Mounting question - 24" studs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 10-11-2008, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
thaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a mount for my 42" Panasonic from monoprice, not even thinking that I wouldn't have 16" studs. Well, I have 24" studs and the mount has a width of ~20". I am at a loss of what to do, and am not quite sure how to mount it. I'd really like to avoid cutting open my drywall to attach 2x4's between the two studs.

The TV weighs 57lbs and I would guess the mount weighs ~20lbs. Is mounting one side to a stud, then using a strong anchor on the other side a bad idea?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
thaar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 10-11-2008, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drgkja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no, mounting to one stud is not a good idea. given that you have only a 60lb tv, you can get away with it (though not the best way) only if the wall bracket of the wall-mount will be pretty much centered on the stud. your best bet is to mount a support plate a 18"x26" 3/4" thick ply or particle board across the two studs and then mount the tV mount on it. if you need detailed instructions, send me a pm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaar View Post

I purchased a mount for my 42" Panasonic from monoprice, not even thinking that I wouldn't have 16" studs. Well, I have 24" studs and the mount has a width of ~20". I am at a loss of what to do, and am not quite sure how to mount it. I'd really like to avoid cutting open my drywall to attach 2x4's between the two studs.

The TV weighs 57lbs and I would guess the mount weighs ~20lbs. Is mounting one side to a stud, then using a strong anchor on the other side a bad idea?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

drgkja is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 10-11-2008, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
thaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ygm. thanks.
thaar is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 10-12-2008, 10:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluewaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Macungie,PA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Why don't you just go and buy a mount that will cover 24" studs, it will be a whole heck of a lot safer and easier.
bluewaves is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 01-07-2009, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got a Panasonic 58" PZ800U which weighs 130lbs. I also have studs that are 24" apart and don't necessarily want to take the wall apart to add reinforcement between the studs. I considered the particle board/plywood intermediate plate. What special instructions do I need for that?

I got this mount which has a 19" backing plate: http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...#specification


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daMaster is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 01-08-2009, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel'son View Post

.. Peerless ST670.

How is that helpful? I need a mount that will extend my set out 20" from the wall. The only one other than the Monoprice mount that reaches out that far is a Sanus mount which costs around $500!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daMaster is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 01-09-2009, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PrimeTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lower California
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by daMaster View Post

I considered the particle board/plywood intermediate plate. What special instructions do I need for that?

Plywood, yes. Particle boad, no.

First, attach the mount to the 3/4" plywood board, with flathead machine screws (wall side) through the plywood, and locknuts (mount side). Countersink the screw holes on the wall side so that the heads will be flush with the wall.

Next, use a couple of drywall screws or small nails to fixture the plywood/mount assembly to its final location on the wall. Then, after drilling 7/32" pilot holes through the board and into the studs, use 1/4" Simpson Strongdrive hexhead screws (3" long) through the plywood into the studs. Eight fasteners, spaced as far apart as possible, should do the trick.
PrimeTime is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 01-11-2009, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluewaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Macungie,PA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
How bout you just go and buy the Sanus VMPL3B it will extend wide enough to hit to studs at 24" and you'll be fine don't go through all that plywood this and bolt this junk just to use some cheapo mount.
bluewaves is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 01-11-2009, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewaves View Post

How bout you just go and buy the Sanus VMPL3B it will extend wide enough to hit to studs at 24" and you'll be fine don't go through all that plywood this and bolt this junk just to use some cheapo mount.

Because I need a mount that will allow me to extend the TV out 2 feet away from the wall. The Sanus mount that does do that is $600. The Monoprice mount is $80. Huge difference in price.

Thanks for your extremely informative post.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daMaster is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 01-12-2009, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Cedar1079's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same issue. Didn't see that the monoprice mount was only 19" and didn't realize my studs were 24" apart. I'm considering adding a support plate, but I didn't think plywood would do the trick. If I attach ~ 28"x12" plywood to the studs, how much weight should it support? And how would I connect it? Lag screws for both the plywood/studs and mount/plywood? Primetime's way seems a bit complicated for me.

My tv is about 50 pounds and the mount is about 30. Obviously, I REALLY don't want it crashing down.
Cedar1079 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 01-12-2009, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PrimeTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lower California
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 33
You could always buy a larger metal plate, drill it where your studs are, and have a muffler shop weld it to the mount.

Then, there's always UniStrut....
PrimeTime is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 01-13-2009, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drgkja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you do it probably, nothing will crash and and it is not that difficult. You do need to know how to locate studs, drill holes, etc.

see pic below....my tv weighs 138lb, its extends over 50" from the wall and after 30 months, nothing has crashed.

send me a pm if you want detailed instructions.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedar1079 View Post

I'm having the same issue. Didn't see that the monoprice mount was only 19" and didn't realize my studs were 24" apart. I'm considering adding a support plate, but I didn't think plywood would do the trick. If I attach ~ 28"x12" plywood to the studs, how much weight should it support? And how would I connect it? Lag screws for both the plywood/studs and mount/plywood? Primetime's way seems a bit complicated for me.

My tv is about 50 pounds and the mount is about 30. Obviously, I REALLY don't want it crashing down.


LL
LL
drgkja is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 02-03-2009, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks a bunch to drgkja for excellent instructions he PM'd me on using 3/4" plywood as intermediate boards between my wall mount and the wall. I managed to install Monoprice mount 3725 to 24" studs with his well-detailed method.

I ended up using two 3/4" plywood boards measuring 40" wide x 20" tall. I hit 2 studs with 3 lag bolts in each stud (3/8" diameter, 4" long lag bolts). The actual mount's wall plate managed to hit one of the 2 studs, so 2 of the lag bolts are holding the wall plate on to the stud.

I painted the plywood black using Krylon spray paint, even though it isn't visible from the top of the TV unless one is standing about 2 feet in front of it.

Here is a pic of the plywood and wall mount assembly:


Close-up:


And finally, from the front of the TV (floating 26" from the wall):


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daMaster is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 02-03-2009, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drgkja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you are very welcome.....enjoy your new tv


Quote:
Originally Posted by daMaster View Post

Thanks a bunch to drgkja for excellent instructions he PM'd me on using 3/4" plywood as intermediate boards between my wall mount and the wall. I managed to install Monoprice mount 3725 to 24" studs with his well-detailed method.

I ended up using two 3/4" plywood boards measuring 40" wide x 20" tall. I hit 2 studs with 3 lag bolts in each stud (3/8" diameter, 4" long lag bolts). The actual mount's wall plate managed to hit one of the 2 studs, so 2 of the lag bolts are holding the wall plate on to the stud.

I painted the plywood black using Krylon spray paint, even though it isn't visible from the top of the TV unless one is standing about 2 feet in front of it.

Here is a pic of the plywood and wall mount assembly:


Close-up:


And finally, from the front of the TV (floating 26" from the wall):

drgkja is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 01-27-2011, 03:15 AM
Newbie
 
Metallo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fredericton, NB - Canada
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

would anybody PM me the detailed instructions?
I am also in the same situation of daMaster, same item too!

Thank you
Alex
Metallo is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 01-27-2011, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here are the instructions. I take no credit for them as they came from user drgkja:
Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkja View Post

here are the instructions. in addition, since you have a big tv on an articulating mount, which hangs several inches from the wall exerting extra load on the upper bolts as well as the intermediate wood, i strongly suggest the following--

1. must use 2 sheets of 3/4' thick plywood (or particle board) slapped (laminated) together.

2. the vertical dimension of the boards should be at least 24".

3. horizontal dimension: if i were doing this, i would use 50" wide pieces so that the intermediate board(s) will be mounted on 3 studs. i don't think the wood will be visible as your tv almost 60" wide

4. try to mount the mount-assembly as much near the center of the intermediate wood as possible. hope your layout (viewing position) will let let you do this.

general intrctions for using an intermediate board(s):

1. get intermediate boards as above.

2. before you attach the ply to the wall, attach the wall side of the wall-mount to the ply (s). use 6 5/16" flat-head, 2" to 2-1/2" long bolts/nuts. to do this, feed the bolts from back side of the wood towards you...so the nuts will sit against the surface of the metal wall-bracket of the mount; and you should countersink (taper) the back side of the hole in the wood so the bolts-heads are reasonably flat with the ply so this assembly (bracket and ply) should be fairly flat on the back and it can go flush against the wall.

3. now you attach the hole assembly to the wall using 6 (for 2 studs) or preferably 9 (for 3 studs) 5/16" or 3/8" dia, 4-1/2" long lag bolts. (remember to drill 7/32" 9/32" pilot holes)

You can also see the pictures of my install in this post: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post15724643


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daMaster is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 01-27-2011, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
Metallo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fredericton, NB - Canada
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

the instructions report 2 sheets of 3/4' thick plywood, but from the pictures you used only one I guess?

My TV is 46" and its dimensions are: 44 3/4 x 29 x 4 7/8 so I was thinking to 1 3/4' thick plywood panel with the following dimensions: W 31.5 x H 14
I would assume this to be enough given that my TV weights 71 lb

What do you think?

Thank you
Alex
Metallo is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 01-27-2011, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallo View Post

Hi,

the instructions report 2 sheets of 3/4' thick plywood, but from the pictures you used only one I guess?

My TV is 46" and its dimensions are: 44 3/4 x 29 x 4 7/8 so I was thinking to 1 3/4' thick plywood panel with the following dimensions: W 31.5 x H 14
I would assume this to be enough given that my TV weights 71 lb

What do you think?

Thank you
Alex

I'm using 2 sheets. Maybe it isn't clear in my pics because I painted them black.

And I used 3/4" sheets not 3/4' 3/4' would be very thick


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daMaster is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 01-27-2011, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
PoppaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
When I bought the VT25 I discovered that where I had my center channel speaker was blocking the remote and the 3D sensor. I ended up making a small stand out of plywood and "bun feet" from Lowes to raise the TV above the center channel.

That plywood sure likes to suck up paint, right daMaster? Nice looking job and no worries that will ever fall down.
PoppaC is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 01-27-2011, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
Metallo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fredericton, NB - Canada
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by daMaster View Post

I'm using 2 sheets. Maybe it isn't clear in my pics because I painted them black.

And I used 3/4" sheets not 3/4' 3/4' would be very thick

Hi,

just to be sure I have well understood, I am from Europe and am used to cm more than inches, I live in Canada where I was expecting to use cm, but I was wrong

Anyhow, you overlapped two plywood boards of 3/4" each, which means what I see in the picture is 1.5" thick ?
The size you have used is 40" x 20" which is basically the double of the wall plate size both in width and tall?

Sure your TV weights twice as mine, that's why I am wondering whether I should go for 1 layer instead of two.

Have I well understood the dimensions you cut your plywood?

Thanks
Alex
Metallo is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 01-28-2011, 07:44 PM
Newbie
 
Metallo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fredericton, NB - Canada
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
daMaster,

would you please reply to my last question?
It is important to me.

Thank you
Alex
Metallo is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 06-07-2011, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
vtswoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=daMaster;19905684]Here are the instructions. I take no credit for them as they came from user drgkja:



I am in a similar situation with 24" studs, and a 16" mount.

Do you think I could use two pieces of 1/2" plywood in place of 2 3/4" pieces? Or alternatively use a 3rd piece of 1/2" plywood to get the same depth?

I am mounting a 30lb VideoSecu articulating mount (MW370B) that will be extended a decent amount for a corner mount, holding a 59lb 46" LCD (LN46C630).

I've had 3 1/2"Dx32"Wx12"H pieces of plywood cut, bought 6 new 5/16" lag screws + washers to mount to the studs, and 6 1/4" flathead countersink bolts + nuts/washers/lock washers to attach the mount to the plywood.

Any advice on using 2 or 3 pieces of 1/2" or if I should go back and get the 2 3/4" pieces?
vtswoj is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off