The Official Pioneer 9G North American KRP-500M / KRP-600M Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 4963 Old 03-03-2009, 04:50 PM
Member
 
mlb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SoSo,

I just posted thanks on the other thread. Your table will really help everyone compare these models.

Thanks again!
mlb11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 4963 Old 03-03-2009, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
SoSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlb11 View Post

SoSo,

I just posted thanks on the other thread. Your table will really help everyone compare these models.

Thanks again!

Well, I actually started on a spreadsheet to list out all the stuffs that I want on the other Kuro but missing on the 600M. Then I just get obsessed and said to myself let me just try to list it all out ...
SoSo is offline  
post #153 of 4963 Old 03-03-2009, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

...and maybe just maybe even find that magic ISFccc in there...yeah, I know I know

I betting it is in there because they are getting rid of the inventory and it would cost money to do it.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #154 of 4963 Old 03-03-2009, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

turbe, Roberto, SoSo....nice guys!

Chris

damn, nice guys finish last..

:P

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is online now  
post #155 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
SoSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Check this out. I was studying the North America KRP-600M manual again and finally notice this. I must be blind for the longest time but on Page 70. It shows this:



Notice "isf-Day", "isf-Night", "isf-Auto"? Hope it high!
SoSo is offline  
post #156 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Here SoSo: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post15424781


Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is online now  
post #157 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
SoSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

Here SoSo: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post15424781


Actually both you and D-Nice already confirmed that they don't have ISFccc (the UK one definitely has). That's why I kept the spec chart as-is.
SoSo is offline  
post #158 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Roberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the M doesn't come with a stand or wall mount, what are you guys using for a mounting solution? I figured the 600M is so svelte that it deserves to be mounted on a wall (like a piece of art). Then of course, there's the issue of my 3 rowdy girls knocking over the TV if it's not wall mounted

I just ordered the Omnimount ULPT-XA low profile tilt mount. You can get it for 1/2 MSRP on Amazon. I don't know if I'll use the tilt feature, but it's low profile (1.5"), so it seems like the best of both worlds. One of the Sound and Vision magazine editors used this mount for his Pio Elite.

Here's a list of compatible wall mounts. I took some of them from the Signature 141 owners thread. I assume any mount that works with a 141 will work with the 600M. This is NOT a complete list. There are cheaper mounts from Monoprice that may work, but I didn't investigate them.

Sanus VMPL3: Comes with low profile (1.5") AND tilting attachment (2.5). You use one or the other.
Peerless PLA60: Articulating wall arm, you need the adaptor plate too (PLP-NEC61)
Peerless SA760P
Peerless ST670
Peerless SF670
Pioneer KRP-WM01
Omni Mount U3 Tillt
OmniMount ULPTX (low profile)
OmiMount Architectural cantilever
Promounts UF-PRO400
Chief LSAU, LSMU (flat), LTAU, LTMU (tilt)
Roberto is offline  
post #159 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 09:41 AM
Member
 
jfkrane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting ready to purchase one of these (thanks so much to all who have contributed to this thread).

As for mounting, my space configuration dictates a tabletop stand so I will probably go with the Pioneer KRP-TS01 (unless there is someone who has wall-mounted the 60" Elite and wants to sell me their stand cheap!).
jfkrane is offline  
post #160 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My vote is for the Peerless SA760P articulating mount. Although it depends on the type of profile from the wall you prefer.

Chris
creemail is offline  
post #161 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 10:01 AM
Member
 
Roberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

My vote is for the Peerless SA760P articulating mount. Although it depends on the type of profile from the wall you prefer.

Chris

When someone buys an articulating arm, is the goal to be able to adjust the horizontal viewing angle (to reduce glare or for special seating situations)? Or is it to bring the panel further out from the wall? Is there some advantage to viewing the panel "floating" in air versus up against the wall?

I'll be viewing my set straight on, so I didn't see the need for an arm, but maybe I'm missing something...
Roberto is offline  
post #162 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
NateTTU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfkrane View Post

I am getting ready to purchase one of these (thanks so much to all who have contributed to this thread).

As for mounting, my space configuration dictates a tabletop stand so I will probably go with the Pioneer KRP-TS01 (unless there is someone who has wall-mounted the 60" Elite and wants to sell me their stand cheap!).

I'm just curious if there are any 3rd party mounts out there that will work with the M series.
NateTTU is offline  
post #163 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roberto View Post

Peerless ST670
Peerless SF670

I bought one of these two, whichever one is the tilting one, although I ended up using it flat on my current tv. It is supposed to work with the Pioneers, which is why I bought it in the first place. I will be using it when the 600M arrives.
ndisgii is offline  
post #164 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Roberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

I bought one of these two, whichever one is the tilting one, although I ended up using it flat on my current tv. It is supposed to work with the Pioneers, which is why I bought it in the first place. I will be using it when the 600M arrives.

y, the Peerless look like good mounts and the 670 will work with the 600M. It's deeper than the Omnimount (3" vs. 1.5"). But it's about $65 cheaper which is nice.
Roberto is offline  
post #165 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roberto View Post

Since the M doesn't come with a stand or wall mount, what are you guys using for a mounting solution? I figured the 600M is so svelte that it deserves to be mounted on a wall (like a piece of art). Then of course, there's the issue of my 3 rowdy girls knocking over the TV if it's not wall mounted

I just ordered the Omnimount ULPT-XA low profile tilt mount. You can get it for 1/2 MSRP on Amazon. I don't know if I'll use the tilt feature, but it's low profile (1.5"), so it seems like the best of both worlds. One of the Sound and Vision magazine editors used this mount for his Pio Elite.

Here's a list of compatible wall mounts. I took some of them from the Signature 141 owners thread. I assume any mount that works with a 141 will work with the 600M. This is NOT a complete list. There are cheaper mounts from Monoprice that may work, but I didn't investigate them.

Sanus VMPL3: Comes with low profile (1.5") AND tilting attachment (2.5). You use one or the other.
Peerless PLA60: Articulating wall arm, you need the adaptor plate too (PLP-NEC61)
Peerless SA760P
Peerless ST670
Peerless SF670
Pioneer KRP-WM01
Omni Mount U3 Tillt
OmniMount ULPTX (low profile)
OmiMount Architectural cantilever
Promounts UF-PRO400
Chief LSAU, LSMU (flat), LTAU, LTMU (tilt)

I ordered this for my 5020 that is moving up-stairs:


Peerless PFT660 . This tilts and has a nice minimalist design. At 34" wide, you can easily catch studs.

Also, very inexpensive: $53 (shipped with Amazon prime ).

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #166 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 11:46 AM
Member
 
mlb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the Chief LSAU - I like the fact it can move on the bar up to 8" either direction.

http://www.chiefmfg.com/productdetai...roductID=26111
mlb11 is offline  
post #167 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
I have exchanged several emails with my Primary Pioneer Rep (in Display Engineering) today and I have been asked to address the rumors in regards to the KRP-M's (being European units).

Quote:


Abour rumors,
for North American KRP model does not have ISF mode at all, different from
other regions.

Even if somebody trying to go into factory mode and trying to change ISF
setting, nobody can do that. We need special firmware which engineers have to add ISF.

which means, that rumor was incorrect.

Moreover, European model does not acquire UL and FCC, so there is no UL/FCC
logos printend on back sticker. That's why we can not import european model even if we would like to do.

Actually except ISF, US model KRP and Europe KRP is pretty much same, so I
think most of guys say these are same by mistake.

As posted previously, no ISFccc but they are the same as their European Models minus the ISFccc and they are not European Models being imported into NA.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is online now  
post #168 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I wonder if it is really just a firmware difference, or is it a physical difference? If firmware, what happens if you load the European firmware? Yes, I know that is a stupid question...lol...but seriously curious

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I have exchanged several emails with my Primary Pioneer Rep (in Display Engineering) today and I have been asked to address the rumors in regards to the KRP-M's (being European units).



As posted previously, no ISFccc but they are the same as their European Models minus the ISFccc and they are not European Models being imported into NA.

ndisgii is offline  
post #169 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Pueo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
turbe,

did your rep have anything to say regarding availability of the krp-600a in the US? This is the model with the media receiver.

thanks.
Pueo is offline  
post #170 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
I thought I posted that

they are the same except the firmware.

No KRP-A's (w/ separate Media Box) in NA (sold by Pioneer).

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is online now  
post #171 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
UPDATE!

Info from my Rep in Pioneer's Display Engineering:

Quote:


Our factory in USA will close by the end of April, so, right now factory is
making all of products which will be required to sell.

So, actually the products produced by April will be all what we have.

No product will be imported to NA after US Manufacturing shuts down!


.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is online now  
post #172 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

UPDATE!

Info from my Rep in Pioneer's Display Engineering:

No product will be imported to NA after US Manufacturing shuts down!

.

Darn...

Chris
creemail is offline  
post #173 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I have exchanged several emails with my Primary Pioneer Rep (in Display Engineering) today and I have been asked to address the rumors in regards to the KRP-M's (being European units).



As posted previously, no ISFccc but they are the same as their European Models minus the ISFccc and they are not European Models being imported into NA.

IMO there should be no reason why the performance should equal to the 141FD. Do you agree?

Chris
creemail is offline  
post #174 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I have exchanged several emails with my Primary Pioneer Rep (in Display Engineering) today and I have been asked to address the rumors in regards to the KRP-M's (being European units).



As posted previously, no ISFccc but they are the same as their European Models minus the ISFccc and they are not European Models being imported into NA.

I guess this was a concession to the US Dealers so to give them a differentiator for the Elite. Especially the 141 which would get cratered.
The Elites are still priced at a premium that is just too high, as a result, I will likely order a 600M tomorrow. I believe this is just a continuation of a mentality that lead to the demise of their flat panel business.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #175 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

IMO there should be no reason why the performance should equal to the 141FD. Do you agree?

Chris

Standard AV Selections to Standard AV Selections - should equal.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is online now  
post #176 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roberto View Post

When someone buys an articulating arm, is the goal to be able to adjust the horizontal viewing angle (to reduce glare or for special seating situations)? Or is it to bring the panel further out from the wall? Is there some advantage to viewing the panel "floating" in air versus up against the wall?

I'll be viewing my set straight on, so I didn't see the need for an arm, but maybe I'm missing something...

That is correct. Articulating wall mounts have the best flexibility. I use one to help position the display if I am sitting on my sectional couch from 120 degree off-axis angle. It does also reduce glare depending on where you stand. You can have the wall arm extended or retracted. It will not make a difference in terms of reliability. Make sure that you get a dual arm mount to give the display 100+ lbs, more stability.

Chris
creemail is offline  
post #177 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I guess this was a concession to the US Dealers so to give them a differentiator for the Elite. Especially the 141 which would get cratered.
The Elites are still priced at a premium that is just too high, as a result, I will likely order a 600M tomorrow. I believe this is just a continuation of a mentality that lead to the demise of their flat panel business.

- Rich

A distributor told me that they don't move as many monitors as consumer models b/c most people that buy, prefer speakers and stand.

Chris
creemail is offline  
post #178 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
SoSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wanted the speakers but not the stand. Once I found out if the Elite speakers will work, I am going to order mine.
SoSo is offline  
post #179 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndisgii View Post

If firmware, what happens if you load the European firmware? Yes, I know that is a stupid question...lol...but seriously curious

Still curious . A very expensive paperweight????
ndisgii is offline  
post #180 of 4963 Old 03-04-2009, 05:09 PM
Member
 
screener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes the Elites aren't moving and Pioneer is making sure of that. Now with the release of these units it will definitely create another wave of sales. Their strategies will continue till they decide to create another wave. My guess is that Pioneer will continually keep us all in the dark.

How about this Idea.

Change the face and a few internal parts. Lower the price, price moves the panels. Keep what is already manufactured. Use up the exsisting inventory of parts. These kmp models might be here for a while. Just my way of pushing product thru. Maybe an experiment till it sinks. But what do I know?
screener is offline  
Closed Thread Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off