The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 01:48 PM
Member
 
SuperVision2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

The 151s have a 100% peak white challenge at 100% stimuli where they are redder than the other models.. at least the plus green grayscale models are.


Which mode was able to output 55+ ft.L (without white-clipping) on a 151 you calibrated?

TIA
SuperVision2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 01:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperVision2010 View Post

Which mode was able to output 55+ ft.L (without white-clipping) on a 151 you calibrated?

TIA

You can't do 55fL+ post calibration on the 151FDs. The max I've seen is 50. 55+ is for the 111/101FDs.
D-Nice is offline  
post #573 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbird8450 View Post

What about the 111?

It can happen, but it is not as common as the 151FDs.
D-Nice is offline  
post #574 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

The max on the 500M I calibrated was 42fL before clipping, but I dialed it back to 36 (or was it 38)fL per the owner's request.

And can I assume that my 600M will come in at a lower number than that? Lastly, would there be any negative affects at all had he chose to leave it at 42fL? I will most likely want mine at the absolute max before clipping because I do lean toward a bright picture. The shots I have seen with day/night modes look fantastic and look more like what I would like, so the max in pure mode would definitely be my choice if there are no negatives from it.
ndisgii is offline  
post #575 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 02:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

And can I assume that my 600M will come in at a lower number than that?

Between 38 and 41fL.

Quote:


Lastly, would there be any negative affects at all had he chose to leave it at 42fL?

I would not know that unless I was physically there calibrating the set.
D-Nice is offline  
post #576 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 03:20 PM
Member
 
SuperVision2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can't do 55fL+ post calibration on the 151FDs. The max I've seen is 50. 55+ is for the 111/101FDs


Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Between 38 and 41fL.

So,is it fair to conclude that the presence of the ISFccc mode is responsible for increased light-output (without clipping) on the Elites and Signatures?
SuperVision2010 is offline  
post #577 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

I would not know that unless I was physically there calibrating the set.

But you were there...
chrisherbert is offline  
post #578 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Between 38 and 41fL.

I would not know that unless I was physically there calibrating the set.

My apologies, I was under the impression that you were there calibrating it?
ndisgii is offline  
post #579 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperVision2010 View Post

So,is it fair to conclude that the presence of the ISFccc mode is responsible for increased light-output (without clipping) on the Elites and Signatures?

From reading alot of other posts, this is absolutely correct. Its the only thing that makes me hesitant about the 600M, even though I know it has an awesome picture in Pure mode. I really like bright, but hate LCD, so the Elite ISF modes seem to be the ticket. The problem is that I dont want to spend the extra almost $2000 just for ISF day/night modes. This sucks...lol...
ndisgii is offline  
post #580 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 04:19 PM
Member
 
SuperVision2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Between 38 and 41fL.

I would not know that unless I was physically there calibrating the set.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

My apologies, I was under the impression that you were there calibrating it?

He calibrated a 500M and was answering a question on the 600M.
SuperVision2010 is offline  
post #581 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperVision2010 View Post

He calibrated a 500M and was answering a question on the 600M.

???

I was referring to when he said he calibrated the 500M to 42fL and turned it back to 36-38fL. I was wondering if there would have been any negative sides to leaving it at 42fL in any way, shape, or form at all?

And when he said "I would not know that unless I was physically there calibrating the set.", it threw me for a curve

No biggie really, just curious.
ndisgii is offline  
post #582 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 08:41 PM
Member
 
Gtarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks SoSo For a New 17inch Macbook Pro with Mini Display Port Output what brand 10foot cord could I use to control the monitor ? Any URL's

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoSo View Post

GStarr, since the 600M Ethernet (Network) interface is for adjusting picture control, it DOES NOT have what Pioneer called Home Media Gallery build-in which plays JPG slide show and MPEG video (available in xx20 and Elite but NOT Signature). However, you can always use a laptop/desktop connected to either the DVI or VGA port to use it as a computer monitor. In addition, just make sure you take precaution on standard burn-in prevention procedure.

Gtarr is offline  
post #583 of 4963 Old 03-23-2009, 10:01 PM
Newbie
 
bernito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the long overdue post. I bought and received a 600M from over four weeks ago and am located in CA. The monitor arrived in perfect condition, although I have been a shade nervous since. I was seemingly one of the first to receive the unit and did a quick visual inspection and everything seemed fine. I did not have the correct plate for my Peerless swing arm mount, so I did not mount and watch it immediately. The monitor is in my weekend home, so I have been agonizing since as I did not return until this past Friday. The set is fine, although I did not put it through its paces and only checked a few DirecTV HD signals. I can say that it is not surprisingly far superior to the PRO-FHD1 and PDP-6010, but cannot opine on a more relevant comparison with the 111/151 or 101/141. It has the best PQ of any plasma I have viewed, and is only surpassed by quality projectors. Given the price, the M series can't be beat unless someone (i.e. Panansonic) buys the Kuro technology.
bernito is offline  
post #584 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 05:14 AM
Member
 
BASICEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mint Hill, North Carolina`
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good Morning, Guys,

I had the
pleasure of having D-NICE in my town on Saturday (3/21/09) for multiple calibrations and he was able to calibrate my KRP-500M. I have posted the results on the Calibration Forum. Get ready to be impressed with the test results from this unit. I now need to decide if I am going to give up my beloved 5020 (which was also calibrated by D-NICE) for the 500M. As of now, it resides in my Test Lab awaiting the decision of an old guy. I'm torn, I tell you, I'm torn.

As always, D-NICE, thank you for your professionalism, knowledge, work ethic and contributions to this thread. Those of us who lurk on the outside reading the drival that is thrown your way, know your value.

Jack
BASICEO is offline  
post #585 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cajieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 4,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by BASICEO View Post

Good Morning, Guys,

I had the
pleasure of having D-NICE in my town on Saturday (3/21/09) for multiple calibrations and he was able to calibrate my KRP-500M. I have posted the results on the Calibration Forum. Get ready to be impressed with the test results from this unit. I now need to decide if I am going to give up my beloved 5020 (which was also calibrated by D-NICE) for the 500M. As of now, it resides in my Test Lab awaiting the decision of an old guy. I'm torn, I tell you, I'm torn.

Jack, when you say you are torn between the two, could you elaborate? Is it because you'll miss the speakers, or the stand, or certain inputs, etc.? Or is picture quality too close between displays that you don't notice much difference?
cajieboy is offline  
post #586 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 06:52 AM
Member
 
BASICEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mint Hill, North Carolina`
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajieboy View Post

Jack, when you say you are torn between the two, could you elaborate? Is it because you'll miss the speakers, or the stand, or certain inputs, etc.? Or is picture quality too close between displays that you don't notice much difference?

I don't use the speakers or the stand. What I do use on the 5020 is the tuner for OTA local channel reception in an emergency should my TWC go out. The quality of reception in my area is outstanding, with a definite difference in the cable feed from the OTA reception. If I do decide to replace the 5020 with the 500M, I would definitely purchase a Digital Tuner so that I could continue to receive the OTA feed.

The picture quality between the two is subjective as I have not placed them side by side to make a comparison. However, I did bring in my PS3 and played "Dark Knight" on Sunday and it was amazing on the 500M. The black levels are definitely higher. The slim profile is a plus as I use my 5020 in a custom made Entertainment Center and could use the addition 2" off of the rear of the 500M.

Jack
BASICEO is offline  
post #587 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 09:10 AM
Member
 
DefiantGSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BASICEO View Post

I don't use the speakers or the stand. What I do use on the 5020 is the tuner for OTA local channel reception in an emergency should my TWC go out. The quality of reception in my area is outstanding, with a definite difference in the cable feed from the OTA reception. If I do decide to replace the 5020 with the 500M, I would definitely purchase a Digital Tuner so that I could continue to receive the OTA feed.

The picture quality between the two is subjective as I have not placed them side by side to make a comparison. However, I did bring in my PS3 and played "Dark Knight" on Sunday and it was amazing on the 500M. The black levels are definitely higher. The slim profile is a plus as I use my 5020 in a custom made Entertainment Center and could use the addition 2" off of the rear of the 500M.

Jack

when you say black levels are higher, do you mean they are darker or lighter than the 5020?
DefiantGSR is offline  
post #588 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrTAPOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
just ordered my 600m yesterday! I'll post pics once I get it, but I am pumped! Great deal BTW from monitoroutlet.com. Lowest I have seen and a great deal on the a 5 year warranty. is an authorized pioneer dealer also.
mrTAPOUT is offline  
post #589 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 10:14 AM
Member
 
BASICEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mint Hill, North Carolina`
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DefiantGSR View Post

when you say black levels are higher, do you mean they are darker or lighter than the 5020?

They are darker, as it appears to the eye. In using the term "higher", I was meaning that they are increased.

Jack
BASICEO is offline  
post #590 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
JonW747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't suppose I'd be able to re-use the table top stand from my PDP-6070HD for the KRP-600M would I?

It'd save me a bundle of money since my goal would be to wall mount the 6070 in the location it'd be bumped to, but it seems like the 6070 is an odd duck as far as mounting.
JonW747 is offline  
post #591 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 11:37 AM
Member
 
wilfred80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased the KRP-600M as well... I'm hoping it arrives this week since I'm on vacation until next Monday, so I'll have some time to play.
wilfred80 is offline  
post #592 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilfred80 View Post

I just purchased the KRP-600M as well... I'm hoping it arrives this week since I'm on vacation until next Monday, so I'll have some time to play.

Congrats on the purchase. I think that this will be one hell of a tv for the price. Good luck with your delivery and keep us posted! Take care!
ndisgii is offline  
post #593 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
luvnhateSony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

I had the opportunity to calibrate a 500M this past Saturday. Post calibration, it was one of the most accurate diplays I have ever calibrated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BASICEO View Post

I had the pleasure of having D-NICE in my town on Saturday (3/21/09) for multiple calibrations and he was able to calibrate my KRP-500M. I have posted the results on the Calibration Forum. Get ready to be impressed withthe test results from this unit.

HOLY SH**! I just saw the cal report for this panel and your not kidding! It's without a doubt the best results Ive seen on a cal report to date. Sure the Elites and Sig. come very close but this particular panel reacted extremely well to a good calibration. You must of thoroughly enjoyed that cal run D.

There's no question these models are a total steal at there price point, especially when you consider the amazing quality of these panels. Damn! I always wanted a more affordable 60" 9G..... I cant give in though as much as I really want to. Nope, my money HAS to finally go towards a nice AVR and surround sound system. (yes, thats my sad attempt in talking myself out of a KRP-600M.) Besides, I already have a beautiful and perfectly calibrated 111FD at home.
luvnhateSony is offline  
post #594 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 01:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvnhateSony View Post

HOLY SH**! I just saw the cal report for this panel and your not kidding! It's without a doubt the best results Ive seen on a cal report to date. Sure the Elites and Sig. come very close but this particular panel reacted extremely well to a good calibration. You must of thoroughly enjoyed that cal run D.

There's no question these models are a total steal at there price point, especially when you consider the amazing quality of these panels. Damn! I always wanted a more affordable 60" 9G..... I cant give in though as much as I really want to. Nope, my money HAS to finally go towards a nice AVR and surround sound system. (yes, thats my sad attempt in talking myself out of a KRP-600M.) Besides, I already have a beautiful and perfectly calibrated 111FD at home.

Agreed...looks fantastic! Puts it right there beside the 'best of the best' elites picturewise in pure mode. Now if someone could just get those darn ISFccc modes to magically appear...lol...yes, I know I know. It never gets old. Well, ok, maybe it does

Here is the link to the cal reports:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=225

Thanks for posting this for us to see sir!
ndisgii is offline  
post #595 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
SoSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvnhateSony View Post

HOLY SH**! I just saw the cal report for this panel and your not kidding! It's without a doubt the best results Ive seen on a cal report to date. Sure the Elites and Sig. come very close but this particular panel reacted extremely well to a good calibration. You must of thoroughly enjoyed that cal run D.

There's no question these models are a total steal at there price point, especially when you consider the amazing quality of these panels. Damn! I always wanted a more affordable 60" 9G..... I cant give in though as much as I really want to. Nope, my money HAS to finally go towards a nice AVR and surround sound system. (yes, thats my sad attempt in talking myself out of a KRP-600M.) Besides, I already have a beautiful and perfectly calibrated 111FD at home.

Why not get the 600M, sell the 111 and use those money towards the AVR.
SoSo is offline  
post #596 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 01:52 PM
Member
 
vercingetorix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In addition to CalMAN, what additional equipment was used?
vercingetorix is offline  
post #597 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
luvnhateSony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoSo View Post

Why not get the 600M, sell the 111 and use those money towards the AVR.

Damn it! Dont give me any ideas! Im trying to stay focused.
luvnhateSony is offline  
post #598 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
luvnhateSony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

Now if someone could just get those darn ISFccc modes to magically appear...

Now if that were to happen then I would ABSOLUTELY do as SoSo said and...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoSo View Post

get the 600M, sell the 111 and use those money towards the AVR.

luvnhateSony is offline  
post #599 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 02:33 PM
Member
 
BASICEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mint Hill, North Carolina`
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vercingetorix View Post

In addition to CalMAN, what additional equipment was used?

D-NICE used his i1 for the instrumentation. He kept calibrating the i1 it to make sure that he was actually measuring what he was seeing. You can hopefully get a response from him as well.
BASICEO is offline  
post #600 of 4963 Old 03-24-2009, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
BarryB1124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice, how would you estimate that a calibrated 500M in pure mode compares in PQ to a calibrated 111FD in ISF modes?
BarryB1124 is offline  
Closed Thread Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off