Panasonic V10 [NO PRICE TALK PLEASE] - Page 350 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10471 of 10489 Old 04-21-2012, 11:31 PM
Member
 
BluCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tulsabrown View Post

58v10 is still kickin' and I'm still lovin' it.

I have the same display and agree 100%!

"A city on a hill cannot be hidden..."
BluCheez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10472 of 10489 Old 04-30-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,684
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoobley View Post

I still have my 58v10 but I think I'm upgrading this year to a 50gt50. 58 is too big for me. I only enjoy the picture most when I sit back like 10 or 11 feet. I really wish they made the vt50 in 50". This is my first post ever.

Welcome! Very rare to see anybody downgrading size but I want to tell you that the perception of size when watching 3D is completely different. Coming from a 58, a 50 can look much smaller than you think, although the 58 has no 3D. You will want a large screen to watch 3D, check at stores again.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #10473 of 10489 Old 05-23-2012, 05:38 PM
Member
 
bowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Navarre Fl.
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 54V10 is still running great We love it.
bowler is offline  
post #10474 of 10489 Old 05-24-2012, 07:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Lloyd-TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bellaire & Sugar Land, Texas
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowler View Post

My 54V10 is still running great We love it.

Ditto. My 65V10 is purring right along . . .

It's been running approximately 12-15 hours / day - on an average - for nearly 33 months now!
George Fire Eagl likes this.

Best regards,
Lloyd C.

Lloyd-TX is offline  
post #10475 of 10489 Old 05-24-2012, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
donnymac51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Had my 50V10 since 6/09 and it still looks great even with the terrible black level. Will probably upgrade to a VT50 at the end of the year when the price comes down a bit.

Precision Video Calibrations
THX Certified Video Calibrator
Calibrating Florida and Georgia
donnymac51 is offline  
post #10476 of 10489 Old 05-24-2012, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
globalgreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lloyd-TX View Post

Ditto. My 65V10 is purring right along . . .

It's been running approximately 12-15 hours / day - on an average - for nearly 33 months now!

That's some serious TV viewing!

globalgreg is offline  
post #10477 of 10489 Old 05-24-2012, 10:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Lloyd-TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bellaire & Sugar Land, Texas
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by globalgreg View Post

That's some serious TV viewing!

Sure is, Greg.

And - I just re-thought that info. It's not accurate . . .

At night I go to sleep with the display (and my AVR) running, but I have the display set to shut off after three hours of inactivity.

That said, due to health issues I rarely sleep more than 3 or 4 hours at a time, and when I awake I turn it back on. Weekends it gets a REAL workout, as (between myself and my daughter) it's on nearly 24/2.

Still, probably AVERAGING 10-12 hours / day . . .

Best regards,
Lloyd C.

Lloyd-TX is offline  
post #10478 of 10489 Old 06-24-2012, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
CRFTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what a single blinking red light means. My unit has done it occasionally when powering on since I bought it in Oct on 2010. I have to uplug the TV from the back, wait ~15 seconds, plug it back in and power on. Then it works fine. It used to do it once every 2 or 3 months, but now it's done it 4 times in the past week. I'm wondering if it's a precursor of something more serious. The red power light blinks once, goes off, blinks once, goes off, etc.
CRFTony is offline  
post #10479 of 10489 Old 06-24-2012, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
globalgreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I get the same thing on my 65V10. I've got a square trade warranty for it but I'm concerned it will be hard to replicate for the technician. From what I've read this code 1 is a fairly generic error.

globalgreg is offline  
post #10480 of 10489 Old 06-24-2012, 12:48 PM
Member
 
darb215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for someone with a 54v10 interested in parting it out. My dog has scratched the screen up pretty bad and I need a replacement. Anyone know or have a unit to part out? I'm in Atlanta.
darb215 is offline  
post #10481 of 10489 Old 06-25-2012, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
drmanny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Panasonic TC-P65V10 Service Manual Error codes.pdf 29k .pdf file



Here are the error codes for the TC-P65V10 They should work for all the V10 sets.
Manny
drmanny3 is offline  
post #10482 of 10489 Old 06-25-2012, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
CRFTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the codes! Looks like I'm in the "unknown" category. I guess I'll just ride it out and see what happens. Fingers crossed, knock on wood and all that good stuff. smile.gif
CRFTony is offline  
post #10483 of 10489 Old 10-26-2012, 09:11 PM
Member
 
AroundTheTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, sorry to bump an old thread but I just wanted to post and say that my V10 has been great to me these last 3 years and is still wowing me to till this day. I want to thank everyone here for their insight as I couldn't have done it without you. Granted, the research process was brutal and about made my eyes bleed but in the end it was all worth it. You can bet your ass I'll be back here doing the same painstaking research when I'm in the market for my next TV. Now, back to your regular scheduled programming.
George Fire Eagl likes this.
AroundTheTV is offline  
post #10484 of 10489 Old 10-27-2012, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
flycaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My 50V10 is now about three years old. I don't have any meters, but I does look as though the black level has changed. Nonetheless, the picture is still damn good. Over time I have definitely been able to notice the differences between LED and plasma sets. LEDs are just too "loud;" when compared to the very realist reproductions one gets with a Panny plasma. Also, I might add, that I do use three picture modes depending on what I am viewing. To get a little more brightness for viewing sports, I use Game mode most of the time and Custom (professionally calibrated) secondarily. BTW, although Game mode was calibrated professionally, to my eye I was able to get its colors very close to those in THX. Still not as bright as I might like it to be in Game, but really a very good picture. Definitely use THX for all movies. And, Custom for all other programs, and some times sports when viewing at night...otherwise the sports programs some times look a little to dark, although the imaging and color look so real.
flycaster is offline  
post #10485 of 10489 Old 11-14-2012, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
drmanny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have had my set since August 2009. That means a little over 3 years. I still love it. While the black does not seem as dark as it once was it has little impact on my enjoying the show I am watching. I can recal each year thinking if only I had waited I could have purchased that one. Now we are into the Vt50? and they keep on getting better. I remember thinking about the Pioneer at 60 versus the Panasonic at 65. The extra inches makes a difference. Now there are sets at a price point where the size is 80 inches. Now that is big. Kind of exciting. Still not sure about 3D. I like some of the movies at the theater but not all of them. I still hate wearing the glasses and all. The picture is not really all that bad in 2D. And if you have the sound then really you are set. Now it looks like 4k is the next big thing. I don't think it will be as big as going from Standard Definition 480i to 1080p. That was a remarkable change in viewing quality. However, it all adds up I suspect. So when do you think you will want to replace your set? I am so happy with what I have now not sure I want to pay another $3000 and up for something else.
Manny
drmanny3 is offline  
post #10486 of 10489 Old 12-29-2012, 07:21 AM
Member
 
jedovaty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: orange county, CA
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there:

This is likely too late, but, still thought it was worth sharing.

I bought a 65v10 three years ago. I use the stock remote that came with the system to control my ps3 with the HDMI control thingy. The problem is that the remote does NOT have a ps3 button, so when you are inside a program like netflix, you can't quit without getting a remote.

My gf screamed the other day when she figured out it IS possible to access the ps3 button on the standard panasonic remote that comes with this TV! She sat down on the remote and somehow hit the following sequence of events:

1. Hit the "Viera Link" button on the remote
2. Push the "OK" button on the remote when the Viera Link menu pops up on the left - make sure it has "Viera Link control -- player" selected.

That's it... after three years of cursing having to get my lazy arse up off the couch to get the ps3 remote...

biggrin.gif
jedovaty is offline  
post #10487 of 10489 Old 08-07-2013, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Steve Kuester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gumption County, MN
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Hello fellow V10 owners,
I know many people have probably started getting rid of their V10's by now, but for those who still have them, there is a fix for the risen black level of your display.

You can read a bit more about it on the last couple pages of that monster Panasonic black level thread here...http://www.avsforum.com/t/1167339/panasonic-11g-12g-13g-black-levels-have-seemingly-doubled-overnight/10830

The guide (written by AVS member mironto) is located here... http://panasonic.mironto.sk/

I followed the guide step by step (not terribly difficult, btw) with my V10 and was able to reset the MLL back to when the set was new.

After living with the risen black level for 2-3 years, I forgot how good my set can look with those deep blacks. Even my wife noticed it - and as many of you can attest, that's really saying something.

Sorry to dig up an old thread, but I thought some of you may want to know.

I turn the sharpness on my TV all the way up, because that's how I like my picture... real sharp.
Steve Kuester is online now  
post #10488 of 10489 Old 08-07-2013, 01:51 PM
Member
 
jimmueller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for digging it up, it's the first I heard of the fix.

jimmueller is offline  
post #10489 of 10489 Old 01-18-2014, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Deleted. Found the information I was looking for.
eaayoung is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off