Wall mount with cable box tucked behind? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-30-2008, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
80sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to keep a clean look with the flat panel being on the wall. I was wondering if there was a wall mount that allowed you to mount the cable box vertically to the backside of the unit.

The thought being that then I could run an IR repeater if necessary to the front.


In the bedroom I'm mounting it in there's not really a cabinet below to house it and I'm not that interested in running long cables.


Any thoughts or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
80sailor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 08-30-2008, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
FINN360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you need a cable box? Can you use a cable card instead?

Everything worked out great thanks to good ol' Bender!
FINN360 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 08-30-2008, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
crkpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sure you can do it, i've seen it at bars. You just need to strap it to the back of the tv somehow. Big zip ties, velcro, something like that. I haven't heard of a wall mount that has a space for a stb though.
crkpot is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 08-30-2008, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
av.pallino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 1,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crkpot View Post

Sure you can do it, i've seen it at bars. You just need to strap it to the back of the tv somehow. Big zip ties, velcro, something like that. I haven't heard of a wall mount that has a space for a stb though.


Your panel would not be flush to the wall then. Also, cable boxes generate a lot of heat. I'd go the cable card route.
sheshechic likes this.
av.pallino is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 08-31-2008, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
80sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I'd thought of the cable card route, but don't you lose inDemand features if you don't have a box?
80sailor is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 08-31-2008, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
FINN360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80sailor View Post

Thanks. I'd thought of the cable card route, but don't you lose inDemand features if you don't have a box?

You might - Check with your cable company to see what options you have. If you have to have a box and want it mounted behind the TV, then choose a panel mount that leaves you some room - one that articulates. As far as mounting the box, you may have to fabricate something. Do a search online if you haven't already.

Everything worked out great thanks to good ol' Bender!
FINN360 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 09-01-2008, 08:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
RichGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange county, CA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keep your display mounted close to the wall and hide your cable box in a cabinet or closet. Even if the cable box is in another room, just use a remote which can work with RF and IR so that it can work components in another room.

When I die I want to go peacefully, in my sleep like my grandfather did, not screaming and scared like the other three people in his car!
RichGuy is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 10-25-2008, 09:37 AM
Member
 
pweissma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also want to wall mount a smallish HDTV in my bedroom and have no good place for Tivo. I will not give up my Tivo so a cable card TV is not an option. I was thinking of building a small cabinet within the wall between the studs below the TV. The Tivo would have to go in vertically but it should work. It wouldn't be too hard, just cut a hole in the drywall, frame out the top and bottom with 2x4s, cut holes and run PVC pipe for the wires, and make a (vented) door. I could even put an outlet in the cabinet and it should be a clean installation.

Has anyone done anything like this or are there any better ideas?

Thanks
pweissma is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 10-25-2008, 07:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have heard there are cable cards that provide 2 way to support PPV and OnDemand. I believe it is called Tru2Way. However, I have never seen such a cable card nor heard of it being available. I have cable cards for my Tivo and I lose most HD stations, all PPV, all West coast feeds, all on demands ....
aymanme is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 10-25-2008, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
jayhawk11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aymanme View Post

I have heard there are cable cards that provide 2 way to support PPV and OnDemand. I believe it is called Tru2Way. However, I have never seen such a cable card nor heard of it being available. I have cable cards for my Tivo and I lose most HD stations, all PPV, all West coast feeds, all on demands ....

Yup, Tru2Way. Panasonic is currently doing a limited launch of TV's with Tru2Way support in Chicago...I haven't heard anything on how well they are working, but the tech looks promising.
sheshechic likes this.

Wanna make your Mac "teh snappy"? Visit MacRumors.com
jayhawk11 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 03-22-2013, 04:47 AM
Newbie
 
coveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a new product just released that solves this problem. Check out www.innovativeamericans.com

They make a product called the HDMEDIAPACKV2. It is now available on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Innovative-Americans-Satellite-Receiver-measuring/dp/B00B2NMXQ8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1362672821&sr=8-1&keywords=hdmediapackv2
coveman is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 03-22-2013, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
destan803's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have done this (and still do) with all my plasmas mounted on walls. I use a tilting wall mount bracket from Monoprice, and just rest the back end of the cable box on the main part of the bracket (that is flush to the wall), and the front part of the box rests on the back of the plasma. IR signals easily reflect from the ceiling so the remote works well. You just need to remember to point the remote above the TV instead of at it. In fact, behind my main floor wall mounted flat panel, I have a cable box, a router, a Western Digital TV Live streamer and a portable hard drive, all tucked neatly behind the TV.
sheshechic likes this.
destan803 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 03-22-2013, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by destan803 View Post

I have done this (and still do) with all my plasmas mounted on walls. I use a tilting wall mount bracket from Monoprice, and just rest the back end of the cable box on the main part of the bracket (that is flush to the wall), and the front part of the box rests on the back of the plasma. IR signals easily reflect from the ceiling so the remote works well. You just need to remember to point the remote above the TV instead of at it. In fact, behind my main floor wall mounted flat panel, I have a cable box, a router, a Western Digital TV Live streamer and a portable hard drive, all tucked neatly behind the TV.

I'd like to see a picture or that sounds interesting

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #14 of 16 Old 03-22-2013, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
destan803's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
destan803 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 03-22-2013, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
destan803's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
destan803 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 03-22-2013, 05:30 PM
Newbie
 
destan803's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
destan803 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off