Pioneer 9G Kuro Comparison Chart: xx20, 500/600M, 111/151, 101/141, 500/600A, LX-XX90 - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 525 Old 04-08-2009, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TPnBobcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It might be useful to add stand compatibility (or incompatibility) to the chart.

IE. which ones can use the other's stands and/or would be compatible/incompatible with third party mounts/stands.
TPnBobcats is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 525 Old 04-08-2009, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
rkish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xortam View Post

You can purchase the ControlCAL SW to unlock the the ISFccc modes on the Kuro Elites. You can calibrate the display yourself with the appropriate sensor, SW, and know-how or you can just copy other people's posted settings and enter them through the ControlCAL interface (may be close enough to proper calibration for your display).

"You can calibrate the display yourself with the appropriate sensor, SW, and know-how or you can just copy other people's posted settings and enter them through the ControlCAL interface (may be close enough to proper calibration for your display)."

Does anyone here have their settings for a 111FD that they would be willing to share?

"Reciprocity is the wellspring of friendship..."
rkish is offline  
post #183 of 525 Old 04-08-2009, 08:45 PM
Member
 
roman707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know if the 600M has a cable card slot?
roman707 is offline  
post #184 of 525 Old 04-08-2009, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TPnBobcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by roman707 View Post

does anyone know if the 600M has a cable card slot?

No. It has no tuner of any sort. It is a "monitor".

You will need some sort of external tuner or decoder box.
TPnBobcats is offline  
post #185 of 525 Old 04-08-2009, 09:13 PM
 
ROMAN O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nationwide Staples
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yup I answered that in the other thread
ROMAN O is offline  
post #186 of 525 Old 04-08-2009, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TPnBobcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMAN O View Post

Yup I answered that in the other thread

Apparently having to wait a whole 9 min for an answer was too much for him...
TPnBobcats is offline  
post #187 of 525 Old 04-09-2009, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
Catbert007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know about whether the 500M in NA can accept multivoltage (110V - 240V, 50 - 60hz) and multi system (NTSC/PAL) encoded signals like the 500M in Europe can and aparently the 101 can?
Catbert007 is offline  
post #188 of 525 Old 04-09-2009, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TPnBobcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catbert007 View Post

Anybody know about whether the 500M in NA can accept multivoltage (110V - 240V, 50 - 60hz) and multi system (NTSC/PAL) encoded signals like the 500M in Europe can and aparently the 101 can?

The manual for the US KRP-500M/600M is here.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/St...ctions0905.pdf

Page 100 has the different TV standards it handles and it does say both NTSC and PAL.

I could only find a reference to 120 v power, but it would surprise me if it didn't handle the 240 v power. All but the cheapest stuff does seem to these days.
TPnBobcats is offline  
post #189 of 525 Old 04-09-2009, 10:14 AM
Member
 
roman707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPnBobcats View Post

Apparently having to wait a whole 9 min for an answer was too much for him...

No need to get rude, I posted the question in both threads at the same time. Thanks for the response to those that actually gave me the info requested.
roman707 is offline  
post #190 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 01:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
notoriousmatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im trying to decide between an 800 series panny and a pio 151. Is double the price of the pio justified?
notoriousmatty is offline  
post #191 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 08:48 AM
Member
 
leedom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So it looks like the 141 and the 600M are virtually identical except for the optional speakers on the 600M and the 4 HDMI inputs on the 141 (versus only 2 on the 600M). I've had the 141 on my wish list for quite some time but had pretty much decided that I'd have to let it go into history without me because of cost. Without asking for specific price quotes, is the 600M less expensive than the 141?

Also, is any forum sponsor shipping it? After having perused these forums for several years I'm fairly dedicated to the proposition of "paying back" the sponsors by buying from one of them.

Casey
leedom is offline  
post #192 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JamE55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by notoriousmatty View Post

Im trying to decide between an 800 series panny and a pio 151. Is double the price of the pio justified?

Only your "eyes" can decide for you on that.
JamE55 is offline  
post #193 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
ndisgii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leedom View Post

So it looks like the 141 and the 600M are virtually identical except for the optional speakers on the 600M and the 4 HDMI inputs on the 141 (versus only 2 on the 600M). I've had the 141 on my wish list for quite some time but had pretty much decided that I'd have to let it go into history without me because of cost. Without asking for specific price quotes, is the 600M less expensive than the 141?

Also, is any forum sponsor shipping it? After having perused these forums for several years I'm fairly dedicated to the proposition of "paying back" the sponsors by buying from one of them.

You summed it up pretty well, but missed the addition of the ISFccc interface on the 141FD. Some people must have it and some dont care, but I wanted to make sure you knew that too.

The 600M is approx $1500 less than the 141, if buying from reputable places, and yes, you should definitely use a forum sponsor if possible. I dont know when they will be shipping again, or if they are shipping now with the whole shipping fiasco. Call around and check to be sure on that.
ndisgii is offline  
post #194 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TPnBobcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by notoriousmatty View Post

Im trying to decide between an 800 series panny and a pio 151. Is double the price of the pio justified?

I couldn't justify it to myself, but the 600M does get you most of what you'd get from a 151 at a significantly lower price.

Two other points to ponder

1) Arguably, the larger the screen the more important quality is. Since you are more likely to notice any flaws.

2) What is your viewing environment like? If you sit 5' away it might be more important than if you are sitting 12' or 15'.
TPnBobcats is offline  
post #195 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 11:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
notoriousmatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im sitting about 8 feet away. I currently have a 50 inch pz85u which is pretty decent but has some flaws that the 800 series seem to have corrected such as red push and a noisy picture. Ill check into the 600m
notoriousmatty is offline  
post #196 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevec325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newtown, PA
Posts: 3,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by notoriousmatty View Post

Im trying to decide between an 800 series panny and a pio 151. Is double the price of the pio justified?

Look who you are asking

For me, IMHO, the 151 (or the 141) is the best 60" . I don't plan on getting another one any time soon. So, it's not that often we can (relatively) afford to get the best of the best. I realize that the price of the 151's is not anywhere near inexpensive. I also realize that the difference in price between the 151 and anything else is pretty great. Last, I realize that many people cannot justify the cost.

All that said, I didn't win the powerball, nor get an AIG-like bonus. But, I dug a little deeper to buy the 151. I made a few compromises in other places. For me, buying this is a major investment. It is not just "this years toy". Amortized over the 5+ years I hope to enjoy it, the cost - to me - was worth it... hands down.

That's my rationale. It may or may not work for you.

-steve
My HT Setup - updated 12/25/2012
"...and all the science, I don't understand. It's just my job, five days a week."
stevec325 is offline  
post #197 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 03:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
elite-home is offline  
post #198 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 03:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
elite-home is offline  
post #199 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 03:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
elite-home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
elite-home is offline  
post #200 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 04:07 PM
aus
Senior Member
 
aus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What stands will work with the 500M?

Does anyone know of a stand for the 600M that will let it rest very low? It may just sqeeze in my media niche if the stand would allow it to drop almost all the way down.
aus is offline  
post #201 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 04:50 PM
Member
 
LM2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I have stated in the other thread. I am in the same position with stevec325 and I could not agreed more. Everytime I turn that tv on, I am loving every minute of it. And if you have kids, they will love the disney bluray on this tv.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevec325 View Post

Look who you are asking

For me, IMHO, the 151 (or the 141) is the best 60" . I don't plan on getting another one any time soon. So, it's not that often we can (relatively) afford to get the best of the best. I realize that the price of the 151's is not anywhere near inexpensive. I also realize that the difference in price between the 151 and anything else is pretty great. Last, I realize that many people cannot justify the cost.

All that said, I didn't win the powerball, nor get an AIG-like bonus. But, I dug a little deeper to buy the 151. I made a few compromises in other places. For me, buying this is a major investment. It is not just "this years toy". Amortized over the 5+ years I hope to enjoy it, the cost - to me - was worth it... hands down.

That's my rationale. It may or may not work for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by notoriousmatty View Post

Im trying to decide between an 800 series panny and a pio 151. Is double the price of the pio justified?

LM2008 is offline  
post #202 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevec325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newtown, PA
Posts: 3,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LM2008 View Post

As I have stated in the other thread. I am in the same position with stevec325 and I could not agreed more. Everytime I turn that tv on, I am loving every minute of it. And if you have kids, they will love the disney bluray on this tv.

I am so looking forward to plugging my BDP-83 in and watching BD

-steve
My HT Setup - updated 12/25/2012
"...and all the science, I don't understand. It's just my job, five days a week."
stevec325 is offline  
post #203 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 07:53 PM
Member
 
LM2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevec325 View Post

I am so looking forward to plugging my BDP-83 in and watching BD

I can't wait for Oppo to release this BDP83. My system will be set and just need calibration.
LM2008 is offline  
post #204 of 525 Old 04-10-2009, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
S. Hiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
S. Hiller is offline  
post #205 of 525 Old 04-11-2009, 02:24 PM
Newbie
 
burtonb161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can it be confirmed that the PRO-101 comes broken-in from the factory? Someone made this statement earlier and I'm not sure if it's correct. If so, does this mean no breaking-in is required when the panel is taken out of the box?

Also, can someone confirm that the KRP-500 can or can't have multiple picture settings for one HDMI input, for example, when using a receiver.

Thanks for your help.
burtonb161 is offline  
post #206 of 525 Old 04-11-2009, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,895
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevec325 View Post

I am so looking forward to plugging my BDP-83 in and watching BD

You will not be disappointed.
I have plugged my Beta unit in and it looks fantastic on BD and does an great job on DVDs too.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Parasound A51 Black (for sale) | Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 & A31 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #207 of 525 Old 04-12-2009, 10:19 AM
Member
 
stooby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got no answer in owner's thread, thought I'd try here. With no USB port & I'm assuming no SD card slot, is there anyway to display pics on the 600m?
stooby is offline  
post #208 of 525 Old 04-12-2009, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TPnBobcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stooby View Post

Got no answer in owner's thread, thought I'd try here. With no USB port & I'm assuming no SD card slot, is there anyway to display pics on the 600m?

Sure it's got a DVI port for a connection to a computer and a PS3 or Xbox 360 could stream the pictures as well.
TPnBobcats is offline  
post #209 of 525 Old 04-13-2009, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SoSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by burtonb161 View Post

Can it be confirmed that the PRO-101 comes broken-in from the factory? Someone made this statement earlier and I'm not sure if it's correct. If so, does this mean no breaking-in is required when the panel is taken out of the box?

Also, can someone confirm that the KRP-500 can or can't have multiple picture settings for one HDMI input, for example, when using a receiver.

Thanks for your help.

According to D-Nice, it was broken in for 100 hours in the factory. 50 hours for the 111 and M. However, you still need to do the 150 hours break-in if you decided to do break-in.

For the KRP-M, every single input (HDMI, Component, DVI, ... etc.) allows the following preset picture settings: Optimum, standard (same as the 111/151 Performance mode), Dynamic, Movie, Pure, Sport, Game, User (same as the 111/151 Standard mode). Each mode allows various degree of fine tuning. For example, Optimum allows almost NO fine tuning and Pure or User mode allow RGB, gamma, color temp. level tuning. However, it only allows one Pure mode setting saved per input.

On the other hand, individual inputs CAN have their own Pure mode settings saved. For example, you can have HDMI 1 Pure mode at color temp MID while HDMI 2 Pure mode at color temp LOW.

Hope it helps to answer your questions.
SoSo is offline  
post #210 of 525 Old 04-13-2009, 08:04 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SoSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stooby View Post

Got no answer in owner's thread, thought I'd try here. With no USB port & I'm assuming no SD card slot, is there anyway to display pics on the 600m?

If you are talking about break-in image, you can burn a DVD picture slide show and use your dvd player. Or PS3, Xbox 360 will also work fine.

For regular pictures, you will need an external device (PC, PS3, Xbox360, ... etc.) to display pictures.
SoSo is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off