The Official Panasonic TC-PXXS1 Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 264 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7891 of 7911 Old 11-08-2013, 03:51 AM
Member
 
Milehigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As an update, the other box like the first one (I have two currently) does the same thing on occasion and needs to be power cycled...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgooter View Post

My vote would be to get a different digital adapter box from Comcast. Another troubleshooting step would be to temporarily hook up the cable box from your main room...I assume it's a digital HD cable box.
Milehigh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7892 of 7911 Old 11-08-2013, 04:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sgooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Space Coast, FL
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milehigh View Post

As an update, the other box like the first one (I have two currently) does the same thing on occasion and needs to be power cycled...
I found some relevant comments at this site; scroll down near the bottom of the page to where a paragraph begins with "Symptom 3".
Sounds like the techies at this shop think the problem is probably the HDMI cable - perhaps a bent pin or the cable is too long. Try calling these guys to discuss the problem your having.

Don't use a big word when a more diminutive one would suffice.
Sgooter is offline  
post #7893 of 7911 Old 11-08-2013, 04:12 PM
Member
 
Milehigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the lead, lots of info to explore but I appreciate the link smile.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgooter View Post

I found some relevant comments at this site; scroll down near the bottom of the page to where a paragraph begins with "Symptom 3".
Sounds like the techies at this shop think the problem is probably the HDMI cable - perhaps a bent pin or the cable is too long. Try calling these guys to discuss the problem your having.
Milehigh is offline  
post #7894 of 7911 Old 01-23-2014, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm having a problem with my Panasonic VIERA TC-P42S1, and was wondering if anyone where had any ideas.  I have an HPTC that I built to watch netflix movies and sometimes play a games.  Any help would be appreciated:

 

My problem is that I am getting massive screen tearing, when watching movies.  The tearing happens in all browsers as well as if I play movies locally through VLC media player.  I have previously used a Western Digital WDTV 1080p streaming box, which had no tearing issues at all.  I have also used a different PC in the past and did not notice any tearing issues.

 

I have done the following with little to no difference.

-Verified TV is at 1920x1080 @ 60hz

-Tried watch movies with windows Aero on and off.

-Updated firmware on TV.

-Forced vsync to be on through nvidia control panel as well as triple buffering and set pre-rendered frames to four.

 

HTPC Specs:

-Intel i5-2500k cpu

-8gb ram

-Nvidia GTX 560 1gb graphics card, most current drivers.

-Connected to tv by DVI to HDMI cable.

 

TV Settings:

-HD size set to 2

-Format set to FULL.

-Game preset.

 

I am most likely missing a setting somewhere, but I can't figure it out.

ruski is offline  
post #7895 of 7911 Old 03-06-2014, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
jeffspl311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm unable to assign analog audio inputs to the HDMI input that I'm going to use with my home theater PC.

This is necessary because the PC is older and only has DVI out (for which I have an HDMI conversion cable, no big deal, but also no audio).

 

Anyway, I've made my way to Menu > Audio > Advanced audio. The last three items on this panel are HDMI 1, HDMI 2, and HDMI 3. I'm supposed to be able to select any audio input that I want to be associated with these HDMI inputs, but they are grey and disabled!!

 

I've just updated the firmware from 2.23 to 2.26 in the hopes that it would fix it, but alas, no joy. I read that years ago there were intermediate firmware updates, one having to do with HDMI audio, but those links are long since dead.

 

Does anyone have some insight as to why my Advanced audio settings (for the HDMI inputs) are disabled??

 

Thanks,

Jeff

jeffspl311 is offline  
post #7896 of 7911 Old 10-15-2014, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
C*Tedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Well, I can't believe I've had the S1 already for 5 years. It was my first and only plasma and it it going to be hard to let it go when the time comes. Everything has been great with the set, however recently I've noticed that the image retention has gotten a little worse. In my case, when I leave the guide/menu up for literally 10 seconds, it will retain the imprint for a few minutes. Not certain if this is par for the course with a 5 year old plasma, but that is the only thing that I've noticed so far. Hope to keep this set around a few more years.
C*Tedesco is offline  
post #7897 of 7911 Old 10-15-2014, 09:54 PM
Senior Member
 
95oRANGEcRUSH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NEO
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In a few days it will be exactly 5 years and 5 months of ownership of my 50S1. It's been a fantastic TV thus far.
95oRANGEcRUSH is offline  
post #7898 of 7911 Old 12-10-2014, 07:15 AM
Newbie
 
jriker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95oRANGEcRUSH View Post
In a few days it will be exactly 5 years and 5 months of ownership of my 50S1. It's been a fantastic TV thus far.
Same here. Finally going to, after all these years, do better calibration of mine. Used some calibration disks but just received my i1 Display Pro. So learning how to use it with something other than a computer monitor right now. Now if I only understood the service menu options and what each does. Sure color calibration isn't going to be very accurate with the P50S1 as it only has a left to right slider for color unlike the generation that came after it which have individual red/blue/green level adjustments.

Chances are this is all pointless though as my family loves the Vivid setting. Go figure.

JR
jriker1 is offline  
post #7899 of 7911 Old 12-10-2014, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 83
You should look into getting the fix for your black levels. I did on my G10 and it made the tv look so much better. That 50 inch '09 model is affected by the black level rise and I'm sure it lights up the room with the lights off, my 54" did. Here's a couple threads with info about how to get the fix. Look for audiodane, he's the fellow that makes the unit.

The pros used to have to go into the service menu to calibrate since you have much more control in there but you can mess up a tv if you don't document the before numbers so you can revert back to them. Look in the cal forum for help with that.

Panasonic TC-P42G10, TC-P46G10, TC-P50G10, and TC-P54G10 Owner's Discussion Thread

Panasonic 11G/12G/13G black levels have seemingly doubled overnight?
whipit is offline  
post #7900 of 7911 Old 12-13-2014, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipit View Post
You should look into getting the fix for your black levels. I did on my G10 and it made the tv look so much better. That 50 inch '09 model is affected by the black level rise and I'm sure it lights up the room with the lights off, my 54" did. Here's a couple threads with info about how to get the fix. Look for audiodane, he's the fellow that makes the unit.

The pros used to have to go into the service menu to calibrate since you have much more control in there but you can mess up a tv if you don't document the before numbers so you can revert back to them. Look in the cal forum for help with that.

Panasonic TC-P42G10, TC-P46G10, TC-P50G10, and TC-P54G10 Owner's Discussion Thread

Panasonic 11G/12G/13G black levels have seemingly doubled overnight?
I "fixed" black levels on my 46S1.... a new tv every day !
Avgguy is offline  
post #7901 of 7911 Old 12-13-2014, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
95oRANGEcRUSH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NEO
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipit View Post
You should look into getting the fix for your black levels. I did on my G10 and it made the tv look so much better. That 50 inch '09 model is affected by the black level rise and I'm sure it lights up the room with the lights off, my 54" did. Here's a couple threads with info about how to get the fix. Look for audiodane, he's the fellow that makes the unit.

The pros used to have to go into the service menu to calibrate since you have much more control in there but you can mess up a tv if you don't document the before numbers so you can revert back to them. Look in the cal forum for help with that.

Panasonic TC-P42G10, TC-P46G10, TC-P50G10, and TC-P54G10 Owner's Discussion Thread

Panasonic 11G/12G/13G black levels have seemingly doubled overnight?
Excellent post, thank you. I went ahead and ordered audiodane's product.

XBOX Live GT: LOTION in BULK
95oRANGEcRUSH is offline  
post #7902 of 7911 Old 12-18-2014, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95oRANGEcRUSH View Post
Excellent post, thank you. I went ahead and ordered audiodane's product.
This is great! I will have to order one for my parents who have the TV now.
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
post #7903 of 7911 Old 12-18-2015, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Draggon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just thought I'd "keep this thread alive" as it's been exactly one year since the last post!

Bought my TC-P65S1 back in November 2009 and am still loving it over 6 years later. As a matter of fact, it's the reason I joined this forum. I had Chad B come out and calibrate it shortly after purchase, and I've never looked back. Is there new tech (ignoring 4K options for now) out there that looks better??
Draggon is offline  
post #7904 of 7911 Old 12-18-2015, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
Tennywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finger, TN
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too have had and an S1, 50", for just as long, and it's still going strong with it's awesome picture. Just a great product.

Gary
Tennywood is offline  
post #7905 of 7911 Old 12-18-2015, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennywood View Post
I too have had and an S1, 50", for just as long, and it's still going strong with it's awesome picture. Just a great product.
I think my parents model looks almost as good as my F8500 in a dark room. It is also much less prone to IR than my F8500. Kinda weird considering its tech is 4 years older than my samsung.
Michael Vincent Praino is offline  
post #7906 of 7911 Old 12-20-2015, 08:47 AM
as in "O.G." Alonzo
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draggon View Post
Just thought I'd "keep this thread alive" as it's been exactly one year since the last post!

Bought my TC-P65S1 back in November 2009 and am still loving it over 6 years later. As a matter of fact, it's the reason I joined this forum. I had Chad B come out and calibrate it shortly after purchase, and I've never looked back. Is there new tech (ignoring 4K options for now) out there that looks better??
My TC-P55S1 got replaced last year (about this time) with a newer Sammy LED (see sig; dimming zones, Cinema Black, etc. do an excellent job for the blacks), so the S1 has been relegated to my son's gaming TV; I must say it still holds up whenever I have a look at what he's up to on it. Can't beat the viewing angle.

UN78HU9000FXZA(TS01)/SEK-3500U/UBD-K8500 || Denon AVR-X4200W
Atmos/DTS:X 5.1.2: Fronts = Klipsch R-3650-WII (x2),
Sub1 = HSU VTF-3 Mk 5,
Center = Klipsch RP-160M,
TMs = Klipsch R-2650-C (x2),
Surrounds = Polk RC80i (x2)
galonzo is offline  
post #7907 of 7911 Old 12-20-2015, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Draggon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
My TC-P55S1 got replaced last year (about this time) with a newer Sammy LED (see sig; dimming zones, Cinema Black, etc. do an excellent job for the blacks)
Omg, that is one beautful-looking beast of a TV! Okay, Draggon, settle down - you've bought yourself enough christmas presents this year!
Draggon is offline  
post #7908 of 7911 Old 01-11-2016, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
mcqdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought mine 6 years ago and it's still going strong (famous last words?)!

It was my first flat screen. I went through the break-in process and calibration. That's gotta be a factor in how well it's held up.

I don't know what I'm gonna do when it finally dies. I love my plasma!
mcqdogg is offline  
post #7909 of 7911 Old Yesterday, 09:57 AM
Member
 
zebraitis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
And today... mine died.


Same as every other day, hit the power button on the Harmony one...and on my TC-P65S1 , the LED's blink 8 times.


crap.


Searching around on the web, I found that is either the SS board or one of the SS subcomponents. I also found that the Panny parts are no longer available.


crap.


Yes, the 4K TV's look nice at Costco, but none match an already paid-for Panny hanging on your living room wall.


I'm going to open it up, see if the ground may be lose, or a ribbon cable may have slipped out, but I think those are unlikely items.


Maybe it's time to visit craigslist and see if anyone is selling a plasma, cheap.


crap.


I'm open to ideas... feel free to resply if you found an 8 blink fix or a less-than-craigslist-used-replacement repair option.


Thanks.
zebraitis is offline  
post #7910 of 7911 Old Yesterday, 02:02 PM
Member
 
zebraitis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebraitis View Post
And today... mine died.

For anyone that is following this ancient thread, I thought I would share what I have been up to since this morning with my TX-P65S1


Craigslist prices were still more than I wanted to pay for a replacement TV (well... at least today), so I thought I would give my attempt at troubleshooting.


Now, I am of average tech skills, so if you are reading this on this forum, you can likely do this yourself as well.


Opening this up was easy (only three types of screws, and they are clearly marked). Having a vacuum nearby was useful. Nothing like 6 years of accumulated dust that can finally be cleaned out.


The repeating 8 blink thing indicated an SS board issue.


To get to the SS board, I had to move the tuner board. This had a lot of screws, but generally came off easily once I removed the plastic panel on the left side that covers the edge of the bracket.


There were online suggestions of retightening screws and reconnecting ribbon cables, so I had planned to do that.


However, on looking at the SS board, it was obvious that a blue capacitor (C204) had popped (discolored, bulged and broken).


I did a search, but was unable to find a replacement for the TNPA4979AB board. None were to be had. (...and as an FYI, the TNPA4979 board won't work. It's missing "stuff")


However, there is a very reasonable test and rebuild service available:
http://www.ptselectronicsinc.com/txnss1dnuuj/


For $46.97, I look forward to the results. I will post how this turns out.


In the meantime, I will be putting the TV back together so that I don't lose any screws and parts.
galonzo likes this.

Last edited by zebraitis; Yesterday at 02:06 PM.
zebraitis is offline  
post #7911 of 7911 Old Today, 12:34 AM
Member
 
TW2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Mancave, The land Down Under
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebraitis View Post
For anyone that is following this ancient thread, I thought I would share what I have been up to since this morning with my TX-P65S1


Craigslist prices were still more than I wanted to pay for a replacement TV (well... at least today), so I thought I would give my attempt at troubleshooting.


Now, I am of average tech skills, so if you are reading this on this forum, you can likely do this yourself as well.


Opening this up was easy (only three types of screws, and they are clearly marked). Having a vacuum nearby was useful. Nothing like 6 years of accumulated dust that can finally be cleaned out.


The repeating 8 blink thing indicated an SS board issue.


To get to the SS board, I had to move the tuner board. This had a lot of screws, but generally came off easily once I removed the plastic panel on the left side that covers the edge of the bracket.


There were online suggestions of retightening screws and reconnecting ribbon cables, so I had planned to do that.


However, on looking at the SS board, it was obvious that a blue capacitor (C204) had popped (discolored, bulged and broken).


I did a search, but was unable to find a replacement for the TNPA4979AB board. None were to be had. (...and as an FYI, the TNPA4979 board won't work. It's missing "stuff")


However, there is a very reasonable test and rebuild service available:
http://www.ptselectronicsinc.com/txnss1dnuuj/


For $46.97, I look forward to the results. I will post how this turns out.


In the meantime, I will be putting the TV back together so that I don't lose any screws and parts.
There's a lot of screws. I generally get a zip lock bag, put maybe the 4 corner screws in to keep the back on. With one of those 4 screws, , I close the bag and screw it to the chassis.

PTS is a good choice, and about the only way to fix a lot of panny PDPs with boards running out.
TW2005 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic 42 Inch Fhd Plasma Display

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off