The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 918 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27511 of 30632 Old 04-22-2012, 05:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Frank,

Time to do some math.

I've heard others comment about how inefficient plasmas are and have to ask myself if it really amounts to much.

Get one of those watt meters and measure how much power it actually uses. Then multiply it out based on your local power cost. I'd bet that it doesn't cost nearly as much as people think.
gus738 likes this.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27512 of 30632 Old 04-22-2012, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by c1ferrari View Post

Hi everyone,


I was hoping to solicit your advice regarding replacement of the PDP on this Elite Signature Series monitor with manufacture date - October 2008.

The OEM part number is AWU1347 and no longer available. The substitute part number is AWU1379.

Would anyone have observations or an opinion whether the "substitute" part is truly worthy of the PRO-141FD as it pertains to pure performance and reliability

Also, is there anyone in Southern California -- I live in the San Diego area -- that is recommended for this specific work (I've perused Pioneer's website for authorized service centers)?

Cost is not the priority at this point...OEM performance and meticulous repair supersedes it.

Thanks for your consideration and attention.


Very best regards,

Sam

I used ship Jimmy.com to by power supply parts for my PRO151 not too long ago and installed it myself with a friend(search this thread's Dec- January posts). Check them out to see if they can help... Also it seems the PRO141 and 151 use the same PDP.

http://www.tvserviceparts.com/AWU1379.html

http://www.tvserviceparts.com/AWU1347.html

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #27513 of 30632 Old 04-22-2012, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank J Manrique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Redlands, Ca. USA
Posts: 5,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Frank,

Time to do some math.

I've heard others comment about how inefficient plasmas are and have to ask myself if it really amounts to much.

Get one of those watt meters and measure how much power it actually uses. Then multiply it out based on your local power cost. I'd bet that it doesn't cost nearly as much as people think.

...actually it is the amount of time the f151 is been used what concerns me the most; is just too good of a display device for everyday, casual tv viewing.

Have greatly enjoyed this toy all these years, let me tell you...far more than I originally anticipated...and definitely is a superb tool to use in determining the quality-or lack thereof-of source materials.
Without a doubt, G9 KUROs are the best tv sets ever produced...and I thought I'd never say that of a Pioneer product...

-THTS
Frank J Manrique is offline  
post #27514 of 30632 Old 04-22-2012, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Frank,

Time to do some math.

I've heard others comment about how inefficient plasmas are and have to ask myself if it really amounts to much.

Get one of those watt meters and measure how much power it actually uses. Then multiply it out based on your local power cost. I'd bet that it doesn't cost nearly as much as people think.


Speaking of which, has anyone ever measured the power draw in power saver mode 1 or 2? I have a Pro-101 and don't see much if any difference in the picture when switching on or off?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #27515 of 30632 Old 04-22-2012, 07:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,947
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank J Manrique View Post

...actually it is the amount of time the f151 is been used what concerns me the most;

This should not matter as the display was meant to be used If anything were to fail, it would be the power supply. Easy DIY fix. Just buy a spare power supply and stick it in the closet until needed.
D-Nice is offline  
post #27516 of 30632 Old 04-22-2012, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank J Manrique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Redlands, Ca. USA
Posts: 5,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

This should not matter as the display was meant to be used If anything were to fail, it would be the power supply. Easy DIY fix. Just buy a spare power supply and stick it in the closet until needed.

...great idea! But where would I be able to buy an spare power supply? Thanks in advance!...

-THTS
Frank J Manrique is offline  
post #27517 of 30632 Old 04-22-2012, 10:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank J Manrique View Post

...great idea! But where would I be able to buy an spare power supply? Thanks in advance!...

-THTS

You only need to look few posts above, in fact just above your prior post, for such info
Johnla is offline  
post #27518 of 30632 Old 04-22-2012, 10:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post

Speaking of which, has anyone ever measured the power draw in power saver mode 1 or 2? I have a Pro-101 and don't see much if any difference in the picture when switching on or off?

bob

Check this-

http://kuro9g.blogspot.com/2009/01/p...nsumption.html

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #27519 of 30632 Old 04-22-2012, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

I used ship Jimmy.com to by power supply parts for my PRO151 not too long ago and installed it myself with a friend(search this thread's Dec- January posts). Check them out to see if they can help... Also it seems the PRO141 and 151 use the same PDP.

http://www.tvserviceparts.com/AWU1379.html

http://www.tvserviceparts.com/AWU1347.html

You paid that much?

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #27520 of 30632 Old 04-23-2012, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jmmesch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Desert SW
Posts: 1,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

You paid that much?

This is where to get one

My favorite toy
jmmesch is offline  
post #27521 of 30632 Old 04-24-2012, 12:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

You paid that much?

Nope ...i've never bought PDPs before but wanted to show you were you could get them. Not cheap for sure, but maybe Pioneer has some for less?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmesch View Post

This is where to get one

+1 ...Thanks to you jmmsech, i bought my power supply early this year and installed it with help from a friend and still works just fine. Saved me hundreds of $$$ by not using a service dealer. As DIY project, its failry easy but definately a two-man job.

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #27522 of 30632 Old 04-24-2012, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
t-town oil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK (via western New York)
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
finally got my 151fd calibrated and i must say that i cant believe how far off i was trying to do it by myself with multiple caliration blu-rays. jeff meier from accucal made a stop by on his most recent tour and he was a joy to work with. he is extremely intelligent and very thorough, which equates to my kuro looking finer than i ever thought possible. the isf day and night settings look wonderful, highly reccommended.
gus738 likes this.
t-town oil is offline  
post #27523 of 30632 Old 04-24-2012, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by t-town oil View Post

finally got my 151fd calibrated and i must say that i cant believe how far off i was trying to do it by myself with multiple caliration blu-rays. jeff meier from accucal made a stop by on his most recent tour and he was a joy to work with. he is extremely intelligent and very thorough, which equates to my kuro looking finer than i ever thought possible. the isf day and night settings look wonderful, highly reccommended.

Good for you !
Jeff must have stoped by my house after he did your calibration , I live near Tulsa , Jeff has done 3 Pioneer displays for me and does great work on the audio also .

Mark
qwknuf6 is offline  
post #27524 of 30632 Old 04-24-2012, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
t-town oil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK (via western New York)
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Very small world
t-town oil is offline  
post #27525 of 30632 Old 04-24-2012, 01:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,772
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by t-town oil View Post

finally got my 151fd calibrated and i must say that i cant believe how far off i was trying to do it by myself with multiple caliration blu-rays. jeff meier from accucal (UMR at AVS)made a stop by on his most recent tour and he was a joy to work with.

Thanks for your calibration report. I've added a link to it in the flat panel (post #2) lists that are linked in the signature area at the bottom of my post.
htwaits is offline  
post #27526 of 30632 Old 04-24-2012, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank J Manrique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Redlands, Ca. USA
Posts: 5,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmesch View Post

This is where to get one

...ok, just ordered one; will put it away in a safe place...just in case (not that am looking forward to change it anytime soon!).

Any points on how to DIY it?...

-THTS
Frank J Manrique is offline  
post #27527 of 30632 Old 04-24-2012, 02:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,772
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post

Good for you !
Jeff must have stoped by my house after he did your calibration , I live near Tulsa , Jeff has done 3 Pioneer displays for me and does great work on the audio also .

Mark

Thanks for your calibration report. I've added a link to it in the flat panel (post #2) lists that are linked in the signature area at the bottom of my post.
htwaits is offline  
post #27528 of 30632 Old 04-25-2012, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank J Manrique View Post

...ok, just ordered one; will put it away in a safe place...just in case (not that am looking forward to change it anytime soon!).

Any points on how to DIY it?...

-THTS

My experience might help ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...ostcount=26914

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #27529 of 30632 Old 04-25-2012, 04:30 PM
Member
 
Thompson25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, so this isn't exactly on topic, but this must be said. Game of Thrones on Blu ray looks absolutely phenomenal on the 151. It is without a doubt a wonderful example of what this TV can do. Wow
Thompson25 is offline  
post #27530 of 30632 Old 04-25-2012, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank J Manrique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Redlands, Ca. USA
Posts: 5,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

My experience might help ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...ostcount=26914

...thanks a lot! Will keep it handy just in case...

-THTS
Frank J Manrique is offline  
post #27531 of 30632 Old 04-25-2012, 07:49 PM
Member
 
c1ferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

I used ship Jimmy.com to by power supply parts for my PRO151 not too long ago and installed it myself with a friend(search this thread's Dec- January posts). Check them out to see if they can help... Also it seems the PRO141 and 151 use the same PDP.

http://www.tvserviceparts.com/AWU1379.html

http://www.tvserviceparts.com/AWU1347.html


dmusoke,

Thank you for the reply and links

Vbr,
Sam

c1ferrari is offline  
post #27532 of 30632 Old 04-26-2012, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thompson25 View Post

Okay, so this isn't exactly on topic, but this must be said. Game of Thrones on Blu ray looks absolutely phenomenal on the 151. It is without a doubt a wonderful example of what this TV can do. Wow

+1!

The picture is really amazing. The broadcast looks good too. l love watching it every sunday. The king of the north!

4 years running. Will we ever see this level of quality in a display ever again? OLED maby?

Regardless, the kuro is the king of the north!

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #27533 of 30632 Old 04-26-2012, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Speaking of quality. Worstbuy was playing star wars a new hope on a VT30 yesterday when i was there. It looked REALLY good for a movie that came out in 77. The VT30 played it well.

Now i want to buy the boxset cause im sure it will look even better on my 151. But that damn price doesn't want to go down.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #27534 of 30632 Old 04-26-2012, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank J Manrique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Redlands, Ca. USA
Posts: 5,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

Now i want to buy the boxset cause im sure it will look even better on my 151. But that damn price doesn't want to go down.

...my daughter gave me the SW boxed set for Christmas and on my 151 all of the movies looks incredibly good. But indeed was a pricy gift!...

-THTS
Frank J Manrique is offline  
post #27535 of 30632 Old 04-26-2012, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
[Irishman]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank J Manrique View Post


...my daughter gave me the SW boxed set for Christmas and on my 151 all of the movies looks incredibly good. But indeed was a pricy gift!...

-THTS

But well worth it! I preordered mine and drove across town to pick it up.

[Irishman] is offline  
post #27536 of 30632 Old 04-26-2012, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Are these the original releases or the more recent "enhanced" ones?
prepress is offline  
post #27537 of 30632 Old 04-26-2012, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
[Irishman]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by prepress View Post

Are these the original releases or the more recent "enhanced" ones?

The original releases are no longer available to buy, certainly not on Blu Ray.

[Irishman] is offline  
post #27538 of 30632 Old 04-26-2012, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by [Irishman] View Post

The original releases are no longer available to buy, certainly not on Blu Ray.

So these are the Special Edition ones. I have those on DVD and am satisfied.

The original releases, on the other hand, I might consider should they appear.
prepress is offline  
post #27539 of 30632 Old 04-26-2012, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank J Manrique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Redlands, Ca. USA
Posts: 5,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by prepress View Post

Are these the original releases or the more recent "enhanced" ones?

The first 3 SW flicks were redone by Lucas in the late '90s; that is what one gets with the latest BR boxed set...but I don't mind that much since I have a ton of previous video relases, including the grossly-priced laserdisc boxed set (try well over $200 that was the price of admission in the '90s for that one! )...

-THTS
Frank J Manrique is offline  
post #27540 of 30632 Old 04-27-2012, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
zlikezebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had my 151 now for about 4 years and probably put about 1,000 hrs on it. An issue I had nearly from the beginning but it now seems to be become more prevalent is that it freezes when I try to power it up. The little light on the left turns blue but not picture appears and the TV is completely unresponsive. In fact I can't switch it off (meaning I can't get the power light to turn red) either.

The only solution is for me to completely unplug it. This happens now in about 25% of the cases I try to switch it on.

Any ideas what it could be. The TV is as it come in the box (no firmware updates etc.).

Thanks

ZlikeZebra
zlikezebra is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off