Pioneer 9G Kuro Comparison Chart: xx20, 500/600M, 111/151, 101/141, 500/600A, LX-XX90 - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 525 Old 06-30-2009, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
 
aross99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmak09 View Post

Why couldn't pioneer have made a 60 incher with this tech.

Someone said that the 60" models came out first, and that the 10G tech came out later, in time to get included in the 50" models.

I suspect this would have made it into the 60" models with the next generation...
aross99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 525 Old 06-30-2009, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chadmak09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aross99 View Post

Someone said that the 60" models came out first, and that the 10G tech came out later, in time to get included in the 50" models.

I suspect this would have made it into the 60" models with the next generation...

yep.
dad-gummit.
I want one of these now but I dont think I can take the loss of 10 inches.

anyone wanna trade a 151 for a 500M??

wHy So SeRiOus???



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chadmak09 is offline  
post #363 of 525 Old 06-30-2009, 11:44 PM
Member
 
Nachtkommen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmak09 View Post

yep.
dad-gummit.
I want one of these now but I dont think I can take the loss of 10 inches.

anyone wanna trade a 151 for a 500M??

Hey! You just told me you were happy with your 151 one and that I should be, too!
Nachtkommen is offline  
post #364 of 525 Old 07-01-2009, 04:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chadmak09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nachtkommen View Post

Hey! You just told me you were happy with your 151 one and that I should be, too!

that was before I knew about pioneer sneaking 10G tech into the 101 and 500m.
I didn't know about that. lol.

But still, I don't think I could drop 10 inches just to get a little blacker blacks.

The only time I can tell the difference between the bezel and the blacks on my 151 is in a totally dark room. And I don't watch that way anyway.

I am just going to wait a couple of years and get an LCD or plasma once the bar gets raised.

wHy So SeRiOus???



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chadmak09 is offline  
post #365 of 525 Old 07-01-2009, 04:57 AM
Member
 
ev666il's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmak09 View Post

I am just going to wait a couple of years and get an OLED or plasma once the bar gets raised.

Fixed

THE LOUDNESS WAR IS OVER! - if you want it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ev666il is offline  
post #366 of 525 Old 07-01-2009, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmak09 View Post

........But still, I don't think I could drop 10 inches just to get a little blacker blacks.
......

kinda like 9.5G tech.....the 500M/Pro101 are still not down to Zero MLL.

and yep chad your Pro151 is 44% larger with that 10 inches extra and that would be a hard give up for just a little deeper blacks.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #367 of 525 Old 07-03-2009, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
5150Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I currently own a Samsung 52b750 and I've been extremely pleased with it's picture quality, black levels and color reproduction. It's also quite a bright display which is something I like. However, today I noticed there's dust behind the clear panel so I had to call Amazon and arrange for a refund. Now I'm stuck deciding whether or not I should purchase another B750 or give the KRP-500m a try. There's a few things holding me back from the 500m right now and they are:

1. Pioneer is no longer making these so I'm worried about support or being able to find parts for it a few years down the line if it breaks down (assuming I buy a Mack 3 yr warranty).

2. Dealer I'd purchase it from accepts no exchanges or refunds. Even if it shows up with problems, I'd have to deal with Pioneer to fix it. That's a bit off putting for me.

3. I viewed a Kuro Elite at BB that was calibrated and compared to the Samsung 58B860 plasma, the kuro looked noticeably dimmer. Another poster at AVS told me you can use ISFccc mode to make it much brighter without clipping, is this true? I know the 500m doesnt offer this mode out of the box but the place I'd be buying this from is selling a "patch" that enables the ISFccc mode. Having a bright vivid panel is important to me since I live in S. Florida and my TV sits next to a very bright window.

4. Burn in: I've heard a lot about burn in and phosphor trails, are either an issue with this TV? For example, say I'm playing xbox 360 and leave for a few hours, will the screen have burn in?


Finally, how would you guys honestly rate the 500m compared to the Samsung 50B860? That is the other TV I'm considering right now and it gives me a lot of peace of mind knowing I could get the Samsung from Amazon directly and not have to worry about any return issues should it be defective.


Thanks guys.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
5150Joker is offline  
post #368 of 525 Old 07-03-2009, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Manufacturers make additional replacement/repair parts as part of the normal production run of the product cycle. So there should be repair/replacement parts for the Kuros for awhile.......Unless they made such bad or used cheap parts like Mitsubishi did with some of their DLP models that they are already out of parts and they are covering rebuild or replacing sets.

you should be dealing with a reputable authorized Pioneer dealer like Roman O at buybestplasma.com or Chris at Clevelandplasma.com. All of them have great service and prices and have sold thousands of Pioneer plamsas to avsers all over the country.

very doubtful the Kuro you saw at bb was properly calibrated and even less likely it was calibrated using ControlCal by Turbe that allows for access to the ISFccc functions that really let the Kuros be calibrated to the best they can offer through a good calibrator.

You can get ControlCal and the ISFccc patch directly from Turbe for the 500/600M models.

The Pioneer Kuro are excellent at not getting burn in. maybe a lttle image retention and even that is not likely especially after the first 200+ hours of use where the phosphors change the most. Do youreally just leave for hours with your xbox running on screen?????? Even if it did get any image retention then the Kuros have a video pattern to run that usually will eliminate that quickly.

The 500M would have better blacks and higher contrast as well as the most accurate colors and greyscale once calibrated using ControlCal and a good calibrator. The sammy is a good plasma but the Kuros are still the best plasma panels you can buy on the market today. Buy one from a good reputable dealer as mentioned and you will be enjoying having a great panel in your viewing setup.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #369 of 525 Old 07-22-2009, 10:32 AM
 
lakers12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nachtkommen View Post

Hey! You just told me you were happy with your 151 one and that I should be, too![IMG]http://www.**********************/file.php[/IMG]

We can't be happy with all the new things coming out!!
lakers12 is offline  
post #370 of 525 Old 07-26-2009, 10:09 AM
Member
 
sarge1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the speakers from a 151 will fit a 600M? I read a few pages back that the member SoSo was buying the 151 speakers for his 600M, does anybody know how it turned out? Thanks
sarge1976 is offline  
post #371 of 525 Old 07-26-2009, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarge1976 View Post

Does anyone know if the speakers from a 151 will fit a 600M? I read a few pages back that the member SoSo was buying the 151 speakers for his 600M, does anybody know how it turned out? Thanks

They will fit but are too far forward.
You will need longer screws and some spacer/washers to secure them so they are flush with the display. They work fine.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #372 of 525 Old 07-26-2009, 03:25 PM
Member
 
sarge1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

They will fit but are too far forward.
You will need longer screws and some spacer/washers to secure them so they are flush with the display. They work fine.

- Rich

Thank you for answering me, do you happen to know the exact size of screws and washers I would need? Thanks
sarge1976 is offline  
post #373 of 525 Old 07-26-2009, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarge1976 View Post

Thank you for answering me, do you happen to know the exact size of screws and washers I would need? Thanks

Sorry, I am not at home.
I think you need at least a quarter inch spacer.
The screws are metric and I had a ton of hardware left over from the various mounting brackets I had.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #374 of 525 Old 07-27-2009, 12:20 PM
Member
 
FTracy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please let us know exactly what was needed to make a flush fit after you've gotten it setup...i've got some 151 speakers on the way. Thanks
FTracy3 is offline  
post #375 of 525 Old 07-27-2009, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
voyager6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question: The 151 has a firmware update that is accomplished by USB. If there is a 141 firmware update, how would it be accomplished since there is no USB port? Does it do on-line updating via the ethernet port?

Of course, what are the odds of any of these getting another firmware update given the current situation at Pioneer?

I just ordered a 151 from an authorized local dealer who won't get it here for 2 weeks. So I am anxiously awaiting my new toy.

Voyager6
voyager6 is offline  
post #376 of 525 Old 07-27-2009, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager6 View Post

Question: The 151 has a firmware update that is accomplished by USB. If there is a 141 firmware update, how would it be accomplished since there is no USB port? Does it do on-line updating via the ethernet port?

Of course, what are the odds of any of these getting another firmware update given the current situation at Pioneer?..........

pioneer has had very few updates and usually the updates have been due to the tuners/guides in the tv models. so the monitors have not needed that. they do have the rs232 port which can be used for updating the firmware if needed.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #377 of 525 Old 07-29-2009, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmak09 View Post

that was before I knew about pioneer sneaking 10G tech into the 101 and 500m.
I didn't know about that. lol.

But still, I don't think I could drop 10 inches just to get a little blacker blacks.

The only time I can tell the difference between the bezel and the blacks on my 151 is in a totally dark room. And I don't watch that way anyway.

I am just going to wait a couple of years and get an LCD or plasma once the bar gets raised.

If I had known I would have bought a 500. I'm tremendsly happy with my 111 bur always want better. I'd love to see 500m next a 111 in a dark room to see if it's worth fretting about.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #378 of 525 Old 07-31-2009, 11:09 AM
Member
 
Sudhakar2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Louis Area
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wait so does the 600M have some of the 10G technology like the 500M, or is it strictly 9G along the links of the 151?
Sudhakar2k is offline  
post #379 of 525 Old 07-31-2009, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
From what I understand its only the 500 and 101.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #380 of 525 Old 07-31-2009, 12:13 PM
Member
 
ev666il's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I asked D-Nice in private a few weeks ago and he confirmed that the KRP-600M has the same (fully 9G) panel as the other KUROs. The benefits of 10G tech can only be seen on the 50 inchers.

THE LOUDNESS WAR IS OVER! - if you want it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ev666il is offline  
post #381 of 525 Old 07-31-2009, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudhakar2k View Post

Wait so does the 600M have some of the 10G technology like the 500M, or is it strictly 9G along the links of the 151?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

From what I understand its only the 500 and 101.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ev666il View Post

I asked D-Nice in private a few weeks ago and he confirmed that the KRP-600M has the same (fully 9G) panel as the other KUROs. The benefits of 10G tech can only be seen on the 50 inchers.

Please see: this, this, this and this.

And of course the first post in this thread.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
post #382 of 525 Old 07-31-2009, 05:23 PM
Member
 
M5ster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In a german forum, there is a statement of a user, that the 60" models do have a better AR Filter.
Are there any differences in relation to the coating, the AR Filter, between a KRP-600M and and a KRP-500M?
The list on the first page shows no differences.
Could kindly someone confirm, who knows it really safe, that there are no differences in relation of AR Filter.
Of course, in relation to the North American KRP models, that would be enough information for me, because I am convinced that there are no differences with the european KRP series in this area.


Thx!
M5ster is offline  
post #383 of 525 Old 07-31-2009, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
Remluf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone,
I am new to these forums but avidly follow technology and have a passion for TV's.
I find my self at a fork in the road which i can see has been discussed quite a bit in this thread.
Having just ordered a Pro-111FD from a local retailer store, i am having second thoughts regarding my purchase. I am highly considering canceling my order even if they charge me the shipping costs in order to turn around a order a 500m from an online dealer. I would save a considerable amount of money in doing so.
I suppose i am just looking for nudge or some advice on if this is worth while or not... or if i should just keep the 111FD even though it costs a bit more.

*I have no concern about the absence of the tv tuner or speakers.
** i would gladly pay more for the better (regarding PQ) of the 2 displays and as it sounds... the 500m trumps the 111fd

I am all ears for opinions and suggestions, thanks !!!
Remluf is offline  
post #384 of 525 Old 08-01-2009, 12:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
save some money get the 500M........or go big and get a 600M

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #385 of 525 Old 08-01-2009, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssturbo1 View Post

save some money get the 500M........or go big and get a 600M

Yeah I'm thinking after reading all that I can about this is that the biggest improvement over the 111 is the money savings. Slightly better blacks would be cool for bragging rights but the money savings is even better. If I'd have to drag my 500 to my 111 to be sure of the difference in black level I'm not going to worry about it too much. Now if the 500 had perfect blacks and no glow on black and mostly black screens I'd be scrambling to get one.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #386 of 525 Old 08-01-2009, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
William H Pratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Having just ordered a Pro-111FD from a local retailer store, i am having second thoughts regarding my purchase

I WOULD NOT be having second thoughts. I've had my Pro 111FD for 4 months now. It is almost beyond words to describe it. I simply CANNOT tear my eyes away from it.

P.S. Mine was calibrated by Chad Billheimer. He did a fabulous job.

Cogito, Ergo Sum
The BLOOD is the Life!
William H Pratt is offline  
post #387 of 525 Old 08-01-2009, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remluf View Post

I am highly considering canceling my order even if they charge me the shipping costs in order to turn around a order a 500m from an online dealer. I would save a considerable amount of money in doing so.

You didn't mention ISFccc, the RGB bug or the warranty difference but, assuming you're dealing with a reputable reseller, I'd also suggest you get a 500M and buy something else with the savings.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
post #388 of 525 Old 08-03-2009, 12:39 AM
Newbie
 
Remluf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help and opinions all...
Bodosom, what RGB issue are you referring to ?
Remluf is offline  
post #389 of 525 Old 08-03-2009, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remluf View Post

Bodosom, what RGB issue are you referring to ?

The RGB bug.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
post #390 of 525 Old 08-03-2009, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
Remluf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this RGB big only a problem with the KRP's ?
i dont recall reading anything about it in relation to the pro-111fd.
I suppose if i hadnt already ordered the 111fd i would find a way to get my hands on a 500m but now it seems in order to get the 500m i would have to return or sell by 111fd perhaps on ebay or craiglist and then turn around and purchase the 500m.
Not sure if its worth all the trouble... but i know i will always think "what if" if i dont at least try to get the 500m.
Remluf is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off