The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 11:04 AM
mfb
Senior Member
 
mfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
another update:

My shipment has been delayed until at least next Tuesday (3/17). I was told by Alex that it was coming from Reno. It is now being shipped from Kentucky.

I'll update next week.

marty
mfb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
blb1215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Update

I decided to get a refund for now. I ordered from Leo at coza.com, let me say I do not in any way blame him. He said he would expedite my refund and it could be 2 or 3 days. He has been very helpful and professional though out this process. I believe he is as frustrated and baffled as we all are at the high damage rate currently happening. I know he is at the mercy of supplier and delivery chain.

Barry
blb1215 is offline  
post #393 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Roberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyonman View Post

I am new here although I have been PM'd other members about this Pioneer model. I am ready to jump and buy this instead of the 6020 but now I am really worried about all these cracked displays that other members are getting. Units are coming from different warehouses and were shipped using different shipping/trucking companies.

Correct me if I am wrong but it appears that most of the problems were coming from warehouses/distribution centers based on the East or Midwest. I am wondering if the other members that received theirs from the west coast distributors ( Reno NV or Southern Cal)had the same problems?

For what it's worth, my broken 6020 shipped from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. My unbroken 600M shipped from Whittier, California.
Roberto is offline  
post #394 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 01:12 PM
Member
 
johnnyb05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
called shipper, said KRP-600m will be there in 15mins. man iam dying. if its broken i dont think i will try for another one, too many broken ones. i will post the good or bad news very soon. by the way, this set was to come from hauppauge n.y., then go to local shipper (pilot) at JFK, then come to me in suffolk ny. which is all on long island.
johnnyb05 is offline  
post #395 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 01:43 PM
Member
 
johnnyb05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its broken.. it was shipped from ohio not hauppauge.have to make phone call fuc.....
johnnyb05 is offline  
post #396 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
SoSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyb05 View Post

its broken.. it was shipped from ohio not hauppauge.have to make phone call fuc.....

OMG, another broken one. Damn, that is nuts.
SoSo is offline  
post #397 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 01:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My KRP-600 appears to have arrived intact. I haven't done a close inspection, however.
bfdtv is offline  
post #398 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

My KRP-600 appears to have arrived intact. I haven't done a close inspection, however.

Does it turn on?
chrisherbert is offline  
post #399 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:14 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoSo View Post

OMG, another broken one. Damn, that is nuts.

Someone needs to find out if its the same shipper and same distributor period. This is not common unless its a shipper that does not know what they are doing and I have seen that!
ROMAN O is offline  
post #400 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Damn..

Did it come shipped on a pallet? I was just told that some Distributors and/or shippers are removing the pallets.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #401 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

Damn..

Did it come shipped on a pallet? I was just told that some Distributors and/or shippers are removing the pallets.

Mine did not come on a pallet. About to turn it on...fingers crossed.
bfdtv is offline  
post #402 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:30 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not having a pallet or putting a shipment on the plane doubles the chances of it not being good, this is IMO obviously
I am sorry to see so many units
ROMAN O is offline  
post #403 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:34 PM
Member
 
keyonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

My KRP-600 appears to have arrived intact. I haven't done a close inspection, however.

Where are you located and do you know where your unit shipped from ( distributor location)?
keyonman is offline  
post #404 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:40 PM
Member
 
mlb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know that multiple shippers and multiple distributors have been used in the at least 6 broken units this week so far. Plus, I believe many were shipped on a pallet (mine was) and the boxes of many cracked ones were pristine.
mlb11 is offline  
post #405 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Roberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb11 View Post

I know that multiple shippers and multiple distributors have been used in the at least 6 broken units this week so far. Plus, I believe many were shipped on a pallet (mine was) and the boxes of many cracked ones were pristine.

My unbroken set had an decent-sized hole in the side of the box (visible in my pics). Go figure.

It seems like it would be difficult to pinpoint one particular distributor or shipper. I'm assuming these sets change hands multiple times -- especially if they're being shipped from Japan.

I am curious who ends up footing the bill for all of these broken sets. Is the the shipper's insurance company? The distributor? Pioneer?
Roberto is offline  
post #406 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:51 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Depends on various factors box damage, shippers contract etc
ROMAN O is offline  
post #407 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 02:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm now running the break-in DVD on the KRP-600M using D-Nice's settings. There is a buzz, which is louder than the buzz on my Panasonic 58PZ800. I'm guessing this is normal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keyonman View Post

Where are you located and do you know where your unit shipped from ( distributor location)?

The distributor was Almo Corporation from Philadelphia, PA. The delivery company was New Penn.

My KRP-600M has a manufacture date of January, 2009.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roberto View Post

My unbroken set had an decent-sized hole in the side of the box (visible in my pics). Go figure.

Coincidentally, so did mine when it was delivered today. The unit itself seems fine.
bfdtv is offline  
post #408 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 03:01 PM
Member
 
johnnyb05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i will tell you what i saw, then my opinion on why its broken. 4:30 pm today truck driver calls me and need directions to get here, he doesnt speak english, but he understands it ( i think). truck gets to my home, only one guy, he open backdoor and my box is sitting ther not strapped down or anything ( iam thinking how can it not be broken). driver slides it down back of 5ft truck with out using lift gate( my be it doesnt work) i had to help him get in my house, its 130lb tv. slide off top and there it is a 60" kuro WITH big freakin cracks, two on one side about 2ft long and another on the otherside 6" long. Now my opinion on why they are getting broken. i have worked in warehouse picking orders and i have 20 years working in trucks. when they come into country the are on a big plate all straped up and secure. when that brake them down lets say in hauppauge warehouse more then likely are ok. BUT when they are picked up to local shippers they are a single box which is about 1 1/2 ft wide, which are top heavy, then they are loaded in local trucks. if they are not taken care of very carefully they will fail over. when my driver opened backdoor, it wasnt strapped down! there is no way in hell that it didnt fall over. so i believe its once these big pallets are broken down the boxes are very likely to fall over. its a giant piece of glass.
johnnyb05 is offline  
post #409 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 03:11 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Honestly doing this for a while and seeing the distributor names and locations you cant blame them as they are VERY reputable Its just many units are probably getting ordered but I agree these odds are very bad that I see on here
ROMAN O is offline  
post #410 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

Honestly doing this for a while and seeing the distributor names and locations you cant blame them as they are VERY reputable Its just many units are probably getting ordered but I agree these odds are very bad that I see on here

This seems way beyond anything normal. How many people actually have one that arrived undamaged...2?
chrisherbert is offline  
post #411 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These odds are crazy IMO. Like I had mentioned, mine was strapped to a pallet and secured to a wall inside the truck. Box was pristine.

I just spoke with Leo at Coza. The gameplan is now this. They are getting a new shipment in on Thursday. They will now be inspecting the displays before shipping out from warehouse. They have enough coming to fill current backorders/broken ones. I told him that I will go ahead and wait for this one. After that, I may cancel out of this mess. We will see. I really want one badly though before they are gone, so I dont want to give up either.

PS - He also told me that when he talked to the Pioneer rep, they said that only the glass and processing board ship over from Japan. They are actually assembled in the USA in California somewhere. They are getting damaged after that point. I cannot verify this though.
ndisgii is offline  
post #412 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 03:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
delete
ndisgii is offline  
post #413 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 03:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
delete
ndisgii is offline  
post #414 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 87
How about start a new thread for this, so the Owner's Thread doesn't get clogged up..

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #415 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

How about start a new thread for this, so the Owner's Thread doesn't get clogged up..

Done

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post16037737
ndisgii is offline  
post #416 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 228
I mounted a pair of 111 speakers on my 500M.

They do not fit out of the box. They are too far forward and the brackets do not match up.

To mount them I needed:
  • 4 M5x16 bolts to screw into the plasma
  • 4 1/4 inch nylon standoffs
  • 4 washers to get a yunt more to make the speaker flush.

The top bracket can be left alone and the bottom bracket needs the hole expanded about 1/4 inch. We used a Dremel and a carbide bit. It was not hard. If you make the top flush, the bottom speakers are just a hair short. This seems to be as designed. My Friends 151 speakers do are just a bit short too.

Images:
PioScrews - Shows the parts and the black original screw.
BottomRightBracket - shows the original right bracket.
BottomLeftOverBottomRight - shows the right altered bracket with the unaltered left.
TopLeft - shows the top of the left speaker mounted.
BottomLeft - shows the bottom left speaker mounted.
FullView - is the finished product.

Of course, you could Dremel out the top a yunt to split the difference.
But I think they look great.

So how do they sound. Just fine!
I turned them up louder than I ever would - no problem.

- Rich
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #417 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Here are the rest of the images of the finished product.

- Rich
LL

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #418 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:


This seems to be as designed. It was this way on my Friends 141.



Why would you put speakers on a 141 (there are no audio circuits) so there is no "as designed".

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #419 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Here are the rest of the images of the finished product.

Very nice and good job on the speakers. Looks good sir!
ndisgii is offline  
post #420 of 4963 Old 03-13-2009, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post



Why would you put speakers on a 141 (there are no audio circuits) so there is no "as designed".

Typo. I corrected it. My Friends 151 speakers were just a tiny bit shorter than the display as well.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
Closed Thread Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off