The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 133 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #3961 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
aross99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhip View Post

It is my understanding the the ISF in the North American KPM sets was disabled and is activated again by this patch as the ISF interface is offered on the same sets overseas.

This makes perfect sense...
aross99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3962 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riot Nrrrd View Post

Well, look on the bright side, we 600M owners didn't get anything better blacks-wise than the 141/151 owners.

It's OK VidPro, I know you are a good guy, you're from Reveauh (Former Swampscott boy here and my Great Aunt lived in Point of Pines)

P.S. "qft" == Quite F'ing True

If you ah evah in the area lemme know and we can hit the bah.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #3963 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
bryanb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those with a 500m, do you ever notice any flicker watching 24p sources? I have a Panasonic V10 right now and even at 96Hz I can see some flicker in some scenarios. For example in the Pixar intro there is flicker at the top of the image when the intro fades in/out. Also on the bright outdoor scenes of A Bug's Life there is some flicker in the bright sky.
bryanb is offline  
post #3964 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Shawn1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

So D-Nice, do you make your way to the Boston area?

I would like to know as well.
Shawn1 is offline  
post #3965 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought that it was "quite fing true" at first but later found out it was "Quoted for truth"
mike2060 is offline  
post #3966 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 08:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanb View Post

For those with a 500m, do you ever notice any flicker watching 24p sources? I have a Panasonic V10 right now and even at 96Hz I can see some flicker in some scenarios. For example in the Pixar intro there is flicker at the top of the image when the intro fades in/out. Also on the bright outdoor scenes of A Bug's Life there is some flicker in the bright sky.

There's still flicker on Kuros so don't think that they somehow eliminated it.
mike2060 is offline  
post #3967 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 08:21 AM
 
davidjschenk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruelInventions View Post

Not really. A thousand got you ISF and speakers and a stand, not to mention "hand picked" parts (which I'm always cynical about claims of the latter, so I'll write that one off). With this in mind, it's more like $300-ish for ISF, if we're dividing that $1000 amt. roughly into thirds.

So a more accurate way to describe it might be that you're getting the nifty ISF patch at half price (versus paying $150 for a $1000 value).

I'm just sayin', I'm not sayin'.

DARF!! Oh, you're not just just sayin'; you're sayin' truth. You're sayin' a simple truth of which I quite lost sight for a moment.

Yours,

David
davidjschenk is offline  
post #3968 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
bryanb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike2060 View Post

There's still flicker on Kuros so don't think that they somehow eliminated it.

I expected there to be some flicker on motion due to 24p, but I'm surprised there is flicker on static bright images (on the V10 at least).
bryanb is offline  
post #3969 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 09:04 AM
Mod & Bluray Reviewer
 
Lee Weber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn1 View Post

I would like to know as well.

If you do you can have a place to crash and mess around wth my 2 kuro's and my jvc rs10. (I need some lessons with my i1pro man!!!)
Lee Weber is online now  
post #3970 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn1 View Post

I would like to know as well.


A multiple order discount?

I live in Revere too. Wonderful weathah we're havin.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #3971 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanb View Post

I expected there to be some flicker on motion due to 24p, but I'm surprised there is flicker on static bright images (on the V10 at least).

Yeah plasmas have a subtle 60hz flicker.
mike2060 is offline  
post #3972 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by elite-home View Post

To make my point, I am willing to donate $1,000.00 to turbe and the "others" if they are willing to make this widely released. I think this forum should become what it once appeared to be- an honest and enjoyable experience where people shared freely for information.

I am misreading this? It sounds like you are offering to donate funds to make the ISF KRP patch package free of charge ("widely released") for the rest of us. That is truly magnanimous! Now, will they take you up on it?
jdbimmer is online now  
post #3973 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I doubt they will as there's a ton of money to be made.
mike2060 is offline  
post #3974 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanb View Post

For those with a 500m, do you ever notice any flicker watching 24p sources?

No.

But there are sufficient complications in the implicit comparison that I don't really think it's useful. There are too many components in the video path and you would need to control for all of them for a valid comparison.
bodosom is online now  
post #3975 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 09:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The great part is the price appears to have fallen from $149 to $100 within 12 hours so we at least appreciate them for doing that!!!
elite-home is offline  
post #3976 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
NateTTU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbimmer View Post

I am misreading this? It sounds like you are offering to donate funds to make the ISF KRP patch package free of charge ("widely released") for the rest of us. That is truly magnanimous! Now, will they take you up on it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike2060 View Post

I doubt they will as there's a ton of money to be made.

I would have to agree with Mike. Assuming the price is now $100, he would likely sell at least a couple hundred of these and that would put him around 20k profit. So I would have to think he would still want to sell them on an individual basis.

I haven't decided if I will upgrade my 600M yet. I may at a later date, but probably not right now. I have a feeling it would really only be worth it if I also got a ISF calibration. I don't know exactly how much those are, but I thought it was around $400 or more. I will probably just save up and get both sometime later.

Thanks Turbe for making this code available for us.
NateTTU is offline  
post #3977 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 09:59 AM
Member
 
minuccims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a quick question - does applying the patch void the Pioneer manufacture warrantee?
minuccims is offline  
post #3978 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
J0HNNY H0PK1NS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The patch allows us to do our own calibration basically?

Everything else < Kuro PLASMA
J0HNNY H0PK1NS is offline  
post #3979 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
J0HNNY H0PK1NS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by minuccims View Post

Just a quick question - does applying the patch void the Pioneer manufacture warrantee?

?

Everything else < Kuro PLASMA
J0HNNY H0PK1NS is offline  
post #3980 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
NateTTU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by minuccims View Post

Just a quick question - does applying the patch void the Pioneer manufacture warrantee?

The patch was also to include an uninstall feature to basically turn it back to stock configutaion. Hopefully Pioneer won't be able to read a previous firmware hack and void the warranty. Otherwise if Pioneer doesn't know, it won't hurt your warranty.

Honestly, I think when the service tech is inspecting the TV I doubt he would even bother looking for that sort of thing. As long as the menu look correct he would continue his work.
NateTTU is offline  
post #3981 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mak99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: seattle/renton, wa
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by NateTTU View Post

The patch was also to include an uninstall feature to basically turn it back to stock configutaion. Hopefully Pioneer won't be able to read a previous firmware hack and void the warranty. Otherwise if Pioneer doesn't know, it won't hurt your warranty.

Hopefully no Pioneer reps are reading this thread...

still one of my favorite bumper stickers of all time...

FREE TIBET! *
* with purchase of equal or lesser Tibet
mak99 is offline  
post #3982 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Somehow no one's mentioned this, that Pioneer has nothing to do with this patch. I don't see why some people are annoyed (to say the least) at Pioneer or at "insiders" for this.

Also, this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyb05 View Post

thanks for the reply but wasnt it stated like a week ago that the the black levels on the 500m is 30-40% better.

Percentage is a relative measurement. You need to realize, "30-40%" of what? 40% of 0.00whatever, will likely still be imperceptible.
Andy o is offline  
post #3983 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanb View Post

For those with a 500m, do you ever notice any flicker watching 24p sources? I have a Panasonic V10 right now and even at 96Hz I can see some flicker in some scenarios. For example in the Pixar intro there is flicker at the top of the image when the intro fades in/out. Also on the bright outdoor scenes of A Bug's Life there is some flicker in the bright sky.

Can you see flickering at 60 Hz with 60p content?
Andy o is offline  
post #3984 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyb05 View Post

i dont like the way it was all handled. i did months of research, to make a informed decision. then after i make a decision theres a secret, that theres a 10g pioneer! are you freaking kiddin this is the biggest news of the year and pioneer and some in the know keep it a secret. this news should have been made public long ago. it has been keep very very low keyed around hear. thats funny the biggest news of the year, pioneer has 10g displays and its a secret. then more secrets that you can get isf modes for the m series. so much for makin a informed decision, know me and a bunch of others feel like a uniformed *******s. and iam sure those in the know had there 500ms long long ago. now i wish that i never heard of pioneer or avs. whats the next news that pioneer will NOT stop making displays. so all you *******s out there that thought to buy one before its too late another jokes on you.

I can see why you'd be a little bent out of shape that Pioneer put 10g tech into the 500m's and didn't advertise it but what did you expect them to do when they kept the same technology out of the 500m's big brother and the higher priced elite's?

As far as the patch goes it wasn't a 'secret' as much as it was an upgrade waiting to be developed by the right resources and I'm sure Turbe hasn't been sitting on it for that long...why would he? These developments don't make your purchase decision less informed. You made the best decision at the time given the information available to the general public at that time. Ignorance may be bliss but that's an informed decision if I ever heard of one.
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #3985 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:21 AM
Member
 
transendance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A question for d-nice, Are these observations regarding the 101/500 series true for the entire run of the model or only from a certain date for the series.
The reason for the question is the reports that some aspects of the other 9g series may have changed over the production run, (suggested by your notice that previous 9g settings may/do not hold true for the recent series - different factory).???
transendance is offline  
post #3986 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:33 AM
Member
 
krik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice,

So if I get the "patch" for my 600m, does this now mean that your ISFccc reference settings for the FD-151 are now valid for the 600m?
krik is offline  
post #3987 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whityfrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

I guess I didn't express myself enough. Firstly I understand how it works when new tech comes out. I'm just bummed about the blacks being better than my 111. I'm a tech freak like a lot of you guys and I think it's natural to want the latest. Plus the fact that Pioneer is out of the business I can't say to myself why not put some cash aside and get one soon. Bah!

to go buy a 500m because it has slightly lipped your 111 is not a good idea. definently not a noticable improvement for you. sounds like your anal in buyers remorse. its hard to take but you already have what you need. so why bother?
whityfrd is offline  
post #3988 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any 600m owners who's panels are dead silent even in bright scenes? I can hear buzzing from my couch on most of the white(ish) color slides on the break-in DVD but I'm pretty sure it's normal. I think I'm a little sensitive to it because there's no audio running. BTW, my house is at sea level.
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #3989 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NateTTU View Post

The patch was also to include an uninstall feature to basically turn it back to stock configutaion. Hopefully Pioneer won't be able to read a previous firmware hack and void the warranty. Otherwise if Pioneer doesn't know, it won't hurt your warranty.

Honestly, I think when the service tech is inspecting the TV I doubt he would even bother looking for that sort of thing. As long as the menu look correct he would continue his work.

Think about what was just wrote, you can unhack a hack and make a panel go from programmed with ISF internal panel manipulations to back to normal within a moments notice and Pioneer is truly not going to be able to realize this has happened.... and yet it is something that was created from scratch?
elite-home is offline  
post #3990 of 4963 Old 06-28-2009, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
NateTTU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elite-home View Post

Think about what was just wrote, you can unhack a hack and make a panel go from programmed with ISF internal panel manipulations to back to normal within a moments notice and Pioneer is truly not going to be able to realize this has happened.... and yet it is something that was created from scratch?

I never said it was made from scratch. I don't know how turbe created this patch and its really not my place to force him to tell.

However, think of the panel just like a number of other electronic devices. You can easily hack ipods, cell phones, game consoles just in this same fashion. I've hacked a number of my devices in a similiar way. It sounds to me its just like a firmware hack and that it overwrites the code on the TV. Simply overwrite it again with the old version and no one can ever tell, except maybe if the TV records such events, but since I don't ever recall hacking of any other TVs I'm pretty sure this was not in Pioneers mind.

All your doing is changing the code of the TV, not really revising anything physically. Memory is easily erased and restored.

Simplified version: you can buy a PC with windows XP installed, overwrite it with Linux and then change it back to windows XP.
NateTTU is offline  
Closed Thread Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off