The Official Pioneer 9G Kuro Settings/Issues Thread - Page 368 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11011 of 11025 Old 01-12-2016, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblakeney View Post
Does anyone know what the forward updates for the 9g kuros do? There is firmware updates to 907 401, but no documentation on what it's for...
I think it fixes a TV tuner issue but don't quote me on it.
makaveddie81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11012 of 11025 Old 01-12-2016, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
nealh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblakeney View Post
Does anyone know what the forward updates for the 9g kuros do? There is firmware updates to 907 401, but no documentation on what it's for...
I have googled but can't find anything on what this firmware fixed?
nealh is offline  
post #11013 of 11025 Old 01-16-2016, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
NYC Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblakeney View Post
Does anyone know what the forward updates for the 9g kuros do? There is firmware updates to 907 401, but no documentation on what it's for...
I am still using version 0905-0401 on my PRO-111FD and I have never bothered to update it. Can anyone give me a compelling reason to do so if it is operating perfectly for all of this time?
NYC Guy is offline  
post #11014 of 11025 Unread 01-23-2016, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
Fosheezy-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
"E-Lite" I/O board conversion...is there anybody out there?

Regarding the I/O board conversion from non elite to Elite (E-Lite), is there anybody out there still doing these Pioneer AWW1352 to AWW1353 conversions?
Fosheezy-1 is offline  
post #11015 of 11025 Unread 01-25-2016, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fosheezy-1 View Post
Regarding the I/O board conversion from non elite to Elite (E-Lite), is there anybody out there still doing these Pioneer AWW1352 to AWW1353 conversions?
This guy does it. He doesn't have it listed as a service on eBay for some odd reason. Just send him a message.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Repair-Servi...kAAOSwewJTmuWG
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11016 of 11025 Unread 01-25-2016, 07:14 PM
Newbie
 
Fosheezy-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you very much for responding to my “E-Lite” conversion post.

I recently purchased a Pro-151, and it strangely only seems to have the PDP-6020 AV Selection features available. It doesn’t have the Pro Adjust or Pure AV selection. It’s almost like this 151 was down converted to a 6020 somehow, while still having the AWW1353 I/O board. In addition to the lack of AV selections, I am getting a strange yellowish-shadowing over the entire screen during playback. This yellowish hue is especially apparent on any white screen content. Since there are no Pro Adjust features, I'm unable to calibrate.

Given your experience, would you expect this type of issue be hardware related (AWW1352), software related or possibly both? Again, thank you so much for your thoughts.

I recently had the 8 blinks on my pro-111 fixed by kcrownie, and the Kuro works beautifully once again. Great suggestion to message him.
Fosheezy-1 is offline  
post #11017 of 11025 Unread 01-26-2016, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fosheezy-1 View Post
Thank you very much for responding to my “E-Lite” conversion post.

I recently purchased a Pro-151, and it strangely only seems to have the PDP-6020 AV Selection features available. It doesn’t have the Pro Adjust or Pure AV selection. It’s almost like this 151 was down converted to a 6020 somehow, while still having the AWW1353 I/O board. In addition to the lack of AV selections, I am getting a strange yellowish-shadowing over the entire screen during playback. This yellowish hue is especially apparent on any white screen content. Since there are no Pro Adjust features, I'm unable to calibrate.

Given your experience, would you expect this type of issue be hardware related (AWW1352), software related or possibly both? Again, thank you so much for your thoughts.

I recently had the 8 blinks on my pro-111 fixed by kcrownie, and the Kuro works beautifully once again. Great suggestion to message him.
I've never seen the symptoms you're describing. Are you positive it has the AWW1353 board? Pure mode not being present tells me that an AWW1352 is currently installed on the set. Have you tried activating the ISF modes on the 151fd?

kcrownie confirmed to me that he is has performed the Elite conversion in the past.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11018 of 11025 Unread 01-26-2016, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
Fosheezy-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
I've never seen the symptoms you're describing. Are you positive it has the AWW1353 board? Pure mode not being present tells me that an AWW1352 is currently installed on the set. Have you tried activating the ISF modes on the 151fd?

kcrownie confirmed to me that he is has performed the Elite conversion in the past.
Since there are gold plated RCA connectors on this I/O board, it certainly masquerades as an AWW1353. As I understand it, the AWW1352 board has silver RCA connectors.

As far as the ISF modes...I have not been able to gain access to them. Please see attached pictures of the current AV Selection.

Do you know if the I/O board is the only piece of hardware where the "Elite" features are stored?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	95.8 KB
ID:	1213090   Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender_3.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	76.2 KB
ID:	1213146   Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender_1.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	111.2 KB
ID:	1213154   Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender_2.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	100.6 KB
ID:	1213162  

Last edited by Fosheezy-1; 01-26-2016 at 07:21 PM.
Fosheezy-1 is offline  
post #11019 of 11025 Unread 01-27-2016, 01:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fosheezy-1 View Post
Since there are gold plated RCA connectors on this I/O board, it certainly masquerades as an AWW1353. As I understand it, the AWW1352 board has silver RCA connectors.

As far as the ISF modes...I have not been able to gain access to them. Please see attached pictures of the current AV Selection.

Do you know if the I/O board is the only piece of hardware where the "Elite" features are stored?
There is a section in the service menu where you can enable and disable the isf modes and configure the model type. I think your set may be configured as a 6020. I'd have to be in front of my TV to walk you through accessing that menu, though you can also issie the "fst" command to see what it's currently configured as.

If you have software that allows you to access the service menu and send commands to the TV, issue the fst command and report back the output. If configured as an Elite, it should come back with fsts82.

If you don't have software, my Kuro Command program will fit the bill, as it alows you to access the service menu and issue commands on all Kuro models. Let me know if you are interested.

I have attached a screeb capture of the service manual page that shows the section in the service menu thag I am referring to.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20160127-005153.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	72.9 KB
ID:	1213474  
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11020 of 11025 Unread 01-27-2016, 12:48 PM
Newbie
 
Fosheezy-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
There is a section in the service menu where you can enable and disable the isf modes and configure the model type. I think your set may be configured as a 6020. I'd have to be in front of my TV to walk you through accessing that menu, though you can also issie the "fst" command to see what it's currently configured as.

If you have software that allows you to access the service menu and send commands to the TV, issue the fst command and report back the output. If configured as an Elite, it should come back with fsts82.

If you don't have software, my Kuro Command program will fit the bill, as it alows you to access the service menu and issue commands on all Kuro models. Let me know if you are interested.

I have attached a screeb capture of the service manual page that shows the section in the service menu thag I am referring to.
At this point, I do not have any software to access the service menu, so your Kuro Command Program sounds like my next step.

Will I need each of these three cables to access the terminals on the back of the TV?
USB to RS232 Adapter
RS232 Serial M/F
RS232 Serial F/F

Your help walking me through the 151 setup commands and configuration will be greatly appreciated.
Fosheezy-1 is offline  
post #11021 of 11025 Unread 01-27-2016, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fosheezy-1 View Post
At this point, I do not have any software to access the service menu, so your Kuro Command Program sounds like my next step.

Will I need each of these three cables to access the terminals on the back of the TV?
USB to RS232 Adapter
RS232 Serial M/F
RS232 Serial F/F

Your help walking me through the 151 setup commands and configuration will be greatly appreciated.
You need the USB to RS232 Adapter and the RS232 Serial F/F cable. Not sure why I threw in the M/F cable in there.

I'll be glad to walk you through it once you're set up. Hit me up on PM.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #11022 of 11025 Unread 01-27-2016, 07:44 PM
Newbie
 
Fosheezy-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
You need the USB to RS232 Adapter and the RS232 Serial F/F cable. Not sure why I threw in the M/F cable in there.

I'll be glad to walk you through it once you're set up. Hit me up on PM.
I just ordered the cables, so they should be here by Friday. Since I have yet to receive AVS PM privileges (need > 15 posts), I'll send you an email to your Gmail listed on your Kuro Command thread.
Fosheezy-1 is offline  
post #11023 of 11025 Unread 02-03-2016, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,604
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 242
HI all,

Mounting my 6020 in my soon-to-be-finished bar, but I'm having a hard time finding a fixed, low-profile, relatively inexpensive mount that will work for it (most don't appear to be wide enough)...any suggestions?

Thanks
James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #11024 of 11025 Unread 02-03-2016, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,888
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 408
You can get the ISF modes through the service menu......what?

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #11025 of 11025 Unread Today, 04:42 AM
Member
 
ultravorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastermaybe View Post
HI all,

Mounting my 6020 in my soon-to-be-finished bar, but I'm having a hard time finding a fixed, low-profile, relatively inexpensive mount that will work for it (most don't appear to be wide enough)...any suggestions?

Thanks
James
I have the pioneer pro-150F and had a heck of a time finding a mount due to width and height.

I found this one that i bought works perfectly.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=sr_1_1&sr=8-1

Video Mount Products VMP PDS-LFT

Hope this helps!
ultravorx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off