the fact that it will be moved from truck to truck as it is transported across the country will pose serious risks to the box - especially because it is meant to be upright.
Lekstar is offline  
post #24550 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 04:27 PM
Member
 
Lekstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

If you've read through most of the thread, you've probably noticed that the break-in procedure is to prepare the panel for D-Nice's settings, as per his specifications. Since there aren't any D-Nice settings for the 101FD, and because you are getting it calibrated, that procedure doesn't apply. Your calibrator will most likely want you to use it for some minimum number of hours before he works on it, though...usually around 100hrs, but check to be sure....and that can be whatever content you want to watch. Just follow the common sense guidelines to mix up aspect ratios and avoid prolonged periods displaying the same high-contrast static graphics.

You and the family are going to love this thing.

Thanks
Lekstar is offline  
post #24551 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
rumba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorman42 View Post

I suppose you are referring to analog out, otherwise if talking about HDMI audio, I can't understand how one could be significantly better than the other.

HDMI audio & video. Better audio circuitry apparently in the Oppo. It sounds markedly different than the PS3 (fuller midrange for one) - and I'm using the built in speakers of the 111 as well. The picture is different on Blu Ray as well. I like the processing on the Oppo. A bit less detail to my eye than the PS3 but a richer more film like image.
rumba is offline  
post #24552 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lekstar View Post

Of course now I just happened upon the thread with displays that came cracked, many of which were still on a pallet

Almost all of the damaged Kuros were 60" KRP displays, very few were 50" panels. However I do suggest that the seller put a tilt sensor (e.g. ShockWatch) on the box.
bodosom is offline  
post #24553 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
lakinsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p59teitel View Post

Because the Oppo BDP-83 absolutely beats the snot outta a PS3 when it comes to upscaling and rendering standard DVD images.

I have both, so I know whereof I speak.

Ok better video. I get it. But can the oppo stream from your pc?

Bodsom hinted that the oppo could do this . If it can then i'm sorry for my ignorance.
lakinsdad is offline  
post #24554 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakinsdad View Post

But can the oppo stream from your pc?

oppo streaming
bodosom is offline  
post #24555 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
lakinsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

oppo streaming

Built in wifi? If it does then put me on the "waiting list"

Looks like a real nice unit. Too late though. Wife won't let it happen.
lakinsdad is offline  
post #24556 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakinsdad View Post

Built in wifi? If it does then put me on the "waiting list"

Looks like a real nice unit. Too late though. Wife won't let it happen.

The latest word seems to be that, for the production models, they'll go to an external dongle for wireless. I really don't get why, but that's what's being reported. (If they're concerned about some users experiencing reception issues, seems like they could just include a detachable antenna that screws into the back of the chassis.)
progprog is offline  
post #24557 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmmesch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Desert SW
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Ces 2011

Anyone besides me going? Maybe a meetup?

My favorite toy
jmmesch is offline  
post #24558 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmmesch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Desert SW
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

For PQ and load speed, etc. (let's assume we're including the whole "usability" grab bag there), I think most would be hard-pressed to argue that anything else currently outperforms the Oppo players and the PS3.

I just got an HTPC rack sized, with a new LG 3D BD unit, it'll do shutter and R/B 3D, and it can burn BD up to 12x. Full gigabit LAN, too, and its getting connected to my 7.1 channel AVR this weekend, while the Sony BD player goes in the bedroom.

The PC can put a constant 1080p via HDMI out, and play music, show photos, and more over our in-home network. All the apps on the BD player, will be icons on the PC, as will Google TV.

My favorite toy
jmmesch is offline  
post #24559 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 09:35 PM
 
XxHoosierdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmesch View Post

I just got an HTPC rack sized, with a new LG 3D BD unit, it'll do shutter and R/B 3D, and it can burn BD up to 12x. Full gigabit LAN, too, and its getting connected to my 7.1 channel AVR this weekend, while the Sony BD player goes in the bedroom.

The PC can put a constant 1080p via HDMI out, and play music, show photos, and more over our in-home network. All the apps on the BD player, will be icons on the PC, as will Google TV.

This is getting silly. Now, the BD player you have effects the picture? If I have a 1080p blu ray disc, wouldn't it look the same on any Blu Ray player?
XxHoosierdaddy is offline  
post #24560 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
NY613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lekstar View Post

The person just said that if it is not on a pallet, and the fact that it will be moved from truck to truck as it is transported across the country will pose serious risks to the box - especially because it is meant to be upright.

reason i asked is cause my new TV what purchased from another city not too far away, so im worried with transportation on the road.

Pioneer Plasma 151fd
Oppo BDP-93
NY613 is offline  
post #24561 of 30482 Old 10-05-2010, 10:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmmesch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Desert SW
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxHoosierdaddy View Post

This is getting silly. Now, the BD player you have effects the picture? If I have a 1080p blu ray disc, wouldn't it look the same on any Blu Ray player?

The BD player would be played back via PowerDVD Ultra, it has a R/G 3D mode, if you want it. It should be crisp and sweet on the 60" TV.

My favorite toy
jmmesch is offline  
post #24562 of 30482 Old 10-06-2010, 09:32 AM
Newbie
 
Rhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only complaints I have about my 9G Elite is the annoyingly slow start-up times. If I need to change an input -- say from Input 4 (Tivo) to Input 5 (PS3) -- I have to wait 10 seconds after power-on.

Question: How does this "feature" affect using a Harmony remote where a one touch button would turn on the TV, switch the input to the proper one, turn on the device feeding the input, etc. Seems like it wouldn't work with the slow start-up time of the 9G.

Anybody have experience with this issue?
Rhome is offline  
post #24563 of 30482 Old 10-06-2010, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhome View Post

The only complaints I have about my 9G Elite is the annoyingly slow start-up times. If I need to change an input -- say from Input 4 (Tivo) to Input 5 (PS3) -- I have to wait 10 seconds after power-on.

Question: How does this "feature" affect using a Harmony remote where a one touch button would turn on the TV, switch the input to the proper one, turn on the device feeding the input, etc. Seems like it wouldn't work with the slow start-up time of the 9G.

Anybody have experience with this issue?

I agree, it is annoying, and it does complicate remote macros a bit. It works with Harmony remotes.....you just have to go into the start-up macros and adjust the delay after the POWER ON command, so the remote waits before send the INPUT command. If you say yours takes 10sec to start up, try a delay of 11sec and you can tweak from there. (If it always works, you might try shortening it a bit. If it doesn't always work, you'll want to make it longer until it does.)
progprog is offline  
post #24564 of 30482 Old 10-06-2010, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
NY613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody know any good home theater cabinet maker? looking for those long tables for under the tv, where i can store a blu-ray, PVR, and more stuff

Pioneer Plasma 151fd
Oppo BDP-93
NY613 is offline  
post #24565 of 30482 Old 10-06-2010, 03:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
D-Nice is offline  
post #24566 of 30482 Old 10-06-2010, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
NY613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

.bdi

before i read this msg, i was on there website, stuff isnt cheap lol

Pioneer Plasma 151fd
Oppo BDP-93
NY613 is offline  
post #24567 of 30482 Old 10-06-2010, 05:57 PM
Member
 
JHuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

I agree, it is annoying, and it does complicate remote macros a bit. It works with Harmony remotes.....you just have to go into the start-up macros and adjust the delay after the POWER ON command, so the remote waits before send the INPUT command. If you say yours takes 10sec to start up, try a delay of 11sec and you can tweak from there. (If it always works, you might try shortening it a bit. If it doesn't always work, you'll want to make it longer until it does.)

Yeah, the delay is a little annoying. Only noticed it since I've removed my SC-07 from handling input/volume duty, which exhibited zero delay whatsoever once it was powered on. Kind of a pain, but I don't think I have a full 10 second delay.
JHuck is offline  
post #24568 of 30482 Old 10-06-2010, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
NY613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just checked out my friends new 65" Panasonic vt 25, very nice tv... and if the Elite is much better, i can't wait, march can't get here any sooner....

D-nice, my friend will be interested in getting his TV calibrated as well when u come to town in spring 2011, do you do those TV's as well?, i got him currently using the THX settings for now, is there any specific instructions on how he should use his tv for the first 100-200 hours?

Pioneer Plasma 151fd
Oppo BDP-93
NY613 is offline  
post #24569 of 30482 Old 10-06-2010, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NY613 View Post

just checked out my friends new 65" Panasonic vt 25, very nice tv... and if the Elite is much better, i can't wait, march can't get here any sooner....

D-nice, my friend will be interested in getting his TV calibrated as well when u come to town in spring 2011, do you do those TV's as well?, i got him currently using the THX settings for now, is there any specific instructions on how he should use his tv for the first 100-200 hours?

Your friend could probably read all about his panel, and any possible break-in instructions, in the Panasonic threads.
progprog is offline  
post #24570 of 30482 Old 10-06-2010, 07:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
I calibrate all displays Tell your friend to place his display in THX mode and enjoy it until the calibration.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NY613 View Post

just checked out my friends new 65" Panasonic vt 25, very nice tv... and if the Elite is much better, i can't wait, march can't get here any sooner....

D-nice, my friend will be interested in getting his TV calibrated as well when u come to town in spring 2011, do you do those TV's as well?, i got him currently using the THX settings for now, is there any specific instructions on how he should use his tv for the first 100-200 hours?

D-Nice is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off