Panasonic TC-P42G10, TC-P46G10, TC-P50G10, and TC-P54G10 Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Myke256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

I let the unit run since I opened it. It had 100 hours on it before calibration.

You waited to long, we had a TH-50PZ800U fully calibrated and a guy bought it from WI. I had a TH-58PZ800U also and it left today

you guys have an option to get it calibrated before shipping? or was that just a one time deal type of thing
Myke256 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 04:50 PM
Member
 
PWK2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myke256 View Post

you guys have an option to get it calibrated before shipping? or was that just a one time deal type of thing

Wow that's a great idea, pre-calibrate it (although it won't be to the owners environment) and check for defects before shipping.
PWK2000 is offline  
post #453 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 04:50 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sageraistlin View Post

So I guess you need to look at it this way, you can go into the service menu, but just don't screw up lol

oh man the pressures on! lol. im still just shocked that this would void the warranty tho bc it seems like there would jst be a reset to default option right?
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #454 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 05:06 PM
Member
 
sageraistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUfan77 View Post

oh man the pressures on! lol. im still just shocked that this would void the warranty tho bc it seems like there would jst be a reset to default option right?

I know some models have resets, but i also read that some of the resets blank everything out, so I'm not sure I would want to chance it without the service manual to let you know exactly what each thing does.
sageraistlin is offline  
post #455 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 05:06 PM
Member
 
sageraistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myke256 View Post

you guys have an option to get it calibrated before shipping? or was that just a one time deal type of thing

he had it calibrated for review purposes and then sold the unit.
sageraistlin is offline  
post #456 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 05:12 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUfan77 View Post

oh man the pressures on! lol. im still just shocked that this would void the warranty tho bc it seems like there would jst be a reset to default option right?

There is no "reset to default" in the service menu so it's extremely important to write down all the original values from every screen (and double-check them) before making any changes. That way if you screw something up, you can just refer to your notes and restore the original settings. Lots of guys here have ventured into the SM without knowing what they're doing and without writing anything down, hit a wrong key, and screwed up their display. Sometimes after several hours of trial and error or by using someone else's factory settings they can get it close to where it originally was, other times the TV is just plain ruined.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #457 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 05:36 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

There is no "reset to default" in the service menu so it's extremely important to write down all the original values from every screen (and double-check them) before making any changes. That way if you screw something up, you can just refer to your notes and restore the original settings. Lots of guys here have ventured into the SM without knowing what they're doing and without writing anything down, hit a wrong key, and screwed up their display. Sometimes after several hours of trial and error or by using someone else's factory settings they can get it close to where it originally was, other times the TV is just plain ruined.

oh ok, i see. thanks for the info! Im really leaning to the S1, thats why im asking these things, because according to the cnet review (not too credible, i know) the colors are a little off, so i would probly want to tweek em in the SM. That is, if Chad comes up with the same findings in his review...
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #458 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
RYANtheTIGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So are you implying that if you don't know what you're doing that you would recommend that you get it professionally calibrated?
RYANtheTIGER is offline  
post #459 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 06:16 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANtheTIGER View Post

So are you implying that if you don't know what you're doing that you would recommend that you get it professionally calibrated?

No, i'm just saying that if someone doesn't know what they're doing they may want to consider staying out of the SM, or if they must go in, make sure to write down all the values when they do go in so that if they screw something up or don't like the changes they made, they can restore it to it's original values. Too many people are too lazy or dumb to write the values down and they get into trouble.

As far as i'm concerned, there is no substitute for a proper ISF calibration.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #460 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
RYANtheTIGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

As far as i'm concerned, there is no substitute for a proper ISF calibration.

Gotcha. How much am I looking at to get ISF Calibration? I'm sure it varies from person to person and all but I'm just trying to get a ballpark idea (assuming that is allowed on the boards). I am just trying to figure out the "final" price of my new TV when all is said and done. Thanks ...
RYANtheTIGER is offline  
post #461 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 06:42 PM
Member
 
captainmorgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANtheTIGER View Post

Gotcha. How much am I looking at to get ISF Calibration? I'm sure it varies from person to person and all but I'm just trying to get a ballpark idea (assuming that is allowed on the boards). I am just trying to figure out the "final" price of my new TV when all is said and done. Thanks ...

I checked into it in my area and it was about $450.
captainmorgan is offline  
post #462 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
RYANtheTIGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WOW. A little more than I was hoping ...
RYANtheTIGER is offline  
post #463 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 07:35 PM
Member
 
captainmorgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANtheTIGER View Post

WOW. A little more than I was hoping ...

Yeah me too. Considering it only takes about 2hrs. That's $225/hr.
captainmorgan is offline  
post #464 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
RYANtheTIGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainmorgan View Post

Yeah me too. Considering it only takes about 2hrs. That's $225/hr.

I'll end up doing it, though. I mean what's the point in spending $2K on a TV if you're not get optimal PQ?
RYANtheTIGER is offline  
post #465 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 08:06 PM
Member
 
sageraistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANtheTIGER View Post

Gotcha. How much am I looking at to get ISF Calibration? I'm sure it varies from person to person and all but I'm just trying to get a ballpark idea (assuming that is allowed on the boards). I am just trying to figure out the "final" price of my new TV when all is said and done. Thanks ...

$300-500 from what I've seen. Sometimes I've seen people post the calibration numbers on here for everyone to get the tv close. Other items people will post the user setting. I ended up using the user setting from another thread for my current plasma and it turn out pretty nice. I just drop the picture setting down a couple as I didn't feel the black was black enough during nightime viewing.
sageraistlin is offline  
post #466 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 09:07 PM
Member
 
yzzub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
...what's the point of spending 2k for a TV, then having to spend another 300-500 bux to get it right?
What's wrong with that picture? Such a rip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANtheTIGER View Post

I'll end up doing it, though. I mean what's the point in spending $2K on a TV if you're not get optimal PQ?

yzzub is offline  
post #467 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerplunknet View Post

Ahhh, I just figured that since Chad was a part of Cleveland Plasma (as a company) I would lump you to guys together, haha.

I, myself, have a big decision to make around July when I move to a bigger place: 58" 800U or 54" V-series. This is why I am thankful for guys like Chris, Chad, and D-Nice (I do not know his first name--I apologize). Keep up the good work!

I'm actually an independent touring calibrator. But I hope Chris and I have the opportunity to work together many more times in the future.
Chad B is online now  
post #468 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 09:58 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So Chad, do you have any plans for reviewing the S1 series anytime soon??
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #469 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUfan77 View Post

So Chad, do you have any plans for reviewing the S1 series anytime soon??

I'll see if I can work something out with Chris, but it will be 2 weeks before I can. I'm going on an out of state tour (VA/DC/MD) for 1 1/2 weeks.
Chad B is online now  
post #470 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 10:06 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sweet! i appreciate all the help u give us, rock on man.
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #471 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 10:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by pajama View Post

Question for D-Nice

I have a Pioneer PDP-5070 (which you recommended a few years ago, an I am completely satisfied with) and am looking for a new set. My question is "will the G10 be a better picture than my current set?"

Thanks

By a mile.
D-Nice is offline  
post #472 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 10:42 PM
Member
 
prozak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering, how would I know if the 24p flickering will bother me? Is this something that bothers everyone or that only a few people are susceptible to?
prozak is offline  
post #473 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myke256 View Post

you guys have an option to get it calibrated before shipping? or was that just a one time deal type of thing

This could be considered controversial depending on the calibrator asked, but this can be done.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #474 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanaticalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Isn't MSRP on the G10 1999, while the Samsung is 3200? Is this an apples to apples comparsion? Meaning, these models are in the same model grouping of their respective manufacturers?

I have seen the S1, and it seemed to be an improvement over the older brethren. Aesthetically, the Samsung was an eyeful, but I am not seeing the black levels that are being reported. On all black screen yes, but with content, not so much. Even the letterbox bars have an obvious blue glow to them, and screen uniformity is still an issue.
Fanaticalism is offline  
post #475 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 11:08 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by prozak View Post

I was wondering, how would I know if the 24p flickering will bother me? Is this something that bothers everyone or that only a few people are susceptible to?

well i would definitely recommend going to ur local BB and checking it out for urself. If you dont see it on display, ask about it. Odds are, they have it in the warehouse but just havnt brought it out yet. You will need to go into the advanced picture option and turn the "24p Direct In" setting from 60Hz to 48Hz.

Now, just watch. I immediately noticed the flicker and had to rub my eyes to make sure it wasnt just me. I noticed that it was much more prominent when a lighter background was present.

A good way to see the difference is to keep switching between 60Hz and 48Hz, give each a couple of seconds and then switch to the other.
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #476 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 11:21 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok so i went over to the panasonic website and used the comparison feature to see the S1 and G10 specs side by side.

I noticed something that confused me. There is one spec that is titled "24p Cinematic Playback". for the G10 model, it is listed as N/A?? and naturally for the S1 it simply says no. Now, right below that spec, another one is titled "24p Playback(2:3)". both models say Yes. http://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs...330262|330261|

What the heck is the difference??? I also saw on the BB site specs, the S1 is listed as having "3:2 pulldown with 24p playback" http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1218064394819
i figured this was an error on their part, but now im all confused! Can anybody shed some light? Does the S1 indeed have some form of 24p playback?
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #477 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 11:31 PM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i also noticed the G10 had the following specs, and the S1 did not:

x.v. color
sub pixel control
3d color management

Would anyone be so kind as to inform as to the importance (if any) of these settings)? I was 95% sure i was going to wake up tomorrow and buy the S1, but are these features that would make the G10's picture better?
BLUfan77 is offline  
post #478 of 9991 Old 03-14-2009, 11:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrTAPOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I compared a g10 side by side to a Kuro 5020 and the Kuro still looked much better in my eyes. I really wanted the V10, but being that its not much different than the G series, it looks like my new set will be a 5020 unless I am wrong. I didnt see much of an improvement over the 800u.
mrTAPOUT is offline  
post #479 of 9991 Old 03-15-2009, 12:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Maybe the G10 you saw was not set up right. The black levels alone on the G10 are much deeper than the 800U. Not to mention about 3X the contast ratio.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #480 of 9991 Old 03-15-2009, 12:29 AM
Member
 
BLUfan77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris, any thoughts on the questions i posed a few posts ago? should these differences prompt me to get the G10?
BLUfan77 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off