The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 919 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27541 of 30627 Old 04-27-2012, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by zlikezebra View Post

I had my 151 now for about 4 years and probably put about 1,000 hrs on it. An issue I had nearly from the beginning but it now seems to be become more prevalent is that it freezes when I try to power it up. The little light on the left turns blue but not picture appears and the TV is completely unresponsive. In fact I can't switch it off (meaning I can't get the power light to turn red) either.

The only solution is for me to completely unplug it. This happens now in about 25% of the cases I try to switch it on.

Any ideas what it could be. The TV is as it come in the box (no firmware updates etc.).

Thanks

ZlikeZebra

Might try a firmware update.
jmschnur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27542 of 30627 Old 04-27-2012, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jmmesch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Desert SW
Posts: 1,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I agree, do a firmware update. It could be the old Tuner issue, or myriad other issues.

My favorite toy
jmmesch is offline  
post #27543 of 30627 Old 04-27-2012, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank J Manrique View Post

The first 3 SW flicks were redone by Lucas in the late '90s; that is what one gets with the latest BR boxed set...but I don't mind that much since I have a ton of previous video relases, including the grossly-priced laserdisc boxed set (try well over $200 that was the price of admission in the '90s for that one! )...

-THTS

There were the initial LD releases, then the THX LD versions, then the "Special Edition" DVDs. I have the LD ones.

The BDs will look great on the Kuro, but I'd still prefer at least the THX-enhanced originals, not the more recent SE ones with the added stuff.
prepress is offline  
post #27544 of 30627 Old 04-27-2012, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
baryburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I found a kuro lx5090,it's 2.5 year old and it's 2000$.I can buy 50vt30 or sony hx820 with same price.But I'm fell in love with with kuro's pictures on the forums.But I'm little confused about get pio or new pany with warranty.

3D,smart,media player etc. isn't important for me,most important thing for me is black levels and picture quality.I have got some doubts.The problem which I read on forum "reddish tint" is real problem or only few.Is black levels change over time ? The kuro I found used 9000 hours.Is black levels will be same like first day or changed ?

This is most important thing for me because I have panasonic px70 and its 5 year old and it's black become a grey.I'm waiting your comments...

PS:I'm living Europa not US,maybe some model names be different...
baryburton is offline  
post #27545 of 30627 Old 04-27-2012, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Jano18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by baryburton View Post

Hi guys,

I found a kuro lx5090,it's 2.5 year old and it's 2000$.I can buy 50vt30 or sony hx820 with same price.But I'm fell in love with with kuro's pictures on the forums.But I'm little confused about get pio or new pany with warranty.

3D,smart,media player etc. isn't important for me,most important thing for me is black levels and picture quality.I have got some doubts.The problem which I read on forum "reddish tint" is real problem or only few.Is black levels change over time ?

This is most important thing for me because I have panasonic px70 and its 5 year old and it's black become a grey.I'm waiting your comments...

PS:I'm living Europa not US,maybe some model names be different...

If the best picture quality & black level are what you are after and don't care about 3D or streaming I would go with the Kuro.
gus738 likes this.
Jano18 is offline  
post #27546 of 30627 Old 04-27-2012, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank J Manrique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Redlands, Ca. USA
Posts: 5,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What 'da 'ya know...the new spare PS for the 151 was delivered today (ordered it two days ago)!

Wow, the box it came in is quite substantial in size; hadn't anticipated such. Oh, well--will put it away now...

-THTS
Frank J Manrique is offline  
post #27547 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 12:47 AM
Member
 
bjieyoub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you guys know of any good online resources to find a new or used Pro151 for sale, outside of eBay that is...
bjieyoub is offline  
post #27548 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Jano18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjieyoub View Post

Do you guys know of any good online resources to find a new or used Pro151 for sale, outside of eBay that is...

Try Videogon & Craigslist. You can search a website called all of Craigslist if you are willing to travel. I personally bought a brand new PRO-141FD & a used PDP-5020FD that I converted to an "E-Lite" off of Craigslist locally. I paid $3500 for the 141 with zero hours in the box & $1150 for the 5020 that had 5340 hours on it. On Monday I went with one of my employees to pick up a PRO-151FD. He paid $2000 and it had 10,000 hours on it. As you can see the deals are out there, I have no issues with buying a used one for the right price.
Jano18 is offline  
post #27549 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
kaosv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I guy on here just had one listed for weeks. 151fd in Long Island. The problem though isn't used TV's , more shipping and locations. Nobody or at least most private owners do not want to ship them. (for obvious reasons)

So you are restricted to your area only - and how far will you drive to pick it up.
PM me I'll give you his name not sure he still has it though , but asking won't hurt.
kaosv1 is offline  
post #27550 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 11:36 AM
Member
 
bjieyoub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaosv1 View Post

I guy on here just had one listed for weeks. 151fd in Long Island. The problem though isn't used TV's , more shipping and locations. Nobody or at least most private owners do not want to ship them. (for obvious reasons)

So you are restricted to your area only - and how far will you drive to pick it up.
PM me I'll give you his name not sure he still has it though , but asking won't hurt.

Thanks for the responses guys! I'm located in the Bay Area, so no luck on anything close to me yet on Videogon or All of Craigslist. Guess I'll just keep a close watch on the classifieds.

The 151 was the last elite Pioneer made, right?
bjieyoub is offline  
post #27551 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Jano18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjieyoub View Post


Thanks for the responses guys! I'm located in the Bay Area, so no luck on anything close to me yet on Videogon or All of Craigslist. Guess I'll just keep a close watch on the classifieds.

The 151 was the last elite Pioneer made, right?

Yes, but you should keep your options open. If you want a 60" 9th Gen Kuro you have four options; PRO-151FD, PRO-141FD, KRP-600M & PDP-6020FD. All of which can be ISF calibrated which is what separates the Non-Elites from the Elites. The KRP-600M can be unlocked by changing the region & the PDP-6020FD can be unlocked with a simple board swap. I have 6 of these boards available for sale for $150 each shipped. They are impossible to find these days due to everyone doing these conversions. If you or anyone else is interested in a board PM me for more info. The PRO-141FD (which I have) and the KRP-600M are monitors so they don't come with speakers, stand or a built in OTA tuner. So consider that when searching for a Kuro. Good luck hunting!
Jano18 is offline  
post #27552 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
neo22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have a KRp500m but am looking to go larger. I found a good deal on a 6020. Would it be worth doing that and getting the elite upgrade part? Just curious as I don't want to downgrade in quality!

Thanks
neo22 is offline  
post #27553 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 02:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,772
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo22 View Post

I currently have a KRp500m but am looking to go larger. I found a good deal on a 6020. Would it be worth doing that and getting the elite upgrade part? Just curious as I don't want to downgrade in quality!

Thanks

If the 6020 is sound and you add the new board with a calibration, I don't see how the overall picture quality could be worse. The only possibilities might be a very slight difference in black levels and a slight difference in sharpness depending on where you sit and what sources you watch.

Among the very best traveling calibrators (for Kuro displays) are D-Nice and UMR. You can contact them for an opinion and/or a calibration.
htwaits is offline  
post #27554 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Jano18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo22 View Post

I currently have a KRp500m but am looking to go larger. I found a good deal on a 6020. Would it be worth doing that and getting the elite upgrade part? Just curious as I don't want to downgrade in quality!

Thanks

Absolutely! It unlocks all of the Elite picture adjustments, modes & allows you to unlock ISF Day, Night & Auto with controlcal. There would be no downgrade in quality it would be just like a PRO-151FD. I converted my 6020 before I sold it to get my 141 & my 5020 that I have in my bedroom. PM me if you would like to purchase one or for more info. You won't be able to find one anywhere, trust me.
Jano18 is offline  
post #27555 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
caunyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Be patient and you will find a 60" kuro on cl. They don't pop up everyday, but will show up occasionally, like in Los Angeles on like monthly basis
caunyd is offline  
post #27556 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
caunyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a 6020 for $1350. A couple of months ago there was a 141 that had been calibrated by d-nice for $3300, while not a steal, it's a reasonable price and somewhat a bargain
caunyd is offline  
post #27557 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 03:44 PM
Member
 
bjieyoub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caunyd View Post

Be patient and you will find a 60" kuro on cl. They don't pop up everyday, but will show up occasionally, like in Los Angeles on like monthly basis

I think I might have found one in my vicinity. I'm praying it's still available. It's funny, I recently bought a 60inch Sharp Elite upgrading from a pioneer 5020 (wanted more screen real estate). While the new Sharp is a great TV, I'm really struggling with getting to grips with looking at a LCD picture. I'm just hard-wired for plasmas I think. Hope I don't end up too much upside down trying to sell the sharp and replace it with the Kuro.
bjieyoub is offline  
post #27558 of 30627 Old 05-05-2012, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Jano18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjieyoub View Post

Do you guys know of any good online resources to find a new or used Pro151 for sale, outside of eBay that is...

I know you asked outside of eBay but there is a new in box 6020 for $4200 in Pomona. You might be able to make a cash deal with him and pick it up.
Jano18 is offline  
post #27559 of 30627 Old 05-07-2012, 01:25 AM
Senior Member
 
caunyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jano18 View Post

I know you asked outside of eBay but there is a new in box 6020 for $4200 in Pomona. You might be able to make a cash deal with him and pick it up.

$4200 for a 6020 is way expensive. Even when the 6020s were new in the store, they were around $4,000 at BB. I got my 141 new (when they were still being manufactured) for $4400. For me, a bargain 6020 is around $2000-2500. In the $3000 range, I would expect a 6020 to be new. But that's just my value system.
caunyd is offline  
post #27560 of 30627 Old 05-07-2012, 05:11 PM
Member
 
bjieyoub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thought I had a prospect near San Francisco, but I haven't gotten a return email from him, so he probably already sold it. DAMMIT! Anybody up for trading a Sharp Pro60x5fd for a Pro-151fd in the Bay Area?
bjieyoub is offline  
post #27561 of 30627 Old 05-07-2012, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
avfanatic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What is a good price now for a used 6020? What is the lowest you have seen them?
avfanatic1 is offline  
post #27562 of 30627 Old 05-07-2012, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobertR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quick question:

Is it safe to use the Windex Electronics Wipes on the Kuro? Anyone bad effects on the AR coating?
RobertR1 is offline  
post #27563 of 30627 Old 05-07-2012, 09:29 PM
Member
 
1forsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 38
^^^^NO....i would not do that. Distilled water and the microfiber cloth that came with it is a better choice.....
gus738 likes this.
1forsnow is offline  
post #27564 of 30627 Old 05-07-2012, 11:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,772
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1forsnow View Post

^^^^NO....i would not do that. Distilled water and the microfiber cloth that came with it is a better choice.....

... and/or larger optical grade microfiber cloths.
htwaits is offline  
post #27565 of 30627 Old 05-08-2012, 08:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,947
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by avfanatic1 View Post

What is a good price now for a used 6020? What is the lowest you have seen them?

Around $1.8K
D-Nice is offline  
post #27566 of 30627 Old 05-08-2012, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Jano18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by avfanatic1 View Post

What is a good price now for a used 6020? What is the lowest you have seen them?

I have seen as low as $1500. There is one in the AVS classifieds right now for $1500.
Jano18 is offline  
post #27567 of 30627 Old 05-08-2012, 10:33 AM
Member
 
Zoich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sad day- I sold my condo and (closing at the end of the month). At first I made it clear that the Elite 151FD is not for sale (buyers are empty nesters). They asked me to leave the bracket, I said sure. I am a nice guy and I told him how it was actully not that simple to get the bracket installed and leveled. I also told him I'd leave him the wires since they have already been fished through the walls. (the TV hangs above the fireplace). Eventually they countered and asked me to leave the TV to meet my price. My agent said do it, you can find 60 in tvs for 1,500 at costco. I told her I spent over 6,000 for the TV! Anyway, good luck to the new owner.
Zoich is offline  
post #27568 of 30627 Old 05-08-2012, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
blb1215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
D-Nice,
I send you a couple of emails in the last few days to get an update if you are still going to be in my area this month. Can you check your email and let me know.

Thanks,
Barry
blb1215 is online now  
post #27569 of 30627 Old 05-08-2012, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
syswei's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 1,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avfanatic1 View Post

What is a good price now for a used 6020? What is the lowest you have seen them?

There was a post in this very thread from April
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post21892892
...$1750 for a 151FD with 3400 hours. List for that was $6500 vs $5500 for the 6020, so a proportionately attractive price for a 6020 would be $1480, similar to what Jano18 suggested.
syswei is offline  
post #27570 of 30627 Old 05-08-2012, 02:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mathelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoich View Post

Sad day- I sold my condo and (closing at the end of the month). At first I made it clear that the Elite 151FD is not for sale (buyers are empty nesters). They asked me to leave the bracket, I said sure. I am a nice guy and I told him how it was actully not that simple to get the bracket installed and leveled. I also told him I'd leave him the wires since they have already been fished through the walls. (the TV hangs above the fireplace). Eventually they countered and asked me to leave the TV to meet my price. My agent said do it, you can find 60 in tvs for 1,500 at costco. I told her I spent over 6,000 for the TV! Anyway, good luck to the new owner.

Did you try countering by saying you'd replace it with a $1,500 tv from costco?
Mathelo is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off