Signature Elite 141 Owners Thread - Page 58 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 5275 Old 11-28-2008, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Does anyone have any Pure settings I could use as a starting point? After doing some searching, I can only find ISF settings.

It will be a little bit before I can this thing calibrated by a professional, so I am just looking for something to tide me over. Thanks!

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 5275 Old 11-28-2008, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by vancouver View Post

true...but one cant deny there is a reference. How much you deviate from that reference is personal choice...you cant really set the screen to what ever you like and then refer to it as professionally calibrated. Or calibrated under ISF or THX standards etc. Proper calibration is really "what you personally like". True calibrations is setting the display to a standard.

Yes you are right, you cant claim a "professional" calibration. However you can claim "calibrated under ISF or THX standards etc", if you have the tools and some knowledge of how to use these tools. I have seen two "professional" calibration settings. These settings are much different, however the end result is close. Why I point this out is because if you use ISF or THX standards, there is no one right way to calibrate. Calibration imo is more of a art than a exact science.

btw; Folks should understand, and as you pointed out should know that by changing any of the settings for the most part will negate there "professional" calibrations. There are exceptions to this rule of course.
sillysally is offline  
post #1713 of 5275 Old 11-28-2008, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do you guys use advanced mode also? I definitely see more motion blurr, or judder, with subtle face movements compared to leaving it off.
Zues is offline  
post #1714 of 5275 Old 11-28-2008, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vancouver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zues View Post

Do you guys use advanced mode also? I definitely see more motion blurr, or judder, with subtle face movements compared to leaving it off.

honestly I prefer smooth. It studders a little on the odd pan, but for the most part it provides a very motion blur free picture. I find it reduces viewing fatigue. Reminds me of an effect a friends B&O avent CRT use produced which I always wanted from a plasma.
vancouver is offline  
post #1715 of 5275 Old 11-28-2008, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by petmic10 View Post

I would have to respectfully disagree with this. Enhancer 2 and sharpness
at 0 adds way to much edge enhancement on test patterns and on actual
content to my eyes anyway.


Interesting. With content i have a hard time seeing a difference. Although it's not exact. All i can say is with content at a normal viewing distance the sharpness is similar with those comparisons i gave when looking at the actual picture. Of course i dont like it that sharp so i use enhancer 2 with sharpness some, but definitely not at 0.
Zues is offline  
post #1716 of 5275 Old 11-28-2008, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vancouver View Post

honestly I prefer smooth. It studders a little on the odd pan.


Yeah smooth can smooth things out, but has some of it's own artifacts, and like you said that occasional pan that makes things stutter. For me that's unacceptable. I would rather see the judder than studder There's definitely some improvements to be made with that mode.
Zues is offline  
post #1717 of 5275 Old 11-28-2008, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vancouver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zues View Post

Yeah smooth can smooth things out, but has some of it's own artifacts, and like you said that occasional pan that makes things stutter. For me that's unacceptable. I would rather see the judder than studder There's definitely some improvements to be made with that mode.

true....but you have to admit that 90% of the time it creates a great picture. Watch the opening of Hulk when it pans up the city buildings with smooth. There is absolutely zero motion blur.


by the way for those curious Smooth is still playing at 72Hz
vancouver is offline  
post #1718 of 5275 Old 11-28-2008, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vancouver View Post

true....but you have to admit that 90% of the time it creates a great picture.


For me the motion just seems odd, no matter how smooth it can look. I dont want to worry everytime the camera pans that smooth is engaged and to look how smooth it is. Or hope a scene dont come on where everything is stuttering like crazy. I can see how some will like it though.
Zues is offline  
post #1719 of 5275 Old 11-28-2008, 10:30 PM
Member
 
hoehne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have succesfully used an IR repeater system from Speakercraft and had great success. I am distributing to two other satellite boxes and my preamp as well as have other rooms connected into the system for those remote applications.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ijon_Tichy View Post

Has anyone tried the IR Repeater yet?

Will it control nonPio devices?

hoehne is offline  
post #1720 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 01:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post

Does anyone have any Pure settings I could use as a starting point? After doing some searching, I can only find ISF settings.

It will be a little bit before I can this thing calibrated by a professional, so I am just looking for something to tide me over. Thanks!

You got it. Post below has my latest settings, in pure mode.
There is also older settings I posted for Pure mode. I think in October.

I would suggest you also try ISF mode settings. That way when you have your 141 calibrated, you should have a good idea how you want it calibrated.
sillysally is offline  
post #1721 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Please do not post these settings.

Pioneer Elite 141 and Pioneer BDP-51 settings on the BDP-51,
Source direct, High Speed, User setting, White-1, Black +1
If you use these settings in any thing other than a 1080P source, you will have to enter these setting for what ever the source res you are using.

Picture Settings:
AV Selection: Pure
Contrast: 26
Brightness: 0
Color: +3
Tint: 0
Sharpness: -15
Gamma: 5

Pure Cinema: 2 (Advance)
Black Level: 0 (Off)
CTI: 0 (Off)
Color Space: 2
Color Temp: 6 (Manual)

ACL: 0 (Off)
3DYC: 2
I-P Mode: 2
Text Optimization: 0 (Off)
Intelligent Mode: 0 (Off)
DRE Picture: 0 (Off)

Enhancer Mode: 2
Block NR: 0 (Off)
3DNR: 0 (Off)
Field NR: 0 (Off)
Mosquito NR: 0 (Off)

Power Save Mode: Off
Orbiter: Mode Off

RGB Controls
R High: -1
G High: 0
B High: +8
R Low: -1
G Low: 0
B Low: -1

Color Management
R: -3
Y: +1
G: 0
C: +1
B: 0
M: 0

 

BD51 and 141, Pure Mode.pdf 85.048828125k . file

 

BD51 and 141, Pure 1.pdf 68.30078125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf BD51 and 141, Pure 1.pdf (68.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: pdf BD51 and 141, Pure Mode.pdf (85.0 KB, 0 views)
sillysally is offline  
post #1722 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 07:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,745
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 813 Post(s)
Liked: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by vancouver View Post

honestly I prefer smooth. It studders a little on the odd pan, but for the most part it provides a very motion blur free picture. I find it reduces viewing fatigue. Reminds me of an effect a friends B&O avent CRT use produced which I always wanted from a plasma.

I too sometimes like 'smooth', but it does produce the occasional, very weird artifact. But again, the smooth effect is probably another of those 'deviations' from what the actual film looked like. Using smooth does bring the movie into a more 'video-like' appearance.

We can argue as to whether judder was the 'director's intent' or simply a limitation of film technology. Either way, smooth does bring about a bigger 'delta' from how the movie appeared in theaters. In actuality, if you think about it, how is using 'smooth' any different than deviations of color, sharpness etc. from the correct ISF calibration? Granted judder is not part of any standard, but nonetheless it is introducing something that wasn't there in the original. Fun stuff.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #1723 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
jrannison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Santa Clarita, Ca
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered the 141 from my local dealer to replace my Fujitsu P50 and it should be here in about one week.
Got it for a decent price, plus a WAF surcharge.if you know what I mean.

John
*************
jrannison is offline  
post #1724 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im having trouble getting the controlcal to power on my 141.
Says , COM4:9600:NONE:1:FLOW=N and when i hit power on it says sent and nothing happened.

I have the keyspan turbe recommends set to com 4 and the tv is set to 9600
Im using a null modem adapter ,is that ok?

any help is appreciated , thanx Chris

- Independent Dreams - IDStudios
baddgsx is offline  
post #1725 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post

Im having trouble getting the controlcal to power on my 141.
Says , COM4:9600:NONE:1:FLOW=N and when i hit power on it says sent and nothing happened.

I have the keyspan turbe recommends set to com 4 and the tv is set to 9600
Im using a null modem adapter ,is that ok?

any help is appreciated , thanx Chris

I think you have to take the null modem adapter out the mix.

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #1726 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 88
That Null Modem Adapter is your problem...

If you had a Null Modem configured serial cable to go with the adapter, it should work as well.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #1727 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 01:10 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrannison View Post

I just ordered the 141 from my local dealer to replace my Fujitsu P50 and it should be here in about one week.
Got it for a decent price, plus a WAF surcharge.if you know what I mean.

Congrats! And yes we know about the surcharge lol
ROMAN O is offline  
post #1728 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 262
I have updated my settings post for my BD-51 and 141. I have added my raw data reports. I was able to set the luminance curve fairly close with these settings. This time I set my BD-51 to user, -1 white. I did use Gamma 5. However there was a strange thing going on with the Luminance, and hence the lower gamma point.
sillysally is offline  
post #1729 of 5275 Old 11-29-2008, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you totalownership and turbe. I got it to work. Im very happy that i figured out why my isf settings was not showing above white and why my standard mode settings were on my PS3 with super white enabled.

If u want above white to show up clearly u need to have any of the DRE Picture settings on. but now theres a trade off with that. I guess ill have to see which i like best or if i can see a difference. Im going to try low.

- Independent Dreams - IDStudios
baddgsx is offline  
post #1730 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 01:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xortam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Pioneer Elite KURO monitor web site is working again. You can get your factory white balance settings there.

"Plasma TV ... so called because in order to afford one, you're going to have to sell your blood." -- Ed Helms, The Daily Show.
xortam is offline  
post #1731 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Ijon_Tichy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoehne View Post

I have succesfully used an IR repeater system from Speakercraft and had great success. I am distributing to two other satellite boxes and my preamp as well as have other rooms connected into the system for those remote applications.

Did you use the 141 as the receiver?

I'm hoping to just plug in some cheap emitters into the 141.
Ijon_Tichy is offline  
post #1732 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
stacy11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: West Los Angeles, CA.
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrannison View Post

I just ordered the 141 from my local dealer to replace my Fujitsu P50 and it should be here in about one week.
Got it for a decent price, plus a WAF surcharge.if you know what I mean.

OK, I'll bite: WAF surcharge????
stacy11 is offline  
post #1733 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 08:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 190
stacy,

I had to scratch my head about WAF too. Then I remember the "Wife Approval Factor" which probably means jrannison had to buy something for his wife in order to get her approval for the 141 purchase. Thus the WAF surcharge. It can become quite expensive as wives get anything from jewlery to room additions.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #1734 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
jrannison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Santa Clarita, Ca
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

stacy,

I had to scratch my head about WAF too. Then I remember the "Wife Approval Factor" which probably means jrannison had to buy something for his wife in order to get her approval for the 141 purchase. Thus the WAF surcharge. It can become quite expensive as wives get anything from jewlery to room additions.

I thought there would be some head scratching on my statement, in particular the single folks.

Actually I got off easy.....................I have to update the small bathroom. There were no high demands because she also appreciates a good picture, being an artist and all.. She just cares less about all the technical stuff.

John
*************
jrannison is offline  
post #1735 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post

thank you totalownership and turbe. I got it to work. Im very happy that i figured out why my isf settings was not showing above white and why my standard mode settings were on my PS3 with super white enabled.

If u want above white to show up clearly u need to have any of the DRE Picture settings on. but now theres a trade off with that. I guess ill have to see which i like best or if i can see a difference. Im going to try low.

I'll need to look into this too since I have a PS3 and 141. I probably should just search, what pattern/test disc are you using again (and which pattern specifically?


sillysally, are you experiencing any issues with your BR Players?

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #1736 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I'll need to look into this too since I have a PS3 and 141. I probably should just search, what pattern/test disc are you using again (and which pattern specifically?


sillysally, are you experiencing any issues with your BR Players?



Its the 1080p grey ramps pattern on the bluray version of DVE. This WTW behaves the same way on any other mode , like standard mode , etc...
So its not the controlcal software , its the 141 that behaves this way.

- Independent Dreams - IDStudios
baddgsx is offline  
post #1737 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

You got it. Post below has my latest settings, in pure mode.
There is also older settings I posted for Pure mode. I think in October.

I would suggest you also try ISF mode settings. That way when you have your 141 calibrated, you should have a good idea how you want it calibrated.

Thanks! I appreciate it.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is online now  
post #1738 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 02:07 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrannison View Post

I thought there would be some head scratching on my statement, in particular the single folks.

Actually I got off easy.....................I have to update the small bathroom. There were no high demands because she also appreciates a good picture, being an artist and all.. She just cares less about all the technical stuff.

Being married and in the business I knew exactly what you meant
ROMAN O is offline  
post #1739 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
another weird thing happened while i was checking out which i liked better , advanced or smooth. I was using the just the remote to play with the smooth and advanced settings on my standard mode because i didnt feel like plugging in the laptop to use controlcal. I finally figued out which i liked best and wanted to go back to my ISF day mode and IT WAS GONE!!!!

I dont know what happend but my ISF day mode isnt there. The night mode is still there though. What should i do? I backed up these settings on my laptop.


HELP!! How do i get this mode to show up again? Can it be done using the remote or do i have to use the laptop again?

Thanx Chris

- Independent Dreams - IDStudios
baddgsx is offline  
post #1740 of 5275 Old 11-30-2008, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
jrannison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Santa Clarita, Ca
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

Being married and in the business I knew exactly what you meant

Yes you did get it quick

John
*************
jrannison is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off