The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

mlb11's Avatar mlb11
10:04 PM Liked: 10
post #91 of 4963
02-27-2009 | Posts: 137
Joined: Sep 2005
I just found some settings for these units from the following thread:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/7309350-post2.html

These settings are for the M-series outside of NA, but most should translate to this panel as well (I think). Here are some initial settings to try for the 600M - please see attached file.

Also, this forum is a large owner's forum for the M-series (again outside of NA, but I think useful):

http://www.avforums.com/forums/plasm...rs-thread.html

 

KRP600M Sky HD & Blue Ray.txt 0.7783203125k . file
creemail's Avatar creemail
10:59 PM Liked: 11
post #92 of 4963
02-27-2009 | Posts: 5,087
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb11 View Post

I just found some settings for these units from the following thread:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/7309350-post2.html

These settings are for the M-series outside of NA, but most should translate to this panel as well (I think). Here are some initial settings to try for the 600M - please see attached file.

Also, this forum is a large owner's forum for the M-series (again outside of NA, but I think useful):

http://www.avforums.com/forums/plasm...rs-thread.html

Nice info right here!

Chris
RichB's Avatar RichB
05:17 PM Liked: 285
post #93 of 4963
03-01-2009 | Posts: 8,956
Joined: Nov 1999
Does anyone know where you can buy the undermount or side speakers that match the 500M?

- Rich
RichB's Avatar RichB
08:43 PM Liked: 285
post #94 of 4963
03-01-2009 | Posts: 8,956
Joined: Nov 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Does anyone know where you can buy the undermount or side speakers that match the 500M?

- Rich

I found these on the pioneer site:

SMW2023 SPEAKER SYSTEM (PDP-5020FD) $180.93
SMW2025 SPEAKER SYSTEM (PRO-111FD) $237.02

Do the 5020 and 141 speakers work with the 500M?

- Rich
mlb11's Avatar mlb11
08:58 PM Liked: 10
post #95 of 4963
03-01-2009 | Posts: 137
Joined: Sep 2005
Rich,

Please take a look at the following link:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU.../Other/KRP-S04

I'm assuming the 111's speakers would be the same as these, but it appears the 500M may not be able to hold the undermount speakers like the 5020.
SoSo's Avatar SoSo
09:12 PM Liked: 11
post #96 of 4963
03-01-2009 | Posts: 772
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb11 View Post

Rich,

Please take a look at the following link:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU.../Other/KRP-S04

I'm assuming the 111's speakers would be the same as these, but it appears the 500M may not be able to hold the undermount speakers like the 5020.

From my research, the 111/151 speaker system seems to work for the M series. The height will work; Width is no problem; The only unknown is the depth. Remember the M series are similar to the Signature series with 2.5" depth. The mounting bracket of the 111/151 speaker system may not work properly but I am trying to find out. If anyone has any info. on that please post. Thanks.
RichB's Avatar RichB
09:52 PM Liked: 285
post #97 of 4963
03-01-2009 | Posts: 8,956
Joined: Nov 1999
Here are the specs:

KRP-500M KRP-S04 Dimensions (W x H x D) 82 x 723 x 64 mm

3.22834 x 28.4645 x 2.51 in Inches.

The height matches my 5020 but the depth of the under speaker is 3.5 so it would be too deep. I wish I could find the spec for the SWM2025 (111 speakers).

- Rich
ndisgii's Avatar ndisgii
01:42 PM Liked: 10
post #98 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 519
Joined: Jun 2003
I just ordered mine today . I am so damned excited! I dont know yet if it will be professionaly calibrated, but if it is, I will also share my settings. It cant be that complicated if it doesnt have ISFccc. Time to order DVE-HD for tweaking unless there is a better one out there. Any suggestions for a break in disc? I have a week or two before it arrives. Thanks!
SoSo's Avatar SoSo
02:41 PM Liked: 11
post #99 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 772
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

I just ordered mine today . I am so damned excited! I dont know yet if it will be professionaly calibrated, but if it is, I will also share my settings. It cant be that complicated if it doesnt have ISFccc. Time to order DVE-HD for tweaking unless there is a better one out there. Any suggestions for a break in disc? I have a week or two before it arrives. Thanks!

Congratulation, did you get the 600M or the 500M? Please let us know your impression on the set and if possible some pictures please. Thanks.
Roberto's Avatar Roberto
05:17 PM Liked: 10
post #100 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 105
Joined: Dec 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

I just ordered mine today . I am so damned excited! I dont know yet if it will be professionaly calibrated, but if it is, I will also share my settings. It cant be that complicated if it doesnt have ISFccc. Time to order DVE-HD for tweaking unless there is a better one out there. Any suggestions for a break in disc? I have a week or two before it arrives. Thanks!

Congrats! This new Kuro model IS pretty exciting.

For break-in, D-Nice recommends Evangelo2's Break-in DVD

In order to save the wear and tear on a DVD player, I was originally going to use the thumbdrive break-in images, but the x00Ms don't include a USB port, so I don't think this is an option (unless you do it through a receiver/PS3 that includes a USB port).

As for ISF calibration, I'm not overly concerned whether it has it or not. Like the CNet Elite review said, "We found Pure mode to be the most-accurate overall, to the point where we really didn't have to use all of those controls to get it to look its best."

If I can get 99% PQ using Pure and the other public settings, that's enough for me. ISF calibration is just one more thing to spend a lot of time and/or money tweaking.

With that said -- and not to beat a dead horse -- the 600M manual DOES contain references to ISF and ISF Day/Night modes. They show up in the sections describing the Web Control System. Of course, they could just be a carry-over from the European 600M manual. This whole European vs. North American 600M issue is pretty confusing
RichB's Avatar RichB
07:50 PM Liked: 285
post #101 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 8,956
Joined: Nov 1999
Roberto,

Don't you have one on order?
Please take pictures

I am still trying to understand the speaker options before I buy a 500M.

- Rich
Roberto's Avatar Roberto
08:08 PM Liked: 10
post #102 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 105
Joined: Dec 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Roberto,

Don't you have one on order?
Please take pictures

I am still trying to understand the speaker options before I buy a 500M.

- Rich

I have one on order, but things got delayed a bit I'm guessing mlb11 will get his before I do. But I'll be sure to take lots of pics when mine finally gets here

- Rob
ndisgii's Avatar ndisgii
09:05 PM Liked: 10
post #103 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 519
Joined: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoSo View Post

Congratulation, did you get the 600M or the 500M? Please let us know your impression on the set and if possible some pictures please. Thanks.

I got the 600M. The price comparitive to the 6020 and 151 is hard to overlook. It was a no brainer for me really. I am pretty pumped.
creemail's Avatar creemail
09:08 PM Liked: 11
post #104 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 5,087
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

I got the 600M. The price comparitive to the 6020 and 151 is hard to overlook. It was a no brainer for me really. I am pretty pumped.

Very nice. It should be very comparable to the 141FD. However, there are only 2 HDMI ins, 1 DVI, and 1 VGA, and composite. Just as many features as the 141 though. No USB in's. Other than that, picture for picture they will be the same as the 141FD or 151FD.

Chris
ndisgii's Avatar ndisgii
09:08 PM Liked: 10
post #105 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 519
Joined: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roberto View Post

I have one on order, but things got delayed a bit I'm guessing mlb11 will get his before I do. But I'll be sure to take lots of pics when mine finally gets here

- Rob

Did you order from the same place as mlb11? He sent me a PM with the place to go to ( thanks mlb11 ), and that is who I chose to order from. They were very nice to talk to on the phone, and their policies seemed very resonable. It looks like it will be about 1-2 weeks before mine comes in, but I am no rush necessarily, just excited! I'll try and get pics, but my point/shoot isnt that great at all, and probably wont do it any justice
ndisgii's Avatar ndisgii
09:13 PM Liked: 10
post #106 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 519
Joined: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

Very nice. It should be very comparable to the 141FD. However, there are only 2 HDMI ins, 1 DVI, and 1 VGA, and composite. Just as many features as the 141 though. No USB in's. Other than that, picture for picture they will be the same as the 141FD or 151FD.

Chris

Sounds like a winner for me. I run all HDMI and Toslink through an Octavio HDMI+Toslink swither, and dont use DVI, VGA, or Composite. It would have been nice to have USB if it doesnt have it, but I do have a PS3 that someone mentioned I may be able to use somehow for USB. I may in the future use the DVI to hook up my PC, but I dont know about that yet. Did I mention I am excited....lol....
creemail's Avatar creemail
09:40 PM Liked: 11
post #107 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 5,087
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

Sounds like a winner for me. I run all HDMI and Toslink through an Octavio HDMI+Toslink swither, and dont use DVI, VGA, or Composite. It would have been nice to have USB if it doesnt have it, but I do have a PS3 that someone mentioned I may be able to use somehow for USB. I may in the future use the DVI to hook up my PC, but I dont know about that yet. Did I mention I am excited....lol....

Yeah you are right. Fewer HDMI in's should make it okay. USB is becoming prevalent in displays, but the intent is to be used as a monitor and not as an everyday TV. Although it can be used a TV if someone desires. Yes you should be stoked! Enjoy...

Chris
ROMAN O's Avatar ROMAN O
09:54 PM Liked: 11
post #108 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 4,557
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

Very nice. It should be very comparable to the 141FD. However, there are only 2 HDMI ins, 1 DVI, and 1 VGA, and composite. Just as many features as the 141 though. No USB in's. Other than that, picture for picture they will be the same as the 141FD or 151FD.

Chris

It is not comparable, its in between the 6020 and 151/141 for a reason and even Pioneer will tell you that the PQ is not the same.
creemail's Avatar creemail
10:34 PM Liked: 11
post #109 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 5,087
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

It is not comparable, its in between the 6020 and 151/141 for a reason and even Pioneer will tell you that the PQ is not the same.

C'mon Rome....LOL! j/k

Basically the engine is the same...a few mods for the 141/151 with ability to ISFccc mode settings, but it shouldn't be drastic.

I have a proposition for us...how about we take the serial numbers and labels off each of the 141, 151, and 600 then fully calibrate them. I can bet they will be the same...

Chris
ROMAN O's Avatar ROMAN O
10:38 PM Liked: 11
post #110 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 4,557
Joined: Mar 2008
Nope they wont be
But I guess you can have your opinion. Lets just agree to disagree.
mlb11's Avatar mlb11
10:57 PM Liked: 10
post #111 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 137
Joined: Sep 2005
Chris,

I'm with you on this!

Anyway, the "KRP" in the name stands for "Kuro Reference Panel". Have you ever heard of a reference display that is middle-tier in terms of quality? Me neither.

From the Pioneer press release: "The Pioneer KRP-600M is no ordinary HDTV, and Pioneer says that the KRP-600M is “a product targeted at ‘Audio-Visual fans,’ who are very particular about picture quality,” said Masaaki Nishio. Basically this tells us that Pioneer believes it to be the very best in quality."
creemail's Avatar creemail
11:18 PM Liked: 11
post #112 of 4963
03-02-2009 | Posts: 5,087
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb11 View Post

Chris,

I'm with you on this!

Anyway, the "KRP" in the name stands for "Kuro Reference Panel". Have you ever heard of a reference display that is middle-tier in terms of quality? Me neither.

From the Pioneer press release: "The Pioneer KRP-600M is no ordinary HDTV, and Pioneer says that the KRP-600M is “a product targeted at ‘Audio-Visual fans,’ who are very particular about picture quality,” said Masaaki Nishio. Basically this tells us that Pioneer believes it to be the very best in quality."

I agree with you regarding the 600. Some people may be turned off by the 600 because of its lack of speakers, stand, 2 HMDI in's, and lack of USB in. Other than that it is mirror image to the 141FD.

Even if this model is a "tweener"...of the 6020FD and 141FD, it's still better than the 6020FD. But then again D-Nice says that the 151FD is marginally better than the 6020FD.

The only thing that I can see is:

600M = Picture Detail Settings – DRE Picture, Black Level, ACL, Enhance Mode, Gamma and CTI (No menu items for these functions)

141FD = Picture Detail Settings – DRE Picture, Black Level, ACL, Enhance Mode, Gamma and CTI

Chris
ndisgii's Avatar ndisgii
04:53 AM Liked: 10
post #113 of 4963
03-03-2009 | Posts: 519
Joined: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

Nope they wont be
But I guess you can have your opinion. Lets just agree to disagree.

Are you saying the picture quality wont be equal to the 141/151 or are you saying that it wont be equal to the 6020 or perhaps none of them?
SoSo's Avatar SoSo
06:49 AM Liked: 11
post #114 of 4963
03-03-2009 | Posts: 772
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

It is not comparable, its in between the 6020 and 151/141 for a reason and even Pioneer will tell you that the PQ is not the same.

So Roman O, do you agree the M series are better than the xx20 series from the PQ standpoint?
RichB's Avatar RichB
07:34 AM Liked: 285
post #115 of 4963
03-03-2009 | Posts: 8,956
Joined: Nov 1999
The M Series have Pure mode with the full gambit of color space and gamma adjustments. They are also said to have the Elite anti-glare. That means you can make them bright while staying accurate. So yes, they are better than the xx20.

- Rich
SoSo's Avatar SoSo
08:02 AM Liked: 11
post #116 of 4963
03-03-2009 | Posts: 772
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

They are also said to have the Elite anti-glare.
- Rich

Rich, let's set this straight as I don't want mis-information flowing around.

I am the one who find the M series and Elite/Signature shared the same REPLACEMENT display panel parts where as the xx20 series use a different one.

1, I have NO information on the differences between the two display panel parts including "Anti-glare" coatings.

2, Replacement parts are for "REPLACEMENT". Pioneer may not use the same parts when they manufacture the M series. Nobody knows that as we can only guess.

3, Authorized dealers usually have more accurate information than anyone else although they are always in a conflict of interest positions.

I am just trying to get as much info. here as I could as well as contribute as much. Thanks.
creemail's Avatar creemail
08:08 AM Liked: 11
post #117 of 4963
03-03-2009 | Posts: 5,087
Joined: Sep 2006
I think we are reading way too much into this.

Basically the 6020FD is similar to the 141FD/151FD. The Elites have the ability change picture settings much better and allow for better calibration methods. With all things being equal the picture quality should not vary one bit.

I would like for D-Nice to voice his opinion on this...

Chris
ndisgii's Avatar ndisgii
08:37 AM Liked: 10
post #118 of 4963
03-03-2009 | Posts: 519
Joined: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

I would like for D-Nice to voice his opinion on this...

I 2nd this for one simple reason. It is just very hard for me to swallow info from anyone that primarily pads his/her pockets from sales of other Pioneer models that cannot compare to these pricewise right now. I cannot be the only person that finds this speak to be almost pushy salesman-like in how it comes across . I value info from calibrators and hands-on techs much more highly when it comes to things like this. No disrespect to any salespeople out there. I just want facts!

PS - On that note, hey Roman O, have you by chance had all three of these sets setup side by side, and/or physically seen them all in person and adjusted correctly to compare fairly, or are you just calling them inferior for some OTHER reason ?
SoSo's Avatar SoSo
08:40 AM Liked: 11
post #119 of 4963
03-03-2009 | Posts: 772
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

I think we are reading way too much into this.

Basically the 6020FD is similar to the 141FD/151FD. The Elites have the ability change picture settings much better and allow for better calibration methods. With all things being equal the picture quality should not vary one bit.

I would like for D-Nice to voice his opinion on this...

Chris

+1. However, isn't AVSForum designed for splitting hair?
RichB's Avatar RichB
08:45 AM Liked: 285
post #120 of 4963
03-03-2009 | Posts: 8,956
Joined: Nov 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

I think we are reading way too much into this.

Basically the 6020FD is similar to the 141FD/151FD. The Elites have the ability change picture settings much better and allow for better calibration methods. With all things being equal the picture quality should not vary one bit.

I would like for D-Nice to voice his opinion on this...

Chris

All things cannot be equal because the 5020 lacks pure mode.

This has been discussed many times. I have a 5020 have adjusted it with ControlCal in Movie mode to have an accurate color temperature.
The 5020 can be very bright but once you correct movie mode, the other modes get even less accurate (blue). There is now way to achieve the brightness while accurate like the Elites. This is my gripe with my 5020.

- Rich

Closed Thread Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3