Panasonic TC-P42G10, TC-P46G10, TC-P50G10, and TC-P54G10 Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 334 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9991 of 10007 Old 03-29-2014, 09:59 AM
 
ChadThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 63
G10 is a beast, they have eight of them hanging around at a big electronics warehouse showing off new games and movie content 24/7, even under the worst conditions they absolutely outshine every piece of rubbish samsung and lg they are trying to flog off at the other end of the store, just rows and rows of boxes of crap.

When or if they finally get rid of them I would not hesitate to buy one with pannies reputation for a long lasting product biggrin.gif
parkman likes this.
ChadThunder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9992 of 10007 Old 08-10-2014, 09:06 PM
Newbie
 
greggee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does the G10 have any audio return on the HDMI?

Thanks,
Greg
greggee is offline  
post #9993 of 10007 Old 08-11-2014, 03:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 74
No, that became available in the 2010 G20 series. The G10 has optical and analog out.
whipit is offline  
post #9994 of 10007 Old 11-25-2014, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
34HFX83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Anyone here still own the G10?

if yes, get this piece of chip that resets the black level to when it was brand new!

http://audiodane.dandk.org/pmcv1/
Panasonic 11G/12G/13G black levels have seemingly doubled overnight?
34HFX83 is offline  
post #9995 of 10007 Old 12-01-2014, 03:13 AM
Newbie
 
CaMiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool, thanks for the info. I'm looking forward to getting one when they go up for pre-order again.

Be nice to nerds. Chances are you'll end up working for one.
CaMiX is offline  
post #9996 of 10007 Old 12-01-2014, 07:36 AM
Member
 
erikstormtrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
About how much do those cost? It's hard to vote on a pre-order without knowing the price tag.
erikstormtrooper is offline  
post #9997 of 10007 Old 12-01-2014, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikstormtrooper View Post
About how much do those cost? It's hard to vote on a pre-order without knowing the price tag.
$60 and well worth it. I got one back in Oct and still can't believe the difference. I knew the picture didn't look as good as when it was new but I'd forgotten just how good it looked.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #9998 of 10007 Old 12-01-2014, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
34HFX83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul210 View Post
$60 and well worth it. I got one back in Oct and still can't believe the difference. I knew the picture didn't look as good as when it was new but I'd forgotten just how good it looked.
where did you install yours... g15 or vt20?
34HFX83 is offline  
post #9999 of 10007 Old 12-02-2014, 04:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by 34HFX83 View Post
where did you install yours... g15 or vt20?
I purchased one and installed it on the G15 first. In case you don't know, the G15 is nearly electronically identical to the G10 with mostly minor cosmetic differences. There was a big difference visually after installing it. I was so happy I purchased another one for the VT20. There wasn't nearly as big a difference on the VT20 as the correction isn't nearly as aggressive as the previous year's models but I could still see it with my eyes. I now feel like I can roll with these sets for years to come.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #10000 of 10007 Old 12-02-2014, 07:24 AM
Member
 
erikstormtrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul210 View Post
$60 and well worth it. I got one back in Oct and still can't believe the difference. I knew the picture didn't look as good as when it was new but I'd forgotten just how good it looked.
Cool. I might see about getting one.

So this has me wondering - I remember reading that image retention/burn in was a bigger issue when the TV was new. Since this will make the TV think it's new again, will that increase the likelihood of image retention?

Also, what was Panasonic's rationale for the rising black levels in the first place? I remember them justifying that it was intentional (something about the TV's age), but I don't remember why.
erikstormtrooper is offline  
post #10001 of 10007 Old 12-02-2014, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 23
My non-technical understanding of it is they increase the charge to prevent pixel mis-firing which blew the black levels all to hell. They realized after the fact that their algorithm was way too aggressive. I've seen no ill effects from installing the board and haven't read anything but good news reported on the other thread. There's always an undo switch on the board which will revert back to previous settings. It sounds like Dane built in a decent fail-safe.

I doubt this will have any effect on image retention or burn in because the phosphor gas is already aged. Then again, I am NOT a technical person--just trying to reason it all out in my own mind.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #10002 of 10007 Old 12-02-2014, 09:33 AM
Member
 
Steve Kuester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikstormtrooper View Post

So this has me wondering - I remember reading that image retention/burn in was a bigger issue when the TV was new. Since this will make the TV think it's new again, will that increase the likelihood of image retention?



I don't know the technical details of IR/Burn-in, but I can give you my real world experience. I did this black level reset on my set (a V10 model) over a year ago, and I have noticed no increased IR whatsoever. I am quite confident that you will have no issue at all.

I turn the sharpness on my TV all the way up, because that's how I like my picture... real sharp.
Steve Kuester is online now  
post #10003 of 10007 Old 12-08-2014, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
audiodane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Hello everyone. I just wanted to let everyone know (who isn't subscribing to email updates) that the PMCv2 preorder page is now live. Order fulfillment is anticipated February 2015.

cheers,
..dane
audiodane is offline  
post #10004 of 10007 Old 12-13-2014, 10:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the same model and I'm having the exact same issue. Any luck solving this problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by krishsvasan View Post
Hey guys,

Follow up question on my TC-P50G10. There is a band on the left side (about 3/4th the size of the outside border on 4:3 aspect ratio) where the colors have started to flicker on and off. Switching the TV off for a while helps, but the discoloration comes back on and off. There is also a red/green line de-marking the rectangular area on the left side of the screen that runs through the height of the TV. Is this a correctable issue or is the TV going to be unusable quickly. HD viewing is an issue now as my effective TV viewing size is reduced due to this.

Any insights would greatly help.

Thanks!
PalisadesJM is offline  
post #10005 of 10007 Old 12-20-2014, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
micantony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
from page 329 of this thread. Is that pdf attachment hanging around anywhere? wanted to try a few settings without wading through the entire thread.

thanks if anyone has any idea.

RandyWalters 07:50 AM 12-08-2010

Quote: Originally Posted by AndyC21

Hello All, I've waded through this thread but I'm still a blur...Is there agreement about what should be the ideal calibration settings for the G10 series? Is it Orta's settings?



There are no "ideal calibration settings" for any TV since there are too many variables with an individual's room environment, sources, content, personal preferences, as well as variances in the actual TVs themselves. The settings i use on my G10 would probably not be ideal for your G10. Some have tried my exact settings and loved em, but some didn't like em at all and did something quite different. Some people use other people's settings as a starting point to get close, then fine tune them to their particular tastes so that's something you can do.

However several of us have posted our personal settings in this thread (and others) and someone compiled all the posted settings and created a chart (linked below). Notice how some of us use Custom mode, while others prefer THX mode, and the various Contrast and Brightness and Color settings are all over the map. Click on the picture modes on that chart and it will take you to that person's original post.

G10 Settings Chart PDF

I'd make a few printouts of this PDF then try one person's settings at first and see how you like it. Then try another.

Me, i just set my TV myself until it looks good to my own eyes. Now that i think of it, i need to re-check my settings again since my black levels have been rising since i posted my settings.
micantony is offline  
post #10006 of 10007 Old 02-14-2015, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
groundtrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SE Idaho
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I have had this set for a few years now and have no plans on changing it out anytime soon. Silly question possibly, but I'd like to hook up a pair of external speakers via a 2-channel amp. I can accomplish this using the rca audio out correct? Can I then control the volume with the remote or do I have to control the volume through the amp? Also, what is the output? Most integrated amps do not have an optical in or I would just use that. Should I be looking at an optical to rca converter?

Epson 5030ub, Marantz 7009, Emotiva XPA-5, Red Dragon Audio M500 SKII monoblocks x 2, Oppo 103, SVS Prime Towers, Prime Center, Prime Satellites x 8, SVS PB-2000 x 2, VApex 110" standard electric screen, wife, 2 kids, dog
groundtrac is offline  
post #10007 of 10007 Old 05-26-2015, 07:26 AM
Member
 
DWells55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Any chance this thread is still active at all? I just bought a well-used (7,210 hours, 4120 on/off cycles) P50G10 and wouldn't mind learning about this particular set's quirks and what to look out for.

Also, for anyone interested, the download links on the Panasonic support page for the G10 are both broken. The correct download link is ftp://ftp.panasonic.com/television/s...0_firmware.zip

There are two downloads available, "TCPxxV10, TCPxxG10, TCPxxG15 - Plasma TV Firmware Update" and "TC-PxxG10 and TC-PxxG15 Viera Cast Firmware Update." Both point to zip archives with different names, but both archives contain the same thing, a file named SDDL.SEC with an MD5 hash of a34eaf31a0ce355c9e958852021f8757.
parkman likes this.

Last edited by DWells55; 05-26-2015 at 08:40 AM.
DWells55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off