The Official Panasonic TC-PXXS1 Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 7897 Old 03-19-2009, 08:40 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pantomime horse View Post

The Descent, Silent Hill, and the Alien series come to mind.

OMG im dying to watch the descent on this bad boy!! And AVP Requiem! I'm only 24 hrs into break-in . I suppose I could sneak a letterboxed movie in there but idk...
BLUfan77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 7897 Old 03-19-2009, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
C*Tedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUfan77 View Post

OMG im dying to watch the descent on this bad boy!! And AVP Requiem! I'm only 24 hrs into break-in . I suppose I could sneak a letterboxed movie in there but idk...

Yup, big sci fi fan/horror as well. I think I'm sold on the 46 or dare I say...50 S1? 30 Days of Night is another killer on BR that's a must watch. Lot's of deep coloring in that one.
C*Tedesco is offline  
post #273 of 7897 Old 03-19-2009, 09:16 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by C*Tedesco View Post

Yup, big sci fi fan/horror as well. I think I'm sold on the 46 or dare I say...50 S1? 30 Days of Night is another killer on BR that's a must watch. Lot's of deep coloring in that one.

I recommend the 50!! (she's treating me well)
I've 30 days of night too, so many movies to rewatch!!
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #274 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
romanesq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hoboken
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Going to see the S1 this weekend. Hopeful it will be looking reasonably better than the X1 even in a store environment.

Too bad, Dnice doesn't have an S1 yet. Would love to get his take afterwards. But reading the new Panny threads, he's done a lot to help a whole lot of folks here. And that is really awesome.

Rock on Dnice, rock on.

It's all just a game. I just play to win.
romanesq is offline  
post #275 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 08:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:


I wouldn't rate power consumption as the top feature, but here are the "published" numbers by panasonic

I wouldn't either, BUT it is, opr should be a VERY important consideration especially considering these Plasmas are the worst power hogs of most any consumer product. I did see those "ratings", but I was looking for real world figures.

All that is needed is a $17 'Kill-A-Watt'.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #276 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 09:29 AM
Member
 
ohrbrcko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Is x.v. color an important feature to have? Like others, I am deciding between the S1 and G10.
ohrbrcko is offline  
post #277 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

I wouldn't either, BUT it is, opr should be a VERY important consideration especially considering these Plasmas are the worst power hogs of most any consumer product. I did see those "ratings", but I was looking for real world figures.

All that is needed is a $17 'Kill-A-Watt'.

Cnet's reviews list real world power usage.
chrisherbert is offline  
post #278 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohrbrcko View Post

Is x.v. color an important feature to have? Like others, I am deciding between the S1 and G10.

No, not important at all.
chrisherbert is offline  
post #279 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
C*Tedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 31
So tonight I broke down and ordered the 46 S1 from Cleveland Plasma. First time I've bought a TV online so it's exciting but nailbiting at the same time.

Now for the hard part, moving my huge 36in Sony WEGA CRT....holy mackeral that thing is heavy.
C*Tedesco is offline  
post #280 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 09:24 PM
Member
 
yzzub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to have the same problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by C*Tedesco View Post

So tonight I broke down and ordered the 46 S1 from Cleveland Plasma. First time I've bought a TV online so it's exciting but nailbiting at the same time.

Now for the hard part, moving my huge 36in Sony WEGA CRT....holy mackeral that thing is heavy.

yzzub is offline  
post #281 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 09:49 PM
Member
 
wantinganewtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kingston, NY
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I don't mean to go off topic for my fist post but I've been following these 12g Panny threads for a while now and I've seen more than one person make mention of the difficulty in moving a 36" CRT. If you are by yourself then you have a problem but if you are moving it with help of another person here's a simple little tip that may help some of you: carry the TV with the screen facing the floor. These TVs have the bulk of their weight in the front of them and if you have all that weight pointing downward then it's much easier to move. When trying to move a big heavy CRT with the screen facing any other way but down you will always be fighting that weight wanting to go off in one direction or another, pulling to one side and pretty much overloading one arm. With the arms fully extended downward and your hands under the TV you are distributing the weight more evenly. It's still a heavy SOB but at least you will be in control of the beast.
wantinganewtoy is offline  
post #282 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 10:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Ok, how about ther most important feature; lower power consumption?

Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

I wouldn't either, BUT it is, opr should be a VERY important consideration especially considering these Plasmas are the worst power hogs of most any consumer product. I did see those "ratings", but I was looking for real world figures.

All that is needed is a $17 'Kill-A-Watt'.


Although it quite possibly might be a important feature to some people. It is also not something that I would say is the "most important feature" to all people.
Sorry, but I don't even think it's a "VERY" important thing to consider either. I consider things like picture quality to be important, and not if it will save me $20-$30 a year in electricity. And I myself will not let power consumption dictate what brand or what kind of TV I will or will not buy.
Johnla is offline  
post #283 of 7897 Old 03-20-2009, 10:29 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question guys, I went into my picture menu while watching a blu-ray (connected via HDMI) and saw that my color matrix was set to SD and is grayed out so i cant change it to HD. Shouldn't it be on HD? How can I fix this?
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #284 of 7897 Old 03-21-2009, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomnan24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: oh-io
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wantinganewtoy View Post

Hey guys I don't mean to go off topic for my fist post but I've been following these 12g Panny threads for a while now and I've seen more than one person make mention of the difficulty in moving a 36" CRT. If you are by yourself then you have a problem but if you are moving it with help of another person here's a simple little tip that may help some of you: carry the TV with the screen facing the floor. These TVs have the bulk of their weight in the front of them and if you have all that weight pointing downward then it's much easier to move. When trying to move a big heavy CRT with the screen facing any other way but down you will always be fighting that weight wanting to go off in one direction or another, pulling to one side and pretty much overloading one arm. With the arms fully extended downward and your hands under the TV you are distributing the weight more evenly. It's still a heavy SOB but at least you will be in control of the beast.

Thanks for the tip, I have a 36" crt also.
tomnan24 is online now  
post #285 of 7897 Old 03-21-2009, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
pantomime horse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUfan77 View Post

Quick question guys, I went into my picture menu while watching a blu-ray (connected via HDMI) and saw that my color matrix was set to SD and is grayed out so i cant change it to HD. Shouldn't it be on HD? How can I fix this?

I've read that if you try to change the setting while watching an SD channel instead of an HD channel that it will no longer be grayed out as it is when watching HD channels or Blu-Ray movies.
pantomime horse is offline  
post #286 of 7897 Old 03-21-2009, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
pantomime horse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wantinganewtoy View Post

Hey guys I don't mean to go off topic for my fist post but I've been following these 12g Panny threads for a while now and I've seen more than one person make mention of the difficulty in moving a 36" CRT. If you are by yourself then you have a problem but if you are moving it with help of another person here's a simple little tip that may help some of you: carry the TV with the screen facing the floor. These TVs have the bulk of their weight in the front of them and if you have all that weight pointing downward then it's much easier to move. When trying to move a big heavy CRT with the screen facing any other way but down you will always be fighting that weight wanting to go off in one direction or another, pulling to one side and pretty much overloading one arm. With the arms fully extended downward and your hands under the TV you are distributing the weight more evenly. It's still a heavy SOB but at least you will be in control of the beast.

That's how my brother and I had to do it. It's still very heavy but the weight distribution is more even.
pantomime horse is offline  
post #287 of 7897 Old 03-21-2009, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iwanthd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Great tip wantinganewtoy! This falls squarely into the "why didn't I think of that " category.
Iwanthd is offline  
post #288 of 7897 Old 03-21-2009, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUfan77 View Post

Quick question guys, I went into my picture menu while watching a blu-ray (connected via HDMI) and saw that my color matrix was set to SD and is grayed out so i cant change it to HD. Shouldn't it be on HD? How can I fix this?

If you're sending it an HD signal, it's using the HD color matrix (no matter what it says) and won't let you change it. I wouldn't worry about it.
chrisherbert is offline  
post #289 of 7897 Old 03-21-2009, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by pantomime horse View Post

I've read that if you try to change the setting while watching an SD channel instead of an HD channel that it will no longer be grayed out as it is when watching HD channels or Blu-Ray movies.

Yeah, but you probably don't want to change it to the HD color matrix when you're watching SD, that's not usually the correct setting.
chrisherbert is offline  
post #290 of 7897 Old 03-21-2009, 09:51 AM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisherbert View Post

If you're sending it an HD signal, it's using the HD color matrix (no matter what it says) and won't let you change it. I wouldn't worry about it.

Ok, thanks!
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #291 of 7897 Old 03-21-2009, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
C*Tedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by pantomime horse View Post

That's how my brother and I had to do it. It's still very heavy but the weight distribution is more even.


I'm gonna have to try this weekend if this works, I'm gonna miss that big ol' CRT...
C*Tedesco is offline  
post #292 of 7897 Old 03-22-2009, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Metaphysical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i stopped by HHGregg yesterday and they didnt have the S1's but i saw a 42'' X1. Man, that tv looks really good I was surprised. I was a flinch away from buying it instead of the 46'' S1 im holding off for. I hope the difference is worth it

"I am a shark, the ground is my ocean, and most people can't even swim." - Rickson Gracie
Metaphysical is offline  
post #293 of 7897 Old 03-22-2009, 10:28 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any black level comparisons of the S1 50" with the Z80/85 and PX80?
cpc is offline  
post #294 of 7897 Old 03-22-2009, 10:41 AM
Member
 
inthehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@marka04

very nice pictures here at Post #59
inthehouse is offline  
post #295 of 7897 Old 03-22-2009, 10:56 AM
 
speedking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by C*Tedesco View Post

I'm gonna have to try this weekend if this works, I'm gonna miss that big ol' CRT...

I remember when I parted company with my 40" Mits tube set. 2 guys came to pick it up. One guy looked like an NFL nose guard and the other an average sized dude. The big guy picked it up and the veins in his neck looked like they were going to burst. They carried it down 3 flights of stairs and I didn't think the smaller guy was gonna make it. That baby was close to 300lbs, what a beast. Great display for not being HD.
speedking is offline  
post #296 of 7897 Old 03-22-2009, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
Kinsella5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seattle Washington
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by C*Tedesco View Post

So tonight I broke down and ordered the 46 S1 from Cleveland Plasma. First time I've bought a TV online so it's exciting but nailbiting at the same time.

Now for the hard part, moving my huge 36in Sony WEGA CRT....holy mackeral that thing is heavy.

I had the same set, mine was a XBR400 36" with matching stand. Last June I put them both up on Craigs List for $400 and a woman bought it. I was relieved, that thing was a monster. I ended up getting the 46" 85U set, and have been quite pleased so far. Got the 4 year extended warranty on the TV because I was able to get the television for about fifty dollars above cost, so opted or the piece of mind of having it covered for four years.
Kinsella5 is offline  
post #297 of 7897 Old 03-22-2009, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
C*Tedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kinsella5 View Post

I had the same set, mine was a XBR400 36" with matching stand. Last June I put them both up on Craigs List for $400 and a woman bought it. I was relieved, that thing was a monster. I ended up getting the 46" 85U set, and have been quite pleased so far. Got the 4 year extended warranty on the TV because I was able to get the television for about fifty dollars above cost, so opted or the piece of mind of having it covered for four years.

This is the exact same set I have and with the matching stand. I'm giving mine to a buddy, only thing he has to do is help me get it outta my house!

On another note, I currently have the Toshiba A2 HD DVD player. I just realized that it's only a 1080i player. So, will this give me the de-interlacing problem I've heard about. Wondering if the TV upconverting the pic from "i" to "p" is going to be an issue...
C*Tedesco is offline  
post #298 of 7897 Old 03-23-2009, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
thor7522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 50" and i love it. Only thing is when i switch from HD to SD or Ondemand Content my screen just for lick a sec flashes green and lines across the screen. My old Panny justed to just turn black for a sec when switching for hd to sd. Anyone else have this?
thor7522 is offline  
post #299 of 7897 Old 03-23-2009, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
pantomime horse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thor7522 View Post

Just got my 50" and i love it. Only thing is when i switch from HD to SD or Ondemand Content my screen just for lick a sec flashes green and lines across the screen. My old Panny justed to just turn black for a sec when switching for hd to sd. Anyone else have this?

That doesn't happen on mine.
pantomime horse is offline  
post #300 of 7897 Old 03-23-2009, 07:35 PM
Newbie
 
thor7522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if it is my HDMI cable or a setting in the cable box. Also I have read that you should change the balck bar meter to mid gray but mine is grayed out with bright selected. Any ideas?
thor7522 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic 42 Inch Fhd Plasma Display

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off