Samsung PN**B450 Picture Settings - Page 23 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 1481 Old 10-20-2009, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by danny_w View Post

I had a 42" B450 and upgraded to the 50" and I like it much better for what I want. Actually I wanted the 50" all along but Best Buy didn't have it in stock, so I took the 42". Just before my 30 days were up I went back to Best Buy and upgraded, paying the difference ($151 including tax); they even threw in free delivery and hauled away the old 42". The major reason besides size to want the 50" is the pixel ratio; the 42" has a 4:3 pixel ratio (forced into a 16:9 screen) while the 50" has a 16:9 pixel ratio, which matches up much better with widescreen material. With the 42" if I set my cable box to output 720p the tv cut off the sides of the picture trying to match the pixel layout; I have no such problem with the 50" model, so I can set my sources for 720p to exactly match the tv's native resolution for the best picture possible.

Your settings must have been wrong on your 42" because the ONLY difference between the 42" and the 50" is the eight inches.
tigerfan33 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 1481 Old 10-20-2009, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
danny_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post

Your settings must have been wrong on your 42" because the ONLY difference between the 42" and the 50" is the eight inches.

WRONG. The pixel resolution of the 42" is 1024x768 while that of the 50" is 1366x768. For some reason the specs on the Samsung website are wrong (not unusual); Crutchfield has the correct specs.
danny_w is offline  
post #663 of 1481 Old 10-20-2009, 01:16 PM
Member
 
matryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the reason I don't want to returned it is because I got it delivery for free and I'm not sure how returning is going to work. Are they going to pick it up for me or am I supposed to return it to the store? I don't have transportation for the TV and don't really want to pay the extra for shipping it.

That's great that they gave you free delivery and took your old 42" back. What did you say to them to get that?

Also I believe that bestbuy has a flat panel guarantee that if they don't have the HDTV you want in stock than the deliver it for free and give you a $50 discount. That is how I got my 42" delivered for free.
matryx is offline  
post #664 of 1481 Old 10-20-2009, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
danny_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by matryx View Post

One of the reason I don't want to returned it is because I got it delivery for free and I'm not sure how returning is going to work. Are they going to pick it up for me or am I supposed to return it to the store? I don't have transportation for the TV and don't really want to pay the extra for shipping it.

That's great that they gave you free delivery and took your old 42" back. What did you say to them to get that?

Also I believe that bestbuy has a flat panel guarantee that if they don't have the HDTV you want in stock than the deliver it for free and give you a $50 discount. That is how I got my 42" delivered for free.

I just told them that I had wanted the 50" originally (which I did) and they didn't have it so I settled for the 42", hoping to make do, but that now I had decided that I really did want the 50" after all. I also told them that I took the 42" home in my car (which I did) but that it barely fit and that a 50" would not even come close to fitting in the car. I asked them if they could deliver it for free since I had to get the 42" at first and they agreed.
danny_w is offline  
post #665 of 1481 Old 10-20-2009, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by danny_w View Post

WRONG. The pixel resolution of the 42" is 1024x768 while that of the 50" is 1366x768. For some reason the specs on the Samsung website are wrong (not unusual); Crutchfield has the correct specs.

Not wrong. Aspect ratio is 16:9 on both the 42" and 50". As I said, your settings on your tv or your cable box were set wrong on the 42". Pixel resolution has nothing to do with aspect ratio.
tigerfan33 is online now  
post #666 of 1481 Old 10-20-2009, 07:11 PM
Member
 
lastxcallforsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It has a 16:9 aspect ratio but the pixel count of 4:3 aspect ratio. The pixels are shaped differently in order to fill the screen.
lastxcallforsin is offline  
post #667 of 1481 Old 10-21-2009, 09:37 AM
Member
 
direwolf2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

What settings are you currently using, just for reference. I can't seem to find a happy medium and it's driving me a little crazy. I oscillate between Standard/Normal and Movie/Warm1/Warm 2. I enjoy the richness of Movie/Warm1/Warm2 but the darker, yellower image is upsetting and I always switch back only to be eventually disappointed with the bluish hue.

Thanks, guys!
direwolf2009 is offline  
post #668 of 1481 Old 10-21-2009, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Has anybody noticed any Lag when playing the Wii? or how about Green Phospher trails?

It's kind of lame though how when you're playing a game on 4:3 Samsung made the Bars Grey or Dark Grey instead of Black...
WaveBoy is online now  
post #669 of 1481 Old 10-21-2009, 09:52 PM
Member
 
Post Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post

Not wrong. Aspect ratio is 16:9 on both the 42" and 50". As I said, your settings on your tv or your cable box were set wrong on the 42". Pixel resolution has nothing to do with aspect ratio.

lastxcallforsin is correct.

Both panels have a 16:9 panel aspect ratio, which is to say that their viewable screen space physically measures at 16:9. However, the PN42B450 has a native resolution of 1024 x 768, which is, mathematically, a 4:3 pixel aspect ratio. The discrepancy between panel and pixel resolution on the PN42B450 means that its pixels have to be bloated horizontally to stretch across its panel. Its images contain less horizontal definition per unit of space than they do vertically. Contrary to what Samsung's own website says, the PN50B550 has a 1366 x 768 native resolution, which is a 16:9 pixel aspect ratio, in keeping with its panel aspect ratio. The parity between its panel aspect ratio and its pixel aspect ratio means that the display has uniform horizontal and vertical pixel density.

Some people can discipline themselves enough not to care about this difference. I can't.

The musicians I listen to are so underground they haven't even heard of themselves.
Post Blue is offline  
post #670 of 1481 Old 10-21-2009, 10:05 PM
Member
 
Post Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveBoy View Post

Has anybody noticed any Lag when playing the Wii? or how about Green Phospher trails?

It's kind of lame though how when you're playing a game on 4:3 Samsung made the Bars Grey or Dark Grey instead of Black...

Every single plasma in existence has issues with green phosphor lag, but as the technology admittedly improves, the circumstances under which they're evident are becoming more obscure. You can see them during standard Wii use, but even extremely discerning users (like myself) have to consciously seek them in order to be bothered by them.

The dark gray is annoying, especially since the Wii automatically includes a black border around 4:3 content in its frame buffer, which defeats the purpose of any sort of IR issues Samsung might have been trying to avoid with its gray bars.

The musicians I listen to are so underground they haven't even heard of themselves.
Post Blue is offline  
post #671 of 1481 Old 10-21-2009, 11:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Post Blue View Post

Every single plasma in existence has issues with green phosphor lag, but as the technology admittedly improves, the circumstances under which they're evident are becoming more obscure. You can see them during standard Wii use, but even extremely discerning users (like myself) have to consciously seek them in order to be bothered by them.

The dark gray is annoying, especially since the Wii automatically includes a black border around 4:3 content in its frame buffer, which defeats the purpose of any sort of IR issues Samsung might have been trying to avoid with its gray bars.


But have you noticed an Lag, control wise when gaming? as for timing and so on? And the thing is, i dont exactly mind playing Wii Virtual Console games in widescreen, but it's still annoying that Samsung chose to not go black with the bars. BUT, there's no point in getting a 42" 1080p Panasonic Plasma when Wii games are 480p...AND would look worse(i'm guessing) when upscaled to 1080p. AND the fact that Samsung plasmas have better color compared to panasonic plasma...yet pansonic plasmas have the slight advantage in black levels.

Currently though, i have a 32" Sony Wega Trinitron CRT Flatscreen SDTV using component cables for wii and the PQ is fanatastic...but of course i'm missing out on Progressive Scan and Widescreen...My friends vizio 42" 720p plasma looks sharper and more clear for virtual console games, but that's obviously because of the Progressive Scan.
WaveBoy is online now  
post #672 of 1481 Old 10-22-2009, 07:41 AM
Member
 
direwolf2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

We recently calibrated our Plasma, but in medium/low light conditions (two lamps at most), which is how we usually watch TV, my wife was complaining that she could see green spots (strange) and that her eyes hurt. She says that under the Standard setting, it seems easier on the eyes, but in Movie/Warm2, she gets eye strain. Again, we recently got this TV, so we're not entirely sure, but I wanted to look into it.

Our settings are as follows:

(using THX and AVHS Disc)

Movie/Warm2
Cell Light = 10
Contrast = 80 (using THX and AVHS Disc)
Brightness = 52
Color = 45
Tint: 51/49
Sharpness = 20
Advanced: Everything Off
Gamma = +1
White Balance = Default but -5 on Red Gain
HDMI Black = Normal (PS3)


Does anyone have any advice? Maybe turning Cell Light to 8 or Contrast even lower? Maybe adjusting White Balance more? Unfortunately, I can't really adjust Tint or White Balance because I don't have the necessary tools.

Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks!
direwolf2009 is offline  
post #673 of 1481 Old 10-22-2009, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by direwolf2009 View Post

Hi all,

We recently calibrated our Plasma, but in medium/low light conditions (two lamps at most), which is how we usually watch TV, my wife was complaining that she could see green spots (strange) and that her eyes hurt. She says that under the Standard setting, it seems easier on the eyes, but in Movie/Warm2, she gets eye strain. Again, we recently got this TV, so we're not entirely sure, but I wanted to look into it.

Our settings are as follows:

(using THX and AVHS Disc)

Movie/Warm2
Cell Light = 10
Contrast = 80 (using THX and AVHS Disc)
Brightness = 52
Color = 45
Tint: 51/49
Sharpness = 20
Advanced: Everything Off
Gamma = +1
White Balance = Default but -5 on Red Gain
HDMI Black = Normal (PS3)


Does anyone have any advice? Maybe turning Cell Light to 8 or Contrast even lower? Maybe adjusting White Balance more? Unfortunately, I can't really adjust Tint or White Balance because I don't have the necessary tools.

Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks!

Have you tried a bias lighting setup? This can ease eye strain when watching a plasma in low light conditions. There is a thread on this here about bias lighting. I use it in my tv room, but not in the bedroom. In addition to easing eye strain, bias lighting can enhance the picture as well. Hope this helps. JoeB
joebloggs13 is offline  
post #674 of 1481 Old 10-26-2009, 01:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
So is it true that selectiing 1080p on the PS3 for this display would look better than setting it to 720p for PS3 games and Bluray? since 1080p is being downscaled to 1024x768? really though that may be better for bluray, but PS3 games ARE 720p themselves, with a few 1080p games.

Also i'd be sitting 9 Feet away from the screen....Somebody was saying at that distance you wouldn't even beable to tell the difference between 1080p and 1024x768p. 4 feet away than that would be a different story.

Wii and DVDs/Bluray will be getting the most use anyhow.
WaveBoy is online now  
post #675 of 1481 Old 10-26-2009, 09:58 AM
Member
 
lastxcallforsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveBoy View Post

So is it true that selectiing 1080p on the PS3 for this display would look better than setting it to 720p for PS3 games and Bluray? since 1080p is being downscaled to 1024x768? really though that may be better for bluray, but PS3 games ARE 720p themselves, with a few 1080p games.

Also i'd be sitting 9 Feet away from the screen....Somebody was saying at that distance you wouldn't even beable to tell the difference between 1080p and 1024x768p. 4 feet away than that would be a different story.

Wii and DVDs/Bluray will be getting the most use anyhow.


This television is not true 720p so it is going to have to scale either way. Most people recommend setting sources to 1080p even on a 720p set. Even with 1080p output checked in the display settings, the PS3 will automatically display games at 720p unless you also un-check 720p. I tried this but noticed that the PS3 has an issue where some games that don't support internal 1080p upscaling will output at 480p until 720p output is checked. On my PS3 I have everything checked except for 1080i and just let the PS3 decide what resolution to output which is usually 720p for games and 1080p for movies. For other sources like my Xbox 360 I just set the output to 1080p.
lastxcallforsin is offline  
post #676 of 1481 Old 10-26-2009, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by lastxcallforsin View Post

This television is not true 720p so it is going to have to scale either way. Most people recommend setting sources to 1080p even on a 720p set. Even with 1080p output checked in the display settings, the PS3 will automatically display games at 720p unless you also un-check 720p. I tried this but noticed that the PS3 has an issue where some games that don't support internal 1080p upscaling will output at 480p until 720p output is checked. On my PS3 I have everything checked except for 1080i and just let the PS3 decide what resolution to output which is usually 720p for games and 1080p for movies. For other sources like my Xbox 360 I just set the output to 1080p.

That's the thing too though, i dont mind if it isn't true 720p as I'll be using it for Wii the most, along with DVD's and Bluray. Hell having ProgressiveScan and Widescreen makes me happy enough ;p....But obviously 720p(not true 720p that is) is fantastic for Bluray along with HDMI. Still will only be keeping this TV for less than 2 years before Nintendo's next system hits along with the PS4 in NOV 2011...if they're not realesed by then, well i guess i'll be keeping this set alittle longer ;p But when the time comes I'll be getting a 50" 3D 1080p HDTV.

But am i right though, that you wouldn't beable to tell the difference sitting 9 feet away from a 42" screen between 1024x768 compared to 1366x768, or even 1080p when playing PS3 games or watching Bluray? Somebody was saying at that distance you cant telll the difference.
WaveBoy is online now  
post #677 of 1481 Old 10-26-2009, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
danny_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveBoy View Post

That's the thing too though, i dont mind if it isn't true 720p as I'll be using it for Wii the most, along with DVD's and Bluray. Hell having ProgressiveScan and Widescreen makes me happy enough ;p....But obviously 720p(not true 720p that is) is fantastic for Bluray along with HDMI. Still will only be keeping this TV for less than 2 years before Nintendo's next system hits along with the PS4 in NOV 2011...if they're not realesed by then, well i guess i'll be keeping this set alittle longer ;p But when the time comes I'll be getting a 50" 3D 1080p HDTV.

But am i right though, that you wouldn't beable to tell the difference sitting 9 feet away from a 42" screen between 1024x768 compared to 1366x768, or even 1080p when playing PS3 games or watching Bluray? Somebody was saying at that distance you cant telll the difference.

I have the 50" model (used to have the 42" but replaced it) and I don't think I could tell the difference at 9 feet between this 720p set and a 1080p set. That's not to say that nobody could, but I think you would have to look mighty hard to tell any difference at that distance. I think for most people 1080p is simply marketing hype; nobody sits that close to their tv (at least nobody I know of). Here is a quote that I found:

Quote:


What the chart shows is that, for a 50-inch screen, the benefits of 720p vs. 480p start to become apparent at viewing distances closer than 14.6 feet and become fully apparent at 9.8 feet. For the same screen size, the benefits of 1080p vs. 720p start to become apparent when closer than 9.8 feet and become full apparent at 6.5 feet. In my opinion, 6.5 feet is closer than most people will sit to their 50" plasma TV (even through the THX recommended viewing distance for a 50" screen is 5.6 ft). So, most consumers will not be able to see the full benefit of their 1080p TV.

Source:
http://carltonbale.com/2006/11/1080p-does-matter/
danny_w is offline  
post #678 of 1481 Old 10-26-2009, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaveBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by danny_w View Post

I have the 50" model (used to have the 42" but replaced it) and I don't think I could tell the difference at 9 feet between this 720p set and a 1080p set. That's not to say that nobody could, but I think you would have to look mighty hard to tell any difference at that distance. I think for most people 1080p is simply marketing hype; nobody sits that close to their tv (at least nobody I know of). Here is a quote that I found:



Source:
http://carltonbale.com/2006/11/1080p-does-matter/


I couldn't imagine sitting closer than 9 feet from a 50" weather it's 1080p or 720p. So that aside i guess based on that, sitting 9 to 9 1/2 feet away from a 42" with a lower end 720p would yeild no difference unless i really had to look for it. But knowing me for now i'd be happy enough with this set for the short amount of time i'm keeping it. Besides resolution isn't my main concern....Lag, green phospher trails, color, blacks, motion and the scaler are.
WaveBoy is online now  
post #679 of 1481 Old 10-26-2009, 06:55 PM
Member
 
SurferBud3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it best to set the output from my cable STB at 1080i or 720P for this television (pn42)?
SurferBud3 is offline  
post #680 of 1481 Old 10-28-2009, 01:50 AM
Newbie
 
werfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,I got this set last week and the brightness and contrast is at mid 40's. i have noticed that the screen goes blank while showing dark scenes( like with a candle flickering). Any idea on how to resolve this?
werfish is offline  
post #681 of 1481 Old 10-29-2009, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stereomandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have found that when my brightness was set too low that I would get the flickering issue.

Dan
stereomandan is offline  
post #682 of 1481 Old 10-29-2009, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by werfish View Post

Hi All,I got this set last week and the brightness and contrast is at mid 40's. i have noticed that the screen goes blank while showing dark scenes( like with a candle flickering). Any idea on how to resolve this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stereomandan View Post

I have found that when my brightness was set too low that I would get the flickering issue.

Dan

I think it has to do with the backlight switching on and off. I dont know why it does this, but apparently it's normal(maybe a power saving thing?). Is your set in movie mode? I found that it would only happen in movie mode. I have mine in standard and dont have that issue anymore.
joebloggs13 is offline  
post #683 of 1481 Old 10-30-2009, 12:03 AM
Newbie
 
werfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joebloggs13 View Post

I think it has to do with the backlight switching on and off. I dont know why it does this, but apparently it's normal(maybe a power saving thing?). Is your set in movie mode? I found that it would only happen in movie mode. I have mine in standard and dont have that issue anymore.

Yes,The set is in movie mode, i guess it happened in standard mode too.i have brighteness at 45 and contrast at 49 in the break in and power save in medium.Another thing i noticed is that in the dark scenes the whole set looks dark and i couldnt figure out the faces.
werfish is offline  
post #684 of 1481 Old 10-30-2009, 04:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by werfish View Post

Yes,The set is in movie mode, i guess it happened in standard mode too.i have brighteness at 45 and contrast at 49 in the break in and power save in medium.Another thing i noticed is that in the dark scenes the whole set looks dark and i couldnt figure out the faces.

I think it's because you have the set on medium power save combined with the low brightness and contrast setting. I would try increasing the contrast to 58 or so and the brightness to about that as well as turning the power save to low. See if that helps. JoeB
joebloggs13 is offline  
post #685 of 1481 Old 10-31-2009, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stereomandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Your brightness setting doesn't matter for break in. It's contrast that matters.

Go ahead and bump up the brightness to where it should be, and your flickering may go away. It worked for me.

Dan
stereomandan is offline  
post #686 of 1481 Old 11-04-2009, 10:22 PM
Newbie
 
werfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Guys.upping the brightness helped,no more flickers.
Is there any caliberation setting you have during the break in period.
werfish is offline  
post #687 of 1481 Old 11-04-2009, 11:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
moothemagiccow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveBoy View Post

But am i right though, that you wouldn't beable to tell the difference sitting 9 feet away from a 42" screen between 1024x768 compared to 1366x768, or even 1080p when playing PS3 games or watching Bluray? Somebody was saying at that distance you cant telll the difference.

I'm not sure how best to answer, but I'll say this:

My local NBC, CBS and ABC stations all send out a 1080 signal, I believe it's 1080i. Fox sends out a 720p signal. During their primetime programming or weekend sports, just flicking around the stations you can tell which one is Fox, just by the picture. Even though I have a 720p TV, I chose the 1080p output from the PS3 in a heartbeat.

WiiU: moothemagiccow

PSN: moothemagiccow (duh)

moothemagiccow is offline  
post #688 of 1481 Old 11-18-2009, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
achebee4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just want to say after hours of reading i've pulled the trigger on this set the 50" and damn this thing is great!! haven't broken it in yet, but i want yo thank everyone for such good feedback both +'ive and -'ive. For 800 bones with a surround sound this thing was a steal! Luckily i still have an old full hd dvd player from toshiba with about 100 hd dvds and i cannot tell the diff between this and my full hd lcd lnt4061, this 720p set actually accepted the 1080p output at 24fps that the hd dvd played at the picture is suberb no motion blur and perfect clarity. i can't wait to tweak it after break in period. my lnt4061 which is 1080p cannot compare to this set wow!!!
achebee4you is offline  
post #689 of 1481 Old 11-18-2009, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by achebee4you View Post

I just want to say after hours of reading i've pulled the trigger on this set the 50" and damn this thing is great!! haven't broken it in yet, but i want yo thank everyone for such good feedback both +'ive and -'ive. For 800 bones with a surround sound this thing was a steal! Luckily i still have an old full hd dvd player from toshiba with about 100 hd dvds and i cannot tell the diff between this and my full hd lcd lnt4061, this 720p set actually accepted the 1080p output at 24fps that the hd dvd played at the picture is suberb no motion blur and perfect clarity. i can't wait to tweak it after break in period. my lnt4061 which is 1080p cannot compare to this set wow!!!

Congrats on your new purchase, and welcome to the club! JoeB
joebloggs13 is offline  
post #690 of 1481 Old 11-19-2009, 06:47 PM
Member
 
footballforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of picking up this set over the Panny. If I do get this I hope I make the right decision.
footballforever is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off