Is your Panasonic plasma television broken, blinking red? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Has your Panasonic plasma failed, giving you a blinking red indicator?
No and I've owned it less than a year. 0 0%
No and I've owned it more than 1 year, less than 2. 0 0%
No and I've owned it more than 2 years. 1 9.09%
Yes, it died within the first year. 0 0%
Yes, it died between years 1 and 2. 2 18.18%
Yes, it died after 2 years. 8 72.73%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 109 Old 08-10-2013, 04:23 PM
Member
 
TW2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmalbers View Post

My just this month, three year old 54 inch G25 just got the four blinking lights. I went out and bought a Samsung 60. I'll try to fix the Panny if I can tell for sure which board it is. I found the service manual for it free online so I'll give it a shot when I get the time. If I can't tell which board it is for sure I probably won't mess with it unless I can return the boards that I 'might' not need.

SOS 4 is a common fail point for this generation of TVs, all sizes. SOS4 is a PSU fail code however it is being caused by failure of the SC board which shorts out the Vsus voltage from the PSU at connector SC2 on the SC board TNPA5081.

At best it's just the SC board, at worst the SC (ysustain board), and SD,SU(y buffer boards upper/lower) are all shorted.

Try googling SOS 4, 4 blinks or TNPA5081. I have a 50" Australian model which I've fixed and also have now repaired those SC boards as well.

You'll need a multimeter to determine if the buffer boards are ok and confirm dead short on the SC board sc2.

The SC is the most likely suspect.

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=22610
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=26322
TW2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 109 Old 08-13-2013, 10:24 AM
Newbie
 
zarahlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zarahlin View Post

Update: Panasonic just called and said they would only cover half of the repair costs. Not too happy about this Plasma lasting only 13 months and coming up with half of the bill when we spent around $1400 on this tv. We tried to push the issue of full coverage but they would not budge. We didn't want to push too hard risking them pulling the offer altogether, so we accepted. It's better than coming up with the full $480 I guess.
I'm so frustrated! Panasonic gets a huge thumbs down in my book. They said we agreed to them paying half of the labor and parts charges, but it was clear on Saturday when the rep called that they offered to pay half of the total bill. So now we're looking at them paying only $178 on a $480 bill!! And here our tv sits, still making payments, and haven't been able to watch it for over a week now. We put a request in to re-open the negotiations, so not sure how this will all turn out. mad.gif
zarahlin is offline  
post #93 of 109 Old 08-20-2013, 03:54 PM
Newbie
 
RandySC55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not heard from Panasonic yet on my case. I sent in the information Monday so I will give them a few days. I purchased the set with an AMX card so I have also submitted a claim to them for the repairs. The cost right now is estimated at $650.00 This is to replace all three boards, SC, SD, and SU. I gave the shop the green light to get started as I am not waiting on Panasonic to begin the repairs. I am using their recommended shop so we may have to fight this out if they refuse any assistance on this.
I assumed they would take care of firmware but am not sure. Does anyone know how to determine if the firmware is proper? Is this something I can do myself? I will question Panasonic and the shop but want to be comfortable that it was updated.
RandySC55 is offline  
post #94 of 109 Old 08-20-2013, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
zarahlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandySC55 View Post

I have not heard from Panasonic yet on my case. I sent in the information Monday so I will give them a few days. I purchased the set with an AMX card so I have also submitted a claim to them for the repairs. The cost right now is estimated at $650.00 This is to replace all three boards, SC, SD, and SU. I gave the shop the green light to get started as I am not waiting on Panasonic to begin the repairs. I am using their recommended shop so we may have to fight this out if they refuse any assistance on this.
I assumed they would take care of firmware but am not sure. Does anyone know how to determine if the firmware is proper? Is this something I can do myself? I will question Panasonic and the shop but want to be comfortable that it was updated.
I think the firmware is easy to update. I thought it was automatic. Not sure.
zarahlin is offline  
post #95 of 109 Old 09-06-2013, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
RandySC55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wanted to post a follow up as my situation has concluded. After I gave the shop the green light to fix the set they were able to get the boards and have the set repaired in about 5 days. The repair cost was about $645.00. I was lucky enough to have purchased the TV with an American Express and they covered the cost with the AMEX warranty program that basically added an additional year to the original one year Panasonic warranty. After about two weeks I received a call from Panasonic and they offered me $213 to cover the cost and basically close my case. I refused and told them I would like to get at least half. I did not hear from them for another week so today I called them up and they increased the offer to $243.00. I accepted and I guess that is it.
I am not happy with Panasonic and if not for American Express I guess I would really be upset. I'm not sure if I will ever buy another Panasonic but I have learned a lesson. Never buy a first edition model and always research forums like this for potential failures before making the purchase.
RandySC55 is offline  
post #96 of 109 Old 09-07-2013, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
zarahlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandySC55 View Post

Wanted to post a follow up as my situation has concluded. After I gave the shop the green light to fix the set they were able to get the boards and have the set repaired in about 5 days. The repair cost was about $645.00. I was lucky enough to have purchased the TV with an American Express and they covered the cost with the AMEX warranty program that basically added an additional year to the original one year Panasonic warranty. After about two weeks I received a call from Panasonic and they offered me $213 to cover the cost and basically close my case. I refused and told them I would like to get at least half. I did not hear from them for another week so today I called them up and they increased the offer to $243.00. I accepted and I guess that is it.
I am not happy with Panasonic and if not for American Express I guess I would really be upset. I'm not sure if I will ever buy another Panasonic but I have learned a lesson. Never buy a first edition model and always research forums like this for potential failures before making the purchase.
Randy, you're very fortunate. Our plasma was finally repaired last Thursday, 9/5. Exactly one month to the day it expired. Apparently Panasonic lost the order that was placed on 8/12 for the replacement board. Panasonic was not as generous in our situation. I would love to know who you spoke with. Panasonic only agreed to pay half of the labor and half for the part when they originally told us they were going to pay half of the total bill which was $480. Our out of pocket expenses came to $297. The sc board was the problem. It was replaced with a refurbished board. Every screw was replaced as well. Panasonic is fully aware that there's a problem with faulty manufacturing. However, in our case we did not fair so well.
zarahlin is offline  
post #97 of 109 Old 09-20-2013, 07:48 PM
Member
 
pornfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just over one month old panasonic 55" st60 turned off randomly and red light (power button) on bottom of TV started blinking. I believe it was doing 4-5 blinks then a pause and repeat.

Unplugged the tv and plugged it back in.. its working at the moment but a bit concerned that its giving me problems this soon after purchase. Anyone have a similar problem? power supply maybe?

thanks
pornfreak is offline  
post #98 of 109 Old 10-04-2013, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by TW2005 View Post

SOS 4 is a common fail point for this generation of TVs, all sizes. SOS4 is a PSU fail code however it is being caused by failure of the SC board which shorts out the Vsus voltage from the PSU at connector SC2 on the SC board TNPA5081.

At best it's just the SC board, at worst the SC (ysustain board), and SD,SU(y buffer boards upper/lower) are all shorted.

Try googling SOS 4, 4 blinks or TNPA5081. I have a 50" Australian model which I've fixed and also have now repaired those SC boards as well.

You'll need a multimeter to determine if the buffer boards are ok and confirm dead short on the SC board sc2.

The SC is the most likely suspect.

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=22610
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=26322

Thanks very much for this, I have read all the threads listed and any threads they referred too. I think I should be able to isolate which board/s are bad with all that info.
I looks like it could be a problem getting an SC board if that's what's needed. If I have to go to component level repair this could get real interesting.
Anyway, thanks very much for the info.
rmalbers is offline  
post #99 of 109 Old 10-28-2013, 01:33 PM
Member
 
kauaidoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a P42s1 ,2010, with 11 red bod. My problem is i live on kauai where we just lost our sears, have no tv repair that i can find. I've been posting in Criag's for 2 weeks now. I have no technical expertise. I just got a call from a "repairman" but he didn't sound too savvy. Now that I have read the last 40 posts i have very little faith in him. It seems i would not be able to diagnose the problem with a Panny Tech so i could order the right thing.
We have a kmart, walmart and CostCo on island. I have plugged in the set in several different outlets, tried every work around I can figure( turning on with dvd,using the remote, plugging unplugging directly.etc)
At this point even if I bought a new TV I don't know it would get fixed if it blew.
I can't even get a new TV shipped here by Panasonic!!
Call me frustrated in Paradise.
kauaidoug is offline  
post #100 of 109 Old 11-01-2013, 01:23 AM
Member
 
TW2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kauaidoug View Post

I have a P42s1 ,2010, with 11 red bod. My problem is i live on kauai where we just lost our sears, have no tv repair that i can find. I've been posting in Criag's for 2 weeks now. I have no technical expertise. I just got a call from a "repairman" but he didn't sound too savvy. Now that I have read the last 40 posts i have very little faith in him. It seems i would not be able to diagnose the problem with a Panny Tech so i could order the right thing.
We have a kmart, walmart and CostCo on island. I have plugged in the set in several different outlets, tried every work around I can figure( turning on with dvd,using the remote, plugging unplugging directly.etc)
At this point even if I bought a new TV I don't know it would get fixed if it blew.
I can't even get a new TV shipped here by Panasonic!!
Call me frustrated in Paradise.


Does this TV have Fans in the back, up the top? I have read about people cleaning them to fix this.

TW2005 is offline  
post #101 of 109 Old 11-01-2013, 02:33 PM
Member
 
kauaidoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. Looked at the back of my tv and i have dirty fan holes!! I might even be able to manage this. Where did u get this diagram What does " make sure the A30 connector is properly seated?" mean. from the pink square instruction on right side.
kauaidoug is offline  
post #102 of 109 Old 11-02-2013, 12:56 AM
Member
 
TW2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kauaidoug View Post

Thank you. Looked at the back of my tv and i have dirty fan holes!! I might even be able to manage this. Where did u get this diagram What does " make sure the A30 connector is properly seated?" mean. from the pink square instruction on right side.


PM sent
TW2005 is offline  
post #103 of 109 Old 11-02-2013, 01:37 PM
Member
 
kauaidoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tHANKS TW just posted for help ast badcaps as u suggested. If anyone looking hear welcome any comments.
kauaidoug is offline  
post #104 of 109 Old 11-03-2013, 02:39 PM
Member
 
kauaidoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TW,
After both fans failed the test then i hot wired both of them (paperclip indeed!!) and the TV works. Niether fan was working when i opened it up J ust hooked it up without the back on. Dangerous but not as bad as Crocs! Neither fans worked when i opened it up so i didn't have anything to lose. Is this Kosher? No kids. So what do i do next? fans?
kauaidoug is offline  
post #105 of 109 Old 11-15-2013, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
rmalbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just wanted to post back here on my issue. I had three bad boards, the SC, the SU and the SD board, those have been replaced and the TV is working again. The badcaps site really does have the best info out there (that I could find anyway). That is definitely the place to go for the tech issues/troubleshooting. Like always, do as much homework as you can before asking questions there because I think you'll find, a lot of your questions might have been answered already there.
rmalbers is offline  
post #106 of 109 Old 11-15-2013, 08:43 PM
Member
 
kauaidoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. Badcaps is an excellent source. TW2005 and the other fellow who I will thank later because his avatar has slipped my mind. It was great having help from Australia and England. Mahalos, guys. Still haven't ordered fans and TV is a little touchy. I was on an exceedingly high learning curve. My questions were very basic but the guys were great.
kauaidoug is offline  
post #107 of 109 Old 05-14-2014, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
allbetsoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Owned a 42" Panasonic Plasma for 1 year, 4 months.  Last night we were using it and it powered off.  After that it wouldn't come back on and red light blinked seven times. Panasonic sent us to local repair company and they said it was a power supply, they're charging us $400 to install.  After reading all the problems people have with this model/brand, I will never buy Panasonic again.  What BS!

allbetsoff is offline  
post #108 of 109 Old 05-14-2014, 07:11 PM
Member
 
TW2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by allbetsoff View Post

Owned a 42" Panasonic Plasma for 1 year, 4 months.  Last night we were using it and it powered off.  After that it wouldn't come back on and red light blinked seven times. Panasonic sent us to local repair company and they said it was a power supply, they're charging us $400 to install.  After reading all the problems people have with this model/brand, I will never buy Panasonic again.  What BS!

$400 is absurd, good chance it won't be psu unless they are referring to the SN board as a psu. Either way self repair at board level would be cheap enough.
TW2005 is offline  
post #109 of 109 Old 05-31-2014, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
Thunder Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This message is to Colonel7...did you get any responses to your post regarding the 37PX60u which goes black every 3 minutes or so?

 

Same issue with my TH50PZ80U.  Thanks.

Thunder Fan is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off