The Official Pioneer 9G Kuro Settings/Issues Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRollTide View Post

These breakin settings are a bit different than what was posted a couple of weeks ago. I ran my breakin on the old settings for 150 hours. Should I run for a few hours at these settings? If so, for how much longer?

They are not that much different. The only changes were the A/V mode and color setting. If you used the prior settings, you are ok.
D-Nice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherhole View Post

Wow, D-Nice, the settings before and after break-in REALLY changed!

I'll have to check out those settings and see how they work on my 151!

Thanks again.

Oh and... Subscribed!!

Yes they have. I was surprised that I actually had to use the Green High/Low sliders. I've never had to use them before.
D-Nice is offline  
post #33 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:10 PM
Member
 
uniquetreatone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who needs a remote calibration(141) when we have D-Nice.lol
Thanks D!
uniquetreatone is offline  
post #34 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:15 PM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice...

Will your calibration information on the non-Elites be posted in this thread or in the owner's thread once completed?
jrcorwin is offline  
post #35 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 14,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 386
As I explained in the other Kuro thread, I don't have a PDP-6020FD yet but I am very close to getting one. Consequently, I would appreciate a playing lesson as to how the break in should be done without eliminating watching TV, too. Is there a recommended schedule for doing the break in, such as leaving the TV running the break in disk or slide show over night and using the break in settings?
gwsat is online now  
post #36 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I just ran the break-in settings while I slept or when the whole family was out of the house. That's about the only time my wife would tolerate it on.

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #37 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:38 PM
Member
 
Chem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, this may come as a dumb question but what is D55, D65, D75?
Chem is offline  
post #38 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:40 PM
 
jrcorwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chem View Post

Sorry, this may come as a dumb question but what is D55, D65, D75?

Don't worry, I don't have a clue either. I'm sure one our incredibly helpful members here will explain it.
jrcorwin is offline  
post #39 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chem View Post

Sorry, this may come as a dumb question but what is D55, D65, D75?

They are reference white points. Old black and white films are best viewed with D55(5500 Kelvin color temperature). Current source material use D65 (6504 Kelvin color temperature). D75 is just a higher color temperature that is more pleasing to average "sports fans".
D-Nice is offline  
post #40 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcorwin View Post

D-Nice...

Will your calibration information on the non-Elites be posted in this thread or in the owner's thread once completed?

SM settings will probably be posted here.
D-Nice is offline  
post #41 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 02:19 PM
Newbie
 
Cos16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question,

If you want to use D65 settings for movies, regular content etc. and then want to use D75 for sports. How do you do this. Do you program the different settings in two different inputs, then switch your HDMI between them, or is there another way?

J.
Cos16 is offline  
post #42 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
fallenbuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cos16 View Post

Quick question,

If you want to use D65 settings for movies, regular content etc. and then want to use D75 for sports. How do you do this. Do you program the different settings in two different inputs, then switch your HDMI between them, or is there another way?

J.

D-Nice's D65 settings call for Pure mode. D-Nice's D55 settings call for Movie mode. I'm guessing the D75 settings will use one of the other modes (possibly Sport).

You can set each mode differently, though the mode is universal across all inputs. Just swap to the mode you want for the content you're watching.
fallenbuddha is offline  
post #43 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 02:29 PM
Member
 
Gixxer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey D,

I used the old 8G break-in settings with Evangelo2"s DVD on my 111FD because you did not have the new 9G settings up when I purchased my TV, so my question is can I use your current "9G reference settings" on my panel?
Gixxer1 is offline  
post #44 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gixxer1 View Post

Hey D,

I used the old 8G break-in settings with Evangelo2"s DVD on my 111FD because you did not have the new 9G settings up when I purchased my TV, so my question is can I use your current "9G reference settings" on my panel?

Yes
D-Nice is offline  
post #45 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
The_Hun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so d-nice, when can i pay you to come to my house and calibrate my tv?
The_Hun is offline  
post #46 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
D-nice i would like to know why the change in settings when someone choose to either not break in the tv or break in the tv.?

and if you can explain in regards to the confusing settings that change or dont change? im honestly lost in regards to it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

To be honest, I don't really know. My best guess would be to use the break-in settings and the settings labeled "Non-Break-in DVD/Thumbdrive Owners ONLY!!!!!!!".

The settings labeled "Break-in DVD/Thumbdrive Owners ONLY!!!!!!! ONLY use these settings after the 150 hour break-in period!!!!!!!!!
"
are exclusive to those who choose to follow the break-in proceedure to the "T".


Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u

XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is offline  
post #47 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It'll be interesting to see. I did 154 hours of the break-in DVD total but, there was a lot of time between break-in periods that the set was turned off or I watched TV, a couple of movies, played a little bit of games. I made sure I had 150+ hours of the break-in DVD before I stopped using it.

Anyway, I will be trying both of D-Nice's reference settings on my set, but I can tell you right now, the one that is supposed to be used strictly for TVs that followed the Break-In DVD/USB Test Patterns will be less green-hued. One of the things I mentioned when I first tried D-Nice's original reference settings was that they seemed very green.

RH -3
GH 0
BH -2
RL 0
GL 0
BL +1

Compared to now:

RH -1
GH -1
BH +3
RL 0
GL -2
BL 0

And it seems that my most recent 'eye-balled' settings before I started using D-Nice's settings @:

RH 0
GH -3
BH +2
RL +1
GL 0
BL +2

were a lot closer than I expected!! Very interesting.

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #48 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
hamsamish09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tampa
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for your time and effort D-NICE.
hamsamish09 is offline  
post #49 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chadmak09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Mode 2 works with all stretch modes....just uses a different orbiter pattern.

So it would be safe to say just leave the orbitor set to mode2 all of the time correct?
chadmak09 is offline  
post #50 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
rmongiovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I would argue that if there are different recommended settings depending on whether you broke the TV in with the disk or just by watching normal content, then the settings are extraordinarily sensitive to the exact break-in color distribution.

But of course, each individual set really needs to be individually calibrated. But then what's the use of recommended settings? Or if recommended settings are just something to use in lieu of a real calibration, then how can they possibly be accurate enough to require differences depending on how the set was broken in?
rmongiovi is offline  
post #51 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
CollinViegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
D-Nice your settings always say to leave the "Power save" option Off. However when I have mine set to off the TV buzzing very audibly from accross the room {about 16 ft away} everyone can hear it clearly and finds it annoying.

When I set the power save option to 2 it pretty much completely eliminates the buzz sound {meaning you can only hear it from a foot or so away from the set}

This is my second set and both had the same problem. If I am using your reference settings do you recommend me changing anything? Honestly I dont notice much of a drop in light output from the TV with it set to power save option 2.
CollinViegas is offline  
post #52 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chadmak09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinViegas View Post

D-Nice your settings always say to leave the "Power save" option Off. However when I have mine set to off the TV buzzing very audibly from accross the room {about 16 ft away} everyone can hear it clearly and finds it annoying.

When I set the power save option to 2 it pretty much completely eliminates the buzz sound {meaning you can only hear it from a foot or so away from the set}

This is my second set and both had the same problem. If I am using your reference settings do you recommend me changing anything? Honestly I dont notice much of a drop in light output from the TV with it set to power save option 2.

I think you just answered your own question with that sentence.
If it looks good to you with powersave mode2 then there ya go!

just sit back, relax, and rock out with your Kuro!
chadmak09 is offline  
post #53 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
hey D-nice theirs been some talk on the 9g non elite (not sure about the elite) in regards to gaming and its lag wtf?

basicly what i gatherd is that when you go into game mode and put it on that you have virtual no lag ms so its intresting to know if theirs an issue or if only a few members are really eye cathers or sensitive?

i never heard any complaints in the 8g owners in regards to gaming on pioneers so im hoping that theirs no change in the processing etc etc

but i do know that its not as bad as lcd lol so its not a deal breaker but more of a curiasity.

it started here i belive

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...8&postcount=58

a lil bit here

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post14387310

also with this being said as you kindly look at it what would you still recommend in what a/v mode in gaming?

i have gone from a crt (see my sig) to my 42" panasonic th-42px75u and i expereince no issues, i'v used componet to hdmi from 720p to 1080p again no issues as such

Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u

XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is offline  
post #54 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
ValueMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question for D-Nice or knowledgeable member:

I have my 111FD breaking in with the Break-in DVD and running the picture at Full screen, but this does not allow the wide screen to be effected by the break-in DVD.
Can some one explain why this isn't suppose to be running at a wide screen or Auto mode? My newbie videophile logic has me concerned!
ValueMan is offline  
post #55 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Alright, I've tested the new reference settings on my 151 and they indeed look even look more like I expect they should. One of my original comments about D-Nice's settings were that they had a very green hue to them, and sure enough, after I set the new settings up and swapped back and forth with the 'Tool' button, it kind of confirmed what I saw.

Mind you, I set D-Nice's original settings to my set which had already completed my break-in process. These "After Break-In" settings look better to my eyes even though I didn't follow the Break-In process to a 'T'.

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #56 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chadmak09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValueMan View Post

Question for D-Nice or knowledgeable member:

I have my 111FD breaking in with the Break-in DVD and running the picture at Full screen, but this does not allow the wide screen to be effected by the break-in DVD.
Can some one explain why this isn't suppose to be running at a wide screen or Auto mode? My newbie videophile logic has me concerned!

hmm.
I am kinda having a hard time understanding the question.
could you elaborate?
chadmak09 is offline  
post #57 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Valueman, I think it's just to ensure that if there is any under-scan in the source that it will properly fill all the pixels for completely even phosphor wear.

"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." - Groucho Marx
Aetherhole is offline  
post #58 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chadmak09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherhole View Post

Valueman, I think it's just to ensure that if there is any under-scan in the source that it will properly fill all the pixels for completely even phosphor wear.

oh, ok. i see what he is asking.
yea, make sure the colors are covering the whole screen.
chadmak09 is offline  
post #59 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chadmak09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherhole View Post

Alright, I've tested the new reference settings on my 151 and they indeed look even look more like I expect they should. One of my original comments about D-Nice's settings were that they had a very green hue to them, and sure enough, after I set the new settings up and swapped back and forth with the 'Tool' button, it kind of confirmed what I saw.

Mind you, I set D-Nice's original settings to my set which had already completed my break-in process. These "After Break-In" settings look better to my eyes even though I didn't follow the Break-In process to a 'T'.

Cool, I can't wait to put the settings in when I get home.
Does anyone else like to bump thier Gamma up to 2? Or thier DRE to low?? What are the drawbacks to doing this? Bumping the gamma up seems to increase shadow detail well.
chadmak09 is offline  
post #60 of 10772 Old 07-28-2008, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
chad i gotta be honest i had a hard time understanding value man as well but i guess its been answerd lol uhh i'd say play with your settings since your tv is already break in you can play to your taste accordinaly...

Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u

XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off