Kuro Owners - What receiver do you use? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sn8kBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just joined the Pioneer Elite PRO-111 club. It is being delivered on Friday. I got a heck of a price at Best Buy. I'm been reading numerous receiver threads and one guy with an Integra 9.9 stated it took 6 seconds to change channels. I'd tear my hair out eventually. So what receivers or pre/pros does my fellow Kuro owners use; did you have any issues and do you let the Kuro or the receiver do the video processing?
Sn8kBit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sn8kBit View Post

I just joined the Pioneer Elite PRO-111 club. It is being delivered on Friday. I got a heck of a price at Best Buy. I'm been reading numerous receiver threads and one guy with an Integra 9.9 stated it took 6 seconds to change channels. I'd tear my hair out eventually. So what receivers or pre/pros does my fellow Kuro owners use; did you have any issues and do you let the Kuro or the receiver do the video processing?

Right now I have a Rotel 1098 pre-pro and it doesn't do any video processing nor does it support HDMI. I may be changing it out later this year for the new Outlaw pre-pro or something similar. The Kuro's video processing looks fine to me. I do have a Samsung BD-UP5000 HD-DVD/Blu-Ray player that does very good upscaling with the Reon processor. I also have a second all-region Pioneer DVD player that does no upscaling and I see very little difference (except a hint of softness on the Pioneer)when playing an SD DVD through either player.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #3 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 06:45 AM
Member
 
Jake04Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 10 year old h/k AVR7000. I won't be running any video through it to the TV once I get it back from the repair shop. It has component switching but there isn't enough bandwidth there to run HD. It'll pretty much only do audio switching and amplification. We have a DVD recorder so I'll use it on the recording loop but that's all.
Jake04Goat is offline  
post #4 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
cavalier240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Denon 3805, but I don't run any video through it. All of my video is passed via component and runs through a Neothings Avalon Matrix Switch. I don't change any channels on the Kuro - all of that happens on the Comcast Box, and then the signal is passed as described above to the Elite.

cavalier240 is offline  
post #5 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 07:47 AM
Member
 
datrumole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently a Sony 910, passing my 360, PS3, and Cable Box through HDMI, Wii upconverted from Component to HDMI. All input switching comes from Sony, dont use the tv sound.

Looking to upgrade soon though, i'm torn between Denon and Onkyo, and dont know anyone with a recent one of either to do some testing....i've heard that Denons are better for music, and Onkyo's better for movies, but that sounds like a load of do do.....

i want something that allows me to set an EQ (not just bass and treble) and have some control of my crossover, i feel like the choices i have on my Sony are pathetic, it allows me to choose my front speakers as 'Large' or 'Small' and the crossover is set based upon that...kinda lame. I was hoping not to have to get a pre-processor for just an EQ

Currently running PolkAudio RM301's (R/L/C) and RM201's (Rears). i like a very warm sound, which is why i went away from the Klipsch horn tweets and went with a silk tweet. So any recommendations would be great
datrumole is offline  
post #6 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Juan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: So Cal, US
Posts: 2,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I currently use a Pio SC-05 with my Pio 5070, but in two weeks, I will be using the SC-05 with a 151.

Juan


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Juan is offline  
post #7 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HarrisonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sn8kBit View Post

I just joined the Pioneer Elite PRO-111 club. It is being delivered on Friday. I got a heck of a price at Best Buy. I'm been reading numerous receiver threads and one guy with an Integra 9.9 stated it took 6 seconds to change channels. I'd tear my hair out eventually. So what receivers or pre/pros does my fellow Kuro owners use; did you have any issues and do you let the Kuro or the receiver do the video processing?

I have no idea where that 6 second figure came from. The receiver should not make any difference at all, since only the audio is going through the receiver. I am connecting my PRO-150FD to a Denon 4800 receiver with a Toslink optical cable, and it works just great, even handling 5.1 channel audio. And the channel change is fast.
HarrisonS is offline  
post #8 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
paris_tn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pioneer Elite VSX-92TXH
paris_tn is offline  
post #9 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 11:54 AM
Member
 
lakebum431's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Norris, TN
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Denon 3808ci and it works great.
lakebum431 is offline  
post #10 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ssabripo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Plantation, Floriduh
Posts: 6,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sn8kBit View Post

I just joined the Pioneer Elite PRO-111 club. It is being delivered on Friday. I got a heck of a price at Best Buy. I'm been reading numerous receiver threads and one guy with an Integra 9.9 stated it took 6 seconds to change channels. I'd tear my hair out eventually. So what receivers or pre/pros does my fellow Kuro owners use; did you have any issues and do you let the Kuro or the receiver do the video processing?

huh? 6 seconds to change channels on a 9.9?

he is doing it wrong I'm afraid my friend....reciever has ZERO impact on the tuning of the TV, it acts only as a video switcher/audio processor (and in the case of using the Reon, a video processor as well).

I've been using the 886 (onkyo equivalent) and no such thing.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ssabripo is offline  
post #11 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
texasveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: plano, tx
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pioneer Elite SC-05, but I might upgrade to SC-07.
texasveteran is offline  
post #12 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
uni_panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Yamaha RX-V3900. It had some audio dropouts when going from DD 5.1 to 2 channel audio during commercials while watching regular tv programming with the original firmware however a firmware update from the Yamaha site completely cured it. Not s single audio dropout at all in 2 months. It is essentially a perfect AVR for my application. I'm running a STB, PS3, and an Oppo 983 into my 3900 and a single HDMI to my Kuro 151. Everything works great.

I turned off all the processing in the Yamaha and just let the Kuro do it. I mostly do this for convenience that way I know exactly what is being input to the Kuro instead of it just saying 1080p for everything. When I watch my Oppo I let that do the upscaling for DVD's as I think it does a better job. Blu-Ray obviously doesn't need processing and the regular cable looks decent. I think it is an outstanding AVR. Definitely does much more stuff than I need it to. The one thing I love is it basically eliminated me needing to buy a harmony remote. With all HDMI going to the AVR and a single HDMI to the tv the Yamaha remote is all I need. Press Sat/Cable for tv, press DVD for my Oppo and press Blu-Disc for my PS3. Makes it very user friendly.
uni_panther is offline  
post #13 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 02:39 PM
Member
 
jjkusaf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Prattville, Al
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Elite VSX-45TX

oldie but goodie
jjkusaf1 is offline  
post #14 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
bmwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Marantz SR-6003
Everything works perfectly except that my U-verse box, which is being upconverted from component to HDMI, loses connection with the TV all the time. No problems with my Xbox 360 which is also component to HDMI or my PS3 which is all HDMI.
bmwolf is offline  
post #15 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 02:58 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
SC-05 has been a good choice.
ROMAN O is offline  
post #16 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
The Natural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yamaha RX-V1800. I love having everything setup through HDMI, makes things so easy and sounds great. Probably sometime next year I will upgrade my fronts and center to Paradigm or B&M.
The Natural is offline  
post #17 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LaoChe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
SC-07 with a Pioneer Elite 141. I love it and have absolutely no issues (except for the auto selecting of TV when starting up). Everything is run through the receiver. HDTV using U-verse is connected via component and optical cable. PS3, 360 Elite and HD-DVD (HD-A35) are all connected through HDMI. I'll soon have a BDP-09FD Blu-ray player that I will also be connecting to it via HDMI. The great thing about the SC-07 receiver is that everything connected via HDMI goes through untouched (video wise) to the display.
LaoChe is offline  
post #18 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nolanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Electro-Phonic ZXR-5000 need I say more!
nolanski is offline  
post #19 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cybertec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Staten Island,N.Y
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My PRO151FD is hooked up to Klipsh Reference fronts and surrounds with a 900watt SVS SUB which are connected to an Outlaw 200Watts per channel 5 channel AMP, that is running through a Integra DTC 9.8 receiver with all the goodies through HDMI, Blue rays with Dolby Digital HD and DTS HD sound phenomenal. The PRO110FD in my bedroom is hooked up to a Denon 3805 via Toslink, with Klipsch Satellites and Klipsch sub, which also sounds great.

KURO -PRO-110FD,

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

KURO PRO-151FD,

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cybertec is online now  
post #20 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sn8kBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a little surprised nobody has the Marantz 8002 since it appears most people don't use the receiver for the video processing and the Marantz is supposed to be so musical. I also saw where some people have Integra's and they didn't have the 6 second channel changing times. Like several people said in the thread, it must be set up incorrectly.
Sn8kBit is offline  
post #21 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
septim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Onkyo TX-SR805. I like it quite a bit for the price I paid for it. ($350)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Samsung 71 FAQ
septim is offline  
post #22 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Integra DTR-8.8 setup with HDMI in pass through mode to my Pro150 so it adds no processing. It does use the Reon chip but I just let the Pioneer do it's job and everything looks great. The Integra (Onkyo's) did have some issues with a clicking noise and signal lock from some sources like a Tivo S3 when fast forwarding but those and a couple other issues were fixed with a couple of firmware upgrades last year. O/I were a pain in the ass about getting the updates out and how they wanted customers to return their avrs to service centers to install it.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #23 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sacramento,Ca., usa
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Denon 887.

I have a Pioneer VSX-01TXH too but it's in another room.

Go Duke !
Trackman is offline  
post #24 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 08:06 PM
Member
 
EArkHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Memphis
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by septim View Post

Onkyo TX-SR805. I like it quite a bit for the price I paid for it. ($350)


I like my 805, too. I thought I'd gotten a good price at 700. How'd you get one for 350? (more to the point - can I get one for 350?)

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool
EArkHog is offline  
post #25 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
bmwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sn8kBit View Post

I'm a little surprised nobody has the Marantz 8002...

My original plan was to get one, but I had lost my job last year and ended up getting the 6003 instead.
bmwolf is offline  
post #26 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 08:44 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaoChe View Post

SC-07 with a Pioneer Elite 141. I love it and have absolutely no issues (except for the auto selecting of TV when starting up). Everything is run through the receiver. HDTV using U-verse is connected via component and optical cable. PS3, 360 Elite and HD-DVD (HD-A35) are all connected through HDMI. I'll soon have a BDP-09FD Blu-ray player that I will also be connecting to it via HDMI. The great thing about the SC-07 receiver is that everything connected via HDMI goes through untouched (video wise) to the display.

This a dream system. Very nice. Great equipment to all posters!

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #27 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sn8kBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So would the SC-07 be a better fit than the Marantz 8002 when pairing it with the Kuro?
Sn8kBit is offline  
post #28 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
mswlogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Meridian G68. I'd go back as far as I could afford to have a Meridian setup.

A 568.2mm is cheaper than many high end receivers these days and there is still no contest on sound quality between what Meridian does and what Japan companies make. Once you're hooked you'll will not be thinking of blacker blacks but better Meridian components. I started 10 years ago and I still upgrade to what I can afford.

Next best would be a Lexicon. Again go as far back as you need to to get into you price range.

See link in my signature for setup.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mswlogo is offline  
post #29 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LaoChe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

This a dream system. Very nice. Great equipment to all posters!

-Robert

Thanks Robert.
LaoChe is offline  
post #30 of 59 Old 02-18-2009, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
corpfan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased the Yamaha RXV 3900 today.

It seems more than enough to be excellent for a good system.

I will report when I get it all set up!
corpfan1 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off