The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 915 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27421 of 30511 Old 03-16-2012, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Hire someone to get your display calibrated.

We shouldn't have to do that with this TV. Or any TV. Yes i know a calibration gets 100% out of it but i shouldn't have to spend extra money because the color is so far off from normal. And i don't think a calibration can get rid of the green patches.

I spoke to a technician about this. He said pioneer still has replacement displays if he can't fix the issue. What are the chances this happening on a new one?

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27422 of 30511 Old 03-16-2012, 09:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,934
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post


We shouldn't have to do that with this TV. Or any TV. Yes i know a calibration gets 100% out of it but i shouldn't have to spend extra money because the color is so far off from normal. And i don't think a calibration can get rid of the green patches.

No display, and I mean NO display, comes calibrated out of the box.

Also, you don't know what is wrong with your display. Only someone who is experienced with how the display should perform would ve able to tell you exactly what you are seeing and the whys behind it.

Quote:


I spoke to a technician about this. He said pioneer still has replacement displays if he can't fix the issue. What are the chances this happening on a new one?

The same chance it had with your current display or any PDP.
D-Nice is offline  
post #27423 of 30511 Old 03-17-2012, 01:58 AM
Senior Member
 
damienbuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just finished my media room - thought you guys might like to see the KRP-600M in its natural environment ; )



Attachment 240715



Attachment 240716



Attachment 240717
LL
LL
LL
gus738 likes this.
damienbuckley is offline  
post #27424 of 30511 Old 03-17-2012, 05:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Very nice indeed.

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #27425 of 30511 Old 03-17-2012, 05:38 AM
Member
 
RockinRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The land of high taxes!
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice!
RockinRay is offline  
post #27426 of 30511 Old 03-17-2012, 10:23 AM
Member
 
RockinRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The land of high taxes!
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have a question with regards the the Elite and the new Apple TV.

With the Apple TV, you ca select different color ranges and based on what i have read here, RGB would be the best choice.

Am I right on this? And, which one, RGB High or RGB Low?

Thanks, Ray
RockinRay is offline  
post #27427 of 30511 Old 03-17-2012, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Fosse View Post

I have a Harmony One which I would imagine would also allow for transfer of the code to it since it has a learning function.





I wouldn't imagine that it would be possible to PM a code like this? However if there is a way to do it I would sure be interested. Perhaps Pioneer would make it available to the Harmony Data base if someone asked? After all it does not include the entire "factory remote" codes but just this one code. I guess that it wouldn't hurt asking Pioneer or posting about this on the Harmony threads?

has anyone tried using the USB-UIRT to read the hex code in EventGhost, that could be sent via email.
vega509 is offline  
post #27428 of 30511 Old 03-17-2012, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

No display, and I mean NO display, comes calibrated out of the box.

Of course not. But no displays color should change dramatically from where it's suppose to be. A calibration will make it better obviously but thats not the point. I should not have to calibrate my TV just so i can watch it. Out of the box picture should be fine. And it was.

Quote:


Also, you don't know what is wrong with your display. Only someone who is experienced with how the display should perform would ve able to tell you exactly what you are seeing and the whys behind it.

Yeah thats you. You know the in and outs of these TV's more than anyone. Now i don't know if i should get the tech to come out and check on it or see if your going to be in NY anytime soon? But i don't wan't to have to spend money.

Quote:


The same chance it had with your current display or any PDP.

The one thing im afraid of with getting a new display is it can be worse with other problems. But if the tech can't fix the green blobs, i might as well try my luck.

The green on my kuro wasn't too noticeable yesterday watching TV. It's really obvious when changing AV modes like performance back to pure or movie. Almost as if the eye adapts to the green until you compare it to something.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #27429 of 30511 Old 03-17-2012, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post

has anyone tried using the USB-UIRT to read the hex code in EventGhost, that could be sent via email.

Or you could just copy the Pronto code from here.
bodosom is offline  
post #27430 of 30511 Old 03-18-2012, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

Or you could just copy the Pronto code from here.

thanks bodosom, I missed that
vega509 is offline  
post #27431 of 30511 Old 03-18-2012, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HuskerHarley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lincoln,Neb
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

Or you could just copy the Pronto code from here.

Do you have a link explaining how to get the the code into a Harmony-One?

HH
HuskerHarley is offline  
post #27432 of 30511 Old 03-18-2012, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerHarley View Post

Do you have a link explaining how to get the the code into a Harmony-One?

No, I don't use Harmony. You should review my earlier posts (and related ones) about getting codes added.
bodosom is offline  
post #27433 of 30511 Old 03-18-2012, 08:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerHarley View Post

Do you have a link explaining how to get the the code into a Harmony-One?

HH

do you have a USB-UIRT? I used this and EventGhost to send the code to my Harmony 900 in learning mode, after logging into my harmony account and creating a Factory Menu soft button.
vega509 is offline  
post #27434 of 30511 Old 03-18-2012, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HuskerHarley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lincoln,Neb
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post

do you have a USB-UIRT? I used this and EventGhost to send the code to my Harmony 900 in learning mode, after logging into my harmony account and creating a Factory Menu soft button.

I don't know what a USB-UIRT is (I'll Google it)?

HH
HuskerHarley is offline  
post #27435 of 30511 Old 03-18-2012, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
jdmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had my 151 recently calibrated by Jeff Meier from Accucal. He was prompt, efficient, and friendly. The picture was great before, but after calibration it was significantly punchier and more realistic. There seems to be more contrast, dark detail, and color accuracy. I'm satisfied knowing that I finally have a reference quality picture. I would highly recommend a professional calibration, and I was very happy with Jeff's work.
jdmi is offline  
post #27436 of 30511 Old 03-18-2012, 09:17 PM
Senior Member
 
t-town oil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK (via western New York)
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Anyone in tulsa, ok area have any suggestions for calibrators?
t-town oil is offline  
post #27437 of 30511 Old 03-19-2012, 12:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,712
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmi View Post

I had my 151 recently calibrated by Jeff Meier (UMR @ AVS) from Accucal.

Thanks for your calibration report. I've added it to the flat panel (post #2) lists that are linked in the signature section at the bottom of my post.

Enjoy.
htwaits is offline  
post #27438 of 30511 Old 03-19-2012, 12:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,712
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by t-town oil View Post

Anyone in tulsa, ok area have any suggestions for calibrators?

Check the location thread that's linked at the bottom of my post. Then you can use the AVS user name to look for customer reports for the calibrators who travel to your location. I'm not sure, but UMR (see above) may travel to your area.
htwaits is offline  
post #27439 of 30511 Old 03-19-2012, 01:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by t-town oil View Post

Anyone in tulsa, ok area have any suggestions for calibrators?

Jeff from Accucal is coming to my house in April , I live near Tulsa, have 2 Pioneer 9Gs, this is his 3rd visit ,highly recommend Jeff !

Mark
qwknuf6 is offline  
post #27440 of 30511 Old 03-19-2012, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 210
D-Nice, i was reading the settings thread and i found some settings you made for pure and movie- http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=271

Is it ok if i use them?

They seem to work well in making things less green. I especially like the warmth of movie mode.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #27441 of 30511 Old 03-19-2012, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,934
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

D-Nice, i was reading the settings thread and i found some settings you made for pure and movie- http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=271

Is it ok if i use them?

They seem to work well in making things less green. I especially like the warmth of movie mode.

I don't know how I could stop you from using them. Just know I don't know how they will perform on your display.
D-Nice is offline  
post #27442 of 30511 Old 03-19-2012, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
dmcs414's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please excuse my post here. Just realized what forum this belongs in and moving my question there. Many thanks,
dmcs414 is offline  
post #27443 of 30511 Old 03-19-2012, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

I don't know how I could stop you from using them. Just know I don't know how they will perform on your display.

Well from the looks of it, so far, it performsreally well. Im no longer bothered by too much green. Pure mode is back to looking natural and....pure. And movie mode looks better than ever. I think i'll be using that the most since i like a warm picture. Im so glad i found these. Just in time my double feature of tinker tailor and dragon tattoo tomorrow.

I'll see if i notice anything thats off while watching movies. But im loving these settings right now. I can imagine what a calibration would look like.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #27444 of 30511 Old 03-19-2012, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
 
MitchPope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinRay View Post

Am I right on this? And, which one, RGB High or RGB Low?

RGB Low should be RGB 16-235. I believe that is the colour space D-Nice advises to be the best match for the Kuro.

MitchPope is online now  
post #27445 of 30511 Old 03-20-2012, 02:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Rche 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

I can imagine what a calibration would look like.

Now hire Dnice to calibrate your display like he's done for me twice now...
Rche 1 is offline  
post #27446 of 30511 Old 03-20-2012, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
blb1215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchPope View Post

RGB Low should be RGB 16-235. I believe that is the colour space D-Nice advises to be the best match for the Kuro.

RGB 16-235 is correct and I am not positive that all devices use the same terms but RGB high is 16-235 on my boxee streaming device. My understanding is RGB high or RGB video is 16-235.

Barry
blb1215 is offline  
post #27447 of 30511 Old 03-20-2012, 11:48 PM
Senior Member
 
damienbuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone have any experience with a single/double in-line power conditioner for plasmas? My KRP-600M has its own socket and I'm short of space in the cavity behind the screen?

The company I'm buying my rack power unit from has a small model called the Mira but they are special-order only and have US plugs on them...
damienbuckley is offline  
post #27448 of 30511 Old 03-22-2012, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Pvd3399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a Pioneer Pro 111 FD.

I had a party recently and there were smudges on the screen.

I tried to use a TV cleaning rag and remove them without any luck.

I then sprayed a small amount of windex on the cleaning rag and tried to remove the blueish blotches on my screen. It only seemed to streak the blotch in a larger area. (Windex was stupid.) I've read on another thread that the blueish blotches are just oils.

I then applied water to the rag and cleaned the entire screen. I was able to buff out the streaks.

However, I can't tell if my mind is playing tricks but the picture quality doesn't seem the same.

The clarity isn't there anymore. Colors seem a little blown out. The darks just aren't as dark now. I'm not sure if this is because it's the first time I've cleaned the screen this much.

I'd be surprised if one cleaning could ruin a tv but I guess it could happen.

Am I crazy or did this dramatically affect the PQ?

It may be that I am looking for flaws (because the streaks set off worse case scenarios in my head) but the Kuro doesn't seem to have the same pop and wow factor.

I'm cool with the the straight truth because I've had two great years with the TV.

Is it a lost cause or is there anything I can do to save the TV?

Your input would be greatly appreciated.
Pvd3399 is offline  
post #27449 of 30511 Old 03-22-2012, 10:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,934
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvd3399 View Post

Am I crazy or did this dramatically affect the PQ?

Crazy..... final answer

Nothing you've done to your display has any impact on black levels or PQ in general beyond blurring that may happen with the streaks. Even that is pushing it.
D-Nice is offline  
post #27450 of 30511 Old 03-23-2012, 01:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,712
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvd3399 View Post

Is it a lost cause or is there anything I can do to save the TV?

Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Personally I would stay away from Windex in the future. Otherwise you are probably looking for an excuse to buy a new toy.
gus738 likes this.
htwaits is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off