The Official Pioneer 9G Kuro Settings/Issues Thread - Page 349 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > The Official Pioneer 9G Kuro Settings/Issues Thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

BLUTRIG's Avatar BLUTRIG
12:50 AM Liked: 10
post #10441 of 10825
11-25-2011 | Posts: 245
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rĂ¿che 1 View Post

somebody would have to offer me a ridiculous amount of money for my 151fd for me to even think of parting with it...i have zero interest in any display currently out now

amen
BLUTRIG's Avatar BLUTRIG
01:08 AM Liked: 10
post #10442 of 10825
11-25-2011 | Posts: 245
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeman4 View Post

I wonder how the new Sharp Elite 60 & 70 inch LED LCD TV's are going to stack up against Pioneer's Kuro technology.

I look at a 70"Sharp Elite LED LCD at BB and the sale man was telling this man it was Pioneer Elite,and I had to say isn't that a Sharp,it only say Elite on the TV.My Pioneer Elite PRO 151 9G with D-Nice setting look 10X better than 70" Sharp Elite LED LCD TV.
tjf1's Avatar tjf1
06:24 PM Liked: 11
post #10443 of 10825
12-05-2011 | Posts: 106
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUTRIG View Post

I look at a 70"Sharp Elite LED LCD at BB and the sale man was telling this man it was Pioneer Elite,and I had to say isn't that a Sharp,it only say Elite on the TV.My Pioneer Elite PRO 151 9G with D-Nice setting look 10X better than 70" Sharp Elite LED LCD TV.

Agreed. I happen to see a 70 Sharp the other day. It doesn't even come close to my 151.
mpedris's Avatar mpedris
06:42 PM Liked: 10
post #10444 of 10825
12-05-2011 | Posts: 1,359
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjf1 View Post


Agreed. I happen to see a 70 Sharp the other day. It doesn't even come close to my 151.


But didn't Pioneer partner with Sharp to develop this TV?
jmmesch's Avatar jmmesch
06:45 PM Liked: 20
post #10445 of 10825
12-05-2011 | Posts: 1,117
Joined: Nov 2001
No offense, I have the 151FD in my HT and love it. But the Sharp 80" has me wondering... if I should move the 151FD into the bedroom, and put the 80" in the HT.
stevec325's Avatar stevec325
04:18 AM Liked: 13
post #10446 of 10825
12-06-2011 | Posts: 3,231
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmesch View Post

No offense, I have the 151FD in my HT and love it. But the Sharp 80" has me wondering... if I should move the 151FD into the bedroom, and put the 80" in the HT.

Only if size is more important than quality

If something approaches the quality of my 141, in a larger size - I'd go for it. This one is not even close.
jmmesch's Avatar jmmesch
08:39 AM Liked: 20
post #10447 of 10825
12-06-2011 | Posts: 1,117
Joined: Nov 2001
I know, I know, I was joking on that 80"-er. I am going to CES in a few weeks, and I don't expect to be impressed by any screen tech.
astrodoob's Avatar astrodoob
02:41 PM Liked: 10
post #10448 of 10825
12-06-2011 | Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2011
There is a procedure to reset the black levels on the Kuro if you are game enough to try.

Check the Kuro Red Tint thread.

KURO black is back on my set!


It can give the Sharp Elite a good run when measuring the MLL. Not bad for a TV designed back in 2008 eh?


quartex73's Avatar quartex73
06:19 PM Liked: 10
post #10449 of 10825
12-07-2011 | Posts: 17
Joined: Sep 2011
I'm a kuro 5090H (european) owner. I got an oppo 93 and just wondering if it's better to use qdeo or skip it using source direct?
And what about color space and deep color? Any feedback from oppo owners will be really appreciated, thanks
htwaits's Avatar htwaits
10:47 PM Liked: 482
post #10450 of 10825
12-07-2011 | Posts: 24,868
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by quartex73 View Post

I'm a kuro 5090H (european) owner. I got an oppo 93 and just wondering if it's better to use qdeo or skip it using source direct?
And what about color space and deep color? Any feedback from oppo owners will be really appreciated, thanks

Why not ask your questions in the OPPO 93 owner's thread?

I use the OPPO 93 (HDMI1/QDEO) for all video processing with our Kuro. Our home theater was calibrated by UMR (Jeff Meier). You can read about his work in post number two of the link at the bottom of my post.
PathofNeo's Avatar PathofNeo
12:55 AM Liked: 20
post #10451 of 10825
01-04-2012 | Posts: 992
Joined: Jan 2006
Simple question regarding setting brightness on my 5020FD...

When I have a blank (black) signal in a dark room I notice that when I set the brightness to +1, there is dot crawl/shimmering. When I take it down just one value to 0 it disappears and the screen is jet black with no dot crawl. Is this where I should have it?

I ask because I did the service menu tweaks with control cal a couple years ago. I've since moved with the tv and had unplugged many times and not even sure if it defaulted back. But 0 and -1 look the same to me.. it's only when I'm at +1 the screen brightens with dot crawl. I figure by taking it down to -1 I may be loosing detail so I've kept it at 0.

The same goes for Contrast. On my Disney Wow disc I notice white clipping beginning at 41. 40 and below doesn't clip detail. Does this mean I should leave it at 40? I've been using 38 all along but bumping it to 40 seemed to nothing detrimental to the tests. Perhaps I should meet in the middle with 39? Ah I'm so confused.. but mainly because I'm anal about these things.

What do you think?
robertw11's Avatar robertw11
06:28 PM Liked: 22
post #10452 of 10825
01-10-2012 | Posts: 424
Joined: Dec 2006
Well I think I have the basics down as far as using ControlCAL. Did not know I had to "donate" to get the 111 profile, just waiting to get my email back. The tv was unlocked by the previous owner, I'm just trying to see what the settings were. Hopefully everything is set to the d-nice settings and I don't have to touch a thing.
D-Nice's Avatar D-Nice
08:09 PM Liked: 222
post #10453 of 10825
01-10-2012 | Posts: 14,956
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by PathofNeo View Post

When I have a blank (black) signal in a dark room I notice that when I set the brightness to +1, there is dot crawl/shimmering. When I take it down just one value to 0 it disappears and the screen is jet black with no dot crawl. Is this where I should have it?

Yes

Quote:
The same goes for Contrast. On my Disney Wow disc I notice white clipping beginning at 41. 40 and below doesn't clip detail. Does this mean I should leave it at 40?

40 or below.
staunton's Avatar staunton
04:08 PM Liked: 10
post #10454 of 10825
01-11-2012 | Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2003
Has anybody had their 151FD re-calibrated? My 151FD was a store demo so I could not execute the break-in DVD that D-Nice recommended. I may be wrong but I would think that eventually (say after 5000 hours) that the set would converge to a similar state as to one that initially used the break-in DVD that also has 5000 hours on it. I did use the ISF-Night and ISF-Day settings that D-Nice recommended in his October 24, 2008 post. I know that the break-in DVD is supposed to stabilize the set before it is calibrated but now that these sets have been used for a few years I would be curious to know if these initial settings are still the optimum. If anybody has had their 151FD re-calibrated I would be interested in knowing what the resultant settings ended up being. Thanks.
lilnape2604's Avatar lilnape2604
04:22 PM Liked: 10
post #10455 of 10825
01-11-2012 | Posts: 35
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:


Dynamic range is not dictated by full screen white. And what I am planning to do tonight will impact every single Kuro calibration I do going forward.... if all goes well.

D-Nice, did you get around to doing whatever it was you had planned? Were the results good?
D-Nice's Avatar D-Nice
06:04 PM Liked: 222
post #10456 of 10825
01-11-2012 | Posts: 14,956
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilnape2604 View Post


D-Nice, did you get around to doing whatever it was you had planned? Were the results good?

Yes and yes, measurement wise. Need to do a little more testing... you guys know I'm anal when it comes to doing/getting things right.
robertw11's Avatar robertw11
07:21 PM Liked: 22
post #10457 of 10825
01-11-2012 | Posts: 424
Joined: Dec 2006
Played with ControlCAL. Had the TV on the input I was using while entering my settings, do the inputs in ControlCAL save just day night or for the input the TVs in?
jmmesch's Avatar jmmesch
11:10 PM Liked: 20
post #10458 of 10825
01-11-2012 | Posts: 1,117
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by staunton View Post

Has anybody had their 151FD re-calibrated? My 151FD was a store demo so I could not execute the break-in DVD that D-Nice recommended. I may be wrong but I would think that eventually (say after 5000 hours) that the set would converge to a similar state as to one that initially used the break-in DVD that also has 5000 hours on it. I did use the ISF-Night and ISF-Day settings that D-Nice recommended in his October 24, 2008 post. I know that the break-in DVD is supposed to stabilize the set before it is calibrated but now that these sets have been used for a few years I would be curious to know if these initial settings are still the optimum. If anybody has had their 151FD re-calibrated I would be interested in knowing what the resultant settings ended up being. Thanks.

Look for HT Waits posts and his links to such reviews. My 151FD was calibrated by UMR and it was great!
htwaits's Avatar htwaits
02:36 AM Liked: 482
post #10459 of 10825
01-12-2012 | Posts: 24,868
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by staunton View Post

Has anybody had their 151FD re-calibrated?

Have I got a link for you!

Use the one at the bottom of my post and got to the second page. You'll find links to calibration reports for flat panel displays organized by manufacturer, model, and the calibrators AVS screen names.

Quote:


My 151FD was a store demo so I could not execute the break-in DVD that D-Nice recommended. I may be wrong but I would think that eventually (say after 5000 hours) that the set would converge to a similar state as to one that initially used the break-in DVD that also has 5000 hours on it. I did use the ISF-Night and ISF-Day settings that D-Nice recommended in his October 24, 2008 post. I know that the break-in DVD is supposed to stabilize the set before it is calibrated but now that these sets have been used for a few years I would be curious to know if these initial settings are still the optimum. If anybody has had their 151FD re-calibrated I would be interested in knowing what the resultant settings ended up being. Thanks.

If you get your display calibrated, disregard these thoughts that you are having.

Knowing other people's settings will not benefit you in any way.

Enjoy you display.
robertw11's Avatar robertw11
07:43 AM Liked: 22
post #10460 of 10825
01-18-2012 | Posts: 424
Joined: Dec 2006
How is everyone feel about the day and night settings? To me it looks like the night settings have a more natural look, while the day settings have that "lcd'ish" pop. Both look fantastic, I'll have to see how the night settings fare during the day.
craigyboy's Avatar craigyboy
08:24 AM Liked: 73
post #10461 of 10825
01-18-2012 | Posts: 240
Joined: May 2011
i noticed no diference from isf night, to isf day, so my set was only calibrated in night setting
MitchPope's Avatar MitchPope
10:00 AM Liked: 17
post #10462 of 10825
01-18-2012 | Posts: 466
Joined: Dec 2007
My ISF Night is what I use for movies in a dark setting, my ISF Day was calibrated for a brighter picture to overcome reflections, with the shadows opened up a bit. For TV viewing and gaming, I usually use ISF Auto.
stevec325's Avatar stevec325
11:02 AM Liked: 13
post #10463 of 10825
01-18-2012 | Posts: 3,231
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertw11 View Post

How is everyone feel about the day and night settings? To me it looks like the night settings have a more natural look, while the day settings have that "lcd'ish" pop. Both look fantastic, I'll have to see how the night settings fare during the day.

The templates from which ISF-Night and ISF-Day are constructed are exactly the same. The only differences are the changes you make during calibrations. If you set every parameter to the same value in both, they both will (should) look identical.
robertw11's Avatar robertw11
11:05 AM Liked: 22
post #10464 of 10825
01-18-2012 | Posts: 424
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevec325 View Post

The templates from which ISF-Night and ISF-Day are constructed are exactly the same. The only differences are the changes you make during calibrations. If you set every parameter to the same value in both, they both will (should) look identical.

I may have mis-worded my initial post, I was referring to the d-nice isf day/night settings.
stevec325's Avatar stevec325
11:17 AM Liked: 13
post #10465 of 10825
01-18-2012 | Posts: 3,231
Joined: Nov 2006
Oh, Ok... sorry, I can't help you there. Speculating, I think he gave the day setting a little more luminance, to compensate for the ambient light vs. using in a dark(er) room... at night. Just guessing, but my suspicions are that the other parameters are pretty much the same. Maybe a twiddle or so on the color, to compensate for accuracy with changes in brightness/contrast.

I calibrated my 141 for day/night and the the only real differences were contrast & brightness - both pushed up a tad in day. I think I bumped the RH a notch, to keep greyscale in line, but I don't remember. I find I almost never change from night, though. That's more because I'm just being lazy
jdmi's Avatar jdmi
08:07 AM Liked: 13
post #10466 of 10825
01-19-2012 | Posts: 473
Joined: Mar 2008
My BD player clips above white signals in YCbCr color space. It can output RGB in an 'enhanced' mode to give more signal range. I wonder if this will pass above white. Does anyone know if the 151 has a preferred HDMI input mode? Does it care if the signal is YCbCr or RGB?
turbe's Avatar turbe
09:20 AM Liked: 89
post #10467 of 10825
01-19-2012 | Posts: 4,437
Joined: Feb 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmi View Post

My BD player clips above white signals in YCbCr color space. It can output RGB in an 'enhanced' mode to give more signal range. I wonder if this will pass above white. Does anyone know if the 151 has a preferred HDMI input mode? Does it care if the signal is YCbCr or RGB?

.

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

For Kuros, RGB 16-235 is best. For other displays 4:4:4 might be best. If a display cannot do color math correct, turning on Deep Color may help.


robertw11's Avatar robertw11
09:08 PM Liked: 22
post #10468 of 10825
01-19-2012 | Posts: 424
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

.

So is it safe to say, 16-235 is labeled "Limited" on the ps3?

At this point I'm a bit confused on what the 111 supports? lol

Same with the 360, with the 360 it is either standard, expanded etc, not quite sure what that translates to.
bodosom's Avatar bodosom
04:20 PM Liked: 22
post #10469 of 10825
01-20-2012 | Posts: 6,396
Joined: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmi View Post

My BD player clips above white signals in YCbCr color space.

Replace it with a properly functioning player.
quartex73's Avatar quartex73
04:33 PM Liked: 10
post #10470 of 10825
01-23-2012 | Posts: 17
Joined: Sep 2011
I did some long sessions using controlcal on my kuro 5090h and now I have noticed image retention due to controlcal OSD (I didn't disable it...). I have orbiter set to 2 but I'm unsure orbiter has effect on this kind of OSD.
Is there any chance it can be burn-in? It's noticeable with a white background. I run procedure several times and pionwas too for several hours but so far I didn't fix it. Any advise would be great. Just to be sure it cannot be burn-in...Thanks

Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3