Signature Elite 141 Owners Thread - Page 58 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > Signature Elite 141 Owners Thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Nickff's Avatar Nickff
04:29 PM Liked: 130
post #1711 of 5279
11-28-2008 | Posts: 1,614
Joined: Dec 2006
Does anyone have any Pure settings I could use as a starting point? After doing some searching, I can only find ISF settings.

It will be a little bit before I can this thing calibrated by a professional, so I am just looking for something to tide me over. Thanks!
sillysally's Avatar sillysally
05:06 PM Liked: 269
post #1712 of 5279
11-28-2008 | Posts: 3,767
Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by vancouver View Post

true...but one cant deny there is a reference. How much you deviate from that reference is personal choice...you cant really set the screen to what ever you like and then refer to it as professionally calibrated. Or calibrated under ISF or THX standards etc. Proper calibration is really "what you personally like". True calibrations is setting the display to a standard.

Yes you are right, you cant claim a "professional" calibration. However you can claim "calibrated under ISF or THX standards etc", if you have the tools and some knowledge of how to use these tools. I have seen two "professional" calibration settings. These settings are much different, however the end result is close. Why I point this out is because if you use ISF or THX standards, there is no one right way to calibrate. Calibration imo is more of a art than a exact science.

btw; Folks should understand, and as you pointed out should know that by changing any of the settings for the most part will negate there "professional" calibrations. There are exceptions to this rule of course.
Zues's Avatar Zues
07:37 PM Liked: 12
post #1713 of 5279
11-28-2008 | Posts: 3,835
Joined: Jul 2004
Do you guys use advanced mode also? I definitely see more motion blurr, or judder, with subtle face movements compared to leaving it off.
vancouver's Avatar vancouver
07:58 PM Liked: 13
post #1714 of 5279
11-28-2008 | Posts: 4,023
Joined: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zues View Post

Do you guys use advanced mode also? I definitely see more motion blurr, or judder, with subtle face movements compared to leaving it off.

honestly I prefer smooth. It studders a little on the odd pan, but for the most part it provides a very motion blur free picture. I find it reduces viewing fatigue. Reminds me of an effect a friends B&O avent CRT use produced which I always wanted from a plasma.
Zues's Avatar Zues
08:07 PM Liked: 12
post #1715 of 5279
11-28-2008 | Posts: 3,835
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by petmic10 View Post

I would have to respectfully disagree with this. Enhancer 2 and sharpness
at 0 adds way to much edge enhancement on test patterns and on actual
content to my eyes anyway.


Interesting. With content i have a hard time seeing a difference. Although it's not exact. All i can say is with content at a normal viewing distance the sharpness is similar with those comparisons i gave when looking at the actual picture. Of course i dont like it that sharp so i use enhancer 2 with sharpness some, but definitely not at 0.
Zues's Avatar Zues
08:14 PM Liked: 12
post #1716 of 5279
11-28-2008 | Posts: 3,835
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by vancouver View Post

honestly I prefer smooth. It studders a little on the odd pan.


Yeah smooth can smooth things out, but has some of it's own artifacts, and like you said that occasional pan that makes things stutter. For me that's unacceptable. I would rather see the judder than studder There's definitely some improvements to be made with that mode.
vancouver's Avatar vancouver
08:17 PM Liked: 13
post #1717 of 5279
11-28-2008 | Posts: 4,023
Joined: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zues View Post

Yeah smooth can smooth things out, but has some of it's own artifacts, and like you said that occasional pan that makes things stutter. For me that's unacceptable. I would rather see the judder than studder There's definitely some improvements to be made with that mode.

true....but you have to admit that 90% of the time it creates a great picture. Watch the opening of Hulk when it pans up the city buildings with smooth. There is absolutely zero motion blur.


by the way for those curious Smooth is still playing at 72Hz
Zues's Avatar Zues
08:28 PM Liked: 12
post #1718 of 5279
11-28-2008 | Posts: 3,835
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by vancouver View Post

true....but you have to admit that 90% of the time it creates a great picture.


For me the motion just seems odd, no matter how smooth it can look. I dont want to worry everytime the camera pans that smooth is engaged and to look how smooth it is. Or hope a scene dont come on where everything is stuttering like crazy. I can see how some will like it though.
hoehne's Avatar hoehne
11:30 PM Liked: 10
post #1719 of 5279
11-28-2008 | Posts: 90
Joined: Nov 2003
I have succesfully used an IR repeater system from Speakercraft and had great success. I am distributing to two other satellite boxes and my preamp as well as have other rooms connected into the system for those remote applications.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ijon_Tichy View Post

Has anyone tried the IR Repeater yet?

Will it control nonPio devices?


sillysally's Avatar sillysally
02:13 AM Liked: 269
post #1720 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 3,767
Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post

Does anyone have any Pure settings I could use as a starting point? After doing some searching, I can only find ISF settings.

It will be a little bit before I can this thing calibrated by a professional, so I am just looking for something to tide me over. Thanks!

You got it. Post below has my latest settings, in pure mode.
There is also older settings I posted for Pure mode. I think in October.

I would suggest you also try ISF mode settings. That way when you have your 141 calibrated, you should have a good idea how you want it calibrated.
sillysally's Avatar sillysally
02:15 AM Liked: 269
post #1721 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 3,767
Joined: Jun 2006
Please do not post these settings.

Pioneer Elite 141 and Pioneer BDP-51 settings on the BDP-51,
Source direct, High Speed, User setting, White-1, Black +1
If you use these settings in any thing other than a 1080P source, you will have to enter these setting for what ever the source res you are using.

Picture Settings:
AV Selection: Pure
Contrast: 26
Brightness: 0
Color: +3
Tint: 0
Sharpness: -15
Gamma: 5

Pure Cinema: 2 (Advance)
Black Level: 0 (Off)
CTI: 0 (Off)
Color Space: 2
Color Temp: 6 (Manual)

ACL: 0 (Off)
3DYC: 2
I-P Mode: 2
Text Optimization: 0 (Off)
Intelligent Mode: 0 (Off)
DRE Picture: 0 (Off)

Enhancer Mode: 2
Block NR: 0 (Off)
3DNR: 0 (Off)
Field NR: 0 (Off)
Mosquito NR: 0 (Off)

Power Save Mode: Off
Orbiter: Mode Off

RGB Controls
R High: -1
G High: 0
B High: +8
R Low: -1
G Low: 0
B Low: -1

Color Management
R: -3
Y: +1
G: 0
C: +1
B: 0
M: 0

 

BD51 and 141, Pure Mode.pdf 85.048828125k . file

 

BD51 and 141, Pure 1.pdf 68.30078125k . file
Attached: BD51 and 141, Pure 1.pdf (68.3 KB)  BD51 and 141, Pure Mode.pdf (85.0 KB) 
Ken Ross's Avatar Ken Ross
08:47 AM Liked: 1534
post #1722 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 24,639
Joined: Nov 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by vancouver View Post

honestly I prefer smooth. It studders a little on the odd pan, but for the most part it provides a very motion blur free picture. I find it reduces viewing fatigue. Reminds me of an effect a friends B&O avent CRT use produced which I always wanted from a plasma.

I too sometimes like 'smooth', but it does produce the occasional, very weird artifact. But again, the smooth effect is probably another of those 'deviations' from what the actual film looked like. Using smooth does bring the movie into a more 'video-like' appearance.

We can argue as to whether judder was the 'director's intent' or simply a limitation of film technology. Either way, smooth does bring about a bigger 'delta' from how the movie appeared in theaters. In actuality, if you think about it, how is using 'smooth' any different than deviations of color, sharpness etc. from the correct ISF calibration? Granted judder is not part of any standard, but nonetheless it is introducing something that wasn't there in the original. Fun stuff.
jrannison's Avatar jrannison
09:04 AM Liked: 10
post #1723 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 870
Joined: Mar 2003
I just ordered the 141 from my local dealer to replace my Fujitsu P50 and it should be here in about one week.
Got it for a decent price, plus a WAF surcharge.if you know what I mean.
baddgsx's Avatar baddgsx
12:50 PM Liked: 10
post #1724 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 1,220
Joined: Dec 2005
Im having trouble getting the controlcal to power on my 141.
Says , COM4:9600:NONE:1:FLOW=N and when i hit power on it says sent and nothing happened.

I have the keyspan turbe recommends set to com 4 and the tv is set to 9600
Im using a null modem adapter ,is that ok?

any help is appreciated , thanx Chris
totalownership's Avatar totalownership
12:53 PM Liked: 186
post #1725 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 2,321
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post

Im having trouble getting the controlcal to power on my 141.
Says , COM4:9600:NONE:1:FLOW=N and when i hit power on it says sent and nothing happened.

I have the keyspan turbe recommends set to com 4 and the tv is set to 9600
Im using a null modem adapter ,is that ok?

any help is appreciated , thanx Chris

I think you have to take the null modem adapter out the mix.
turbe's Avatar turbe
01:19 PM Liked: 88
post #1726 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 4,435
Joined: Feb 2001
That Null Modem Adapter is your problem...

If you had a Null Modem configured serial cable to go with the adapter, it should work as well.
ROMAN O's Avatar ROMAN O
02:10 PM Liked: 11
post #1727 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 4,557
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrannison View Post

I just ordered the 141 from my local dealer to replace my Fujitsu P50 and it should be here in about one week.
Got it for a decent price, plus a WAF surcharge.if you know what I mean.

Congrats! And yes we know about the surcharge lol
sillysally's Avatar sillysally
04:35 PM Liked: 269
post #1728 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 3,767
Joined: Jun 2006
I have updated my settings post for my BD-51 and 141. I have added my raw data reports. I was able to set the luminance curve fairly close with these settings. This time I set my BD-51 to user, -1 white. I did use Gamma 5. However there was a strange thing going on with the Luminance, and hence the lower gamma point.
baddgsx's Avatar baddgsx
05:00 PM Liked: 10
post #1729 of 5279
11-29-2008 | Posts: 1,220
Joined: Dec 2005
thank you totalownership and turbe. I got it to work. Im very happy that i figured out why my isf settings was not showing above white and why my standard mode settings were on my PS3 with super white enabled.

If u want above white to show up clearly u need to have any of the DRE Picture settings on. but now theres a trade off with that. I guess ill have to see which i like best or if i can see a difference. Im going to try low.
xortam's Avatar xortam
02:22 AM Liked: 10
post #1730 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 1,982
Joined: Apr 2002
The Pioneer Elite KURO monitor web site is working again. You can get your factory white balance settings there.
Ijon_Tichy's Avatar Ijon_Tichy
08:50 AM Liked: 10
post #1731 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 80
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoehne View Post

I have succesfully used an IR repeater system from Speakercraft and had great success. I am distributing to two other satellite boxes and my preamp as well as have other rooms connected into the system for those remote applications.

Did you use the 141 as the receiver?

I'm hoping to just plug in some cheap emitters into the 141.
stacy11's Avatar stacy11
09:48 AM Liked: 10
post #1732 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 281
Joined: Nov 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrannison View Post

I just ordered the 141 from my local dealer to replace my Fujitsu P50 and it should be here in about one week.
Got it for a decent price, plus a WAF surcharge.if you know what I mean.

OK, I'll bite: WAF surcharge????
JimP
09:52 AM Liked: 199
post #1733 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 15,493
Joined: Sep 2002
stacy,

I had to scratch my head about WAF too. Then I remember the "Wife Approval Factor" which probably means jrannison had to buy something for his wife in order to get her approval for the 141 purchase. Thus the WAF surcharge. It can become quite expensive as wives get anything from jewlery to room additions.
jrannison's Avatar jrannison
11:00 AM Liked: 10
post #1734 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 870
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

stacy,

I had to scratch my head about WAF too. Then I remember the "Wife Approval Factor" which probably means jrannison had to buy something for his wife in order to get her approval for the 141 purchase. Thus the WAF surcharge. It can become quite expensive as wives get anything from jewlery to room additions.

I thought there would be some head scratching on my statement, in particular the single folks.

Actually I got off easy.....................I have to update the small bathroom. There were no high demands because she also appreciates a good picture, being an artist and all.. She just cares less about all the technical stuff.
turbe's Avatar turbe
11:57 AM Liked: 88
post #1735 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 4,435
Joined: Feb 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post

thank you totalownership and turbe. I got it to work. Im very happy that i figured out why my isf settings was not showing above white and why my standard mode settings were on my PS3 with super white enabled.

If u want above white to show up clearly u need to have any of the DRE Picture settings on. but now theres a trade off with that. I guess ill have to see which i like best or if i can see a difference. Im going to try low.

I'll need to look into this too since I have a PS3 and 141. I probably should just search, what pattern/test disc are you using again (and which pattern specifically?


sillysally, are you experiencing any issues with your BR Players?
baddgsx's Avatar baddgsx
02:37 PM Liked: 10
post #1736 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 1,220
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I'll need to look into this too since I have a PS3 and 141. I probably should just search, what pattern/test disc are you using again (and which pattern specifically?


sillysally, are you experiencing any issues with your BR Players?



Its the 1080p grey ramps pattern on the bluray version of DVE. This WTW behaves the same way on any other mode , like standard mode , etc...
So its not the controlcal software , its the 141 that behaves this way.
Nickff's Avatar Nickff
03:02 PM Liked: 130
post #1737 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 1,614
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

You got it. Post below has my latest settings, in pure mode.
There is also older settings I posted for Pure mode. I think in October.

I would suggest you also try ISF mode settings. That way when you have your 141 calibrated, you should have a good idea how you want it calibrated.

Thanks! I appreciate it.
ROMAN O's Avatar ROMAN O
03:07 PM Liked: 11
post #1738 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 4,557
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrannison View Post

I thought there would be some head scratching on my statement, in particular the single folks.

Actually I got off easy.....................I have to update the small bathroom. There were no high demands because she also appreciates a good picture, being an artist and all.. She just cares less about all the technical stuff.

Being married and in the business I knew exactly what you meant
baddgsx's Avatar baddgsx
05:54 PM Liked: 10
post #1739 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 1,220
Joined: Dec 2005
another weird thing happened while i was checking out which i liked better , advanced or smooth. I was using the just the remote to play with the smooth and advanced settings on my standard mode because i didnt feel like plugging in the laptop to use controlcal. I finally figued out which i liked best and wanted to go back to my ISF day mode and IT WAS GONE!!!!

I dont know what happend but my ISF day mode isnt there. The night mode is still there though. What should i do? I backed up these settings on my laptop.


HELP!! How do i get this mode to show up again? Can it be done using the remote or do i have to use the laptop again?

Thanx Chris
jrannison's Avatar jrannison
06:04 PM Liked: 10
post #1740 of 5279
11-30-2008 | Posts: 870
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

Being married and in the business I knew exactly what you meant

Yes you did get it quick

Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3