The Official Pioneer 9G Kuro Settings/Issues Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 10824 Old 08-19-2008, 10:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
The_Hun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i better hear alot of thanks for that disk.
The_Hun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 10824 Old 08-19-2008, 10:20 PM
Senior Member
 
davewolfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice: Any update on releasing your software that allows access to the xx20 firmware menus?
davewolfs is offline  
post #543 of 10824 Old 08-19-2008, 10:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
PARASITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys my 151 color temp is +green out of the box. I got some suggestions from Jeff and just using some patterns came up with a config that is pretty good. Give these a try and see what you think. This will do until Jeff comes in septemeber to make this puppy sing.

Picture:
AV Selection: Pure
Contrast: 38
Brightness: -1
Color: +2
Tint: 0
Sharpness: -15


Pro Adjust

Pure Cinema
Film Mode: advance
Text Optimization: off

Intelligence: Off


Picture Detail:
DRE Picture: Low " low is the only way to pass above white "
Black Level: Off
ACL: Off
Enhancer Mode: 1
Gamma: 2


Color Detail:
Color Temp: Manual
R High +2
G High -2
B High +4
R Low 0
G Low 0
B Low 0

CTI: Off

Color Management
R 0
Y 0
G -1
C 0
B 0
M -1

Color Space: 2


Noise Reduction:

3DNR: off
Field NR: off
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off

Screen Size: full " dot by dot if viewing a 1:78 program "
Power Save Mode: Off
Orbiter: Mode 2

try these out and see what you think, but remember the only way to get the best out of these sets is to hire a great calibrator. My suggestion would be to start here http://accucalhd.com/index.htm
PARASITE is offline  
post #544 of 10824 Old 08-19-2008, 10:47 PM
Senior Member
 
avs2avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make sure to post before and after pics.
avs2avs is offline  
post #545 of 10824 Old 08-19-2008, 10:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
PARASITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cant do that, my camera sucks major butt.
PARASITE is offline  
post #546 of 10824 Old 08-19-2008, 11:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post

Are there any downsides to leaving text optimizer ON permanently with Film Mode set to Advance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Nope.

I finally finished up with 150 hours of the break in DVD and was able to hook up and watch my 151FD.

FYI, if you leave Text Optimization set to ON, with film mode Advance with 1080i 3:2 flagged content, you will get some kind of resolution loss in at least the bottom 1/8th of the screen.

I tried this with the HQV Blu-ray test disc for Film Resolution Loss Test. I sent this to the 151FD @ 1080i via my PS3. It locked the cadence on the top corner boxes (alternating black/white lines), but showed tearing on the bottom boxes.

The Advance mode does indeed seem quite "advanced" from a de-interlacing perspective. I am going to leave my Text Optimization to Off to make sure I get the full resolution from 1080i film sources, and just live with the occasional text scroll hiccups.
Sam S is offline  
post #547 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 12:10 AM
Senior Member
 
avs2avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARASITE View Post

Cant do that, my camera sucks major butt.

Even the most basic camera can capture plasma images fairly well.

No one is expecting the photos to show exactly what you see on a plasma, but if you keep the settings and the "environment" the same, we should be able to see some difference in the before and after shots, if any.
avs2avs is offline  
post #548 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 02:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ddgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In A Government Yard In SacTown
Posts: 1,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Hun View Post

Got My Pioneer Demo Disk in the Mail today, this blu ray is jsut sweet. Totally shows off what this set can do. Best $20 i ever spent.

20 bones for the demo disc??? They should include that with the set, after all it would be free advertising for them... People would be going - holy crap, I've got to get me one of these...
ddgtr is offline  
post #549 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 02:56 AM
Member
 
zipflint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I ask where you got your demo disc from? Is it one of the new(ish?) 2008 ones? I saw one on ebay but it shot up WAY past what I'm willing to spend on something that really should be included with such an expensive display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddgtr View Post

20 bones for the demo disc??? They should include that with the set, after all it would be free advertising for them... People would be going - holy crap, I've got to get me one of these...

zipflint is offline  
post #550 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
The_Hun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i stated in an earlier post where i Purcashed it.. 1 page before this one...
The_Hun is offline  
post #551 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks, The_Hun! Now everyone's going to be watching his auctions!

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #552 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dahlsim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,996
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Hun View Post

Got My Pioneer Demo Disk in the Mail today, this blu ray is jsut sweet. Totally shows off what this set can do. Best $20 i ever spent.

Good for you Hun. I have that one as well and they sometimes are sold right on here AVS in the classifed. It has a nice focus on showing off black levels.

Family DVD Collection
Insider thread last question? R.I.P.
Nothing will ever be attempted if all possible objections must first be overcome.
Samuel Johnson 1709-1784, British Author
Dahlsim is offline  
post #553 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
ikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Corona Del Mar, CA
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
d-nice:

i bought calman and an i1-pro based on your usage and have to tell you - calman is terrible. HCFR is a much better program - it may not be quite as accurate but it is easy to use and does a great job.
ikeb is offline  
post #554 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikeb View Post

d-nice:

i bought calman and an i1-pro based on your usage and have to tell you - calman is terrible.

terrible in what way? It's completely different than HCFR that you are use to. However, it is MUCH better once you learn how to use it.
D-Nice is offline  
post #555 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
ikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Corona Del Mar, CA
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the interface is terrible - changing the settings is a pain - the overall layout is terrible and it crashes on my xp laptop.

going from 1 screen to the next - gets confusing and after i changed the target gamma to 2.2 (from the default of 2.5) - down she went!!
ikeb is offline  
post #556 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
fctyson0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Pioneer 5020FD/6020FD Reference Settings (Can be used with (after) or without the recommended break-in procedure)

Picture:
AV Selection: Movie
Contrast: 38
Brightness: -1
Color: -4
Tint: R1
Sharpness: -15

Pure Cinema

Film Mode: Advance
Text Optimization: Off



Power Save Mode: Off

Orbiter: Mode 2

d-nice i am new to this plasma tv and want to know if these are the best settings to run right out of the box?and where do i get this so called break in dvd.any other advice would be great shoot me a pm if you have time thanks for any help
fctyson0 is offline  
post #557 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikeb View Post

the interface is terrible - changing the settings is a pain - the overall layout is terrible and it crashes on my xp laptop.

going from 1 screen to the next - gets confusing and after i changed the target gamma to 2.2 (from the default of 2.5) - down she went!!

Sounds like a hardware issue on your side. I've run CalMAN on XP and Vista with ZERO crashes.

Interface like and/or dislikes are a personal preference. Point blank, CalMAN performs better than HCFR...especially with the i1pro. This has been objectively proven numerous times. Whcih is more important, asthetics or performance and accuracy?
D-Nice is offline  
post #558 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by fctyson0 View Post

d-nice i am new to this plasma tv and want to know if these are the best settings to run right out of the box?and where do i get this so called break in dvd.any other advice would be great shoot me a pm if you have time thanks for any help

If you have the 5020 or 6020, then yes.

If you are going to run the break-in DVD, the link is embedded in the break-in settings (underlined).
D-Nice is offline  
post #559 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
highheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Whcih is more important, asthetics or performance and accuracy?

In the world of blood glucose monitors for diabetics, the major patient concern is EASE OF USE. If they aren't using the meters and are leaving them at home, then performance and accuracy don't mean much.

If you want to promote a new software to an expanding audience (with less calibration experience) , it better be easy to use and bug-free or people will just lose interest.
highheater is offline  
post #560 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by highheater View Post

In the world of blood glucose monitors for diabetics, the major patient concern is EASE OF USE. If they aren't using the meters and are leaving them at home, then performance and accuracy don't mean much.

Asthetics and EASE OF USE are completely different.

CalMAN has four user levels for "Eae of Use":
  • Beginner
  • Intermediate
  • Advance
  • Designer

If you are new to CalMAN, you should start with "Beginner" or "Intermediate" until you become familar with the software.
D-Nice is offline  
post #561 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
highheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

If you are new to CalMAN, you should start with "Beginner" or "Intermediate" until you become familar with the software.

Good advice.
highheater is offline  
post #562 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 10:44 AM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

CalMAN has four user levels for "Eae of Use":
  • Beginner
  • Intermediate
  • Advance
  • Designer

If you are new to CalMAN, you should start with "Beginner" or "Intermediate" until you become familar with the software.

They should change it...

  • Beginner
  • Intermediate
  • Advance
  • Designer
  • D-Nice
jrcorwin is offline  
post #563 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 11:08 AM
Member
 
Gixxer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice!

Is there any way to make digital SD content passed to a 111FD via a s-video connection look better?

I have an older 3100 dish net reciever feeding the panel SD channels over s-video running your current D65 reference settings and I must say the PQ is sadly lacking. Any ideas?
Gixxer1 is offline  
post #564 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
ikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Corona Del Mar, CA
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whether you like windows or not - windows was created in part as a standard interface to make everything easier for the end user. Thus, there is a reasonable expectation on the part of the end user that all software will be standardized - menus - windows etc.

Calman's software deviates from this standard and creates a steeper learning curve than is necessary. Take a look at HCFR - I'm not suggesting that it is more accurate than calman nor am I saying that it has as many functions. - but it is a piece of cake to use because that software meets the reasonable expectations of an end user because of the interface's implementation.



Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Sounds like a hardware issue on your side. I've run CalMAN on XP and Vista with ZERO crashes.

Interface like and/or dislikes are a personal preference. Point blank, CalMAN performs better than HCFR...especially with the i1pro. This has been objectively proven numerous times. Whcih is more important, asthetics or performance and accuracy?

ikeb is offline  
post #565 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 51
im using DTV with svideo to a 111. i was using dnice's setting for d75 in sport mode, but now am using performance with d65 settings posted here http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post14473621

sport with d75 was good, but harsh at times, the new alternative performance at d65 is what ive settled into.

with both, i found sd to be very watchable, but that is more of the 111's good scaling properties. i was expecting much worse.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #566 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Take your dislikes to CalMANs creators: Derek and Bill. Both post in the Display Calibration forum.

Better yet, they have their own forum which has an area specifically for "Recommendations".


Quote:
Originally Posted by ikeb View Post

Whether you like windows or not - windows was created in part as a standard interface to make everything easier for the end user. Thus, there is a reasonable expectation on the part of the end user that all software will be standardized - menus - windows etc.

Calman's software deviates from this standard and creates a steeper learning curve than is necessary. Take a look at HCFR - I'm not suggesting that it is more accurate than calman nor am I saying that it has as many functions. - but it is a piece of cake to use because that software meets the reasonable expectations of an end user because of the interface's implementation.

D-Nice is offline  
post #567 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gixxer1 View Post

D-Nice!

Is there any way to make digital SD content passed to a 111FD via a s-video connection look better?

I don't know as I do not use any of the analog connections.
D-Nice is offline  
post #568 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 88
ISF Professionals who can calibrate the Pioneer 9G Non-Elites (PDP-5020FD/PDP-6020FD)

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1058269

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #569 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gamelover360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orebro, Sweden!!!
Posts: 2,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-nice...

Why are you recommending full versus Dot by dot? Is it for watching non 1080p sources that full holds an advantage. That must mean that with 1080p sources that Full basically becomes dot by dot for all practical purposes.

Thanks.


Also, is it true that DRE picture must be set to low to pass whiter than white? I read that in a post from Parasite a handful of posts ago, and that seems very odd that DRE picture would effect whiter than white.
gamelover360 is offline  
post #570 of 10824 Old 08-20-2008, 03:45 PM
Member
 
sbwtwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CalMAN Pre-beginner

With that out-of-the-way, I need to ask a basic question. If I want to DIY my calibration for the 111 and I procure CalMAN with a Chroma-5, what else do I need (apart from common sense) to complete a calibration?

1. Do I need a specific disc to accompany the software and meter or is this all included in the software? And if so,
2. Do I need a specific player to offer a usable image on the 111?

You see, it's not enough that software has been developed for the absolute beginner/dummy. I don't even know what else I need.

--Scooter
sbwtwo is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off